Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

NSERC Presents 2 Minutes with Allison B. Sekuler

The Amazing, Changing, Aging Brain

Summary

Video Name

2 Minutes with Allison B. Sekuler

Author

NSERC Communications

Duration

1:41

Release Date

March 3, 2011

Description

The "greying population" is the fastest growing group in Canada. Age-related changes in perceptual and neural function have implications for virtually every aspect of our lives—from recreation to transportation, health care and the work force. Recent research shows that although aging leads to declines in some abilities, others are spared and may even improve. This lecture discussed the implications of these changes and the trade-offs in visual and neural processing that occur with age, and evidence will be provided that demonstrates we really can teach older brains new tricks.

Allison B. Sekuler, Professor, Department of Psychology, Neuroscience and Behaviour, McMaster University


Transcript
Allison B. Sekuler

Our research is focused on basically how does the brain encode information about the world using the visual system, so how does the brain see objects, how does it recognize faces, how does it learn to interact with objects in different ways.

We do a lot of work on neural plasticity, so how does the brain change as a function of experience, as a function of development. And we do a lot of work also on face recognition: how do we recognizes faces, how do we learn who’s friend and who’s foe.

There are a couple of remarkable things that we’ve discovered recently. One of those is that the brain changes throughout the lifetime, and that in fact the brain seems to be able to reorganize itself or rewire itself throughout our lifetime to be able to take advantage of what it’s good at versus what it’s not good at. So older people, for example, when they’re processing information about the world for vision, they might be using parts of the brain – the hippocampus and prefrontal cortex –that would be more likely in young people to be used for things like memory and attention.

The other thing that we’ve learned I think that’s really interesting is that, when we’re training people, even over sort of two days, on what seems to be a very simple task like a face recognition task, what we’re doing in that training is changing people’s brains for a very long time. But one of the things that we’re seeing in terms of the trajectory of our research in the future is building on that basic information to figure out how can we take what we’ve learned and develop, say, new training systems for young people and older people and people with different sorts of disabilities.

Biography

An internationally recognized expert in visual processing and aging, Allison Sekuler (PhD, University of California at Berkeley) holds the NSERC Canada Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience at McMaster University, where she also serves as Associate Vice-President and Dean of Graduate Studies. Besides maintaining an active and successful administrative, teaching and research career, Dr. Sekuler is a passionate advocate for science outreach. She helped found McMaster University's most successful outreach venture, Science in the City, and was an early advocate for science cafés in Canada. Recently, she served on the founding steering committee for the Science Media Centre of Canada. She is a frequent public lecturer and commentator on scientific and research issues for national and international media, including the Discovery Channel, CBC and the History Channel.

Was this video useful?

Very useful

Somewhat useful

Not useful

No opinion

Comments:


For further information (media only), please contact:

Martin Leroux
Media and Public Affairs Officer
NSERC
Tel.: 613-943-7618
E-mail: media@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le CRSNG présente 2 minutes avec Allison B. Sekuler

L'évolution extraordinaire du cerveau vieillissant

Résumé

Titre de la vidéo

2 minutes avec Allison B. Sekuler

Auteur

Division des communications du CRSNG

Durée

1:41

Date de diffusion

le 3 mars 2011

Description

Les personnes âgées sont le segment de la population qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide au Canada. Les changements des fonctions perceptives et neuronales liés au vieillissement ont des répercussions sur presque tous les aspects de nos vies : des loisirs aux transports, en passant par les soins de santé jusqu'à la main-d'œuvre. Selon de récents travaux de recherche, bien que le vieillissement entraîne le déclin de certaines habiletés, d'autres restent inchangées et s'améliorent même parfois. Cet exposé porta sur l'incidence de ces changements et les compromis qui surviennent avec l'âge dans le traitement neural et visuel. On présentera notamment des preuves qui montrent qu'un vieux cerveau peut vraiment continuer d'apprendre.


Transcription
Allison B. Sekuler

Notre recherche porte principalement sur la façon dont le cerveau encode l’information sur le monde en utilisant le système visuel, donc comment le cerveau voit les objets, comment il reconnaît les visages, comment il apprend à interagir avec les objets de différentes façons.

Nous examinons beaucoup la plasticité neuronale, c’est-à-dire comment le cerveau change en fonction de l’expérience, en fonction du développement. Et nous travaillons aussi beaucoup à la reconnaissance des visages : comment nous reconnaissons les visages, comment nous apprenons qui est un ami et qui est un ennemi.

Nous avons fait quelques découvertes remarquables récemment. L’une d’elles est que le cerveau change au cours de notre vie et qu’en fait le cerveau semble être capable de se réorganiser lui-même ou de se « recâbler » au cours de notre vie pour pouvoir tirer parti de ce qu’il fait bien contrairement à ce qu’il fait moins bien. Donc, il se peut que les personnes âgées, par exemple, lorsqu’elles traitent de l’information visuelle sur le monde, utilisent des parties du cerveau – l’hippocampe et le cortex préfrontal – qui seraient plus susceptibles d’être utilisées par les jeunes pour des choses telles que la mémoire et l’attention.

Je crois que l’autre chose vraiment intéressante que nous avons apprise c’est que lorsque nous formons des gens, ne serait-ce que pendant deux jours, à ce qui semble être une tâche très simple comme celle de reconnaître un visage, ce que nous faisons avec cette formation c’est changer leur cerveau pour une longue période de temps. Mais en ce qui concerne l’orientation de notre recherche pour l’avenir, on constate qu’on doit s’appuyer sur l’information de base afin de déterminer comment nous pouvons prendre ce que nous avons appris et développer, disons, de nouveaux systèmes de formation pour les jeunes et pour des personnes plus âgées et aussi pour les personnes qui ont différentes incapacités.

Biographie

Experte de renommée internationale dans le domaine du traitement visuel et du vieillissement (titulaire d'un doctorat de la University of California à Berkeley), Mme Sekuler est titulaire de la Chaire de recherche du Canada en neurosciences cognitives à la McMaster University, où elle est également vice-rectrice adjointe et doyenne des études supérieures. En plus de poursuivre une carrière dynamique et réussie en administration, en enseignement et en recherche, Mme Sekuler est une ardente championne de la sensibilisation aux sciences. Elle a contribué à la création de Science in the City, l'initiative de sensibilisation aux sciences la plus populaire de la McMaster University, et elle a été une des premières à préconiser les cafés scientifiques au Canada. Récemment, elle a siégé au comité directeur fondateur du Centre canadien Sciences et Médias. Elle agit souvent à titre de conférencière et de commentatrice publique sur des enjeux scientifiques et des questions de recherche pour les médias nationaux et internationaux, y compris les chaînes Discovery Channel, CBC et History Channel.

Cette vidéo vous a-t-elle été utile?

Très utile

Peu utile

Inutile

Sans opinion

Commentaires :


Pour obtenir plus de renseignements (médias seulement), veuillez communiquer avec :

Martin Leroux
Agent, Relations médias et affaires publiques
CRSNG
Tél. : 613-943-7618
Courriel : media@nserc-crsng.gc.ca