Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Photo Galleries

NSERC and CONCYTEC welcome Global Research funding leaders to Ottawa
May 29, 2017
With Canada celebrating its 150th birthday, it seemed fitting that NSERC co-host the annual Global Research Council (GRC) meeting here in Ottawa. From May 29 to May 31, 2017, the heads of close to 50 science and engineering funding agencies from around the world and over 100 delegates met to share information and best practices to support high-quality collaboration among funding agencies worldwide.

Science Odyssey Appreciation Event and NSERC Award for Science Promotion Announcement
May 15, 2017
The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Dr. B. Mario Pinto hosted 18 Science-Based outreach groups at the Science Odyssey Appreciation event which was held in Ottawa on May 15. The event was attended by students, researchers, and science promoters. Guests were invited to explore the room and discover robots, interactive activities and a 13 foot high planetarium.

As well, Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and Dr. B. Mario Pinto, President, NSERC presented the NSERC Award for Science Promotion (NASP) to Dr. Jeremy McNeil (Individual Award), and to the Ontario Network for Women in Engineering (Group Award).

The launch of Science Odyssey 2017 and the announcement of 81 grant recipients through NSERC’s PromoScience program
May 12, 2017
Parliamentary Secretary of Science, Kate Young, launched the 2017 edition of Science Odyssey, a ten-day series of science-based activities and events across Canada taking place from May 12 to 21. Science Odyssey is Canada’s national celebration of science, technology, engineering and math (STEM), stewarded by NSERC and its focus is to engage and inspire young Canadians and the general public across the country by showcasing Canada’s STEM accomplishments.

Through the launch of Science Odyssey, Parliamentary Secretary Young announced 81 grant recipients through NSERC’s PromoScience program, which supports science outreach for youth in communities across Canada.

The children and VIPs joined Stefan Jones, a Science Interpreter, at a science demonstration table to watch some exciting demonstrations including the Johnson GEO CENTRE’s Plasma Ball, Travelling Flammable Vapor, Coloured Flames, and “The Blue Flask”.

Announcement of the College and Community Innovation Program: 37 projects that support university-college research collaboration
May 2, 2017
The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science announced through the College and Community Innovation (CCI) program, close to $37 million awarded to 37 projects that support university-college research collaboration, equipment, technology access centres and partnerships between colleges and companies. NSERC’s CCI program is one of the largest vehicles for funding research at colleges and CÉGEPs across the country.

Announcement of the Strategic Partnership Grants for Projects: 94 new research projects to boost Canada’s leadership
February 15, 2017
The Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science and the Honourable Catherine McKenna, Minister of Environment and Climate Change announced over $50 Million for Strategic Partnerships to advance research in environment, information technology, energy and manufacturing. In all, 94 research projects will boost Canada’s leadership in areas like solar energy, data technology, alternative fuels and electric vehicles.

Celebrating Canada’s Top Natural Sciences and Engineering Researchers
February 7, 2017
His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada, the Right Honourable Justin Trudeau, Prime Minister of Canada, and the Honourable Kirsty Duncan, Minister of Science, joined NSERC President, Dr. B. Mario Pinto, to recognize some of Canada’s top researchers in the fields of natural sciences and engineering. This year, 20 recipients and 12 industry partners received 6vprestigious prizes totalling $3.72 million. These awards showcase some of the best and brightest scientists and engineers from across the country every year and the recipients represent the full spectrum of our country’s research talent, from students just embarking on their careers to seasoned researchers making internationally recognized discoveries.

Life in the deep Earth – NSERC-RCIS Lecture with Dr. Barbara Sherwood Lollar
January 25, 2017
Dr. Barbara Sherwood Lollar presented a public talk that enabled members of the scientific community and of the general public to journey with explorers past, present and future as she commented on some of the places on Earth where life ekes out an existence far from the energy of sunlight.

Dr. Barbara Sherwood Lollar, Professor of Earth Sciences at the University of Toronto and Director of the Stable Isotope Laboratory, is the recipient of the 2016 NSERC John C. Polanyi Award, which is given for outstanding recent advances in the natural sciences or engineering.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Galeries de photos

Le CRSNG et CONCYTEC accueillent des dirigeants d’organismes de financement de la recherche du monde entier à Ottawa
le 29 mai 2017
Alors que le Canada célèbre son 150e anniversaire, il semblait approprié que le CRSNG coorganise la réunion annuelle du Global Research Council (GRC) qui a eu lieu à Ottawa, du 29 au 31 mai 2017. Cette réunion a réuni les dirigeants de près de 50 organismes de financement de la recherche en sciences et en génie et plus de 100 autres participants du monde entier. Elle visait à favoriser la mise en commun des renseignements et des pratiques exemplaires pour assurer une collaboration de qualité entre ces organismes.

Remerciements dans le cadre de l’Odyssée des sciences et annonce du Prix du CRSNG pour la promotion des sciences
le 15 mai 2017
L’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, et B. Mario Pinto, président du CRSNG, ont accueilli 18 groupes de sensibilisation aux sciences lors d’une activité de remerciement dans le cadre de l’Odyssée des sciences qui s’est tenue le 15 mai à Ottawa. Des étudiants, des chercheurs et des organismes de promotion des sciences ont participé à l’évènement. Les participants ont été invités à explorer la salle pour y découvrir des robots, des activités interactives et un planétarium d’une hauteur de 13 pieds.

En outre, l’honorable Kirsty Duncan et B. Mario Pinto ont présenté le Prix du CRSNG pour la promotion des sciences à Jeremy McNeil (catégorie individuelle), et à l’Ontario Network for Women in Engineering (catégorie groupe).

Lancement de l’Odyssée des sciences 2017 et annonce des noms des 81 titulaires d’une subvention du Programme PromoScience du CRSNG
le 12 mai 2017
Kate Young, secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences a lancé l’édition de 2017 de l’Odyssée des sciences, une série de dix jours d’activités scientifiques se déroulant partout au Canada du 12 au 21 mai. L’Odyssée des sciences est une célébration nationale des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM), organisée par le CRSNG qui a pour but d’inspirer les jeunes Canadiens et le grand public d’un bout à l’autre du pays en présentant les réalisations du Canada dans les domaines des STIM.

Dans le cadre du lancement de l’Odyssée des sciences, la secrétaire parlementaire pour les Sciences a annoncé le nom des 81 titulaires d’une subvention du Programme PromoScience du CRSNG, lequel appuie la sensibilisation des jeunes aux sciences dans toutes les collectivités du  pays.

Des jeunes et des invités de marque se sont joints à Stefan Jones, un animateur scientifique, pour assister à des démonstrations scientifiques passionnantes y compris la boule de plasma, la vapeur inflammable qui se déplace, les flammes colorées et le « flacon bleu » du Johnson GEO CENTRE.

Annonce au sujet du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté : 37 projets à l’appui de la collaboration en recherche universitaire et collégiale
le 2 mai 2017
L’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, a annoncé l’octroi de 37 millions de dollars à 37 projets à l’appui de la collaboration en recherche universitaire et collégiale, d’équipement, de centres d’accès à la technologie et de partenariats entre les collèges et des entreprises, par l’entremise du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC). Le Programme d’ICC est l’un des plus importants mécanismes de financement de la recherche dans les collèges et les cégeps au Canada.

Annonce relative aux subventions de partenariat stratégique pour les projets : 94 nouveaux projets de recherche visant à assurer le leadership du Canada
le 15 février 2017
L’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, et l’honorable Catherine McKenna, ministre de l’Environnement et du Changement climatique, ont annoncé un investissement de plus de 50 millions de dollars dans les partenariats stratégiques afin de faire progresser la recherche en environnement, en technologie de l’information, en énergie et en fabrication. Au total, 94 projets de recherche permettront d’assurer le leadership du Canada dans des domaines comme l’énergie solaire, la technologie des données, les combustibles de remplacement et les véhicules électriques.

Cérémonie d’hommage aux meilleurs chercheurs du Canada en sciences naturelles et en génie
le 7 février 2017
Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, gouverneur général du Canada, le très honorable Justin Trudeau, premier ministre du Canada, et l’honorable Kirsty Duncan, ministre des Sciences, se sont joints au président du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada, B. Mario Pinto, pour rendre hommage à certains des meilleurs chercheurs du Canada en sciences naturelles et en génie. Cette année, ce sont donc 20 chercheurs et 12 entreprises partenaires qui se sont vu décerner 6 prix prestigieux d’une valeur globale de 3,72 millions de dollars. Ces prix sont remis chaque année à certains des meilleurs scientifiques et ingénieurs de partout au Canada; les lauréats représentent tout un éventail de domaines de recherche et comptent à la fois des étudiants à l’aube de leur carrière et des chercheurs émérites dont les réalisations rayonnent dans le monde entier.

La vie dans les profondeurs de la Terre – Exposé du CRSNG et du Royal Canadian Institute for Science avec Barbara Sherwood Lollar
le 25 janvier 2017
Barbara Sherwood Lollar a fait un exposé qui a permis aux membres du milieu de la recherche et du grand public d’accompagner les explorateurs d’hier, d’aujourd’hui et de demain alors qu’elle décrivait certains des endroits sur Terre où la vie s’est taillé une place loin de l’énergie solaire.

Mme Sherwood Lollar, professeure en sciences de la Terre à la University of Toronto et directrice du Stable Isotope Laboratory, est lauréate du Prix John-C.-Polanyi du CRSNG de 2016, qui récompense les percées remarquables réalisées récemment en sciences naturelles et en génie.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.