Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Digvir S. Jayas

Digvir S. Jayas

Dr. Digvir S. Jayas (Ph.D. University of Saskatchewan; M.Sc. University of Manitoba; B.Tech. G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology in Pantnagar, India) is Vice-President (Research and International) and a Distinguished Professor at the University of Manitoba. Prior to this, he held the positions of Vice-President (Research), Associate Vice-President (Research), Associate Dean (Research) in the Faculty of Agricultural and Food Sciences, Department Head of Biosystems Engineering and Interim Director of the Richardson Centre for Functional Foods and Nutraceuticals.

Dr. Jayas served as the Interim President of NSERC, on a part-time basis (November 8, 2018 to September 30, 2019), and has been a member of the NSERC Council since 2014. He is also a member of the Executive Committee, and a past member of the Committee on Research Partnerships and the Special Committee of Council on the NSERC 2020 Strategic Plan. He has chaired several Research Network site visits, a Strategic Projects Selection Panel and the Research Networks Selection Committee.

Dr. Jayas has received awards in recognition of his research and professional contributions, including an earned doctorate degree from the University of Saskatchewan, the 2019 Sir John William Dawson Medal from the Royal Society of Canada, a Canada Research Chair in Stored-Grain Ecosystems, 2017 Sukup Global Food Security Award from the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers, as well as the NSERC Brockhouse Canada Prize in 2008. He was inducted as a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 2009.

Dr. Jayas serves on the boards of many organizations including: TRIUMF, ArcticNet, Composite Innovation Centre, Engineers Canada, Glyconet, Oceans Research in Canada Alliance and has served as President of Agriculture Institute of Canada, Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Manitoba, Canadian Institute of Food Science and Technology, Canadian Society for Bioengineering, Engineers Canada, and Manitoba Institute of Agrologists. He is currently serving as Chair of the TRIUMF Board.

Dr. Jayas has authored or co-authored over 900 technical articles in scientific journals, conference proceedings and books dealing with issues of storing, drying, handling and quality monitoring of grains. He is a Registered Professional Engineer and a Registered Professional Agrologist.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Digvir S. Jayas

Digvir S. Jayas

Digvir S. Jayas (doctorat, University of Saskatchewan; maitrise, Université du Manitoba; baccalauréat en technologie, G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology à Pantnagar, en Inde) est vice-recteur à la recherche et aux relations internationales et professeur éminent à l’Université du Manitoba. Auparavant, il a été vice-recteur à la recherche, vice-recteur associé à la recherche, doyen associé à la recherche de la faculté des sciences agricoles et alimentaires, directeur du département de génie des biosystèmes et directeur intérimaire du Centre Richardson de recherche sur les aliments fonctionnels et les nutraceutiques.

M. Jayas a été président par intérim du CRSNG, à temps partiel (du 8 novembre 2018 au 30 septembre 2019), et est membre du Conseil du CRSNG depuis plus de quatre ans. Il est aussi membre du Bureau du Conseil et a siégé au Comité des partenariats de recherche et au comité spécial du Conseil relativement au Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG. Il a présidé plusieurs comités de visite d’évaluation de réseaux de recherche, un comité de sélection de projets stratégiques et le Comité de sélection des réseaux de recherche.

M. Jayas a reçu des prix pour ses travaux et ses contributions professionnelles, notamment le titulariat de la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur les écosystèmes des céréales entreposées, le Sukup Global Food Security Award de 2017 de la American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers et le prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie du CRSNG de 2008. Il a été élu membre de la Société royale du Canada en 2009.

M. Jayas fait partie du conseil d’administration de nombreuses organisations, notamment TRIUMF, le réseau ArcticNet, le Composite Innovation Centre, Ingénieurs Canada, le réseau Glyconet et l’Alliance de la recherche océanique au Canada. Il a été président de l’Institut agricole du Canada, de l’Association des ingénieurs et des géoscientifiques du Manitoba, de l’Institut canadien de science et de technologie alimentaires, de la Société canadienne de génie agroalimentaire et de bioingénierie, d’Ingénieurs Canada et de l’Institut des agronomes du Manitoba. Il est actuellement président du conseil d’administration de TRIUMF.

M. Jayas est auteur ou coauteur de plus de 900 articles techniques qui ont été publiés dans des revues scientifiques, des actes de conférences et des livres traitant de l’entreposage, du séchage et de la manutention des céréales et de la surveillance de leur qualité. Il est ingénieur agréé et agronome agréé.