Equity, Diversity and Inclusion


Dimensions

Dimensions: equity, diversity and inclusion Canada invites you to take part in a post-secondary transformation to increase equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) and help drive deeper cultural change within the research ecosystem. Sound EDI-informed policies and practices improve access to the largest pool of qualified potential participants, enhance the integrity of a program's application and selection processes, strengthen research outputs and increase the overall excellence of research. The Dimensions program addresses obstacles faced by, but not limited to, women, Indigenous Peoples, persons with disabilities, members of visible minorities/racialized groups, and members of LGBTQ2+ communities. It provides public recognition for institutions committed to achieving increased EDI.

Post-secondary institutions wanting to make a difference can endorse the Dimensions charter now. A cohort of 17 Canadian post-secondary institutions has been included in the Dimensions pilot program. These institutions will have the opportunity to be among the first in Canada to be publicly recognized for their efforts and their progress in increasing equity, diversity and inclusion. Selected resources and tools developed during the pilot will be accessible to all.

Dimensions is an initiative of the three granting agencies in collaboration with Universities Canada as well as Colleges and Institutes Canada.


A thoughtful name

Dimensions recognizes that a multiplicity of perspectives, lived experiences and the overall complexity of diverse individuals foster increased research excellence, innovation and creativity within the post-secondary sector. This program takes a multidimensional approach to equity, diversity and inclusion to achieve a future research community where all can thrive.


An international call for change

Dimensions is one of the leading international programs promoting EDI in higher education, along with Athena SWAN in the United Kingdoms and Ireland, SAGE in Australia and SEA Change in the United States. The program is the result of cross-country consultations to make it uniquely adapted to the Canadian realities.

Tri-agency logos

Contact

Equity, diversity and inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Équité, diversité et inclusion


Dimensions

Dimensions : équité, diversité et inclusion Canada invite les établissements à prendre part à une transformation du milieu postsecondaire pour accroitre l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) et contribuer à un changement profond de culture au sein de l’écosystème de la recherche. De solides politiques et pratiques fondées sur les principes d’EDI permettent aux établissements d’avoir accès au plus grand nombre possible de personnes qualifiées, rehaussent l’intégrité des processus de demande et de sélection des programmes, améliorent les résultats de la recherche et favorisent, de façon générale, l’excellence en recherche. Le programme Dimensions vise à éliminer les obstacles qui touchent notamment les femmes, les peuples autochtones, les personnes en situation de handicap, les membres de minorités visibles ou de groupes racisés et les membres de la communauté LGBTQ2+. Il reconnait publiquement les établissements qui s’engagent à promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Les établissements postsecondaires qui veulent contribuer à améliorer l’EDI peuvent dès maintenant souscrire à la charte Dimensions. Pour l’heure, une cohorte de 17 établissements a été choisie pour participer au programme pilote Dimensions. Ces établissements ont l’occasion d’être les premiers au Canada à être reconnus publiquement pour le travail et les progrès qu’ils font pour promouvoir l’EDI. Certains des outils et des ressources mis au point dans le cadre du programme pilote seront mis à la disposition de tous les établissements.

Le programme Dimensions est une initiative des trois organismes subventionnaires, menée en collaboration avec les organismes Universités Canada et Collèges et instituts Canada.


Un nom porteur de sens

Le programme Dimensions reconnait que la multiplicité des perspectives et des expériences de même que la riche complexité des diverses identités favorisent l’excellence en recherche, l’innovation et la créativité dans le milieu postsecondaire. Le programme mise sur une approche multidimensionnelle de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion pour créer un environnement où tous les membres du milieu de la recherche trouvent leur place et se réalisent.


Un appel au changement partout dans le monde

Dimensions est l’un des grands programmes de promotion de l’EDI dans le milieu postsecondaire, au côté des programmes Athena SWAN au Royaume-Uni et en Irlande (pages en anglais), SAGE en Australie (page en anglais) et SEA Change aux États-Unis (page en anglais). Le programme Dimensions a été adapté au contexte canadien à la suite de consultations menées à l’échelle du pays.

Logos tri-agences

Coordonnées

Équité, diversité et inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram