Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

ARCHIVED – Ethics and Integrity Guidelines Institutions, Applicants and Award Holders

ARCHIVED

This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.



Research integrity

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) (the Agencies) have put in place a Tri-Council Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship and a policy framework on research integrity that institutions, applicants and award holders must adhere to. As part of these policy tools, a formal process is in place for institutions to investigate possible breaches of scientific integrity and to report findings to NSERC (see below). The Corporate Secretariat manages this process, which is formally under the stewardship of the Council’s Executive Committee and its Committee on Research Integrity.

NSERC, SSHRC and CIHR, with input from the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), have undertaken a review of the Agencies’ policy framework for research and scholarly integrity and financial accountability, and are providing regular updates on their work to address key action areas. The Agencies and the AUCC remain committed to continuous improvement in this important area.

Allegations of scientific misconduct

NSERC takes complaints of scientific misconduct very seriously. Allegations are reviewed to first determine if the issue falls under NSERC's purview and then whether the issue constitutes scientific misconduct according to the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship.

NSERC does not carry out investigations. Institutions funded by any of the federal funding agencies are required to have an institutional integrity policy in place that complies with the Tri-Council Policy Statement and that outlines procedures for investigating allegations of scientific misconduct. The expected procedures for such investigations are described in the Tri-Council Policy Statement and in the Framework for Tri-Council Review of Institutional Policies Dealing with Integrity in Research.

The agencies have developed the Tri-Agency Process for Addressing Allegations of Non-Compliance with Tri-Agency Policies to ensure consistency in how cases are handled.  This process is used for allegations of non-compliance with different agencies’ policies, such as integrity, finance and ethics. Two companion documents are also available:

Ethics and other requirements

With SSHRC and CIHR, NSERC created the  This link will take you to another Web site Interagency Advisory Panel on Research Ethics and the Interagency Secretariat on Research Ethics which ensure that the three agencies remain at the forefront of policy development for the protection of human subjects in research. Institutions, applicants and award holders must adhere to the TCPS 2: Tri‑Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans.

Clear rules and controls related to ethics and integrity are embedded in NSERC’s processes. Before funds are disbursed, certifications must be in place regarding animal care, the approval of research protocols that involve the use of human subjects and the handling of hazardous substances. NSERC also ensures that the research it supports promotes sustainable development and is conducted in a way that respects and protects the environment, in accordance with the Environmental Assessment Act.

See also:

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

ARCHIVÉE – Lignes directrices en matière d'éthique et d'intégrité – Établissements, candidats et titulaires d'une subvention ou d'une bourse

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Intégrité en recherche

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) (les organismes) ont mis en place la Politique inter-conseils sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition et un cadre stratégique sur l’intégrité de la recherche auxquels les établissements, les candidats et les titulaires d’une subvention ou d’une bourse doivent adhérer. Ce cadre stratégique comprend un processus officiel permettant aux établissements d’enquêter sur les violations possibles de l’intégrité scientifique et faire un rapport des résultats au CRSNG (voir ci-dessous). Le Secrétariat du CRSNG gère ce processus qui relève officiellement du Bureau du Conseil et de son Comité de l’intégrité de la recherche.

Le CRSNG, le CRSH et les IRSC (les organismes) ont entrepris, en collaboration avec l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC), un examen du cadre stratégique des organismes sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition et la responsabilité financière, et donneront des mises à jour régulières sur les travaux menés dans ces grandes catégories. Les organismes et l’AUCC demeurent déterminés à assurer une amélioration continue dans cet important domaine.

Allégations d’inconduite scientifique

Le CRSNG prend très au sérieux les plaintes d’inconduite scientifique. Les allégations sont examinées d’abord afin de déterminer si elles sont du ressort du CRSNG et ensuite si le problème soulevé constitue un cas d’inconduite scientifique, selon la Politique inter-conseils sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition.

Le CRSNG ne réalise pas d’enquêtes. Les établissements appuyés par l’un ou l’autre des organismes subventionnaires fédéraux sont tenus d’avoir en place une politique sur l’intégrité universitaire qui se conforme à la Politique inter-conseils et qui trace les procédures d’enquête sur les allégations d’inconduite scientifique. La procédure prévue pour de telles enquêtes est décrite dans la Politique inter-conseils et dans le Cadre de référence pour l'examen inter-conseils des politiques institutionnelles concernant l'intégrité dans la recherche.

Les organismes ont élaboré le Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de non-conformité avec les politiques des trois organismes pour assurer une uniformité dans le traitement des cas. Ce processus est employé pour les allégations de non-conformité à différentes politiques des organismes, comme l’intégrité, les finances et l’éthique. Deux autres documents sont aussi disponibles :

Éthique et autres exigences

De concert avec le CRSH et les IRSC, le CRSNG a créé le This link will take you to another Web site Secrétariat et le Comité en éthique de la recherche interorganismes qui assurent que les trois organismes subventionnaires demeurent à l’avant-plan de l’élaboration de politiques assurant la protection des sujets humains en recherche. Les établissements, les candidats et les titulaires d’une subvention ou d’une bourse doivent adhérer à l’Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : EPTC 2 - Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains.

Des règles et des contrôles clairs en matière d’éthique et d’intégrité sont intégrés aux processus du CRSNG. Avant de verser les fonds, le CRSNG s’assure que les certifications concernant les soins aux animaux, l’approbation des protocoles de recherche portant sur des sujets humains et la manipulation de substances dangereuses ont été obtenus. Il s’assure également que la recherche appuyée est menée de manière à favoriser le développement durable et à respecter et protéger l’environnement, conformément à la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale.

Voir aussi :

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.