Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links


ARCHIVED – Framework for Tri-Council Review of Institutional Policies Dealing with Integrity in Research


This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.

Researchers are responsible for adhering to ethical principles in their research activities, and their associated institutions are responsible for monitoring conformity with these principles. The granting councils have in place a number of policies that define the standard of accountability in such areas as research integrity, research involving human and animal subjects, and fiscal responsibility. Institutions are required to show their commitment to the Tri-Council policy statement on Integrity in Research and Scholarship by adopting an institutional policy on integrity in research.

Following an examination of the policies submitted, the three Councils have developed a framework for their review. This framework, outlined below, is based on the general principles, expected process, and other requirements defined in the tri-council document on "Integrity in Research and Scholarship" (see the Tri Council Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship on NSERC's Web site).

General Principles

To comply with the general principles in the Tri-Council Policy on Integrity in Research and Scholarship and to provide guidance to researchers, the institutions that receive council funding must adopt:

  • A general statement of research integrity principles and description of what constitutes misconduct;
  • A statement confirming expectations for standards of appropriate behaviour in research for the members of the institutional research community, covering such points as honesty of researchers, respect for others, scholarly competence, and stewardship of resources;
  • A statement that both the policy and adjunct policies cover and identify all those involved in the research enterprise in any capacity whatsoever at the institution;
  • A policy (policies) on data recording, ownership and retention;
  • A policy on authorship and publication (either university-wide or by faculty);
  • A policy requiring disclosure of potential conflicts of interest;
  • A statement that the institution is committed to ongoing education on research integrity.

Procedures for Processing Allegations

The tri-council integrity policy also stipulates a number of requirements with regard to the process for dealing with breaches of integrity.

Institutional policies must therefore demonstrate that procedures have been established, as required by the Councils, to:

1. Receive allegations of misconduct

  • identify a central point of contact, at the vice-presidential level or equivalent (herein referred to Vice-President), to receive allegations within the institution; this will ensure that the individual receiving allegations is sufficiently at arm's length in the administrative structure so as to be viewed as impartial and free of personal conflicts of interest (especially with respect to small administrative units) , and indicates that the institution attaches importance to the issue;
  • establish a mechanism whereby administrators who receive allegations must channel them to the vice-president to ensure consistency in dealing with cases;
  • policy on anonymous allegations.

2. Conduct inquiries/investigations

  • specify the time frame for inquiries and/or investigations, which ensures that such matters receive the highest priority;
  • define an appropriate inquiry/investigation process, which would include:
    • the appointment process for the committee responsible for conducting the inquiry/investigation;
    • a procedure to include appropriate expertise on an investigative committee and to prevent conflicts of interest, real or apparent;
    • a procedure to obtain, identify and record documentation to be provided to and kept by the inquiry/investigation panel, and to ensure that all information made available to the inquiry/investigation is included as part of the record(s);
    • a procedure to ensure that the inquiry/investigation panel is able to identify and obtain all relevant records;
    • a statement of expectations for the format and a timeframe for the transmission of the report to the vice-president.

3. Protect privacy/confidentiality

  • identify steps to safeguard, as far as possible, the privacy of the complainant and respondent;
  • identify steps to protect the confidentiality of all material/records pertaining to the investigation.

4. Provide an opportunity for response and for due process

  • provide and opportunity for the complainant and respondent to comment on the allegations as part of the investigation;
  • provide an opportunity for the inquiry/investigation panel to interview the complainant and respondent;
  • ensure that records are maintained of interviews with individuals involved.

5. Make decisions on misconduct

  • ensure that the investigative committee reports to the vice-president;
  • acknowledge that the investigative committee has the authority to decide on misconduct, and that decision is binding on the institution;
  • provide an opportunity for rebuttal if misconduct is concluded.

6. Determine actions in response to a report

  • identify a process for recommendations of sanctions, determine appropriateness, and whether to impose them;
  • identify a follow-up process, to be developed by the vice-president;
  • for unfounded allegations, acknowledge that efforts will be made by the institution to protect or restore the reputation of those unjustly accused, and to ensure that documentation provided to the investigative committees will be destroyed;
  • define actions to protect 1) person (s) who have made an allegation in good faith; 2) all persons involved (e.g., witnesses) in an inquiry/investigation.

7. Report on the results of the investigation

  • establish a procedure by which the vice-president would inform the parties involved in a timely manner of the decision reached by the investigative committee and of any sanctions which are to be imposed.

8. Maintain records

  • define the time period that reports or records will be kept and by whom, once an inquiry / investigation has been completed and define access rights within the university to investigative reports or records.

Reporting to Councils

The last section of the tri-council policy deals with information to be provided to the Councils. This must also be addressed in the institutional policies and should include:

  • where misconduct was found to have occurred, a commitment, after completion of the investigation, to the forwarding of the report within 30 days of the inquiry/investigation to the Council (s) involved for all cases where the research is funded by the Councils;
  • a policy to take action which protects the administration of federal funds if appropriate;
  • a mechanism for general summary reporting on internal complaints and for forwarding to the Council (s) a comprehensive report of those allegations that result in a misconduct finding which involves their funding;
  • in cases where it is the Council which initiates a request for an inquiry/investigation, a mechanism for providing the Council (s), whose funds are involved, with a comprehensive report of the process and findings.

June 24, 1996

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

les trois Organismes

ARCHIVÉE – Cadre de référence pour l'examen inter-conseils des politiques institutionnelles concernant l'intégrité dans la recherche

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Les chercheurs doivent souscrire à des principes déontologiques dans leurs activités de recherche, et les établissements auxquels ils sont associés sont tenus d'assurer le respect de ces principes. Les Conseils subventionnaires ont mis en place un certain nombre de politiques déterminant les normes d'imputabilité dans des domaines tels que I'intégrité en recherche, la recherche comportant des sujets humains et animaux, ainsi que la responsabilité financière. Les établissements doivent démontrer leur engagement envers l'énoncé de politique inter-conseils concernant l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'erudition en adoptant une politique institutionnelle sur l'intégrité en recherche.

Après avoir examiné les politiques présentées par les établissements, les trois Conseils ont élaboré un cadre de référence pour l'examen de ces politiques. Ce cadre de référence, précisé ci-après, est fondé sur les principes généraux, le processus prévu et les autres exigences exposés dans le document inter-conseils sur l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition (voir Politique inter-conseils sur l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition sur le site Web du CRSNG).

Principes généraux

Afin de se conformer aux principes généraux énoncés dans la politique inter-conseils concernant l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition et de fournir des conseils aux chercheurs, les établissements qui reçoivent des fonds des Conseils subventionnaires doivent adopter ce qui suit :

  • un énoncé général des principes d'intégrité en recherche et une description de la nature des cas d'inconduite;
  • un énoncé confirmant les attentes face aux normes de comportement approprié en recherche pour les membres de la communauté de chercheurs institutionnels, portant sur divers points dont l'honnêteté des chercheurs, le respect des autres, la compétence scientifique et la gestion des ressources;
  • un énoncé précisant que la politique et toute politique connexe comprennent et précisent toutes les personnes participant aux activités de recherche, peu importe à quel titre au sein de l'établissement;
  • une ou plusieurs politiques portant sur l'enregistrement, la propriété et la conservation des données;
  • une politique sur les droits d'auteur et d'édition (à l'échelle de l'établissement de la faculté ou du département);
  • une politique exigeant la divulgation des conflits d'intérêts éventuels;
  • un énoncé selon lequel l'établissement s'engage envers l'éducation permanente en rapport à l'intégrité en recherche.

Procédures de traitement des allégations d'inconduite

La politique inter-conseils concernant l'intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d'érudition précise également un certain nombre d'exigences à l'égard du processus de traitement des manquements aux règles d'intégrité.

Les établissements doivent donc démontrer dans leurs politiques que des procédures ont été établies, comme l'exigent les trois Conseils subventionnaires, aux fins suivantes :

1. Recevoir les allégations d'inconduite

  • identifier une personne-ressource centrale, au niveau de la vice-présidence ou l'équivalent (on utilise ci-après le terme « vice-président »), chargée de recevoir les allégations au sein de l'établissement; ainsi, la personne chargée de recevoir les allégations occupera un poste suffisamment autonome au sein de la structure administrative afin d'être perçue comme impartiale et à l'abri de tout conflit d'intérêts personnel (surtout dans les petites unités administratives), ce qui indiquera que l'établissement accorde de l'importance à cette question;
  • établir un mécanisme selon lequel les administrateurs qui reçoivent les allégations les transmettent au vice-président, afin d'assurer le traitement uniforme des cas;
  • instaurer une politique sur les allégations anonymes.

2. Mener des enquêtes

  • préciser le calendrier de réalisation des enquêtes, afin d'accorder la priorité la plus élevée à ces questions;
  • déterminer un processus d'enquête approprié, qui porterait sur les points suivants :
    • le processus de nomination des membres du comité d'enquête;
    • une procédure assurant la présence de personnes compétentes au comité d'enquête et la prévention de tout conflit d'intérêts réel ou apparent;
    • une procédure permettant de recenser, d'obtenir et de consigner la documentation à fournir au comité d'enquête (documentation que ce comité doit conserver) et permettant d'assurer que tous les renseignements mis à la disposition du comité d'enquête soient inclus dans le(s) registre(s);
    • une procédure assurant que le comité d'enquête puisse obtenir tous les dossiers pertinents;
    • un énoncé des attentes quant au format du rapport et au calendrier d'acheminement de ce rapport au vice-président.

3. Protéger la vie privée et la confidentialité

  • préciser les étapes nécessaires pour préserver, dans la mesure du possible, la vie privée du plaignant et de l'intimé;
  • préciser les étapes requises pour protéger la confidentialité de tous les documents et dossiers portant sur l'enquête.

4. Fournir une occasion de réponse et un processus opportun

  • fournir au plaignant et à l'intimé l'occasion de commenter les allégations dans le cadre de l'enquête;
  • fournir au comité d'enquête l'occasion d'interroger le plaignant et l'intimé;
  • assurer la conservation des dossiers relatifs aux interrogatoires des personnes interrogées.

5. Prendre des décisions sur les cas d'inconduite

  • s'assurer que le comité d'enquête fasse rapport au vice-président;
  • confirmer que le comité d'enquête a le pouvoir de trancher le cas d'inconduite et que l'établissement doit se soumettre à la décision;
  • fournir une occasion d'appel en cas de décision d'inconduite.

6. Déterminer les mesures à prendre en réponse à un rapport

  • préciser un processus permettant de recommander des sanctions, de déterminer si elles sont adaptées à la situation et d'évaluer s'il est opportun de les imposer;
  • établir un processus de suivi devant être é1aboré par le vice-président;
  • dans les cas d'allégations non fondées, confirmer que des mesures seront mises de l'avant par l'établissement afin de protéger ou de restaurer la réputation des personnes injustement accusées et afin d'assurer la destruction de la documentation fournie au comité d'enquête;
  • définir les mesures visant à protéger : 1) la(les) personne(s) ayant formulé une allégation de bonne foi; 2) toute personne impliquée (p. ex., les témoins) dans le processus d'enquête.

7. Faire rapport sur les résultats de 1'enquête

  • établir une procédure que le vice-président suivrait pour informer en temps opportun les parties en cause de la décision rendue par le comité d'enquête et de toute sanction à imposer.

8. Conserver des registres

  • préciser le délai de conservation des rapports ou des dossiers, indiquer qui en est responsable une fois l'enquête achevée, et préciser les droits d'accès aux rapports ou aux dossiers d'enquête au sein de l'établissement.

Production de rapports à l'intention des conseils

La demière section de la politique inter-conseils porte sur l'information à fournir aux Conseils subventionnaires. Cette exigence doit également figurer dans les politiques des établissements et doit comprendre les éléments suivants :

  • dans les cas confirmés d'inconduite, un engagement qu'après l'achèvement de l'enquête, le rapport sera envoyé aux Conseils concernés dans les 30 jours suivant la fin de l'enquête pour tous les cas où la recherche est appuyée par les Conseils subventionnaires;
  • une politique d'intervention visant à protéger l'administration des fonds fédéraux, s'il y a lieu;
  • un mécanisme de production de rapports sommaires généraux concernant les cas de plaintes internes et de présentation aux Conseils d'un rapport exhaustif sur les allégations avérées d'inconduite mettant en cause le financement des Conseils subventionnaires;
  • dans le cas où le Conseil demande la tenue d'une enquête, un mécanisme visant à fournir aux Conseils dont les fonds sont en cause un rapport exhaustif sur le processus d'enquête et ses résultats.

Le 24 juin 1996

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.