Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Use and Disclosure of Personal Information Provided to the College and Community Innovation Program

All personal information collected by the College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program related to researchers, company and college employees, community members and others is used to review applications and to administer and monitor awards. Consistent with these purposes, personal information submitted by the college to the CCI Program may also come to be used and disclosed in the following activities.

The three participating agencies, NSERC, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC), and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), will share information among themselves as required to manage the program. All three agencies are subject to the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act which strictly limit the use and disclosure of personal and other sensitive kinds of information. For further details on access rights and on the implementation of these laws by each agency, please consult the agencies’ websites, as follows: NSERC; This link will take you to another Web site SSHRC; and This link will take you to another Web site CIHR.

The agencies will share information related to applications and awards with the relevant official(s) in the college that applied to the CCI Program and administers the award.

As part of the review process, applications will be disclosed to award selection committees composed of experts recruited from the postsecondary community, and the private and public sectors. Proposals may also be shared with external reviewers, if necessary. All participants in CCI review activities must signify that they will abide by legal requirements and expectations with regard to the confidentiality and protection of the information entrusted to them.

The three agencies sometimes use personal information in research grant proposals to identify prospective committee members and expert reviewers to assist with the review of grant applications. The assistance of these individuals is then sought on a consent basis.

Applications submitted to the program may be reviewed, as required, under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act, 2012 (CEAA 2012). Portions of the research proposals could be shared with other federal government departments for review as required by the Act.

The agencies routinely publish and disseminate certain details about successful applications (including the name of the college, amount awarded, area of research, project title, and a summary of the research proposal prepared by the applicant) for public release. This information will normally be published on the agencies’ websites.

Files and databases containing personal information may also be used by the agencies for program planning, evaluation and review, in audits, and for generating statistics for these activities.

Information submitted to the program is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research and may be used and disclosed consistent with that Framework. Information may be shared with CIHR or SSHRC and other granting agencies for the purpose of reviewing the compliance of research institutions and individual researchers with the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research and other policies.

In cases of a serious breach of Agency policy, as determined by the Agency President, the Agency may publicly disclose any information relevant to the breach that is in the public interest, including the name of the researcher subject to the decision, the nature of the breach, the Institution where the researcher was employed at the time of the breach, the Institution where the researcher is currently employed, and the recourse imposed against the researcher. In determining whether a breach is serious, the Agency will consider the extent to which the breach jeopardizes the safety of the public or would bring the conduct of research into disrepute. For further information, see the NSERC Consent to Disclosure of Personal Information Policy - Frequently Asked Questions.

Contact information that is provided during the registration process of the NSERC On-line System is used by NSERC’s technical staff to identify and contact users when routine systems monitoring reveals that they may require technical assistance.

The agencies may use the personal information found in the proposal to contact researchers about program information, or to refine their mailing lists on a consent basis. The agencies do not share address information with other individuals or organizations.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au titre du Programme d'innovation dans les collèges et la communauté

Tous les renseignements personnels fournis au titre du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) et ayant trait aux chercheurs, aux employés des collèges et des entreprises, aux membres de la communauté et autres servent à l’évaluation des demandes et à l’administration et au suivi des subventions. Par conséquent, il se peut que les renseignements fournis par les collèges au titre du Programme d’ICC soient utilisés et divulgués au cours des activités décrites ci-dessous.

Les trois organismes subventionnaires, le CRSNG, le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), s’échangent des renseignements, au besoin, à des fins de gestion du programme. Les organismes sont assujettis à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, qui limitent de manière stricte l’utilisation et la divulgation de renseignements personnels et d’autres types de renseignements sensibles. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les droits d’accès à l’information et la mise en œuvre de ces lois au sein de chacun des organismes, veuillez consulter le site Web de ces derniers (CRSNG; This link will take you to another Web site CRSH; This link will take you to another Web site IRSC).

Les organismes partagent des renseignements sur les demandes et les subventions accordées dans le cadre du Programme d’ICC avec les autorités pertinentes des collèges qui ont présenté une demande et qui administrent une subvention.

Au cours du processus d’évaluation, le contenu des demandes de subvention est divulgué aux comités de sélection des subventions composés d’experts recrutés au sein du milieu de l’enseignement postsecondaire, de l’industrie et du gouvernement. Des demandes sont également transmises à des examinateurs de l’extérieur, au besoin. Tous les participants aux activités d’évaluation relatives au Programme d’ICC doivent indiquer qu’ils satisferont aux exigences et aux attentes juridiques en ce qui a trait à la confidentialité et à la protection des renseignements qui leur sont confiés.

Les organismes utilisent parfois les renseignements personnels contenus dans les propositions de recherche pour recruter de nouveaux membres de comité et examinateurs qui aideront à examiner les demandes de subvention. Les organismes doivent par la suite obtenir le consentement de ces personnes.

Les demandes présentées au Programme d’ICC peuvent être examinées, tel qu’il est exigé, aux termes de la Loi canadienne sur l’évaluation environnementale (2012) (LCEE 2012). Des éléments des propositions de recherche peuvent être transmis à des ministères fédéraux aux fins d’examen, tel qu’il est indiqué dans la Loi.

Les organismes publient et diffusent couramment des renseignements sur les demandes retenues aux fins de diffusion publique. (Ces renseignements comprennent, entre autres, le nom du collège, le montant accordé, le domaine de recherche, le titre du projet ainsi qu’un résumé de la proposition de recherche élaborée par le demandeur.) Les renseignements sont en général publiés dans le site Web des organismes.

Les dossiers et les bases de données contenant des renseignements personnels peuvent également être utilisés par les organismes en vue de la planification, de l’évaluation et de la révision des programmes, ainsi qu’au cours des vérifications, et pour établir des données statistiques sur ces activités.

Les renseignements présentés au titre du programme sont assujettis au This link will take you to another Web site Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche . Ils peuvent être utilisés et divulgués en vertu de ce Cadre de référence. Par exemple, des renseignements pourraient être communiqués aux IRSC ou au CRSH, ainsi qu’à d’autres organismes subventionnaires, aux fins de contrôle du respect, par les établissements qui effectuent de la recherche et par les chercheurs, du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche.

Dans le cas de violation grave des politiques de l’organisme, et s’il en est jugé ainsi par le président de l’organisme, l’organisme peut divulguer publiquement le nom du chercheur concerné, la nature de la violation, le nom de l’établissement où le chercheur était employé au moment de la violation et le nom de l’établissement où le chercheur est actuellement employé. Lorsqu’il déterminera s’il s’agit d’un cas grave de violation, l’organisme tiendra compte de la mesure dans laquelle la violation compromet la sécurité du public ou jetterait le discrédit sur la conduite de la recherche.

Le personnel technique du CRSNG utilise les renseignements fournis par les utilisateurs du système en ligne au moment de l’inscription pour repérer ces derniers et pour communiquer avec eux lorsque les contrôles de routine des systèmes révèlent qu’ils pourraient avoir besoin d’assistance technique.

Les organismes peuvent utiliser les renseignements personnels contenus dans les propositions dans le but de communiquer de l’information sur le programme aux chercheurs ou de mettre à jour leurs listes postales, moyennant consentement de ces derniers. Les organismes ne partagent aucun renseignement sur les adresses avec des particuliers ou d’autres organismes.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.