Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC

ARCHIVED – October 2010 - Update on Strengthening Integrity in Research and Scholarship

ARCHIVED

This information has been archived. Visit the Responsible Conduct of Research page for current information.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the This link will take you to another Web site Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats by contacting us.


Background on the Research Integrity Review

NSERC, CIHR, SSHRC (the agencies), along with the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada (AUCC), remain committed to improving the policy framework for research and scholarly integrity, and financial accountability. The report on the review of the integrity policy framework was prepared by NSERC, SSHRC and AUCC for the Minister of Industry and made public in October 2009. CIHR provided input on the draft report and has been participating in the development and implementation of a related action plan. The report concluded that the overall approach to research integrity was sound and identified four key action areas to strengthen the policy framework:

  1. clarify the Agencies’ role regarding integrity;
  2. update and strengthen the current research and scholarly integrity policy in order to ensure that it reflects the highest standards of integrity and provides increased clarity of terms, roles and responsibilities1;
  3. improve the effectiveness of its implementation and increase transparency; and
  4. update and strengthen the current Financial Policy in order to ensure that it reflects the highest standards of accountability and provides increased clarity of terms, roles and responsibilities1.

This update is the second in a series of periodic updates on work being done to address these key action areas. In this update, the membership of the new Research Integrity Advisory Group (RIAG) is presented (see below).

Actions Taken to Strengthen Research Integrity

1. Clarify the Agencies’ role regarding integrity.

The report to the Minister of Industry on the integrity policy framework, the overview document and the February 2010 update provide detailed clarification of the Agencies’ current role regarding integrity. During the past year, the Agencies have provided clarifications of their roles in presentations on the policy framework made to the Canadian Research Integrity Committee (CRIC), the National Council on Ethics in Human Research (NCEHR), and the Canadian Association of University Research Administrators (CAURA).

As part of the process of revising the integrity policy framework, the Agencies will review their roles to determine if any changes are needed.

2. and 41. Update and strengthen the current research and scholarly integrity policy in order to ensure that it reflects the highest standards of integrity and provides increased clarity of terms, roles and responsibilities. Update and strengthen the current Financial Policy in order to ensure that it reflects the highest standards of accountability and provides increased clarity of terms, roles and responsibilities.

The Agencies are moving ahead with the revision of the Tri-Agency Policy Statement: Integrity in Research and Scholarship (January 1994) and the financial policy.

The Agencies are pleased to announce that the Research Integrity Advisory Group (RIAG) has been established, and are making the membership of the RIAG publicly available. The RIAG's Terms of Reference will be made public in late October. The RIAG will help guide the development of the new policy framework for integrity and financial accountability by providing guidance and advice to the Agencies on recommended improvements. The Agencies would like to thank the RIAG members for agreeing to contribute to this important initiative.

The Agencies have engaged Tijs Creutzberg, Principal, Hickling Arthurs and Low, to support this project.

3. Improve the effectiveness of the implementation of the Policy and increase its transparency, in order to ensure that all relevant cases are dealt with effectively and that relevant stakeholders are effectively informed.

The Tri-Agency Process for Addressing Allegations of Non-Compliance with Tri-Agency Policies was released in February 2010.

New tools have been developed by the Agencies to improve the effectiveness of the implementation of the policy and improve its transparency:

These new tools explain a common approach for receiving and transmitting allegations, the handling of anonymous allegations and time lines for reviewing cases.

Next steps

As explained in the February 2010 update, at the request of the Minister of Industry, the Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) convened an This link will take you to another Web site expert panel to assess “the key research integrity principles, procedural mechanisms and practices, appropriate in the Canadian context, that could be applied across research disciplines at institutions receiving funds from the federal granting agencies.” The panel is expected to release its This link will take you to another Web site Report late October 2010. The RIAG will then meet to consider the CCA report and to begin guiding the development of a strengthened Tri-Agency policy framework for integrity and financial accountability.

The Agencies expect a revised Tri-Agency draft policy to be completed and ready for consideration by stakeholders in spring 2011. Comprehensive consultations on the revised draft policy and processes will be undertaken in 2011 with a wide range of stakeholders, with the assistance of the AUCC.

The final revised policy framework is expected to be made public in December 2011. Institutions will be expected to ensure that their institutional research integrity policies adhere to the revised policy within one year of the release date.

Closing

Integrity and accountability in research and scholarship are essential values of universities, colleges and other academic institutions. These values are also important to Canadians, given the significant investments made by the federal government in research and scholarship, and the important contributions these activities make to our society.

The Tri-Agencies are committed to ensuring that the highest standards of integrity and accountability are reflected in their own policies and procedures, and those of the institutions they fund. We look forward to receiving your feedback and input during the consultation process.

1Given that items 2 and 4 are closely related, they will be acted upon as one item.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH

ARCHIVÉE – Le point sur le renforcement de l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition – octobre 2010

ARCHIVÉE

Cette page Web est archivée. Pour obtenir de l’information courante, consultez la page La conduite responsable de la recherche.

Contenu archivé

L’information archivée dans le site Web sert à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Cette dernière n’a aucunement été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis sa date de mise en archive. Les pages archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes qui s’appliquent aux sites Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez obtenir cette information dans un autre format en communiquant avec nous.


Contexte de l’examen de l’intégrité dans la recherche

Le CRSNG, les IRSC et le CRSH (les organismes) ainsi que l’Association des universités et collèges du Canada (AUCC) continuent de s’employer à améliorer le cadre stratégique sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition et la responsabilité financière. Le rapport d’examen du cadre stratégique sur l’intégrité dans la recherche a été préparé par le CRSNG, le CRSH et l’AUCC pour le ministre de l’Industrie et rendu public en octobre 2009. Les IRSC ont eu voix au chapitre dans la rédaction de l’ébauche et ils participent à l’élaboration et à la mise en œuvre d’un plan d’action connexe. Le rapport a conclu que l’approche générale concernant l’intégrité dans la recherche était rigoureuse et a relevé les quatre mesures à prendre pour renforcer le cadre stratégique :

  1. préciser le rôle des organismes concernant l’intégrité;
  2. mettre à jour et renforcer l’actuel cadre de référence sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition pour s’assurer qu’il reflète les normes d’intégrité les plus élevées et qu’il définit plus clairement les modalités, les rôles et les responsabilités1;
  3. améliorer l’efficacité de sa mise en œuvre et accroître la transparence; et
  4. mettre à jour et renforcer la politique financière actuelle de manière à s’assurer qu’elle reflète les normes de responsabilité les plus élevées et qu’elle définit plus clairement les modalités ainsi que les rôles et les responsabilités1

La présente mise à jour est la deuxième d’une série de mises à jour périodiques sur les mesures prises dans ces domaines clés. Elle comprend des renseignements sur la composition (voir ci-après) du nouveau Groupe consultatif sur l’intégrité de la recherche (GCIR).

Mesures prises pour renforcer l’intégrité dans la recherche

1. Préciser le rôle des organismes concernant l’intégrité.

Le rapport à l’intention du ministre de l’Industrie concernant le cadre de référence sur l’intégrité, l’aperçu final et la mise à jour de février 2010 ont apporté des précisions détaillées concernant le rôle actuel des organismes dans le domaine de l’intégrité. Au cours de la dernière année, les organismes ont eux-mêmes clarifié leur rôle dans des présentations sur le cadre de référence données devant le Comité canadien de l’intégrité de la recherche (CCIR), le Conseil national d’éthique en recherche chez l’humain (CNERH) et l’Association canadienne d’administrateurs de recherche universitaire (ACARU).

Dans le cadre du processus de révision du cadre de référence sur l’intégrité, les organismes examineront leur rôle afin de déterminer s’il est nécessaire d’apporter des changements.

2. et 4.1 Mettre à jour et renforcer l’actuel cadre de référence sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition pour s’assurer qu’il reflète les normes d’intégrité les plus élevées et qu’il définit plus clairement les modalités, les rôles et les responsabilités. Mettre à jour et renforcer la politique financière actuelle de manière à s’assurer qu’elle reflète les normes de responsabilité les plus élevées et qu’elle définit plus clairement les modalités ainsi que les rôles et les responsabilités.

Les organismes vont de l’avant avec la révision de la Politique inter-conseils sur l’intégrité dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition (janvier 1994) et de la politique financière.

Ils sont ravis d’annoncer la mise sur pied du Groupe consultatif sur l’intégrité de la recherche (GCIR) et de rendre public sa composition. Le mandat du GCIR sera rendu public à la fin d'octobre. Le GCIR aidera à orienter l’élaboration du nouveau cadre stratégique sur l’intégrité et la responsabilité financière en donnant des conseils et des avis aux organismes concernant les améliorations recommandées. Les organismes tiennent à remercier les membres du GCIR d’avoir accepté de contribuer à cette initiative importante.

Les organismes ont retenu les services de Tijs Creutzberg, directeur, Hickling Arthurs and Low, comme ressource additionnelle pour ce projet.

3. Améliorer l’efficacité de la mise en œuvre du cadre stratégique et en accroître la transparence de manière à s’assurer que tous les cas sont traités de façon efficace et que les intervenants pertinents sont renseignés éffectivement.

Le Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de non-conformité avec les politiques des trois organismes a été annoncé en février 2010.

Les organismes ont développé de nouveaux outils pour renforcer l’efficacité de la mise en œuvre de la politique et en améliorer la transparence :

Ces nouveaux outils expliquent une approche commune pour la réception et la transmission des allégations, le traitement des allégations anonymes ainsi que les délais prévus aux fins d’examen des cas.

Prochaines étapes

Comme l’explique la mise à jour de février 2010, le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) a mis sur pied un This link will take you to another Web site comité d’experts à la demande du ministre de l’Industrie pour répondre à la question suivante : « En matière d’intégrité en recherche, quels sont les principes, procédures et pratiques importants, appropriés dans le contexte canadien, que l’on pourrait appliquer dans tous les domaines de la recherche aux institutions qui reçoivent des fonds des conseils subventionnaires fédéraux? » Après la publication du This link will take you to another Web site Rapport du comité d’experts du CAC, prévue fin octobre 2010, le GCIR se réunira pour en examiner le contenu et commencer à orienter l’élaboration d'un cadre stratégique renforci des trois organismes sur l’intégrité et la responsabilité financière.

Les organismes s’attendent à ce que l’ébauche du cadre stratégique révisé soit soumise à l’examen des intervenants au printemps 2011. Avec l’aide de l’AUCC, de vastes consultations sur la politique provisoire révisée et les processus auront lieu auprès d’un large éventail d’intervenants en 2011.

La version définitive du cadre stratégique révisé devrait être rendue publique en décembre 2011. On s’attend à ce que les établissements harmonisent leur politique sur l’intégrité dans la recherche au cours des 12 mois suivant la diffusion des universités, collèges et autres établissements de la politique révisée.

Conclusion

L’intégrité et la responsabilité financière dans la recherche et les travaux d’érudition constituent des valeurs essentielles. Ces valeurs sont également importantes pour les Canadiens en raison des investissements fédéraux considérables au titre de la recherche et des travaux d’érudition ainsi que de l’apport remarquable de ces activités à notre société.

Les trois organismes sont déterminés à faire en sorte que leurs propres politiques et procédures et celles des établissements bénéficiant de leur appui reflètent les normes d’intégrité et de responsabilité financière les plus élevées. Nous sommes impatients de recevoir vos commentaires et vos suggestions au cours de la consultation.

1Étant donné que les points 2 et 4 sont étroitement reliés, ils seront adressés comme un point.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.