Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Current Winners
2016 NSERC Awards for Science Promotion

Ontario Network of Women in Engineering (ONWiE)

ONWiE is a unique and innovative collaboration among the 16 schools and faculties of engineering and applied science in Ontario. Its mandate is to work collaboratively to promote the participation of women in engineering by supporting female engineers and engineering students. For 11 years, this network has developed outreach programs and has established crucial best practices for positive messages, instilling confidence in girls to pursue careers in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).

The network was formed in 2005, with Dr. Valerie Davidson at the helm, to fulfill the need to share resources among the schools and faculties of engineering and applied science and to fully address the persistent under-representation of women in engineering. The current ONWiE chair is Dr. Mary Wells, professor in the Department of Mechanical and Mechatronics Engineering and the Associate Dean of Outreach at the University of Waterloo.

Inspiring the public’s knowledge of engineering

In October 2005, ONWiE launched its flagship outreach program Go ENG Girl, an annual, province-wide, one-day event for girls in grades 7 through 10 and their parents about the engineering profession and the range of careers available in engineering fields. Today, this program is recognized across Canada as a leading outreach program. Universities in four other provinces have begun implementing it.

In 2011, ONWiE initiated its Girl Guide Badge Day program in which girls in the Girl Guides (grades 4 to 6) and Pathfinders (grades 7 to 9) can spend one day with ONWiE members to fulfill their requirements for their “Engineering, Science and Technology” badge. In early 2015, ONWiE introduced Go Code Girl, which focuses on software and computer engineering programs. To date, eleven ONWiE locations have offered this outreach program, and close to 1,000 girls from grades 7 to 11 have participated.

More information on This link will take you to another Web site ONWiE

Dr. Jeremy McNeil

Dr. Jeremy McNeil has been actively involved in different aspects of science outreach for more than four decades. He is Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Biology at Western University, where he teaches behavioural and chemical ecology of insects.

A key interaction sparked his interest in public awareness decades ago. When showing his neighbours’ seven-year-old son a hornworm caterpillar from his garden, the young boy stared for a minute and then squashed it in the palm of his hand. When McNeil asked why he did that, the boy replied, "Insects are not nice.” Ever since, McNeil has attempted not only to educate the public about insects (and hopefully reduce insecticide use) but also to instill a real appreciation for the natural world around us.

Dr. McNeil has presented to school children of all ages and backgrounds, both by visiting schools personally and by participating at regional or national events for groups such as Scouts Canada and Girl Guides of Canada. He has spoken in various parts of the world, including Australia, England, France, Thailand, Taiwan and the United States. The acclaimed biologist has been featured in many radio and TV interviews in English and French and serves as a resource person in the preparation of science programs for TV and radio.

Dr. McNeil’s reputation as “Monsieur Bibitte” in the Quebec school system turned him into the perfect collaborator to write a children’s book discussing how you become a researcher. As a result of this, he was invited by Nature to review a number of science books written for young children.

Dr. McNeil also reaches the broader public by presenting at gardening or nature clubs. He finds time to speak with farmers and exterminators on general topics such as alternatives to pesticides for pest control or specific pest problems in different crops. As a keen photographer, he uses many of his own photos in his presentations.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lauréats actuels
Prix du CRSNG pour la promotion des
sciences de 2016

ONWiE (Ontario Network of Women in Engineering)

L’ONWiE représente une collaboration novatrice unique entre les seize écoles et facultés de génie et de sciences appliquées de l’Ontario. Le mandat de ce réseau est de travailler en collaboration pour favoriser la participation des femmes dans les domaines de l’ingénierie en aidant les ingénieures et les étudiantes en génie. Depuis 11 ans, il met sur pied des programmes de sensibilisation et établit de pratiques exemplaires cruciales à la diffusion de messages positifs qui incitent les jeunes filles à faire carrière dans les domaines des sciences, de la technologie, de l’ingénierie et des mathématiques (STIM).

Le réseau, alors présidé par Valerie Davidson, a vu le jour en 2005 pour répondre au besoin de mettre en commun les ressources des écoles et des facultés de génie et de sciences appliquées et de régler le problème persistant de la sous‑représentation des femmes en génie. La présidente actuelle est Mary Wells, professeure au Département de génie mécanique et de mécatronique et directrice adjointe à la sensibilisation à la University of Waterloo.

Faire connaitre l’ingénierie au public

En octobre 2005, l’ONWiE a lancé son programme phare de sensibilisation intitulé GÉNiales, les filles!, une activité annuelle d’une journée qui se déroule dans l’ensemble de la province et qui vise à faire découvrir aux jeunes filles de la septième à la dixième année et à leurs parents la profession d’ingénieure et la diversité des emplois dans le domaine de l’ingénierie. Aujourd’hui, ce programme est considéré partout au Canada comme un important programme de sensibilisation; il est mis en œuvre dans quatre autres provinces.

En 2011, l’ONWiE a lancé la journée des Guides qui permet aux Guides (de la quatrième à la sixième année) et aux Pathfinders (de la septième à la neuvième année) de passer une journée avec des membres du réseau pour obtenir leur écusson « Ingénierie, sciences et technologie ». Au début de 2015, il a lancé le programme ALLEZ CODER LES FILLES, qui s’adressent aux étudiantes en génie logiciel et en génie informatique. Jusqu’à maintenant, ce programme de sensibilisation a été offert dans 11 universités et collèges, et près de 1 000 jeunes filles de la septième à la onzième année y ont participé.

Pour plus de renseignements sur l’This link will take you to another Web site ONWiE

Jeremy McNeil

Jeremy McNeil participe activement à différentes activités de sensibilisation aux sciences depuis plus de quarante ans. Ce professeur éminent du Département de biologie de la Western University enseigne l’écologie comportementale et chimique des insectes.

Son désir de sensibiliser le public découle d’un incident qui a eu lieu il y a de cela plusieurs années : alors qu’il montrait une chenille (sphinx de la Caroline) qu’il avait trouvée dans son jardin au fils de sept ans de son voisin, l’enfant a regardé fixement la chenille pendant une minute, puis l’a écrasée dans la paume de sa main. Quand M. McNeil lui a demandé pourquoi il avait fait cela, le garçon a répondu que les insectes ne sont pas gentils. Depuis ce jour, le professeur tente non seulement d’éduquer le public au sujet des insectes (avec l’espoir de réduire l’utilisation des insecticides), mais aussi de lui faire réellement aimer le monde naturel qui nous entoure.

M. McNeil a fait des présentations à des enfants de tous les âges et de tous les milieux en se rendant dans les écoles et en participant à des activités régionales ou nationales organisées par des groupes tels que Scouts Canada et Guides du Canada. Il s’est aussi adressé à des publics étrangers, notamment de l’Australie, de l’Angleterre, de la France, de la Thaïlande, de Taiwan et des États‑Unis. Ce biologiste renommé a donné de nombreuses entrevues en français et en anglais à la radio et à la télévision et a contribué à la préparation d’émissions scientifiques pour ces deux médias.

Compte tenu de la réputation de « M. Bibitte » dont il jouit dans le réseau scolaire du Québec, M. McNeil était la personne idéale pour écrire un livre qui explique aux enfants comment devenir chercheur. Par la suite, la revue Nature l’a invité à faire la critique de divers livres de science destinés à de jeunes enfants.

M. McNeil s’adresse également au grand public en faisant des présentations devant les membres de clubs de jardinage et de découverte de la nature. En outre, il trouve le temps de discuter avec des agriculteurs et des exterminateurs de sujets généraux tels que les solutions de remplacement aux pesticides utilisés pour la lutte antiparasitaire ou les problèmes précis liés à différentes cultures. Ce passionné de photographie ajoute souvent ses propres photos dans ses présentations.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.