Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Past Winner
2010 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship

Diane Srivastava

Zoology

The University of British Columbia


Diane Srivastava
Diane Srivastava

How much of an impact can specific species have on their environments? Diane Srivastava, a researcher with The University of British Columbia's Department of Zoology, is exploring the relationship between species and their ecosystem. Her findings will shed significant light on the delicate balance of animals and their environments, and the far-reaching impacts of extinction.

Dr. Srivastava is examining how ecosystems are affected by the species within their food webs and the impact a specific species can have within that web. To do this, she will conduct similar experiments at three sites located in Central America, the Caribbean and South America using bromeliads, a plant family that includes pineapples. Bromeliads provide a micro-ecosystem for Dr. Srivastava, as they contain small aquatic food webs consisting of bacteria, mosquito larvae, detritivore insects and predatory insects, though the exact species can differ drastically from region to region. For instance, damselfly larvae are present in Brazilian and Costa Rican bromeliads, but not in their Caribbean counterparts.

The plants will be dissected and their food webs censused by the research team to determine the species contained within. By comparing how these differences in species between regions affect the functioning of the bromeliad, Dr. Srivastava will have the perfect opportunity to determine the impact the presence or absence of any particular species has on the bromeliad ecosystem.

The information Dr. Srivastava gathers will inform policy regarding animal conservation and ecosystem management, and provide a better understanding of the interaction between all forms of life.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ancienne lauréate
Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2010

Diane Srivastava

Zoologie

The University of British Columbia


Diane Srivastava
Diane Srivastava

Quelle incidence une espèce particulière peut-elle avoir sur son milieu? Diane Srivastava, chercheuse du Département de zoologie à la University of British Columbia, explore la relation entre les espèces et leur écosystème. Les résultats de ses travaux permettront de faire la lumière sur l'équilibre délicat qui existe entre les animaux et leur milieu, ainsi que sur les retombées profondes de l'extinction.

Mme Srivastava s'intéresse à l'effet des espèces sur les réseaux trophiques des écosystèmes, ainsi qu'à l'effet qu'une espèce particulière peut avoir au sein de ce réseau. Pour réaliser ses travaux, elle fera des expériences similaires à trois endroits situés en Amérique centrale, dans les Caraïbes et en Amérique du Sud à l'aide de broméliacées, une famille de plantes à laquelle appartient notamment l'ananas. Pour Mme Srivastava, les broméliacées constituent un micro-écosystème, parce qu'elles contiennent de petits réseaux trophiques aquatiques composés de bactéries, de larves de moustiques, d'insectes détritivores et d'insectes prédateurs. Par contre, les espèces qui forment ce réseau peuvent varier considérablement d'une région à l'autre. Ainsi, il y a des larves de libellules dans les broméliacées du Brésil et du Costa Rica, mais non dans celles des Caraïbes.

Les chercheurs disséqueront les plantes et analyseront leurs réseaux trophiques pour déterminer les espèces qu'ils contiennent. La comparaison de l'effet qu'ont les différentes espèces sur le fonctionnement des broméliacées des diverses régions constituera pour Mme Srivastava le moyen parfait de déterminer l'effet de la présence ou de l'absence d'une espèce particulière sur l'écosystème de la broméliacée.

Les données recueillies par Mme Srivastava documenteront la politique sur la conservation des animaux et la gestion des écosystèmes et permettront de mieux comprendre l'interaction entre toutes les formes de vie.