Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Responsibilities and Accountability

Roles and Responsibilities

The administration of funds granted by an Agency is carried out by the grantee, the institution and the Agency. Refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research for researchers’ responsibilities when applying for, or in receipt of, Agency funds, and with the This link will take you to another Web site Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions for more details on administration of funds granted.

In accordance with federal laws and policies regarding grants, the Agency verifies eligibility for and entitlement to grants.

Grants are awarded to eligible researchers and are administered through the institution's administration systems. The grantee authorizes expenditures in accordance with Agency policies and requirements, as outlined in the relevant Agency guide on its Web site, or as stated as a condition of a grant, and with institution policies. No one may initiate or authorize expenditures from a grant account without the grantee's delegated authority.

Each institution establishes appropriate procedures, systems and controls to ensure that Agency policies and requirements are followed. The institution has the right and responsibility to withhold and withdraw approval of expenditures proposed by a grantee that contravene the Agency's requirements or the institution's policies and, when appropriate, to seek advice or ruling from the Agency as to eligibility of expenses.

Administrative, personnel and accounting procedures must conform to the standards, practices and policies of the grantee's institution.

Deviation from Proposed Activities and/or Budget

All conditions specified in the formal grant notification and relevant program requirements must be respected. Unless otherwise specified, grantees may generally deviate from the proposed research activities and/or schedules. Furthermore, they are not required to adhere strictly to the allocation of funds set out in the application as long as they use their grant for the broad purpose for which it was originally awarded.

Financial Monitoring of Accounts

Representatives of the Agencies will periodically review the institutions’ financial administration to:

  • assess whether grantees have the necessary financial/administrative tools to properly and effectively manage their research funds;
  • review the effectiveness of procedures, systems and controls in place at the institution to ensure that the Agencies’ policies and requirements are followed and that research funds are well managed;
  • review expenditures from grant accounts to ensure that these were made in accordance with the established policies and requirements and for the broad purpose intended; and
  • share and disseminate information on policies, requirements and expectations for financial accountability.

Non-Compliance

Researchers are responsible for using grant or award funds in accordance with the policies of the Agencies, including the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide and Agency grants and awards guides; and for providing true, complete and accurate information on documentation for expenditures from grant or award accounts.

Using grant or award funds for purposes inconsistent with the policies of the Agencies; misappropriating grants and award funds; contravening Agency financial policies, namely the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide, and Agency grants and awards guides; or providing incomplete, inaccurate or false information on documentation for expenditures from grant or award accounts all constitute breaches of the Agencies’ policies.

For information on how the Agencies address allegations of breaches of the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide or other Agency policies, refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research (section 6.1). Matters involving financial mismanagement, where there is evidence of fraud or other unlawful activity, are referred to the appropriate authorities as per the Treasury Board This link will take you to another Web site Directive on Losses of Money or Property.

Acknowledgement

Support for research by an Agency grant is an investment by Canadian taxpayers. The Agencies' accountability regarding this use of grant funds includes informing the public about who receives the support, the type of research that will be conducted and how funds will be administered.

Grantees are required to acknowledge the Agency in publications arising from the supported research, in conference or congress materials, and on equipment and facilities purchased and/or developed with grant funds (e.g., identification of Agencies’ equipment funding through stickers provided by the agency).

Intellectual Property/Patents

The Agencies:

  • do not retain or claim any ownership of, or exploitation or proprietary rights to, intellectual property, copyright or inventions developed/resulting from research supported with Agency grant funds;
  • do not pass judgment on the eventual commercial success of the research.

The institution must disclose to its grantees its policies on intellectual property rights and ownership arising from supported research. This requirement for disclosure is not intended to supersede any policy on disclosure that the institution might already have in place.

Should grantees decide to pursue commercialization of any results of the research, including all partnered initiatives, they must adhere to institutional and Agency policies governing the assignment of intellectual property.

Recipients of NSERC funding must comply with NSERC's Policy on Intellectual Property and Copyright.

Recipients of SSHRC funding must comply with SSHRC’s This link will take you to another Web site Policy on Intellectual Property and Copyright.

Recipients of CIHR funding must comply with CIHR’s This link will take you to another Web site Intellectual Property/Patents Requirements.

Archiving of Research Data (SSHRC and CIHR only)

SSHRC only

SSHRC is committed to the principle that research data collected with grant funds belong in the public domain. Accordingly, SSHRC has adopted a policy to facilitate making such data available to other researchers. All recipients of SSHRC funding are required to comply with the This link will take you to another Web site SSHRC Research Data Archiving Policy.

CIHR only

Grantees must deposit bioinformatics, atomic and molecular coordinate data into the appropriate public database immediately upon publication of research results (e.g., deposition of nucleic acid sequences into GenBank). Refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Annex of this policy for examples of research outputs and the corresponding publicly accessible repository or database.

Data retention, as already required by the majority of institutions, is mandated by CIHR. Grantees must retain original data sets arising from CIHR-funded research for a minimum of five years after the end of the grant. This applies to all data, whether published or not. The grantee's institution and Research Ethics Board may have additional policies and practices regarding the preservation, retention and protection of research data that must be respected.

Ownership of Collections and Specimens

Scientifically valuable collections of animal, culture, plant or geological specimens, or archaeological artifacts collected by an authorized representative in receipt of grant funds are the property of the institution. These collections must be held in trust for the research community, which should have reasonable access to them. Such collections must be deposited as quickly as possible in an appropriate repository.

However, the Agency’s policy on ownership of collections or specimens does not supersede any federal or provincial legislation on this issue.

The Agency's intention is not to restrict standard and recognized procedures of exchange of material and specimens between researchers and institutions, but to better ensure their continuing good condition and future availability.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Responsabilités et obligation de rendre compte

Rôles et responsabilités

L’administration des fonds accordés par un organisme relève du titulaire de la subvention, de l’établissement et de l’organisme. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés, consultez le This link will take you to another Web site Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche qui porte sur les responsabilités des chercheurs qui demandent ou reçoivent des fonds des organismes et l’This link will take you to another Web site Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche qui traite de l’administration des fonds accordés.

Conformément aux lois et aux politiques fédérales concernant les subventions, l’organisme vérifie l’admissibilité des candidats à une subvention.

Les subventions sont accordées à des chercheurs universitaires admissibles et sont administrées par l’entremise des systèmes d’administration de l’établissement. Le titulaire autorise les dépenses conformément aux politiques et aux exigences de l’organisme, telles qu’elles sont définies dans le guide de programme pertinent de l’organisme qui est publié dans son site Web, ou telles qu’elles sont précisées à titre de modalités d’une subvention, et aux politiques de l’établissement. Personne ne peut initier ni autoriser des dépenses imputées à un compte de subvention sans obtenir l’autorisation déléguée du titulaire.

Chaque établissement définit des politiques, des contrôles et des systèmes pertinents afin d’assurer le respect des politiques et des exigences de l’organisme. L’établissement est investi du droit et de la responsabilité de refuser l’approbation des dépenses proposées par un titulaire si celles-ci contreviennent aux exigences de l’organisme ou aux politiques de l’établissement et, si cela convient, peut demander conseil à l’organisme ou lui demander de se prononcer sur l’admissibilité des dépenses.

Les procédures relatives à l’administration, au personnel et à la comptabilité doivent être conformes aux normes, aux pratiques et aux politiques de l’établissement du titulaire.

Dérogation aux activités ou au budget proposés, ou les deux

Il y a lieu de respecter toutes les modalités précisées dans l’avis de subvention officielle et dans les exigences pertinentes du programme. À moins d’avis contraire, les titulaires peuvent en général déroger aux activités ou aux calendriers de recherche proposés, ou les deux. Par ailleurs, ils ne sont pas tenus de respecter à la lettre l’attribution des fonds définie dans la demande aussi longtemps qu’ils utilisent leur subvention aux fins générales pour lesquelles elle avait été accordée à l’origine. 

Surveillance financière

Des représentants de l’organisme examineront périodiquement le cadre de contrôle de la gestion des établissements afin :

  • d’évaluer l’efficacité des politiques, des systèmes et des mesures de contrôle internes utilisés par l’établissement;
  • de confirmer que l’établissement s’acquitte de ses responsabilités en matière de gestion des fonds de subvention conformément à l’This link will take you to another Web site Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche;
  • de déterminer que le niveau de confiance quant à l’utilisation des fonds de recherche conformément aux exigences des trois organismes subventionnaires est adéquat;
  • de partager et de diffuser de l’information sur les lignes directrices et les attentes relatives à l’amélioration continue de la gestion des fonds de recherche.

Pour obtenir des renseignements au sujet des critères employés pour évaluer le cadre de contrôle de la gestion des établissements, reportez-vous à l’ Outil de cueillette d’information des établissements.

Non-respect

Les chercheurs sont tenus d'utiliser les subventions ou les bourses conformément aux politiques des organismes, y compris le Guide d'administration financière des trois organismes et les guides des subventions et des bourses des organismes, ainsi que de fournir de l'information véridique, complète et exacte au sujet de la documentation liée aux dépenses imputées aux comptes d'une subvention ou d'une bourse.

Utiliser les fonds de la subvention ou de la bourse à des fins qui ne sont pas conformes aux politiques des organismes, détourner les fonds d’une subvention ou d’une bourse, ne pas respecter les politiques financières des organismes, à savoir le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes et les guides des organismes pour les subventions et bourses, ou donner de l’information incomplète, inexacte ou fausse au sujet de la documentation liée aux dépenses imputées aux comptes d’une subvention ou d’une bourse constituent une violation des politiques de l’organisme.

Pour obtenir de l’information sur la façon dont l’organisme traite les allégations de non-respect des dispositions du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes ou d’autres politiques des organismes, consultez la section 6.1, intitulée This link will take you to another Web site Processus des trois organismes pour l’examen des allégations de violation des politiques par des chercheurs du Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche. Les cas de mauvaise gestion financière, de fraude ou autre activité criminelle sont transférés aux autorités judiciaires compétentes, conformément à la This link will take you to another Web site Directive sur les pertes de fonds et de biens du Conseil du Trésor.

Reconnaissance

L’appui accordé par les organismes pour la recherche constitue un investissement de la part des contribuables canadiens. La responsabilité de l’organisme en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation des fonds de subvention comprend l’obligation d’informer le public du nom des personnes qui reçoivent un soutien, du type de recherche qui sera effectué et de la façon dont les fonds seront administrés.

Les titulaires sont tenus de reconnaître l’appui de l’organisme dans les publications découlant des recherches subventionnées, dans les documents de conférences et de congrès ainsi que sur l’appareillage et dans les installations achetés ou mis au point grâce aux fonds de subvention (p. ex., par l’utilisation d’autocollants fournis par l’organisme pour indiquer que l’équipement a bénéficié du financement de l’organisme).

Propriété intellectuelle et brevets

Les organismes :

  • ne détiennent ni ne revendiquent aucun droit de propriété intellectuelle ou d’exploitation relativement à toute propriété intellectuelle, tout droit d’auteur ou toute invention découlant de la recherche financée par les organismes;
  • ne portent pas de jugement sur la réussite commerciale possible de la recherche.

L’établissement doit divulguer aux titulaires de subvention ses politiques sur les droits de propriété intellectuelle et sur la propriété des résultats découlant de la recherche qu’il appuie. Cette exigence en matière de divulgation ne vise pas à remplacer les politiques de divulgation déjà en vigueur à l’établissement.

Si les titulaires décident de commercialiser des résultats de la recherche, y compris toute initiative en partenariat, ils doivent respecter les politiques de l’établissement et de l’organisme régissant l’attribution des droits de propriété intellectuelle.

Les bénéficiaires de financement du CRSNG doivent se conformer à la Politique sur la propriété intellectuelle du CRSNG.

Les bénéficiaires de financement du CRSH doivent se conformer à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur la propriété intellectuelle et droits d'auteurs du CRSH.

Les bénéficiaires de financement des IRSC doivent se conformer aux This link will take you to another Web site Exigences en matière de propriété intellectuelle et de brevets des IRSC.

Libre accès

Les organismes subventionnaires sont déterminés à favoriser la diffusion le plus rapidement possible des résultats de la recherche qu’ils financent auprès du plus grand nombre possible de personnes. On favorise les progrès sociaux en permettant aux chercheurs, aux universitaires, aux cliniciens, aux décideurs, aux organisations du secteur privé, aux organisations sans but lucratif et au grand public d’accéder librement et facilement aux connaissances et aux résultats de la recherche de pointe afin de les utiliser et de les mettre à profit. Afin de respecter cet engagement, le CRSNG, les IRSC et le CRSH ont élaboré la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès aux publications. Consultez la politique pour savoir comment se conformer à ses exigences. 

Archivage des données de recherche (CRSH uniquement)

Le CRSH s’est engagé à respecter le principe selon lequel les données de recherche recueillies à l’aide de fonds de subvention sont du domaine public. Par conséquent, le CRSH a adopté une politique visant à faciliter l’accès à ces données pour les autres chercheurs. Tous les bénéficiaires de financement du CRSH doivent se conformer à la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur l'archivage des données de recherche du CRSH.

Propriété des collections et spécimens

Les collections de spécimens animaux, botaniques, géologiques ou de cultures de valeur sur le plan scientifique ou les artéfacts archéologiques (collections) qui sont recueillis par un représentant autorisé recevant des fonds de subvention sont la propriété de l’établissement. Elles doivent être détenues en fiducie au nom du milieu de recherche, qui devrait y avoir un accès raisonnable. Ces collections doivent être déposées dès que possible dans un dépôt approprié.

Cependant, la politique de l’organisme sur la propriété des collections et spécimens ne remplace pas la législation fédérale ou provinciale sur le sujet.

L’organisme ne vise pas à restreindre les procédures normalisées et reconnues d’échange d’appareillage et de spécimens entre les chercheurs et les établissements, mais plutôt à veiller à les conserver en bon état et à en assurer l’accessibilité future.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.