Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Climate Change and Atmospheric Research

Overview
Value $500,000 to $1 million per year for up to five years
Application Deadline The program is now closed
How to Apply NSERC is no longer receiving new applications for this program.
Contact View Contact
Funded Projects

Background

The health and safety of Canadians and the strength of the Canadian economy rely on advancing our understanding of climate and the risks related to climate change, and on the development of effective policies that will allow us to anticipate and respond to these risks in a timely manner. Climate Change and Atmospheric Research (CCAR) Grants will capitalize on Canada’s world-class research capacity in key areas of climate and atmospheric research and innovation. Research will generate knowledge of the physical, chemical and biogeochemical processes related to the climate and atmospheric system and enable application of this knowledge toward understanding and predicting weather and climate. This research forms the basis for conducting further studies and assessments of the social, economic and ecological impacts of climate change and for developing strategies and adaptation mechanisms. The knowledge generated will provide the foundation for measures that save money and improve the lives of Canadians.

The CCAR initiative addresses both national research priorities and global challenges, including those associated with the This link will take you to another Web site Belmont Challenge Freshwater Security and Coastal Zone Vulnerability Initiatives by supporting a number of large, integrative projects involving university researchers and Canadian government scientists, along with other partners and international researchers. This initiative will encourage the training of students and other highly qualified personnel in these fields.

Description

The CCAR initiative will support a limited number of large-scale research projects that are considered to be of high priority by both the Canadian academic research community and federal government departments. These projects will be led by world-class Canadian researchers and will comprise teams of university-based researchers and Canadian government scientists, along with international researchers and other partners (such as northern communities and/or the private sector). Their goal will be to generate substantial research results and transfer this knowledge for the benefit of Canada.

Funded projects must address major challenges in three theme areas: 1) Earth system processes and their representation in models; 2) Earth system prediction through improved forecasting methodologies; and 3) understanding recent changes in the Arctic and other Canadian cold region environments.

Note: The Earth system encompasses the atmosphere and its chemical composition; the oceans, including sea-ice; and the land surface, including surface hydrology, wetlands, lakes and vegetation. The proposed research initiatives are expected to lead to a better understanding and prediction of changes within the Earth system with a focus on the physical, chemical and biogeochemical processes, on time scales which range from minutes to decades. On short time scales it can include weather phenomena that result in the interaction of one or more components, such as the relationship between storms and coastal storm surges. On longer time scales, it can include climate change and climate variability on multi-decadal scales and changes in biogeochemical cycles (such as the carbon and nitrogen cycles).

The three research themes are:

1) Understanding Earth system processes and their representation in weather, climate and atmospheric chemistry models – Interactions among the Earth system components involve complex physical and chemical/biogeochemical processes. An example is the carbon cycle, where carbon and other biogenic trace gases are exchanged among the different reservoirs and drive changes in temperature through the greenhouse effect. Another example is the hydrological cycle where water is exchanged or stored as liquid, vapour and solid in the atmosphere, land surface and cryosphere; impacting weather, climate, freshwater supply and sea ice distribution. A third example is the role of clouds and aerosols on the radiation balance and precipitation formation, impacting weather, climate and air quality. A better understanding of these processes through observational and modelling studies is needed, and improving their representation or “parameterization” in regional and global weather, climate and atmospheric chemistry models. These models are the most complete and sophisticated tools available to better understand the Earth system.

2) Advancing weather, climate and environmental prediction – Weather, climate and environmental prediction range from time scales of minutes to days and seasons to decades, and space scales range from regional to global. A data assimilation and ensemble methodology, where multiple runs of numerical models are used with an optimal combination of observational data and model output, underlies the framework to quantify and reduce predictive uncertainty. Assimilation in global and regional models of meteorological, oceanographic, land-surface, and hydrological data from different sources, including radars and satellites, is an important prediction methodology. Other methodologies include ensemble forecast methods, computational method improvements, development of robust forecast verification measures, post-processing techniques to reduce model bias, methods to quantify predictive uncertainty, and inverse modelling to infer tracer sources and sinks. Advances in this theme would lead to improved prediction capability by weather, climate, hydrological and atmospheric chemistry models on different time and space scales. Examples include sub-seasonal and seasonal forecasts, high-impact weather, high-resolution prediction in urban environments, and regional climate projection and prediction.

3) Understanding recent changes in the Arctic and cold region environments – The Arctic and adjacent cold regions environments are the regions on Earth where recent changes are occurring the most rapidly. Over the past 20 years, Arctic temperatures have increased almost twice as fast as the global average. Other changes include shrinking sea ice, melting permafrost and glaciers, earlier and greater local stream flow. These changes lead to the release of pollutants previously trapped in, or under, the ice; while economic development brings the potential for increased pollution in this environment. These rapid changes not only impact people, infrastructure and ecosystems, but also influence weather, atmospheric composition, and climate globally. For example, thawing permafrost could release large quantities of carbon dioxide and methane, enhancing Earth’s greenhouse effect and global warming; and air pollution from enhanced shipping could lead to health and climate issues. Compared to warm climates, our understanding of physical and chemical/biogeochemical processes in cold climates is relatively weak. This is partly due to the difficult working environment and higher cost of research in remote regions. There is a need for an improved understanding of processes particular to cold region climates, and the feedback mechanisms involved in the amplification of climate change and the concentration of pollutants at high latitudes. Advances from this theme would enhance our understanding of recent changes in the Arctic and cold region environments, and better position Canada to preserve and enhance the quality of the natural environment and to adapt to environmental change.

Through this call, NSERC plans to award grants at a funding level of between $500,000 and $1 million per year for up to five years.

CCAR Grants are expected to:

  • facilitate collaborative research between university researchers and Canadian government scientists, with the inclusion of other potential partners (such as northern communities and/or the private sector) and international researchers (including the Belmont Challenge Freshwater Security and Coastal Zone Vulnerability Initiatives) as appropriate;
  • produce valuable results and knowledge that can be transferred and disseminated to federal departments and other end-users in order to maximize the impact for the benefit of Canadians;
  • further strengthen Canada’s leadership role and capacity in these areas;
  • build synergies with, but not duplicate, existing funding initiatives; and
  • build on existing scientific knowledge and ensure that metadata results are available to, and compatible with, existing data-archiving platforms.

Eligibility

In addition to the general NSERC eligibility criteria, proposals must demonstrate active research participation of scientists from at least one federal government department.

Application Procedures

CCAR applications will be evaluated using a two-stage process. Initially, applicants must submit a Letter of Intent (LOI) that will be evaluated by an LOI Review Committee. Successful LOIs will be invited to submit a proposal and will be given further instructions regarding submission details and a logistics plan. The proposals will be evaluated by a Proposal Review Committee.

For the LOIs, applicants must submit a six-page document (using 8.5 x 11 paper, in free-form text format), that includes:

  • a description of the main research challenges and activities, and how they address one or more of the three research themes, along with the anticipated budget;
  • a discussion of the anticipated collaboration that includes the participation of federal government scientists along with international researchers and other partners, as appropriate. Local community involvement must be discussed where appropriate;
  • a discussion of the anticipated research outcomes—how the research results will be delivered, and how the knowledge will be transferred to federal government departments and/or other potential end-users;
  • summary biographies of the three to four principal investigators and their areas of expertise; and
  • summary biographies of up to three principal government or other partners (including foreign), including their areas of expertise.

In addition to the above six pages, the LOI package must contain a one-page letter from each appropriate federal departmental office (normally to be signed at the Director General [DG] or Assistant Deputy Minister [ADM] level) or partner organization (signed by an authorizing manager) confirming their interest in, and commitments to, the project.

Review Procedures and Selection Criteria

Letters of Intent

NSERC will assess the LOIs and proposals on the basis of the criteria below. Only applicants who have submitted successful LOIs will be allowed to submit proposals and further details on the submission process will be made available at that time.

Note: The LOIs must contain sufficient information for the LOI Review Committee to determine if the proposed work addresses one or more of the three theme areas and the ability of the proposal to deliver research results and undertake knowledge transfer to federal government departments and/or other potential end-users.

Merit of the proposal:

  • Significance of the research question and the extent to which the proposed research addresses the priorities as expressed in one or more of the outlined research themes;
  • Involvement of federal government researchers, foreign researchers and/or other partners;
  • Feasibility of achieving the proposed objectives within the funding timeframe;
  • Integration between academic and government researchers;
  • Ability to deliver research results and undertake knowledge transfer of these results to federal government departments and/or other potential end-users; and
  • Proposed strength of the project budgetary, administrative and data management infrastructure.

Excellence of the applicants: 

  • Excellence of the principal investigator;
  • Excellence and significance of the proposed research team;
  • Involvement and integration of Canadian federal government scientists and researchers; and
  • Involvement and integration of other partner and/or foreign researchers.

Potential for Training Highly Qualified Personnel:

  • Potential training opportunities for graduate students and postdoctoral-level individuals, and other research personnel such as undergraduates, research associates and technicians.

In addition, the full proposal document package must contain a one- to two-page letter from each appropriate federal department office (normally to be signed at the ADM or DG level) or partner organization (signed by an authorizing manager) confirming their commitment to any government or other resources required for the duration of the project.

Use of Funds

Funding is for Canadian university research and training programs. Government and international researchers, and other partners or collaborators are expected to obtain the required resources to support their involvement in the projects. Refer to the Use of Grant Funds section of the Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide for details on eligible expenses.

Reporting

The reporting format, schedules and additional information requirements will be available at the time of award.

Selection Committee

The list of the selection committee members is available.

Contact

Dave Bowen
Climate Change and Atmospheric Research
350 Albert Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 1H5

Tel.: 613-992-1482
E-mail: dave.bowen@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Recherche sur les changements climatiques et l'atmosphère

Aperçu
Valeur De 500 000 $ à 1 million de dollars par année pendant au maximum cinq ans
Date limite Le programme a pris fin.
Pour faire une demande Le CRSNG n’accepte plus les demandes présentées dans le cadre de ce programme.
Personne-ressource Voir Personne-ressource
Projets appuyés

Contexte

La santé et la sécurité des Canadiens et la vigueur de l’économie canadienne reposent sur notre compréhension du climat et des risques liés aux changements climatiques et sur l’élaboration de politiques efficaces qui nous permettront de prévoir ces risques et d’intervenir au moment opportun. Les subventions de recherche sur les changements climatiques et l’atmosphère (RCCA) tireront parti de la capacité du Canada, de calibre mondial, en matière de recherche et d’innovation dans les domaines clés des sciences du climat et de l’atmosphère. La recherche générera des connaissances sur les processus physiques, chimiques et biogéochimiques liés aux systèmes climatiques et atmosphériques et permettra l’application de ces connaissances à des fins de compréhension et de prévision du temps et du climat. Cette recherche constitue l’assise de la conduite d’autres études et évaluations de l’incidence sociale, économique et écologique des changements climatiques et de l’élaboration des stratégies et des mécanismes d’adaptation. Les connaissances issues de la recherche serviront de fondement à l’élaboration de mesures qui font économiser de l’argent et améliorent la vie des Canadiens.

L’initiative sur la RCCA tient compte des priorités nationales en matière de recherche et des défis mondiaux, y compris ceux qui sont associés aux This link will take you to another Web site Belmont Challenge Freshwater Security and Coastal Zone Vulnerability Initiatives (en anglais seulement) en appuyant un certain nombre de projets intégrateurs d’envergure auxquels participent des chercheurs universitaires et des scientifiques du gouvernement canadien ainsi que des chercheurs étrangers et d’autres partenaires. Cette initiative encouragera la formation d’étudiants et d’autres personnes hautement qualifiées dans ces domaines.

Description

L’initiative sur la RCCA appuiera un nombre limité de projets de recherche de grande envergure qui sont considérés comme hautement prioritaires par le milieu canadien de la recherche universitaire et par des ministères du gouvernement fédéral. Ces projets seront menés par des équipes de chercheurs canadiens de calibre mondial qui seront composées de chercheurs universitaires et de scientifiques du gouvernement canadien ainsi que de chercheurs étrangers et d’autres partenaires (tels que les collectivités nordiques ou le secteur privé). Les projets viseront à produire des résultats de recherche importants et à transférer les connaissances acquises au profit du Canada.

Les projets financés doivent s’attaquer à des défis importants dans trois thèmes : 1) les processus du système terrestre et leur représentation sous forme de modèles; 2) les prévisions concernant le système terrestre grâce à l’amélioration des méthodes prévisionnelles; et 3) la connaissance des changements qui se sont produits récemment dans l’environnement de l’Arctique et d’autres régions froides du Canada.

Remarque  : Le système terrestre englobe l’atmosphère et sa composition chimique, les océans, notamment la glace de mer et la surface terrestre, y compris l’hydrologie de surface, les terres humides, les lacs et la végétation. On s’attend à ce que les projets de recherche proposés mènent à une meilleure compréhension et prévision des changements qui surviennent dans le système terrestre en mettant l’accent sur les processus physiques, chimiques et biogéochimiques sur des échelles de temps qui peuvent varier de minutes à des décennies. Sur des échelles de temps plus courtes, ils peuvent comprendre les phénomènes météorologiques qui donnent lieu à des interactions entre un ou plusieurs éléments, tels que la relation entre les tempêtes et les ondes de tempête côtières. Sur des échelles de temps plus longues, ils peuvent comprendre la variabilité et les changements climatiques sur plusieurs décennies ainsi que les changements dans les cycles biogéochimiques (tels que les cycles du carbone et de l’azote).

Les trois thèmes de recherche sont les suivants :

1) Comprendre les processus du système terrestre et leur représentation dans les modèles météorologiques, climatiques et de chimie de l’atmosphère – Les interactions entre les éléments du système terrestre comportent des processus physiques, chimiques et biogéochimiques complexes. Un bon exemple est le cycle du carbone, dans le cadre duquel le carbone et d’autres gaz biogéniques en traces sont échangés entre les différents réservoirs et modifient la température en raison de l’effet de serre ainsi créé. Un autre exemple est le cycle hydrologique dans le cadre duquel l’eau est échangée ou stockée sous forme de liquide, de vapeur ou de solide dans l’atmosphère, sur la surface terrestre et dans la cryosphère, et influe sur la température, le climat, les réserves en eau douce et la distribution de la glace de mer. Un troisième exemple est le rôle des nuages et des aérosols dans le bilan radiatif et la formation des précipitations, qui influent sur la température, le climat et la qualité de l’air. Il faut améliorer la compréhension de ces processus au moyen d’études par observation et modélisation, tout comme il faut améliorer la représentation ou l’établissement de paramètres dans les modèles régionaux et mondiaux de météorologie, du climat et de la chimie de l’atmosphère. Ces modèles sont les outils les plus complets et les plus complexes disponibles qui permettront de comprendre le système terrestre.

2) Faire progresser les prévisions météorologiques, climatiques et environnementales – Les prévisions météorologiques, climatiques et environnementales sont exprimées selon diverses échelles de temps (minutes, jours, saisons, décennies) et d’espace (de l’échelle régionale à l’échelle mondiale). Une méthode d’assimilation des données d’ensemble, qui utilise de nombreux modèles numériques ainsi qu’une combinaison optimale de données d’observation et de sorties de modèle, est à la base du cadre de quantification et de réduction de l’incertitude en matière de prévisions. L’assimilation de données sur la météo, l’océanographie, la surface terrestre et l’hydrologie provenant de différentes sources, notamment de radars et de satellites, dans les modèles mondiaux et régionaux, est une méthode de prévision importante. Parmi les autres méthodes, on compte les méthodes de prévision d’ensemble, les méthodes informatiques améliorées, l’élaboration de mesures fiables de vérification des prévisions, des techniques de post-traitement pour réduire le biais lié aux modèles, les méthodes de quantification de l’incertitude des prévisions, et la modélisation inverse pour simuler les sources et les puits repères. Les progrès réalisés dans le cadre de ce thème permettront d’améliorer la capacité de faire des prévisions sur différentes échelles de temps et d’espace à l’aide de modèles de météorologie, du climat, de l’hydrologie et de la chimie de l’atmosphère, notamment les prévisions subsaisonnières et saisonnières, les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, les prévisions en haute résolution en milieu urbain, ainsi que les projections et les prévisions climatiques régionales.

3) Comprendre les changements récents dans les milieux de l’Arctique et des régions froides – Les changements qui se sont produits le plus rapidement sur la Terre récemment ont eu lieu en Arctique et dans les régions froides adjacentes. Au cours des 20 dernières années, la température de l’Arctique a augmenté près de deux fois plus rapidement que la moyenne mondiale. Les autres changements comprennent la réduction de la glace de mer, la fonte du pergélisol et des glaciers, et un écoulement fluvial plus hâtif et plus important. Ces changements ont libéré les polluants qui étaient emprisonnés dans ou sous la glace. En outre, le développement économique pourrait accroître la pollution dans ce milieu. Ces changements rapides n’ont pas que des répercussions sur les gens, les infrastructures et les écosystèmes, ils influent également sur la météo, la composition atmosphérique et le climat à l’échelle mondiale. Par exemple, une fois dégelé, le pergélisol pourrait libérer des quantités importantes de dioxyde de carbone et de méthane, et ainsi accroître l’effet de serre et le réchauffement de la planète; la pollution atmosphérique causée par l’augmentation du transport maritime pourrait nuire à la santé et au climat. Notre connaissance des processus physiques, chimiques et biogéochimiques qui se produisent dans les climats froids est relativement faible comparativement à celle des climats chauds. Cela est attribuable, en partie, aux conditions difficiles du milieu et au coût plus élevé de la recherche dans les régions éloignées. Nous devons améliorer notre connaissance des processus propres au climat des régions froides et des mécanismes de rétroaction qui entrent en jeu dans l’amplification des changements climatiques et la concentration des polluants en hautes latitudes. Les progrès réalisés dans le cadre de ce thème nous permettront de mieux comprendre les changements qui se sont produits récemment dans l’Arctique et dans les régions froides et aideront le Canada à préserver et à améliorer la qualité de l’environnement naturel et à s’adapter aux changements environnementaux.

Dans le cadre du présent appel de demandes, le CRSNG compte accorder des subventions d’une valeur de 500 000 $ à 1 million de dollars par année pendant au maximum cinq ans.

Les subventions de RCCA devraient :

  • faciliter la recherche concertée entre des chercheurs universitaires, des scientifiques du gouvernement canadien et d’autres partenaires potentiels (tels que les collectivités nordiques ou le secteur privé) et des chercheurs étrangers (y compris ceux qui participent aux initiatives du Belmont Challenge sur la sécurité de l’eau douce et la vulnérabilité des zones côtières);
  • produire des résultats et des connaissances utiles qui peuvent être transférés et diffusés aux ministères fédéraux et à d’autres utilisateurs finals afin d’en maximiser l’incidence au profit des Canadiens;
  • renforcer davantage le leadership du Canada et sa capacité dans ces domaines;
  • créer une synergie avec les initiatives de financement existantes, mais sans les répéter;
  • faire fond sur les connaissances scientifiques existantes et permettre la consultation des résultats de métadonnées compatibles avec les plateformes d’archivage de données existantes.

Admissibilité

En plus de satisfaire aux critères généraux d’admissibilité du CRSNG, les propositions doivent indiquer que des chercheurs d’au moins un ministère fédéral participeront activement aux travaux de recherche.

Présentation des demandes

Les demandes de subvention de RCCA seront évaluées selon un processus en deux étapes. Les candidats doivent d’abord présenter une lettre d’intention, qui sera évaluée par un comité d’évaluation des lettres d’intention. Les candidats dont la lettre d’intention est retenue sont invités à présenter une demande. On leur fournira alors des instructions sur la façon de présenter la demande et le plan de logistique. Les demandes seront évaluées par un comité d’évaluation des demandes.

Pour les lettres d’intention, les candidats doivent présenter un document de six pages en « formule libre » de 8,5 po sur 11 po (21,5 cm sur 28 cm) qui doit comporter :

  • une description des principaux défis et activités de recherche et de leur pertinence à un ou à plusieurs des trois thèmes de recherche, ainsi que le budget prévu;
  • une analyse de la collaboration prévue qui comprend la participation de scientifiques du gouvernement fédéral ainsi que de chercheurs étrangers et d’autres partenaires, selon le cas. La participation de la collectivité locale doit faire l’objet d’une analyse, le cas échéant;
  • une analyse des résultats prévus de la recherche. Il faut également indiquer de quelle façon les résultats de la recherche seront transmis aux ministères fédéraux ou aux autres utilisateurs finals potentiels et de quelle façon les connaissances leur seront transférées;
  • une courte biographie des trois ou quatre principaux chercheurs universitaires et leurs domaines d’expertise;
  • une courte biographie d’au plus trois chercheurs principaux du gouvernement ou d’autres partenaires (y compris des chercheurs étrangers) et leurs domaines d’expertise.

En plus de contenir les six pages susmentionnées, la lettre d’intention doit être accompagnée d’une lettre d’une page provenant de chaque bureau ministériel fédéral concerné (qui doit normalement être signée par le directeur général ou le sous-ministre adjoint) ou organisme partenaire concerné (signée par un gestionnaire autorisé) confirmant leur intérêt et leur engagement à l’égard du projet.

Évaluation des demandes et critères de sélection

Lettres d’intention

Le CRSNG évaluera les lettres d’intention et les demandes en fonction des critères ci-dessous. Seuls les candidats dont la lettre d’intention a été retenue seront admissibles à présenter une demande. On leur fournira alors des instructions sur la façon de présenter la demande.

Remarque : Les lettres d’intention doivent contenir suffisamment de renseignements pour permettre au comité d’évaluation de déterminer si les travaux proposés portent sur un ou plusieurs des trois thèmes et d’évaluer la capacité de l’équipe de recherche proposée de produire les résultats de la recherche et de transférer les connaissances aux ministères fédéraux ou aux autres utilisateurs finals potentiels.

Mérite de la proposition :
  • L’importance de la question de recherche et la mesure dans laquelle les travaux proposés traitent des priorités exprimées dans un ou plusieurs des thèmes de recherche énumérés;
  • La participation de chercheurs du gouvernement fédéral, de chercheurs étrangers ou d’autres partenaires;
  • La faisabilité d’atteindre les objectifs proposés pendant la période de financement;
  • L’intégration entre les chercheurs universitaires et les chercheurs du gouvernement;
  • La capacité de produire les résultats de la recherche et de les transférer aux ministères fédéraux ou à d’autres utilisateurs finals potentiels;
  • La force de l’infrastructure budgétaire, administrative et de gestion des données proposée du projet.

Excellence des candidats :  

  • L’excellence du chercheur principal;
  • L’excellence et le calibre de l’équipe de recherche proposée;
  • La participation et l’intégration de scientifiques et de chercheurs du gouvernement fédéral canadien;
  • La participation et l’intégration d’autres partenaires ou chercheurs étrangers.

Potentiel de formation de personnel hautement qualifié : 

  • Les occasions de formation potentielles pour les étudiants aux cycles supérieurs, les stagiaires postdoctoraux et les étudiants de premier cycle ainsi que les autres membres du personnel affectés à la recherche, tels que les adjoints de recherche et les techniciens de recherche.

En outre, la demande doit être accompagnée d’une lettre d’une à deux pages provenant de chaque bureau ministériel fédéral concerné (qui doit normalement être signée par le sous-ministre adjoint ou le directeur général) ou organisme partenaire concerné (signée par un gestionnaire autorisé) confirmant leur engagement à fournir toute ressource gouvernementale ou autre requise pour la durée du projet.

Utilisation des fonds

Le financement est accordé pour la recherche universitaire canadienne et des programmes de formation offerts dans les universités canadiennes. Les chercheurs du gouvernement, les chercheurs étrangers et les autres partenaires ou collaborateurs doivent obtenir les ressources requises à l’appui de leur participation aux projets. Veuillez consulter la page Utilisation des subventions du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes pour obtenir des renseignements sur les dépenses admissibles.

Rapports

Le modèle de rapport, les calendriers et les renseignements supplémentaires sur les exigences seront disponibles au moment de l’octroi de la subvention.

Comité de sélection

Consultez la liste des membres du comité de sélection.

Personne-ressource

Dave Bowen
Recherche sur les changements climatiques et l’atmosphère
350, rue Albert
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 1H5

Tél. : 613-992-1482
Courriel : dave.bowen@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.