Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

College and Community Innovation Program College and Community Social Innovation Fund

Accessibility Notice: If you cannot access the following content, please contact the On-line Services Helpdesk by email at webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-995-4273. Indicate the email address and telephone number where you can be reached.

Overview
Value Up to $120,000 per year
Duration One to two years
Application Deadline December 8, 2017
How to Apply See below
Application Forms
  • F103CV (form-fillable) CCI Personal Data Form and instructions
  • Form 103 – Application for the CCI Program
To complete Form 103CV or to view its instructions, select the link above.
To view instructions, select PDF Forms and Instructions.
To create or access on-line applications, select On-line System Login.
For More Information

Consult the Contact List.

Important Information

Following the success of the Community and College Social Innovation Fund (CCSIF) pilot program, the 2017 federal budget provided an additional $10 million over two years beginning in 2017–18 to continue the pilot. The pilot will be delivered under the College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program managed by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), in collaboration with the Social Sciences Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). CCSIF Grants are intended to support college social innovation research projects in partnership with local community organizations. CCSIF proposals can be multidisciplinary and may fall under the research domains of the social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and/or health sciences. Applications exclusively in the social sciences and humanities, or in health sciences, or in the natural sciences and engineering, will be funded by SSHRC, CIHR, or NSERC, as appropriate. Multidisciplinary grants containing a natural sciences and engineering research component will be funded by NSERC.

Objectives

College and Community Social Innovation Fund (CCSIF) Grants are intended to foster social innovation by connecting the talent, facilities and capabilities of Canada’s colleges and polytechnics with the research needs of local community organizations. CCSIF proposals should facilitate collaborative social innovation research that brings together researchers, students and partners to address research challenges in social innovation, leading to solutions addressing a Canadian community need.

The CCSIF pilot program enables colleges to increase their capacity to work with communities, with the goal of developing partnerships that foster social innovation in areas such as education, integration of vulnerable populations, and community development.

Canada’s colleges and polytechnics are well equipped to contribute to social innovation initiatives by tapping into the knowledge, experience, facilities and community connections available through their departments and programs.

Description

CCSIF Grants support well-defined and focused social innovation projects undertaken by college researchers with their partners from the public, private or not-for-profit sectors. Direct project costs are shared by the partner(s) and the funding agency. Projects may range from one to two years in duration.

Social innovation refers to the development of new ideas or the use of existing ideas to find solutions to social challenges. Social innovation involves an initiative, product, process or program that creates positive social outcomes for societies. It can result in more effective, fairer and more durable solutions to complex social problems. It aims to produce benefits for the entire society, not only for some individuals. It increases the ability of communities to act collectively. It also promotes innovative solutions to accelerate technological innovation.

All proposals require evidence of:

  • strong partnerships with partners that have the capacity and willingness to implement research results within a Canadian setting;
  • detailed planning and sound budget justification;
  • student training;
  • the validity of the underlying assumptions of the proposed research, intended approaches, milestones and deliverables.

CCSIF Grants, like other CCI Grants, are institutional grants. Consequently, the applicant is expected to be a senior manager in the administration of the college. In addition, the college must identify a project director responsible for the intellectual direction of the research and research-related activities. The project director must be affiliated with the host institution (the college) at the time of the application and must be qualified to undertake the research independently.

Colleges can submit multiple applications in the competition, but each proposal must be led by a different project director. A project director may not lead more than one active CCSIF Grant at a time.

Partner Participation

Partner organization(s) may be Canadian or international organizations from the public, private and/or not-for-profit sectors. Individuals from partner organizations can be part of the research team for a CCSIF proposal and must bring their organization’s resources to the project. Not-for-profit organizations with collaborators on CCSIF Grants may request a salary research allowance to cover costs of partially replacing the employee participating in the project.

Partner organization(s) are expected to participate actively in the project and contribute in a meaningful way to its success. Partner organization(s) are also expected to provide contributions (cash and/or in-kind) directly related and relevant to supporting the activities of the project.

It is expected that some of the partner organizations will have the capacity and willingness to implement and exploit the results of the research to the benefit of the college’s local community and/or Canadian society.

Intellectual Property

The funding agency makes no claim to the ownership of any intellectual property (IP) or copyright generated from the research it funds. Colleges should develop and sign an agreement with their partners on the ownership and disposition of IP or copyright arising from CCSIF-funded research.

Eligibility

Canadian colleges that have been declared eligible to administer grants of at least one of the three federal granting agencies (NSERC, CIHR and/or SSHRC) may submit an application. If the proposed research activities lie entirely within the mandate of a single agency (NSERC, CIHR or SSHRC):

  • The college must be declared eligible to receive funding from that granting agency (i.e. if the college has been declared eligible by one of the granting agencies, but not the granting agency that will provide the grant, the eligibility process must be completed in a timely manner in order for the grant payment to be released).
  • The college must offer programs in the humanities and social sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and/or health sciences, in line with the applied research areas proposed.
  • The college's faculty members involved in CCSIF Grants must be engaged in applied research in the humanities and social sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and/or health sciences.
  • The college must provide the space, facilities and services to enable its faculty members in humanities and social sciences, natural sciences and engineering, and/or health sciences to conduct applied research.

Use of Grant Funds

CCSIF Grant funds must be used for the direct costs of research; however, some limited funds may be used for operating and equipment costs (up to 20% of the total grant), as well as for overhead and administration costs (up to 20% of the total grant). The college provides for other indirect or overhead costs. During the tenure of the CCSIF Grant, reallocation of more than 20% of an annual budget item to other items may be permitted, pending the funding agency’s approval of a revised budget and justification for the changes.

A list of eligible expenditures is detailed in the CCI Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.

In addition, a salary research allowance can be requested for a not-for-profit organization that has an employee listed as a collaborator on the application. Salary research allowances are a contribution to a not-for-profit organization to help compensate for the time an employee will spend participating in a CCSIF-funded research project. Applicants may apply for up to 50% of the total salary costs, including benefits, of the employee, to offset some of the costs of hiring a replacement employee. The salary replacement allowance can be requested for each year of the award.

Application and Review Procedures

Proposals can be submitted online, using the Application for a College and Community Innovation Grant (Form 103). Instructions for applicants to complete the forms and the online submission are found on NSERC's On-line Services page.

CCSIF applications are adjudicated through a competitive process. Each CCSIF Grant application is reviewed by a multidisciplinary committee that includes relevant expertise from the public, private and/or not-for-profit sectors. The exact number and composition of the review committee membership will be determined by the number and nature of the proposals received. Committee members are required to have no conflict of interest with the applicant, partners, or any team members. They are asked to evaluate the proposal and make a funding recommendation to NSERC based on the selection criteria below.

Selection Criteria

Applications are evaluated on the following criteria:

  • Potential for innovation impact (40%)
    • the effectiveness of the proposal to address the needs of community organizations and foster social innovation;
    • the capacity of the partner organization(s) to benefit from the project results;
    • the effectiveness of the results of the research to lead to concrete, long-term Canadian societal benefits at the local, regional, or national level;
    • the project’s potential to apply knowledge in an innovative manner and/or lead to new knowledge;
    • the quality of training and mentoring to be provided to students and other highly qualified personnel, and the need for these enhanced skills in the local community or region.
  • Excellence of the proposal (30%)
    • focus and clarity of the specific objectives of the proposal;
    • quality and feasibility of the work plan and appropriateness of the methodology;
    • appropriateness of the literature review;
    • probability that the objectives will be met within the timeline proposed;
    • overall budget and the justification of the individual budget items;
    • involvement of the partner(s) in the community and other relevant stakeholders in the design and conduct of the research and/or related activities;
    • total resources available from the college, the partner organizations and other sources, and their relevance for the project;
    • quality and appropriateness of the plans for knowledge mobilization, including effective dissemination, exchange and engagement with stakeholders within and/or beyond the research community.
  • Team expertise (30%)
    • the experience and expertise of the research team to address the proposed objectives competently and to complete the project successfully;
    • the quality, quantity and significance of the past experience of the project director and the research team in working with community partners;
    • the college’s track record in contributing to local or regional social innovation and its potential to enhance its capacity to work with local community organizations.

Reporting

The reporting requirements vary with the project duration:

  • For projects up to 12 months’ duration, grantees must send the CCI Program staff a final report and Form 301, Grant in Aid of Research – Statements of Accounts. The partner(s) may be asked to submit comments on the project's success directly to the CCI Program.
  • For projects longer than one year, an annual statement of account (Form 301) is required. For two year projects, the second instalment is contingent on a demonstrated need for funds.
  • For all projects, final reports providing the impacts of the research are required. Grantees that have failed to provide the requested feedback on projects may be declared ineligible to apply for or sponsor new proposals.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté – Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux collèges et aux communautés

Avis concernant l’accessibilité : Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au contenu, veuillez communiquer avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Aperçu
Valeur Maximum de 120 000 $ par année
Durée Un à deux ans
Date limite 8 décembre 2017
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous
Formulaires de demande
  • F103CV (à remplir en ligne) – Formulaire de renseignements personnels – Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté et instructions
  • Formulaire 103 – Demande de subvention au Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC)
Pour remplir le formulaire 103CV ou pour visualiser ses instructions, cliquez sur les liens ci-dessus.
Pour visualiser les instructions, sélectionnez Formulaires en format PDF et instructions générales.
Pour créer une demande ou y avoir accès, sélectionnez Ouvrez une session du Système en ligne.
Pour en savoir plus Consultez la liste des points de contact.

Renseignements importants

À la suite du succès qu’a connu le programme pilote du Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux communautés et aux collèges (ci-après le Fonds ), le budget fédéral de 2017 prévoit, dès 2017‑2018, 10 millions de dollars supplémentaires sur deux ans pour la poursuite de cette initiative. Le programme pilote sera offert dans le cadre du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC), qui est administré par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), en collaboration avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Les subventions du Fonds visent à appuyer des projets de recherche sur l’innovation sociale menés dans des collèges en partenariat avec des organismes communautaires locaux. Les demandes présentées au Fonds peuvent porter sur des projets de recherche multidisciplinaires touchant les domaines des sciences sociales et humaines, des sciences naturelles et de l’ingénierie ou des sciences de la santé. Les propositions qui comportent exclusivement un programme de recherche en sciences sociales et humaines, en sciences de la santé ou en sciences naturelles et en génie seront financées par le CRSH, les IRSC ou le CRSNG, selon le cas. Les propositions multidisciplinaires qui ont une composante en sciences naturelles et en génie seront financées par le CRSNG.

Objectifs

Les subventions du Fonds visent à favoriser l’innovation sociale en établissant des ponts entre les personnes de talent, les installations et les capacités des collèges et des écoles polytechniques du Canada et les besoins en matière de recherche des organismes communautaires locaux. Les subventions du Fonds devraient faciliter les travaux de recherche concertés, permettant aux chercheurs, aux étudiants et aux partenaires de relever ensemble des défis de recherche en innovation sociale et de mettre en œuvre des solutions répondant aux besoins des communautés canadiennes.

Le Programme du Fonds permet d’accroitre la capacité des collèges de collaborer avec les communautés dans le but d’établir des partenariats qui favoriseront l’innovation sociale dans des domaines comme l’éducation, l’intégration des populations vulnérables et le développement communautaire.

Les collèges et les écoles polytechniques du Canada sont bien placés pour contribuer aux initiatives d’innovation sociale en exploitant les connaissances, l’expérience, les installations et les relations communautaires existant dans leurs départements et leurs programmes.

Description

Les subventions du Fonds appuient des projets d’innovation sociale bien définis menés conjointement par des chercheurs des collèges et leurs partenaires des secteurs public, privé ou sans but lucratif. Les partenaires et l’organisme subventionnaire se partagent les couts directs des projets. La durée des projets peut varier d’un à deux ans.

On entend par innovation sociale l’élaboration de nouvelles idées ou l’utilisation d’idées existantes pour relever des défis sociaux. L’innovation sociale est une initiative, un produit, un procédé ou un programme qui crée des résultats positifs pour la société. Elle peut donner lieu à des solutions plus efficaces, justes et durables à des problèmes sociaux complexes. Elle vise à produire des avantages pour l’ensemble de la société et non uniquement pour certaines personnes. Elle accroit la capacité des communautés à agir collectivement et elle favorise l’adoption de solutions novatrices pour accélérer l’innovation technologique.

Chaque demande doit faire état de ce qui suit :

  • une solide collaboration avec des partenaires qui ont la capacité et la volonté de mettre en œuvre les résultats de recherche dans un contexte canadien;
  • une planification détaillée et une solide justification du budget;
  • la formation d’étudiants;
  • la validité des hypothèses sous-jacentes des travaux de recherche proposés, des méthodes envisagées, les étapes-jalons et les résultats attendus.

Les subventions du Fonds, comme les autres subventions du programme ICC, sont des subventions accordées aux collèges. Par conséquent, on s’attend à ce que le candidat soit un cadre supérieur dans l’administration du collège. En outre, le collège doit nommer un directeur de projet qui sera responsable de la direction intellectuelle de la recherche et des activités connexes. Le directeur de projet doit être affilié à l’établissement d’accueil (le collège) au moment de la présentation de la demande et doit avoir les compétences voulues pour mener la recherche de manière indépendante.

Les collèges peuvent soumettre plusieurs demandes dans le cadre d’un même concours, mais chaque proposition doit être dirigée par un directeur de projet distinct. Un directeur de projet ne peut être titulaire de plus d’une subvention active du Fonds à la fois.

Participation des partenaires

Les partenaires peuvent être des organismes canadiens ou étrangers des secteurs public, privé ou sans but lucratif. Dans le cadre d’une subvention du Fonds, les employés des organismes partenaires peuvent faire partie de l’équipe de recherche, mais doivent contribuer au projet des ressources de leur organisme. Les organismes sans but lucratif peuvent demander une allocation de détachement pour couvrir les couts relatifs au remplacement partiel d’un employé qui participe au projet à titre de collaborateur.

Les organismes partenaires doivent participer activement au projet et contribuer de manière significative à sa réussite. Ils doivent également apporter des contributions (en espèces ou en nature) pertinentes qui appuient directement des activités du projet.

On s’attend à ce que certains des organismes partenaires aient la capacité et la volonté de mettre en œuvre les résultats de la recherche au profit de la communauté locale du collège ou de la société canadienne.

Propriété intellectuelle

L’organisme subventionnaire ne revendique aucun droit concernant la propriété intellectuelle (PI) ni de droits d’auteur à l’égard des travaux de recherche qu’il finance. Les collèges doivent élaborer et signer une entente avec chaque partenaire concernant les droits de PI et la cession de la PI et des droits d’auteur découlant de la recherche financée au moyen de la subvention du Fonds.

Admissibilité

Seuls les collèges canadiens déclarés admissibles à administrer les subventions d’au moins un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (CRSNG, IRSC ou CRSH) peuvent présenter une demande. Si les travaux de recherche proposés relèvent entièrement du mandat de l’un des organismes subventionnaires (c.-à-d. le CRSNG, les IRSC ou le CRSH) :

  • le collège doit être déclaré admissible à recevoir des fonds de l’organisme en question (c.-à-d. que si le collège a été déclaré admissible par un organisme subventionnaire autre que celui qui accordera la subvention, il doit sans tarder faire reconnaitre son admissibilité par ce dernier avant que la subvention puisse lui être versée);
  • le collège doit offrir des programmes en sciences humaines et sociales, en sciences naturelles et en génie ou en sciences de la santé qui correspondent aux domaines de recherche appliquée dans lesquels s’inscrivent les travaux de recherche proposés dans la demande de subvention;
  • les professeurs participants aux projets appuyés par une subvention du Fonds doivent faire de la recherche appliquée en sciences humaines et sociales, en sciences naturelles et en génie ou en sciences de la santé;
  • le collège doit fournir les locaux, les installations et les services qui permettent aux professeurs de faire de la recherche appliquée en sciences humaines et sociales, en sciences naturelles et en génie ou en sciences de la santé.

Utilisation des subventions

Les fonds de la subvention doivent être affectés aux couts directs de la recherche. Toutefois, une partie des fonds peut être consacrée aux couts de fonctionnement et des appareils (au plus 20 % du montant de la subvention) ainsi qu’aux frais généraux et aux couts d’administration (au plus 20 % du montant de la subvention). De leur côté, les collèges doivent assumer les autres couts indirects ou frais généraux. Au cours de la période de validité de la subvention, pour réaffecter à d’autres postes budgétaires plus de 20 % des fonds affectés à un poste particulier du budget annuel, le titulaire de la subvention doit au préalable soumettre à l’approbation de l’organisme subventionnaire le budget modifié et la justification des changements.

Une liste des dépenses admissibles est présentée dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté.

En outre, une allocation de détachement peut être demandée pour un employé d’un organisme sans but lucratif, dont le nom figure parmi les collaborateurs dans la demande de subvention. Cette allocation est une contribution versée à un organisme sans but lucratif à titre de compensation pour le temps que l’employé consacre au projet de recherche financé par le Fonds. Les candidats peuvent demander jusqu’à 50 % des couts salariaux totaux (y compris les avantages sociaux) de l’employé afin de compenser une partie des couts engendrés par l’embauche d’un remplaçant. L’allocation de détachement peut être demandée chaque année de la période de validité de la subvention.

Présentation et évaluation des demandes

Les demandes peuvent être présentées en ligne en remplissant le formulaire 103, Demande de subvention au Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté. Les instructions sur la manière de remplir les formulaires et de présenter une demande en ligne se trouvent à la page Services en ligne du site Web du CRSNG.

Les demandes de subvention présentées au Fonds sont sélectionnées à l’issue d’un concours. Elles sont évaluées par un comité multidisciplinaire dont les membres ont acquis l’expertise pertinente dans les secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif. Le nombre exact de membres et la composition du comité d’évaluation seront déterminés en fonction du nombre et de la nature des demandes reçues. Les membres de comité ne doivent pas être en situation de conflit d’intérêts avec un candidat, un partenaire ou un membre d’une équipe de chercheurs. Ils doivent évaluer les demandes et faire des recommandations de financement au CRSNG en fonction des critères de sélection énoncés ci-dessous.

Critères de sélection

Les demandes sont évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :

  • Incidences possibles sur la capacité d’innovation (40 %)
    • l’efficacité avec laquelle la proposition permet de répondre aux besoins des organismes communautaires et de favoriser l’innovation sociale;
    • la capacité des organismes partenaires de tirer profit des résultats de recherche;
    • l’efficacité avec laquelle les résultats de la recherche donneront lieu à des avantages concrets à long terme sur le plan social pour les Canadiens à l’échelle locale, régionale ou nationale;
    • la mesure dans laquelle le projet permet de mettre en application les connaissances existantes de manière novatrice ou de produire des connaissances;
    • la qualité de la formation et du mentorat offerts aux étudiants et à d’autres personnes hautement qualifiées et le besoin de ces compétences améliorées dans la communauté locale ou régionale.
  • Excellence de la proposition (30 %)
    • l’orientation et la clarté des objectifs précis énoncés dans la proposition;
    • la qualité et la faisabilité du plan de travail et la pertinence de la méthodologie;
    • la pertinence de la revue de la littérature;
    • la probabilité d’atteindre les objectifs compte tenu de l’échéancier proposé;
    • le budget global et la justification des différents postes budgétaires;
    • la participation des organismes partenaires dans la communauté et d’autres intervenants à la conception et à la conduite de la recherche ou des activités connexes;
    • l’ensemble des ressources du collège, des organismes partenaires et d’autres sources et leur pertinence pour le projet;
    • la qualité et la pertinence des plans de mobilisation des connaissances, y compris la diffusion efficace des connaissances ainsi que les échanges avec les intervenants et l’engagement auprès de ces derniers au sein ou au-delà du milieu de la recherche.
  • Compétences de l’équipe (30 %)
    • l’expérience et l’expertise de l’équipe de recherche pour atteindre les objectifs proposés et pour mener à bien l’ensemble du projet;
    • la qualité, la quantité et la pertinence de l’expérience du directeur de projet et de l’équipe de recherche en ce qui concerne la collaboration avec des partenaires communautaires;
    • les antécédents du collège en ce qui concerne ses contributions à l’innovation sociale à l’échelle locale ou régionale et la possibilité d’améliorer sa capacité à travailler avec les organismes communautaires locaux.

Rapports

Les exigences en matière de rapports varient selon la durée du projet :

  • Pour les projets de 12 mois ou moins, l’établissement bénéficiaire d’une subvention doit présenter au personnel chargé du Programme d’ICC un rapport final et le formulaire 301, Subventions de recherche – État des dépenses. Les organismes partenaires pourraient être invités à faire parvenir directement à l’équipe du Programme d’ICC des commentaires sur le succès du projet.
  • Pour les projets d’une durée supérieure à un an, l’établissement bénéficiaire d’une subvention doit présenter tous les ans le formulaire 301, Subventions de recherche – État des dépenses. Dans le cas d’un projet d’une durée de deux ans, le deuxième versement est conditionnel à la démonstration du besoin manifeste de fonds.
  • Un rapport final faisant état de l’incidence de la recherche est exigé pour tous les projets. Les établissements bénéficiaires d’une subvention qui n’ont pas présenté les renseignements demandés sur le projet peuvent se voir retirer leur admissibilité à présenter de nouvelles demandes ou à appuyer de nouvelles demandes.