Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Connect Grants

NSERC is launching the new Alliance Grant that will fund collaborative research projects between universities and partner organizations that have an active role in the project’s research activities, apply project research results or play an active role in translating or mobilizing knowledge to achieve outcomes. As a consequence, Connect grants have been discontinued for universities, but will continue for colleges.

For information relating to Connect Grants for Colleges please refer to the College and Community Innovation Program – Connect Grants.

NSERC will honour commitments to Connect grants previously awarded.

For the latest information, consult Alliance Grants.


Accessibility Notice: If you cannot access the following content, please contact the On-line Services Helpdesk by email at webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or by telephone at 613-995-4273. Indicate the email address and telephone number where you can be reached.


Overview
Value Level 1:
Level 2:
Up to $5,000
Typically: up to $5,000
Exceptionally: up to $25,000
Application deadline No deadline
Application procedures See below. All documents must be uploaded to the This link will take you to another Web site NSERC Connect Grants Secure Upload Site .
Application forms
  • Form 401 – Connect Grants Application Form (form-fillable)

and

For university-led applications:

For college-led applications:

For non-academic applicants:

  • Résumé
For more information Contact the NSERC regional office in your area before applying for a Connect Grant.

Important information

Consult the Connect Grant – Application Checklist and the following sections of this guide:

Objectives

Connect Grants provide financial support for the Canadian research community to undertake activities that will help make Canada a country of discoverers and innovators for the benefit of all Canadians. These activities must advance NSERC’s Research Partnerships and/or one or more of the goals outlined in NSERC’s 2020 Strategic Plan. All activities must have outcomes related to NSERC and/or plans for future applications to NSERC.

Note: Activities that aim to foster a science and engineering culture in Canada are supported through PromoScience. For more information, please visit the PromoScience website or email the program contact directly at promoscience@nserc-crsng.gc.ca .

Connect Grant applications can be submitted by researchers or administrators at NSERC-eligible universities or colleges, as well as by staff at not-for-profit and non-governmental organizations (including industry and producer associations). Applications from private-sector firms or government departments or agencies will not be accepted.  

Eligible applicants can apply for two levels of Connect Grant funding:

Level 1 For domestic travel costs to develop new NSERC academic-industry partnerships.
Level 2 

For activities aimed at developing or promoting:


All activities — including travel, events and workshops — must take place within Canada.

Equity, diversity and inclusion

NSERC is acting on the evidence that equity, diversity and inclusion strengthen the scientific and engineering community and the quality, social relevance and impact of research. Increasing diversity and gender equity in the research enterprise are key priorities in our current strategic plan, NSERC 2020, and are highlighted in the strategic goal of “Building a Diversified and Competitive Research Base.”

Connect Grant applicants should strive for diversity and inclusion when developing activities. Connect Grants can also be used to promote approaches that increase the inclusion and advancement of women and other under-represented groups in the natural sciences and engineering, as one means to foster excellence in research and training.

Description

Level 1 Connect Grants provide up to $5,000 for travel, accommodation, meals and meeting costs within Canada for NSERC-eligible academic researchers at universities or colleges for outreach aimed at forming new partnerships in natural sciences or engineering research with Canadian companies (see College-based applications for college applicant eligibility). This funding enables researchers and their potential collaborators to identify and develop collaborative research partnerships.

Funding approved for these applications must be used within three months following the award start date. Individuals are limited to two Level 1 Connect Grants per fiscal year.

Level 2 Connect Grants provide support for activities that will position NSERC as an enabler of discovery and innovation with a focus on the natural sciences and engineering (see College-based applications for college applicant eligibility), and that will create value for Canada, as well as:

  • research planning and networking activities to develop new NSERC academic–industry partnerships;
  • activities or promotional tools to encourage new NSERC-supported partnerships;
  • activities or promotional tools to increase student–industry training opportunities in natural sciences or engineering research;
  • contribute to the goals of NSERC’s 2020 Strategic Plan.

Typical funding requests range from $1,000 to $5,000. For exceptional activities requests of up to $25,000 may be considered. Funds must be used up to 12 months following the award start date. Potential applicants must discuss their proposed activities with NSERC Regional Office staff before applying.

College-based applications

The College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program is managed by NSERC in collaboration with the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). All applications must be submitted to NSERC. For college-based applicants, Connect Grants are supported by CCI funding. As a result, proposed projects can be across the spectrum of natural and social sciences, engineering, humanities or health. Grants are given by NSERC, with the exception of funded proposals exclusively in social sciences and humanities or in health sciences, which will be given by SSHRC or CIHR, as appropriate. For further information on use of grant funds, consult the College and Community Innovation Program Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide. For other relevant information, read the:

Application procedures

For both Level 1 and 2 applications: requests of $5,000 or less must be submitted at least four weeks before the activity. Requests exceeding $5,000 must be submitted at least 12 weeks before the proposed activity in order to ensure that there is sufficient time to finalize details and issue invitations following NSERC’s decision. Potential Level 2 applicants must discuss their proposed activities with NSERC Regional Office staff before applying.

A Connect Grant Application Checklist provides a synopsis of all elements that must be addressed by the proposal. This list is provided for the convenience of applicants and should not be submitted with the application.
 
Once completed, the following application documents (in PDF format) must be uploaded to NSERC’s This link will take you to another Web site Secure Upload Site :

  • A Connect Grant Application Form (Form 401): Applicants are advised to use the headings provided under Review procedures and selection criteria to format their proposal.
    • Applications submitted through an NSERC-eligible institution must be endorsed by an authorized representative of the institution. Applications submitted through a non-academic organization must be endorsed by an authorized representative of that organization, and their position at the organization should be specified.
  • A Personal Data Form: Form 100 for university-led applications, Form 103CV for college-led applications, or a PDF version of the NSERC Researcher CV Type of the Canadian Common CV (CCV). Non-academic applicants must submit a résumé.
  • Supplementary information for Level 2 Connect applications:
    • if applicable, a draft agenda;
    • if available, a tentative list of invited participants.

Review procedures and selection criteria

Applications are reviewed internally by NSERC and are evaluated according to the following criteria:

  • Need for support: Proposals must clearly describe the proposed activity and its objectives, the issues to be addressed (i.e., research priorities and knowledge gaps, current research capacity and future needs, training of highly qualified personnel and skills needed, etc.), and the need for support. Support from other sources is a major asset and should be outlined in the application.
  • Alignment with NSERC objectives: Proposals must clearly demonstrate how the activity will advance Research Partnerships and/or one or more of the goals of NSERC’s 2020 Strategic Plan. However, note that activities that aim to foster a science and engineering culture in Canada are supported through PromoScience.
  • Outcomes and next steps: The proposal should discuss anticipated outcomes and plans for next steps from the activity as well as plans for future applications to NSERC; this should include the name of the specific grants. The outcomes should also address the knowledge/technology transfer potential.
  • Benefits to NSERC: Proposals must outline any visibility or promotional opportunity offered to NSERC as well as opportunities for NSERC to participate in the activity.
  • Future benefits to Canada: The proposal should outline potential economic, social, and/or health benefits that will be realized in Canada as a result of the activity.
  • Appropriateness of the participants: If known, proposals should list the proposed participants and their organization and/or a breakdown of participant groups (i.e., academia, government, industry). Proposals must
    • demonstrate participants’ expertise, experience and resources to undertake the proposed activity;
    • examine the industry participants’ alignment with NSERC objectives and eligibility for future collaborations when considering potential partners;
    • provide detailed justification for up to two international academic speakers if their travel expenses are included in the budget.
  • Budget: The budget request must be justified, appropriate to the proposal, and presented in a detailed and comprehensive manner. Please refer to the Eligible expenses section and Use of Grant Funds guidelines to determine eligible expenditures. See the Connect Grant – Application Checklist for additional information on completing the budget section. Additional document(s) may be included to provide supplemental budget details.
  • Activity held in conjunction with another professional event (if applicable): Clearly demonstrate how the activity and its associated costs will be distinct from the other event.

Additional criteria may be considered, depending on the nature of the activity.

Industrial participation

For activities that aim to build research partnerships with an industrial partner, the Guidelines for Organizations Participating in Research Partnerships should be consulted to determine the company’s eligibility. In general, a company partner must operate from a Canadian base and demonstrate clear intentions and capacity to further develop and apply any technology within Canada. Start-up companies may be considered, provided that they meet the requirements below. Holding companies and companies that are unable to further develop the technology in-house are not eligible. To be eligible, a company partner must:

  • have a minimum of two full-time employees and
  • be in operation for a minimum of two years.

Companies must demonstrate the ability to exploit a research project’s results. In this context, the resources, capabilities and experience of the company and its staff are relevant. Holding companies and companies that are unable to further develop the technology in-house are not eligible.

Payments to organizations

To set up a payment, organizations (excluding NSERC-eligible universities and colleges) will need to complete the Payee and Direct Deposit Enrolment Form and submit it to NSERC by fax, by mail or by email. For more information on Direct Deposit, see Direct Deposit Frequently Asked Questions.

Eligible expenses

Funds are to be used to support approved activities and cannot be used for equipment or other direct costs of research. Connect Grants are intended to support activities not possible in other NSERC programs. Requests to NSERC may require leverage from other sources to support the overall activity. More detail concerning eligible expenses is available from the NSERC Regional Office. Changes to the post-award budget must be pre-approved by NSERC.

Level 1 Connect Grants

Funds must be used exclusively for travel and subsistence costs (meals and accommodation) of the participants from Canadian post-secondary institutions and cannot be used for equipment or the direct costs of research. The following limitations apply to this grant:

  • Local travel (under 200 kilometres per round trip) is not eligible;
  • Number of visits to the same company is generally limited to two;
  • Overnight stays, if required, are generally limited to one for each day of meetings;

Level 2 Connect Grants

Eligible expenses include those listed above under “Level 1 Connect Grants” as well as:

  • costs for use of meeting rooms;
  • costs for use of audio-visual equipment;
  • teleconferencing costs;
  • catering/hospitality costs;
  • communication costs: printing of workshop handbooks and other related material, posters, preparation of meeting reports, etc.;
  • preparation of promotional tools aimed at highlighting NSERC-supported partnerships and student–industry training through media such as videos;
  • support for up to two international academic speakers who provide unique and key perspectives critical to achieving the overall workshop objectives; such requests must be clearly justified.

Other costs may be covered. Please consult your NSERC regional office for further information about exceptional or unique expenses.

Ineligible expenses

Connect Grants will not cover the following expenses:

  • international travel for applicants;
  • travel and accommodation costs of non-academic participants;
  • costs of attending a scientific conference or meeting that coincides with the activity;
  • conferences are not eligible activities for support, although distinct activities held in conjunction may qualify;
  • expenses that are eligible for funding under other existing NSERC programs;
  • honoraria or consulting fees paid to industry or activity participants;
  • airfare purchased with personal frequent flyers’ points programs;
  • passports for international participants;
  • catering/hospitality costs in excess of approved This link will take you to another Web site Treasury Board of Canada rates;
  • salary costs for existing employees; or
  • cost of alcoholic beverages.

Reporting

A report from the grantee is required at the end of the grant period. This report must include the names and affiliations of all participants and a statement of financial expenditures incurred.

Contact

NSERC Regional Offices
Contact the Regional Office in your area.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Subventions Connexion

Le CRSNG lance la nouvelle subvention Alliance, qui financera des projets de recherche réalisés par des universités en collaboration avec des organismes partenaires qui jouent un rôle actif dans les activités de recherche, utilisent les résultats de la recherche ou participent activement à la mobilisation des connaissances de manière à générer des retombées. Les subventions Connexion ne sont donc plus offertes aux universités, mais elles seront toujours offertes aux collèges.

Pour obtenir des renseignements sur les subventions Connexion pour les collèges, veuillez consulter la description du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté - Subventions Connexion.

Le CRSNG respectera ses engagements en ce qui concerne les subventions Connexion déjà accordées.

Pour être au fait des dernières nouvelles, consultez la page des subventions Alliance.


Avis concernant l’accessibilité : Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au contenu de la présente page, communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques à  webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-4273. Dans votre message, indiquez votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.


Aperçu
Valeur Niveau 1 :
Niveau 2 :
jusqu’à 5 000 $
habituellement : jusqu’à 5 000 $ 
exceptionnellement : jusqu’à 25 000 $
Date limite Aucune date limite
Présentation des demandes Voir plus bas. Tous les documents doivent être versés dans le This link will take you to another Web site site de présentation sécurisée des documents relatifs aux demandes de subvention Connexion du CRSNG .
Formulaires de demande
  • Formulaire 401, Demande de subvention Connexion (à remplir en ligne)

et

Demandes émanant d’une université

  • Formulaire 100, Formulaire de renseignements personnels (Pour remplir le formulaire 100, ouvrez une session dans le système en ligne à la page Services en ligne.)
    ou
  • CV commun canadien du CRSNG (type chercheur) en PDF

Demandes émanant d’un collège

  • Formulaire 103CV, Formulaire de renseignements personnels du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (à remplir en ligne), et  instructions

Autres demandes

  • Curriculum vitæ
Pour en savoir plus Avant de présenter une demande, communiquez avec le bureau régional du CRSNG de votre région.

Renseignements importants

Consultez la liste de contrôle pour les demandes de subvention Connexion et les rubriques suivantes du présent guide.

Objectifs

Les subventions Connexion offrent un appui financier qui aide le milieu de la recherche canadien à entreprendre des activités qui contribueront à faire du Canada un pays de découvreurs et d’innovateurs, au profit de tous les Canadiens. Ces activités doivent faire progresser les partenariats de recherche du CRSNG ou au moins un des objectifs énoncés dans le Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG. Toutes les activités doivent avoir des résultats liés au CRSNG ou à des demandes que le candidat prévoit de présenter au CRSNG.

Remarque : Les activités visant à favoriser une culture des sciences et du génie au Canada sont appuyées par le Programme PromoScience. Pour en savoir plus à ce sujet, consultez le site Web de PromoScience ou écrivez directement à  promoscience@nserc-crsng.gc.ca .

Les demandes peuvent être présentées par des chercheurs ou des administrateurs au sein des établissements postsecondaires admissibles aux fonds du CRSNG ou le personnel des organisations non gouvernementales et sans but lucratif (p. ex. des associations industrielles ou des associations de producteurs). Les demandes émanant d’entreprises privées ou de ministères ou organismes gouvernementaux ne sont pas acceptées.

Les candidats admissibles peuvent demander deux niveaux de subventions Connexion.

Niveau 1  Pour voyager au pays afin d’établir de nouveaux partenariats du CRSNG entre des établissements postsecondaires et des entreprises.
Niveau 2 

Pour organiser des activités visant à créer ou à promouvoir :

  • de nouveaux partenariats entre des établissements postsecondaires et des entreprises;
  • des possibilités de formation en entreprise pour les étudiants;
  • les objectifs du Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG.


Toutes ces activités (déplacements, événements et ateliers) doivent avoir lieu au Canada.

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du fait que l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion renforcent le milieu scientifique ainsi que la qualité, les retombées et l’utilité pour la société des travaux de recherche. Accroitre la diversité et tendre vers l’équité entre les genres dans le monde de la recherche constituent donc une priorité clé qui s’inscrit dans l’objectif stratégique « bâtir une base de recherche diversifiée et concurrentielle » du Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG.

Les candidats aux subventions Connexion doivent autant que possible favoriser la diversité et l’inclusion dans les activités qu’ils proposent. Les subventions Connexion peuvent aussi servir à accroitre l’intégration et l’avancement des femmes et des autres groupes sous-représentés en sciences naturelles et en génie, et ce, en vue de favoriser l’excellence dans la recherche et la formation.

Description

Les subventions Connexion de niveau 1 procurent un financement d’au plus 5 000 $ pour couvrir les dépenses de déplacements, d’hébergement, de repas et de réunions engagées au Canada pour permettre à des chercheurs universitaires ou collégiaux admissibles à l’appui du CRSNG d’établir des relations susceptibles de donner lieu à de nouveaux partenariats avec des entreprises canadiennes à des fins de recherche en sciences naturelles ou en génie (voir la rubrique Demandes émanant d’un collège pour connaitre les critères d’admissibilité des candidats des collèges). Ces fonds permettent aux chercheurs et à leurs éventuels collaborateurs d’envisager et d’établir des partenariats de recherche concertée.

Les fonds accordés pour ces demandes doivent être utilisés au cours des trois mois suivant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la subvention. Les titulaires d’une subvention peuvent détenir au plus deux subventions Connexion de niveau 1 par exercice financier.

Les subventions Connexion de niveau 2 procurent un financement pour des activités qui positionnent le CRSNG comme un catalyseur de la découverte et de l’innovation en sciences naturelles et en génie (voir la rubrique Demandes émanant d’un collège pour connaitre les critères d’admissibilité des candidats des collèges) et qui créent de la valeur pour le Canada. Elles procurent aussi un financement pour :

  • organiser des activités de réseautage et de planification de la recherche en vue d’établir des partenariats du CRSNG entre des établissements postsecondaires et des entreprises;
  • organiser des activités de promotion ou concevoir des outils promotionnels en vue de favoriser l’établissement de partenariats appuyés par le CRSNG;
  • organiser des activités de promotion ou concevoir des outils promotionnels en vue de multiplier les possibilités de formation en recherche en entreprise pour les étudiants dans le domaine des sciences naturelles et du génie;
  • contribuer aux objectifs du Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG.

Les demandes de financement varient généralement de 1 000 $ à 5 000 $. Il est toutefois possible de présenter des demandes d’un montant d’au plus 25 000 $ pour des activités exceptionnelles. Les fonds doivent être utilisés au cours des 12 mois suivant la date d’entrée en vigueur de la subvention. Avant de présenter une demande de subvention, les candidats éventuels doivent discuter des activités qu’ils proposent avec le personnel du bureau régional du CRSNG de leur région.

Demandes émanant d’un collège

Le Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) est administré par le CRSNG en collaboration avec le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) et les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC). Les demandes doivent être présentées au CRSNG. Étant donné que les demandes de subvention Connexion émanant des collèges sont financées par le Programme d’ICC, les projets proposés peuvent s’inscrire dans le domaine des sciences naturelles, du génie, des sciences humaines ou de la santé. Les subventions sont accordées par le CRSNG, sauf dans le cas des propositions s’inscrivant exclusivement en sciences humaines ou en sciences de la santé, auquel cas les subventions sont accordées respectivement par le CRSH ou les IRSC. Pour en savoir plus sur l’utilisation des fonds de la subvention, consultez le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté. Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements, reportez-vous aux rubriques suivantes.

Présentation des demandes

Toute demande de subvention de 5 000 $ ou moins, qu’elle soit de niveau 1 ou 2, doit être présentée au moins quatre semaines avant l’activité proposée. Toute demande de plus de 5 000 $ doit être présentée au moins 12 semaines avant l’activité proposée, afin qu’il y ait suffisamment de temps pour régler tous les détails et envoyer les invitations après la décision du CRSNG. Avant de présenter une demande de subvention de niveau 2, les candidats éventuels doivent discuter des activités qu’ils proposent avec le personnel du bureau régional du CRSNG de leur région.

La liste de contrôle pour les demandes de subvention Connexion résume les éléments qui doivent être traités dans la proposition. Elle a pour seul but de faciliter la tâche aux candidats; il ne faut pas l’envoyer avec la demande.

Une fois remplis, les documents suivants (en PDF) doivent être versés dans le This link will take you to another Web site site de présentation sécurisée des documents relatifs aux demandes de subvention Connexion du CRSNG .

  • Demande de subvention Connexion (formulaire 401). Le CRSNG recommande aux candidats de préparer leur demande en se servant des rubriques qui figurent dans la section Évaluation des demandes et critères de sélection.
    • Les demandes présentées par l’intermédiaire d’un établissement admissible à l’appui du CRSNG doivent être approuvées par un représentant autorisé de l’établissement; celles présentées par l’intermédiaire d’un autre type d’organisation doivent être approuvées par un représentant autorisé de cette organisation. Il faut alors indiquer le poste qu’occupe cette personne dans l’organisation.
  • Formulaire de renseignements personnels (formulaire 100 pour les candidats des universités ou formulaire 103CV pour les candidats des collèges) ou CV commun canadien du CRSNG (type chercheur), en PDF. Les candidats qui ne proviennent pas d’un établissement postsecondaire doivent présenter un curriculum vitæ.
  • Renseignements supplémentaires pour les demandes de subvention de niveau 2 :
    • le cas échéant, un ordre du jour provisoire;
    • si possible, une liste préliminaire des participants invités.

Évaluation des demandes et critères de sélection

Les demandes sont évaluées à l’interne par le CRSNG en fonction des critères suivants.

  • Besoin de fonds. L’activité proposée et ses objectifs, les questions à traiter (c.-à-d. les priorités de la recherche et les connaissances à acquérir, la capacité de recherche actuelle et les futurs besoins, la formation de personnel hautement qualifié et les compétences nécessaires, etc.) et le besoin de fonds doivent être clairement décrits dans la proposition. L’aide obtenue auprès d’autres sources est un atout majeur et doit aussi être décrite dans la demande.
  • Concordance avec les objectifs du CRSNG. La proposition doit clairement montrer que l’activité fera progresser les partenariats de recherche ou au moins un des objectifs énoncés dans le Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG. Il est à noter que les activités visant à favoriser une culture des sciences et du génie au Canada sont appuyées par le Programme PromoScience.
  • Retombées et étapes subséquentes. Le candidat doit faire état des retombées prévues, des étapes subséquentes qui découleront de l’activité, ainsi que des demandes qu’il prévoit de présenter au CRSNG en indiquant quelles subventions exactement. Au nombre des retombées, il doit parler des possibilités de transfert des connaissances ou de la technologie.
  • Avantages pour le CRSNG. Le candidat doit décrire toute possibilité de visibilité ou de promotion qui sera offerte au CRSNG, ainsi que toute possibilité pour le CRSNG de participer à l’activité.
  • Avantages pour le Canada. La proposition doit faire état des avantages que les activités pourraient procurer au Canada sur le plan de la société, de l’économie et de la santé.
  • Pertinence des participants. Si c’est possible, le candidat doit énumérer les participants proposés et leur organisation ou présenter une ventilation des groupes de participants (c.-à.-d. établissements postsecondaires, gouvernements, entreprises). La proposition doit :
    • montrer que les participants possèdent l’expertise et l’expérience et les ressources qui permettront de réaliser l’activité proposée;
    • montrer que les entreprises participantes cadrent avec les objectifs et les critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG en vue d’éventuels partenariats;
    • donner une justification détaillée de la participation d’au plus deux conférenciers provenant d’établissements postsecondaires étrangers dont les frais de déplacement sont prévus dans le budget.
  • Budget. Le budget demandé doit être justifié, approprié et présenté de façon détaillée et complète. Consultez la rubrique Dépenses admissibles et les lignes directrices sur l’utilisation des subventions pour déterminer quelles dépenses sont admissibles. Reportez-vous à la liste de contrôle pour les demandes de subvention Connexion pour en savoir plus sur la façon de remplir la section du budget. Il est possible de joindre des documents pour donner des renseignements supplémentaires sur le budget.
  • Activité coïncidant avec une autre activité professionnelle (le cas échéant). Le candidat doit faire une distinction claire entre l’activité et ses couts et l’autre activité.

D’autres critères pourraient s’ajouter en fonction de la nature de l’activité.

Participation des entreprises

Dans le cas des activités visant à établir des partenariats de recherche avec des entreprises, il faut consulter les lignes directrices relatives aux organismes participant aux partenariats de recherche pour déterminer si ces entreprises sont admissibles. Habituellement, les entreprises partenaires doivent être établies au Canada et montrer qu’elles ont l’intention et la capacité de poursuivre le développement et l’application de toute technologie au Canada. Les entreprises en démarrage sont admissibles pourvu qu’elles satisfassent aux exigences énoncées ci-dessous. Pour être considérée comme admissible, toute entreprise doit :

  • compter au moins deux employés à temps plein;
  • être en activité depuis au moins deux ans.

Les entreprises doivent montrer qu’elles ont la capacité d’exploiter les résultats du projet de recherche. Les ressources, les capacités et l’expérience de l’entreprise et de son personnel sont donc pertinentes dans ce contexte. Les sociétés de portefeuille et les entreprises qui ne peuvent pas poursuivre à l’interne le développement de la technologie ne sont pas admissibles.

Versement des paiements aux organisations

Pour recevoir des paiements, les organisations (sauf les établissements postsecondaires admissibles à l’appui du CRSNG) doivent remplir le formulaire d’inscription d’un bénéficiaire au dépôt direct et le transmettre au CRSNG par télécopieur, par courrier ou par courriel. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la foire aux questions sur le dépôt direct.

Dépenses admissibles

Les fonds servent à appuyer les activités approuvées, et non à acheter des appareils ou à couvrir les couts directs de la recherche. Les subventions Connexion ont pour but de financer des activités qui ne s’inscrivent pas dans les autres programmes du CRSNG. Certaines demandes pourraient nécessiter l’obtention de fonds de contrepartie auprès d’autres sources pour financer l’activité globale. Pour en savoir plus sur les dépenses admissibles, adressez-vous au bureau régional du CRSNG de votre région. Toute modification du budget après l’obtention de la subvention doit au préalable être approuvée par le CRSNG.

Subvention Connexion de niveau 1

Les fonds de la subvention doivent servir uniquement à couvrir les couts liés aux déplacements et aux séjours (repas et hébergement) des participants provenant d’établissements postsecondaires canadiens; ils ne peuvent pas servir à acheter des appareils ou à couvrir les couts directs de la recherche. Ces subventions sont assorties des restrictions suivantes :

  • les déplacements locaux (moins de 200 kilomètres aller-retour) ne sont pas admissibles;
  • le nombre de visites à la même entreprise est généralement limité à deux;
  • l’hébergement, s’il y a lieu, est généralement limité à une nuit par jour de réunion.

Subvention Connexion de niveau 2

Les dépenses admissibles sont les mêmes que pour les subventions Connexion de niveau 1, en plus des suivantes :

  • couts liés à l’utilisation des salles de réunion;
  • couts liés à l’utilisation du matériel audiovisuel;
  • couts liés aux téléconférences;
  • couts liés aux services de traiteur et à l’accueil;
  • couts liés aux communications (impression des cahiers et des autres documents relatifs à l’atelier, affiches, préparation des comptes rendus de réunion, etc.);
  • couts liés à la préparation d’outils visant à promouvoir, au moyen de supports comme la vidéo, les partenariats et la formation d’étudiants en entreprise réalisés avec l’appui du CRSNG;
  • à la participation d’un ou deux conférenciers provenant d’établissements postsecondaires étrangers qui apportent des perspectives uniques essentielles à la réalisation des objectifs généraux de l’atelier; leur participation doit être clairement justifiée dans la demande.

D’autres dépenses pourraient être admises. Pour en savoir plus sur l’admissibilité de dépenses exceptionnelles ou particulières, adressez-vous au bureau régional du CRSNG de votre région.

Dépenses non admissibles

Les fonds de la subvention Connexion ne couvrent pas les dépenses suivantes :

  • les couts liés aux déplacements internationaux des candidats;
  • les couts liés aux déplacements et à l’hébergement des participants ne provenant pas d’un établissement postsecondaire;
  • les couts liés à la participation à une conférence ou à une réunion scientifique coïncidant avec l’activité;
  • les conférences ne sont pas des activités admissibles à un appui, bien que des activités distinctes menées conjointement puissent être admissibles;
  • les dépenses admissibles à un appui dans le cadre d’autres programmes existants du CRSNG;
  • les honoraires ou les frais de consultation versés aux entreprises ou aux participants de l’activité;
  • le cout des billets d’avion qui ont été achetés par l’entremise d’un programme personnel de points de grand voyageur;
  • les frais de passeport des participants étrangers;
  • les frais de traiteur ou d’accueil excédant les taux autorisés aux termes de la Directive sur les dépenses de voyages, d’accueil, de conférences et d’évènements du Conseil du Trésor du Canada;
  • les couts salariaux des employés déjà en poste;
  • le cout des boissons alcoolisées.

Rapports

À la fin de la période de validité de la subvention, le titulaire de la subvention doit faire parvenir au CRSNG un rapport dans lequel il indique le nom et l’affiliation de chacun des participants et dans lequel il fait état des dépenses engagées.

Contacts

Bureaux régionaux du CRSNG
Communiquez avec le bureau régional du CRSNG de votre région.