Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Industrial Research Chairs for Colleges Grants

Accessibility Notice: If you cannot access the following content, please contact the On-line Services Helpdesk by email at or by telephone at 613-995-4273. Indicate the email address and telephone number where you can be reached.

Learn more about the Chairholders who are funded by this and other NSERC Chairholder grants by visiting the NSERC Chairholders Database.

Note: NSERC will not be accepting new applications at this time, as there will be no competition for this grant in 2016.

Duration Five years, renewable
Application Deadline There will be no competition for this grant in 2016.
How to Apply See below
Application Forms
  • Form 103CV (form-fillable) CCI Personal Data Form and instructions
  • Form 103 Application for the CCI Program
  • Form 183A Information Required from Organizations Participating in Research Partnerships Programs
To complete Form 103CV or to view its instructions, select the links above.

To create or access an application, select On-line System Login. To view forms and instructions, select PDF Forms and Instructions.

For More Information Consult the Contact List

Important Information

The College and Community Innovation (CCI) Program is managed by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) in collaboration with the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). All applications must be submitted to NSERC. Industrial Research Chairs for Colleges (IRCC) Grants support Chair programs across the spectrum of natural and social sciences, engineering, humanities and/or health sciences fields. Grants are given by NSERC, with the exception of funded proposals exclusively in the social sciences, humanities and/or health sciences, which will be given by SSHRC or CIHR, as appropriate.


IRCC Grants support applied research leaders and their development of business-focused applied research programs at colleges. It is expected that the establishment of applied research leaders will enable the realization of the following objectives:

  • Increased delivery of innovative applied research solutions to local companies at the community and/or regional level;
  • Enhanced teaching and curricula;
  • Increased participation of faculty and other college staff in applied research activities;
  • Increased opportunities for students to gain industrial problem-solving experience; and
  • Increased knowledge and technology transfer between colleges and companies, with the objective of increasing the productivity and competitiveness of local companies, particularly small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs).


IRCC Grants assist colleges to develop new or significantly enhance existing applied research efforts and capacity in areas that meet local or regional socio-economic needs. Chairholders are expected to conduct a program of applied research with partner companies. Candidates should therefore have a strong track record in conducting and managing industry-focused applied research projects. The applied research projects will provide an enhanced training environment for students and college personnel by giving them the opportunity to address applied research challenges with the private sector and to participate in significant ongoing interactions with business partners.

The Chair candidate can be an existing faculty or other college staff member, or an external individual—such as an applied research leader in business whom the college intends to bring on staff following the awarding of an IRCC Grant.

Grants are awarded on the basis of the proposal and Chairholder’s track record. Therefore, if the Chairholder withdraws from his/her position during the term of the grant, the college may not replace the Chairholder under the existing grant. Rather, a new grant application proposing another candidate should be submitted in a future IRCC competition.

In order to focus on applied research activities, it is expected that Chairholders will devote their time to Chair activities. Chairholders are also expected to be well integrated in the teaching environment of the college to help advance the skills development of students; teaching-related duties are considered complementary to Chair activities; it is expected that Chairholders would have either no teaching duties or a reduced teaching load. IRCC Grants provide funding to cover the salary of the Chairholder, technology transfer and knowledge dissemination activities, and support for applied research projects through the purchase of equipment, training activities and other direct costs of applied research related to the Chair activities.

IRCC Grants range from $100,000 to $200,000 annually, are offered in five-year terms, and are renewable. Private-sector partnerships and contributions are required. For the initial five-year term, a combination of cash and/or in-kind contributions from private-sector organizations is required. Company partner cash contributions are not mandatory in the first term but are in subsequent terms (see Company Participation). Industrial Research Chairs for Colleges are funded jointly by the CCI Program and the private sector. Provincial or federal government departments and agencies may also co-sponsor/support a Chair, but only the private-sector contributions are matched when determining the amount of the IRCC Grant.

Note: Colleges are limited to one IRCC Grant not requiring company cash contributions per distinct applied research area. Applications that overlap with the broad applied research area of an existing or prior IRCC Grant will require the same cash contributions as a second term Chair from their supporting company partners (see Company Participation section below for more information). NSERC considers the applied research disciplines, as well as the targeted industry sectors, when assessing potential overlaps.

Example 1: The applied research areas of oil refinery, environmental land remediation of former oil sites, and oil site worker safety would be considered overlapping (although in distinct applied research disciplines), because they are targeted towards a common industry sector. 

Example 2: The applied research areas of polymers and coatings, biomaterials, and concrete would be considered overlapping (although targeting distinct industry sectors), because they are in the same applied research discipline (materials science).

NSERC will take into consideration the recommendations of the CCI Review Committee in making final decisions on whether new IRCC applications overlap with an existing or prior IRCC Grant.

Company Participation

The Partner Eligibility Guidelines section of the Guidelines for Organizations Participating in Research Partnerships Programs should be consulted to determine the eligibility of the company partner and its contributions.

Company partners can provide ongoing support through the full term of the Chair or can participate in particular projects within the activities of the Chair for any period up to the full five-year commitment. In addition to making cash and/or in-kind contributions, participating partners must, at a minimum, have credible plans for exploiting the applied research results for the social, environmental or economic benefit of Canada. Company partners must demonstrate that they have the expertise and resources to put the plan into effect or the means and intention to acquire this capacity.

At the time of application, eligible company partners must make firm commitments for contributions representing at least 40% of the total IRCC Grant amount (see Table below for initial cash commitments), with the remainder to be secured during the term of the Chair. Colleges must also have a credible plan to secure these remaining contributions from existing or future eligible company partners. Continued IRCC Grant funding support for the full five-year term depends on the Chair securing sufficient eligible company partner contributions.

Company partners are expected to actively participate in and contribute to the applied research program of the Chair and/or its associated projects that depend on the term of the Chair, as follows:

Chair term Eligible company commitments over the full term Confirmed minimum eligible company commitments at the time of the application
First term Chairs At least equal to the total IRCC grant amount in cash and/or in-kind contributions Cash and/or in-kind contributions representing at least 40% of the total IRCC grant amount
Second term Chairs At least equal to the total IRCC grant amount, with at least 50% cash and the remainder in-kind contributions Cash and/or in-kind contributions representing at least 40% of the total IRCC grant amount, of which at least half must be cash
Third and subsequent term Chairs Cash at least equal to the total IRCC grant amount Cash representing at least 40% of the total IRCC grant amount

The CCI Program will recognize only those in-kind contributions that are fully documented and considered essential to carry out the program of the Chair. These contributions must be documented annually. For a full discussion on the eligibility and value of in-kind contributions, refer to the Guidelines on Eligibility and Value of In-Kind Contributions section of the Guidelines for Organizations Participating in Research Partnerships Programs.

Cash contributed by an eligible company partner toward a Chair is counted regardless of when it is actually given, provided the money is not spent prior to the application being submitted. Cash contributed by a company towards another grant (such as Engage or Applied Research and Development grants) cannot be applied toward the IRCC grant. If the supporting organizations choose to contribute to an endowment as a means of supporting the Chair, the recognized contribution will be limited to the amount attributed to private-sector sources that are directly allocated to the cost of the Chair over the term of the grant.

Intellectual Property

The granting agencies make no claim to the ownership of any intellectual property (IP) generated from the research they fund. As a general principle, colleges need to develop and sign an agreement with each company partner on the ownership and disposition of IP arising from IRCC Grant-funded applied research before initiating any Chair activities. Any agreements made regarding the ownership of the IP resulting from IRCC Grant-funded research must take into account the objective of the IRCC Grants—creating partnerships. This implies a sharing of eventual benefits between the partners commensurate with their respective contributions and the sharing of the costs to protect the IP.


Canadian colleges that have been declared eligible to administer grants according to the eligibility requirements for colleges of at least one of the three federal granting agencies (NSERC, CIHR and/or SSHRC) may submit an application.

  • The college must offer programs in the natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, humanities and/or health sciences;
  • The college’s Chairholder involved in the IRCC Grant must be permitted to engage in applied research in the natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, humanities and/or health sciences; and
  • The college must provide the basic facilities and services (including space) to enable its natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, humanities and/or health sciences faculty members, technical experts, entrepreneurial innovators and students to conduct applied research.

Colleges must offer programs in line with the research area proposed in the IRCC Grant application. If the proposed research and knowledge/technology transfer activities lie entirely within the mandate of one granting agency (CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC), the college must be declared eligible to receive funding from that granting agency.

Application Procedures

Instructions for applicants, company partner(s), and supporting organizations for completing the forms and on-line submission are found on NSERC's On-line Services. All proposals are reviewed by the College and Community Innovation Review Committee.

A Chair candidate must be identified at the time the application is submitted. Use Forms 103, 103CV and 183A and follow the instructions for preparing an IRCC Grant submission. Up to three letters of reference in support of first-time Chair candidates are encouraged at the time of submission. The letters of reference should be sent directly by the referees to NSERC and must arrive by the application deadline.

Review Procedures

All applications undergo peer review. Each IRCC Grant application is reviewed by external referees. The evaluation reports of external referees are taken under consideration by the multidisciplinary College and Community Innovation (CCI) Review Committee during its deliberations. This committee provides feedback on each application and recommends to NSERC the applications to receive IRCC Grants.

Selection Criteria

IRCC Grant applications are evaluated on the basis of the following criteria:

  • Suitability of the Candidate: the applied research experience and competence; potential to create a business-relevant applied research program; potential to create collaborative links with the local business community and company partners, and experience in this area; and the experience and record of accomplishments of the proposed candidate;
  • Benefits to the College: the potential for the Chair to connect local and regional industry with college research infrastructure, students, faculty and other college staff and to build a sustainable applied research program;
  • Institutional Support: the commitment of the college to the Chair’s activities as demonstrated through the involvement of faculty and other college staff in the applied research area of the Chair, administrative support, and facilities for research activities;
  • Quality of the proposal: the merit, technical feasibility, innovation, and regional business relevance of the proposed applied research activities;
  • Private-sector support: the demonstration of an appropriate level of contributions from company partner(s) to the applied research program as a whole, or to one or more projects in the Chair; and
  • Contribution to education and development: the demonstration of training and development opportunities for students and staff (including company personnel), and enhancement of future training programs.


Renewal of an IRCC Grant provides continued support for the Chair's applied research program for an additional five-year period and requires demonstration of:

  • a strong commitment from the private sector in the form of increased cash contributions;
  • strong impact on the local business sector; and
  • growth in the quality and relevance of interactions with company partners.

The application review will be based on an up-to-date college progress report, one to three company partner progress reports (submitted directly by the company partner), a new detailed research proposal for the subsequent term, demonstration of continued commitment from the private sector, and the support of the college. Applications are assessed by peer review conducted in the last year of each five-year term and involve a competitive process that takes into consideration the available funding (budget) for IRCC grants. The CCI Review Committee makes the final funding recommendation for all renewals.

Eligible Expenses

The Chairholder’s salary and direct benefits are eligible expenditures. All other eligible expenditures are detailed in the CCI Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide.


A statement of account (i.e., a Grants in Aid of Research, Statement of Account [Form 301]) is required on an annual basis for the IRCC Grant account and any partner contributions. In-kind contributions from partners must also be reported annually. The college and the company partner(s) must submit progress reports after 18 and 36 months of the five-year term. Continued funding support for the duration of the term is dependent on favourable reviews of the progress of the Chair’s contributions to applied research at the college and continued support from company partner(s). For Chairs that are ending, the final progress report is due within three months of the end date. For those Chairs intending to renew for an additional term, an up-to-date college progress report and one to three company partner progress reports must be submitted as part of the renewal application during the final year of the term.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Subventions de chaires de recherche industrielle dans les collèges

Avis concernant l’accessibilité : Si vous ne pouvez pas accéder au contenu, veuillez communiquer avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Pour en savoir plus sur les titulaires d’une chaire qui sont financés par les subventions de professeurs-chercheurs industriels ou d’autres subventions de chaires du CRSNG, consultez la Base de données sur les titulaires d’une chaire du CRSNG.

Remarque : Le CRSNG n’acceptera aucune nouvelle demande car il n’y aura pas de concours pour cette subvention en 2016.

Aperçu
Durée Cinq ans, renouvelable
Date limite Il n’y aura pas de concours pour cette subvention en 2016.
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous
Formulaires de demandes
  • Formulaire 103CV (à remplir en ligne) - Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté – Formulaire de renseignements personnels et instructions
  • Formulaire 103 – Demande de subvention au Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC)
  • Formulaire 183A - Renseignements requis des organismes participant aux programmes de partenariats de recherche
Pour remplir le formulaire 103CV ou pour visualiser ses instructions, sélectionnez les liens ci-dessus.

Pour créer une demande ou y avoir accès, sélectionnez Ouvrez une session du Système en ligne. Pour visualiser les formulaires et instructions, sélectionnez Formulaires en format PDF et instructions générales.
Pour en savoir plus Consultez la Liste des points de contact

Renseignements importants

Le Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) est administré par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) en collaboration avec les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH). Toutes les demandes doivent être présentées au CRSNG. Les subventions de chaire de recherche industrielle dans les collèges (CRIC) appuient des programmes de chaires dans les domaines des sciences naturelles, du génie, des sciences humaines ou des sciences de la santé. Les subventions sont accordées par le CRSNG. S’il s’agit de propositions de recherche qui comportent exclusivement des programmes de recherche en sciences humaines ou en sciences de la santé, les subventions sont accordées par les IRSC ou le CRSH, selon le cas.

Objectif

Les subventions de CRIC appuient des chefs de file en recherche appliquée et l’élaboration de leurs programmes de recherche appliquée axés sur l’entreprise dans les collèges. On s’attend à ce que cet appui aux chefs de file en recherche appliquée permette la réalisation des objectifs suivants :

  • offrir davantage de solutions novatrices en recherche appliquée aux entreprises locales au niveau communautaire ou régional;
  • améliorer l’enseignement et les programmes d’études;
  • accroître la participation du corps professoral et d’autres membres du personnel du collège aux activités de recherche appliquée;
  • accroître les possibilités offertes aux étudiants d’acquérir une expérience en résolution de problèmes industriels;
  • intensifier le transfert de technologie et de connaissances entre les collèges et les entreprises, dans le but d’accroître la productivité et la compétitivité des entreprises locales, en particulier des petites et moyennes entreprises (PME).  

Description

Les subventions de CRIC aident les collèges à réaliser de nouvelles activités et à créer une capacité en recherche appliquée dans des domaines qui répondent aux besoins socioéconomiques locaux ou régionaux ou à intensifier considérablement leurs efforts en ce sens. Le titulaire d’une chaire doit mener un programme de recherche appliquée avec des entreprises partenaires. Les candidats doivent donc avoir de solides antécédents dans la réalisation et la gestion de projets de recherche appliquée axés sur l’industrie. Les projets de recherche appliquée qui s’inscriront dans le programme de la chaire offriront un cadre de formation amélioré aux étudiants et aux employés du collège en leur donnant la possibilité de relever les défis de la recherche appliquée avec le secteur privé et de prendre part à d’importantes interactions soutenues avec les entreprises partenaires.

Le candidat à une chaire peut être un membre du corps professoral ou un autre membre du personnel du collège, ou une personne de l’extérieur, comme un chef de file en recherche appliquée dans une entreprise que le collège entend embaucher après l’octroi d’une subvention de CRIC.

Les subventions sont accordées en fonction du mérite de la demande et des antécédents du candidat. Par conséquent, si le titulaire d’une chaire quitte son poste au cours de la période de validité de la subvention, le collège ne peut pas le remplacer dans le cadre de la subvention actuellement en vigueur. Une nouvelle demande de subvention proposant un autre candidat à la chaire devrait être présentée à un concours ultérieur de subventions de CRIC.

Pour pouvoir se concentrer sur les activités de recherche appliquée, le titulaire d’une chaire doit consacrer son temps aux activités de la chaire. En outre, le titulaire doit être bien intégré dans le milieu d’enseignement du collège afin d’aider à promouvoir le développement des compétences des étudiants; les fonctions liées à l’enseignement sont considérées comme complémentaires aux activités de la chaire, mais on s’attend à ce que le titulaire de la chaire ait une charge d’enseignement réduite. La subvention de CRIC couvre le salaire du titulaire de la chaire, les activités de transfert de technologie et de connaissances et l’appui aux projets de recherche appliquée grâce à l’achat d’appareillage, les activités de formation et d’autres coûts directs de la recherche appliquée se rapportant aux de la chaire.

Les subventions de CRIC varient de 100 000 $ à 200 000 $ par année et ont un mandat de cinq ans. Il est prévu que le mandat de la chaire sera renouvelable. Dans le cadre de la CRIC, le titulaire doit établir des partenariats avec le secteur privé et obtenir des contributions de ce secteur. Pour le premier mandat de cinq ans, les organismes du secteur privé sont tenus de fournir des contributions en espèces ou en nature, ou une combinaison des deux. Les contributions en espèces des entreprises partenaires ne sont pas obligatoires pendant le premier mandat, mais elles le sont par la suite.

Les chaires sont financées conjointement par le Programme d’ICC et le secteur privé. Les ministères et les organismes provinciaux et fédéraux peuvent également cofinancer une chaire, mais, le cas échéant, le montant de la subvention de CRIC correspondra uniquement aux contributions du secteur privé. 

Remarque : Les collèges sont limités à une subvention de CRIC de premier mandat par domaine distinct de recherche appliquée. Bien que les collèges puissent présenter plus d’une demande de subvention de CRIC, une demande de subvention de premier mandat doit montrer clairement qu’elle ne s’inscrit pas dans un domaine général de recherche appliquée visé par une subvention actuellement en vigueur. Les demandes dont le domaine de recherche chevauche un domaine général de recherche appliquée visé par une subvention de CRIC antérieure seront considérées comme une demande de subvention de deuxième mandat et requerront une contribution en espèces des entreprises partenaires. (Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez la section Participation des entreprises ci-après.)

Participation des entreprises

Afin de déterminer si une entreprise partenaire et ses contributions sont admissibles, consultez la rubrique Lignes directrices sur l’admissibilité des partenaires des Lignes directrices relatives aux organismes participant aux programmes de partenariats de recherche.

Chaque entreprise partenaire doit participer activement au programme de recherche appliquée de la chaire et offrir une contribution en espèces ou en nature au programme de recherche appliquée de la chaire ou à ses projets connexes :

  • pour le premier mandat, la contribution en espèces ou en nature des partenaires admissibles doit être égale à la subvention de CRIC;
  • pour le deuxième mandat, la contribution en espèces des partenaires admissibles doit être égale à au moins la moitié de la subvention de CRIC, et la contribution en nature, au reste de la subvention de CRIC;
  • pour le troisième mandat et les mandats subséquents, les contributions en espèces des partenaires doivent être égales au montant de la subvention de CRIC.

Les entreprises partenaires peuvent offrir un appui de longue durée tout au long du mandat de la chaire ou participer à des projets particuliers dans le cadre des activités de la chaire sans avoir à s’engager pour une durée de cinq ans. Outre les contributions en espèces et en nature, les partenaires participants doivent à tout le moins avoir des plans crédibles d’exploitation des résultats de la recherche appliquée au profit de la société, de l’environnement et de l’économie du Canada. Les entreprises partenaires doivent démontrer qu’elles possèdent l’expertise et les ressources pour mettre le plan en œuvre, ou qu’elles sont aptes et disposées à les acquérir.

Au moment de présenter la demande (pour le premier mandat de la chaire), les entreprises partenaires admissibles doivent avoir pris des engagements fermes quant aux contributions en espèces ou en nature représentant au moins 40 p. 100 du montant total de la subvention de CRIC, le reste étant obtenu pendant le mandat de la chaire. Quant au collège, il doit avoir un plan crédible visant à obtenir le reste des contributions de la part d’entreprises partenaires admissibles actuelles ou futures. Le maintien du financement de la chaire pendant son mandat de cinq ans dépend des contributions qu’elle obtient des entreprises partenaires admissibles, qui doivent être suffisantes.

Seules les contributions en nature qui sont documentées de manière exhaustive et considérées comme essentielles à la réalisation du programme de la chaire sont reconnues dans le cadre du Programme d’ICC. Ces contributions doivent être documentées annuellement. Pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur l’admissibilité et la valeur des contributions en nature, consultez les Lignes directrices relatives aux organismes participant aux programmes de partenariats de recherche.

Les contributions en espèces des entreprises partenaires admissibles à une chaire comptent peu importe le moment où elles sont versées, à condition que l’argent n’ait pas été dépensé avant la date à laquelle la demande a été présentée. Si les organismes d’appui décident d’appuyer la chaire en contribuant à un fonds de dotation, la contribution reconnue sera limitée au financement du secteur privé qui est directement affecté à la couverture des coûts de la chaire pendant toute la durée de la subvention.

Propriété intellectuelle

Les organismes subventionnaires ne revendiquent aucun droit à l’égard de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) issue des travaux de recherche qu’ils financent. De façon générale, avant même d’entreprendre les activités de la chaire, les collèges doivent élaborer et signer une entente avec chaque entreprise partenaire concernant les droits de PI et la cession de la PI découlant de la recherche appliquée appuyée au moyen de la subvention de CRIC. Toutes les ententes sur les droits de PI découlant de la recherche appuyée au moyen d’une subvention de CRIC doivent tenir compte de l’objectif de création de partenariats visé par les subventions de CRIC, ce qui suppose un partage entre les partenaires des retombées éventuelles, au prorata de leur contribution respective, ainsi que le partage des coûts de protection de la PI.

Admissibilité

Seuls les collèges canadiens déclarés admissibles à administrer les subventions d’au moins un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (CRSNG, CRSH ou IRSC) conformément aux critères d’admissibilité établis à l’égard des collèges peuvent présenter une demande.

  • Le collège doit offrir des programmes en sciences naturelles, en génie, en sciences humaines ou en sciences de la santé.
  • Le titulaire de la chaire dans le collège participant aux projets appuyés par une subvention de CRIC peut faire de la recherche appliquée en sciences naturelles, en génie, en sciences humaines ou en sciences de la santé;
  • Le collège doit fournir les installations et les services de base, y compris les locaux, afin de permettre aux professeurs, aux spécialistes techniques, aux innovateurs entrepreneurs et aux étudiants en sciences naturelles, en génie, en sciences humaines ou en sciences de la santé de faire de la recherche appliquée.

Les collèges doivent offrir des programmes d’études dans le domaine des travaux de recherche proposés dans la demande de subvention de CRIC. Si les travaux de recherche proposés ou les activités de transfert de technologie ou de connaissances relèvent entièrement du mandat d’un organisme subventionnaire (c.-à-d. le CRSNG, les IRSC ou le CRSH), le collège doit être déclaré admissible à recevoir des fonds de cet organisme.

Présentation des demandes

Les instructions relatives aux formulaires et aux demandes en ligne à l’intention des candidats, des entreprises partenaires et des organismes d’appui se trouvent à la page Services en ligne. Les demandes sont évaluées par le Comité d’évaluation des demandes de subvention du Programme d’ICC.

Le candidat à la chaire doit être proposé au moment de la présentation de la demande. Pour présenter une demande, il faut remplir les formulaires 103, 103CV et 183A en suivant les instructions pour la présentation des demandes de subvention de CRIC. On suggère de présenter jusqu’à trois lettres de recommandation à l’appui du candidat à la chaire au moment de la présentation de la demande. Les lettres de recommandation devraient être envoyées par les auteurs des lettres directement au CRSNG et lui parvenir avant la date limite de présentation des demandes.

Évaluation des demandes

Les demandes font l’objet d’une évaluation par les pairs. Chaque demande de subvention de CRIC est évaluée par des examinateurs de l’extérieur. Pendant ses délibérations, le Comité d’évaluation des demandes de subventions du Programme d’ICC prend en considération les rapports d’évaluation des examinateurs de l’extérieur. Ce comité fournit des commentaires au sujet de chaque demande, et recommande au CRSNG les demandes de subvention de CRIC retenues pour l’attribution de subventions.

Critères de sélection

Les demandes de subvention de CRIC sont évaluées en fonction des critères suivants :

  • Aptitude du candidat : expérience et compétence en recherche appliquée, possibilité de créer un programme de recherche appliquée pertinent pour une entreprise, possibilité d’établir des liens de collaboration avec le milieu des affaires local et les entreprises partenaires et expérience en la matière, et expérience et accomplissements du candidat proposé;
  • Avantages pour le collège : possibilité pour le titulaire de la chaire d’établir des liens entre l’industrie locale et régionale et l’infrastructure de recherche du collège, les étudiants, le corps professoral et d’autres membres du personnel de mettre en place un programme de recherche appliquée durable;
  • Appui de l’établissement : engagement du collège à l’égard des activités de la chaire, comme en témoigne la participation du corps professoral et d’autres membres du personnel dans le domaine de la recherche appliquée de la chaire, soutien administratif et installations pour les activités de recherche; 
  • Qualité de la demande : bien-fondé, faisabilité technique, innovation et pertinence commerciale régionale des activités de recherche appliquée proposées;
  • Appui du secteur privé : capacité manifeste des entreprises partenaires de faire des contributions suffisantes au programme de recherche appliquée dans son ensemble ou à un ou plusieurs projets de la chaire;
  • Contribution à l’éducation et au perfectionnement : possibilités manifestes de formation et de perfectionnement pour les étudiants et le personnel, y compris le personnel de l’entreprise, et amélioration des futurs programmes de formation.

Renouvellement

Le renouvellement du mandat d’une chaire permet de maintenir l’appui au programme de recherche appliquée de la chaire. Le renouvellement en vue du deuxième mandat et de chaque mandat subséquent dépend d’une évaluation par les pairs effectuée la dernière année de chaque mandat de cinq ans et peut comprendre un concours qui tient compte du financement disponible pour les subventions de CRIC. L’évaluation reposera sur le rapport d’étape à jour, une nouvelle proposition de recherche détaillée pour le mandat suivant, un engagement manifeste continu du secteur privé et l’appui du collège.

Le renouvellement du mandat d’une chaire (pour un deuxième mandat de cinq ans) nécessite la démonstration :

  • d’un solide engagement du secteur privé, sous forme de contributions en espèces majorées;
  • d’une incidence importante sur les entreprises locales;
  • d’une augmentation de la qualité et de la pertinence des interactions avec les entreprises partenaires au cours du premier mandat de la chaire.

Le Comité d’évaluation des demandes de subvention du Programme d’ICC formulera la recommandation de financement finale pour l’ensemble des renouvellements. 

Dépenses admissibles

Une liste des dépenses admissibles est présentée dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté. Les exceptions suivantes sont propres aux subventions de CRIC :

  • le salaire du titulaire de la chaire et les avantages directs sont admissibles;
  • certaines dépenses relatives à la gestion de projet sont couvertes jusqu’à concurrence de 10 p. 100 des coûts directs de la recherche;
  • les frais généraux sont autorisés jusqu’à concurrence de 20 p. 100 du total de la subvention.

Rapports

Il faut présenter chaque année un état des dépenses (c’est-à-dire le formulaire 301, Subventions de recherche – État des dépenses) pour le compte de la subvention de CRIC et pour toute contribution des partenaires. Il faut également rendre compte annuellement des contributions en nature des partenaires. Le collège et les entreprises partenaires doivent présenter des rapports d’étape après 18 et 36 mois du mandat de cinq ans de la chaire. Le maintien du financement pendant la durée du mandat dépend des examens favorables des progrès des contributions de la chaire à la recherche appliquée au collège et de l’appui continu des entreprises partenaires. Si la chaire en est à son dernier mandat, le rapport final devra être présenté au CRSNG dans les trois mois suivant la fin du mandat. Pour renouveler le mandat d’une chaire, il faut joindre un rapport d’étape à jour à la demande de renouvellement et la présenter au cours de la dernière année du mandat.

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.