Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering;
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector;
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems;
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives;
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region.


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
Anne Ballantyne
Operations Manager/Office Manager
Delco Automation Inc.
Susan Blum
Associate Vice-President Research and Innovation
Saskatchewan Polytechnic
Trevor Carlson
Past Sustainability Director; and Consultant
Federated Co-operatives Ltd.
Stuart Cullum
Chief Innovation Officer
Olds College
Chris Dambrowitz
Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
Daniel Deleurme
Past President and CEO; and Consultant
Norscan Instruments Ltd.
Darren Fast
Director, Technology Transfer
University of Manitoba
Rhonda Orr
Manager, Research and Development
Manitoba Hydro
Brendan Reding
Regional Director, Industrial Research Assistance Program
National Research Council Canada
Peter Siemens

Marieta Consulting Inc.

Richard Smith
President and CEO
BioLargo Water Inc.
Mel Wong
President and CEO
Karen Young
Executive Director, Engagement and Intergovernmental Relations, Alberta Climate Change Office
Government of Alberta
Ex-Officio Members
Name Organization
Digvir Jayas
NSERC Council Member
Vice-President (Research and International)
and Distinguished Professor
University of Manitoba
Sudarshan A. Mehta
NSERC Council Member
Professor, Chemical and Petroleum Engineering
University of Calgary
Tracey Scarlett
NSERC Council Member
Dean, JR Shaw School of Business
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
People Discovery Innovation