Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

CIHR, NSERC & SSHRC

Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Program

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR) – Frederick Banting and Charles Best Canada Graduate Scholarships
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) – Alexander Graham Bell Canada Graduate Scholarships
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) – Joseph-Armand Bombardier Canada Graduate Scholarships

Overview
Value $17,500 for 12 months, non-renewable
Application Deadline December 1
Application Procedures See below
How to Apply
  • Canadian Common CV
  • Application
To create a Canadian Common CV, select This link will take you to another Web site Canadian Common CV.

To create or access an application, select Research Portal.

To view instructions, select Instructions.
For More Information See below

Important Information

Refer to the Tri-Agency Harmonization of the Canada Graduate Scholarships page for more information.

Objective

The objective of the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s (CGS M) Program is to help develop research skills and assist in the training of highly qualified personnel by supporting students who demonstrate a high standard of achievement in undergraduate and early graduate studies.

Description

The CGS M Program provides financial support to high-calibre scholars who are engaged in eligible master’s or, in some cases, doctoral programs in Canada (refer to Eligibility). This support allows these scholars to fully concentrate on their studies in their chosen fields.

The CGS M Program supports up to 2,500 students annually in all disciplines and is administered jointly by Canada’s three federal granting agencies: CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC. The selection process and post-award administration are carried out at the institutional level, under the guidance of the three agencies. Students submit their application to the institution at which they intend to hold their award using the Research Portal.

Eligible Canadian institutions receive a CGS M allocation indicating the number of students to whom they can offer scholarships; these allocations are divided by broad fields of study: health, natural sciences and/or engineering, and social sciences and/or humanities.

Eligibility

Applicant

To be eligible to apply, you must:

  • be a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident of Canada;
  • be enrolled in, have applied for, or will apply for full-time admission* to an eligible graduate program at the master’s or doctoral level at a Canadian institution with a CGS M allocation. Note: Applicants who are not currently enrolled in their intended graduate program must submit an application for admission by the deadline for their intended graduate program or by March 15, whichever comes first;
  • have completed, as of December 31 of the year of application, between zero and 12 months of full-time studies (or full-time equivalent) in:
    • the master’s program for which you are requesting funding; or
    • the direct-entry doctoral program for which you are requesting funding; or
    • the combined master’s-doctoral program for which you are requesting funding; or
    • a master’s program that was or will be fast-tracked to a doctoral program, and you are requesting funding for the first 12 months of this doctoral program; and
  • not have previously held a CGS M;
  • have achieved a first-class average, as determined by the host institution, in each of the last two completed years of study (full-time equivalent); and
  • submit a maximum of one scholarship application per academic year to either CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC (the Research Portal will allow the application to be submitted to up to five institutions – refer to Application Procedures).

Applicants are not eligible to receive or accept a CGS M offer from an institution where they are not currently enrolled in, nor have applied for admission to, an eligible program of study.

* Refer to the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Award Holder's Guide for details regarding part-time admission.

Program of Study Eligibility

An eligible graduate program must have a significant research component. A significant research component is considered to be original, autonomous research that leads to the completion of a thesis, major research project, dissertation, scholarly publication, performance, recital and/or exhibit that is merit/expert-reviewed at the institutional level as a requirement for completion of the program. Master’s programs that are based only on course work are typically not eligible since they do not include a significant research component. Given the specific requirements of certain disciplines, institutions are invited to contact the appropriate agency for guidance on the eligibility of programs of study.

Non-traditional Programs of Study

Joint programs with a professional degree (e.g., MD/PhD, DVM/PhD, JD/MA, JD/PhD, MBA/PhD, MA/MBA) are eligible if they have a demonstrated and significant research component as described above.

Clinically-oriented programs of study, including clinical psychology are also eligible programs if they have a demonstrated and significant research component as described above.

Tenure

Without exception, CGS M awards are tenable only at eligible Canadian institutions.

Field of Research and Subject Matter Eligibility

CIHR, NSERC and SSHRC support and promote high-quality research in a wide variety of disciplines and areas, which are divided into broad fields of research (health, natural sciences and/or engineering, and social sciences and/or humanities). This includes research that bridges two or more disciplines or that requires the skills of several disciplines.

Applicants must ensure that they are submitting their application to an institution that has an allocation for the field of research they intend to pursue. Applications deemed by a host institution to have been labeled incorrectly will be re-labeled according to the agency’s research subject matter guidelines (refer to This link will take you to another Web site Selecting the Appropriate Federal Granting Agency). Applicants should contact the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) at the institution where they intend to hold the award for further guidance on subject matter eligibility.

Application Procedures

To apply to the CGS M Program, applicants must complete and submit an application using the Research Portal. Applicants should consult the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Program Instructions for Completing an Application.

The Research Portal will instruct applicants to select up to five institutions where they intend to hold the award. Applicants must only select institutions where:

  • they are currently admitted or enrolled full-time in an eligible program of study and intend to pursue their studies; or
  • they will apply for full-time admission to an eligible program of study by the deadline set for their intended graduate program or by March 15, whichever comes first.

Allocations

Each eligible institution is assigned a separate allocation of awards to offer from each agency. Institutions must respect the agency-specific allocation. Refer to the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master’s Award Allocations page for a list of allocations by institution and by agency.

Deadlines

  • Application deadline (date by which the complete application must be submitted by the applicant): December 1, before 8:00 p.m. (ET). Applications must be submitted by the deadline using the Research Portal. If the deadline falls on a weekend, applications must be submitted by the following business day before 8:00 p.m. (ET).
  • Results deadline (date on which institutions may begin posting their competition results using the Research Portal): April 1 of the following calendar year.
  • Acceptance and declines of offers: Applicants will have 21 days from the date of each offer of award to accept or decline. If an offer of award is accepted, the system will automatically set all other offers and Alternate statuses to Declined. The status of offers not accepted or declined within the 21 days will also automatically be set to Declined.

Note: As the deadline date approaches, processing delays may stem from a high volume of users on the Research Portal, which may prevent the timely submission of your application. Requests to submit late applications will not be accepted under any circumstances.

Selection Process

The Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) at each Canadian institution is responsible for coordinating the selection process for the CGS M applications, and for communicating the results to the applicants and agencies. The institution selection committees evaluate each CGS M application. Institutions could have more than one selection committee.

Selection Criteria

The merit review of CGS M applications will be carried out by institutions with an allocation and will be based on the following evaluation criteria:

Criteria Description Weight
Academic Excellence As demonstrated by past academic results, transcripts, awards and distinctions.

Indicators of Academic Excellence:
  • Academic record (first class average)
  • Scholarships and awards held
  • Duration of previous studies
  • Type of program and courses pursued
  • Course load
  • Relative standing (if available)
50%
Research Potential As demonstrated by the applicant’s research history, his/her interest in discovery, the proposed research, its potential contribution to the advancement of knowledge in the field, and any anticipated outcomes.

Indicators of Research Potential:
  • Quality and originality of contributions to research and development
  • Relevance of work experience and academic training to field of proposed research
  • Significance, feasibility and merit of proposed research
  • Judgment and ability to think critically
  • Ability to apply skills and knowledge
  • Initiative, autonomy and independence
  • Research experience and achievements relative to expectations of someone with the candidate’s academic experience
30%
Personal Characteristics and Interpersonal Skills As demonstrated by the applicant’s past professional and relevant extracurricular interactions and collaborations.

Indicators of Personal Characteristics and Interpersonal Skills:
  • Work experience
  • Leadership experience
  • Project management including organizing conferences and meetings
  • The ability or potential to communicate theoretical, technical and/or scientific concepts clearly and logically in written and oral formats
  • Involvement in academic life
  • Volunteerism/community outreach
20%

Notification of Results

Institutions will establish a list of applicants to whom awards will be offered as of April 1. The offers of awards will be made using the Research Portal, where applicants will have 21 days to accept or decline the offers. Should some of the offers be declined, institutions may make subsequent offers until they have no awards remaining. These subsequent offers must be made no later than January 31, 11:59 p.m. (ET) of the following calendar year. If the deadline for offers of awards falls on a weekend, offers must be made by the following business day before 11:59 p.m. (ET).

It is the responsibility of the applicant to regularly verify the Research Portal as of April 1 for results of the competition.

Recipients of offers of awards must accept them using the Research Portal within 21 days of the date of the award offer by a host institution. The status of offers not accepted within that period of time will automatically be set to Declined on the Research Portal, and the offer will be considered cancelled. This change in status is irreversible.

Applicants may accept only one CGS M offer. If they accept an offer, any other potential or actual offers (if applicable) will be declined automatically by the Research Portal, and they will not be eligible to receive further offers.

Conditions of the Award

Awards must be held at the institution where the offer of award originates. Awards are not intended to be portable; however, exceptions may be made in extenuating circumstances at the discretion of the host institution, according to their academic and administrative regulations. Awards may be portable within the host institution and within the same field (e.g., change of department), at the discretion of the host institution, as long as award eligibility requirements continue to be met.

Applicants and award holders must comply with the policies and guidelines set out in the Canada Graduate Scholarships-Master's Award Holder's Guide and in any other documents related to scholarship applications and awards. In addition, the award is subject to final approval by the relevant agency before funds can be released.

The agencies reserve the right to interpret and enforce the policies and guidelines for their funding opportunities set out in their published materials.

Use and Disclosure of Information

All personal information collected as part of this program is used by the agencies and by the relevant officials in the eligible research institutions to review applications and to administer and monitor awards. It may also be used to determine the most appropriate funding jurisdiction, or to monitor overlap in federal support. Details on the use and disclosure of this information by the agencies are described by CIHR in This link will take you to another Web site Info Source, by NSERC in the Use and Disclosure of Personal Information Provided to NSERC, by SSHRC in the This link will take you to another Web site Protection and Disclosure of Personal Information: Fellowships and Scholarships, and in the relevant program literature.

Each agency may publish the names and other limited award information of award holders on their websites in accordance with the agencies’ policies on disclosure under the Access to Information Act and their Privacy Act policies and guidelines related to the collection, use, retention and disposal of personal information. For more information, consult the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. In addition, for SSHRC funded scholarships, SSHRC will provide to the Fonds de recherche du Québec-Société et culture (FRQSC) the same information as the one above in advance of the public announcement of awards, for its administrative purposes and in accordance with the memorandum of understanding between SSHRC and FRQSC.

Official Languages

The main body of the application should be written in either English or French and not in a mix of both official languages. Institutions must have mechanisms in place to review both English and French applications.

Related Opportunities

CGS M holders may be eligible for a:

For More Information

The first point of contact regarding the CGS M Program is the Faculty of Graduate Studies (or its equivalent) at the institution(s) where you intend to hold the award.

You can also contact any of Canada’s three federal granting agencies for information about this program. You should communicate with the agency whose mandate corresponds to your field of research.

During normal business hours, it is the intent of the agencies to respond to inquiries as quickly as possible. During peak periods (November to January), the response time may be delayed.

CIHR
CGS M Award Program Delivery Coordinator
Tel.: 613-952-0763
Email: cgsma@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

NSERC
Contact List
Email: schol@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

SSHRC
Tel.: 613-943-7777
Email: fellowships@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

IRSC, CRSNG et CRSH

Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise

Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) – Bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Frederick‑Banting et Charles‑Best
Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) – Bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Alexander‑Graham‑Bell
Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) – Bourses d’études supérieures du Canada Joseph-Armand‑Bombardier

Aperçu
Valeur 17 500 $ pour 12 mois, non renouvelable
Date limite 1er décembre
Présentation des demandes Voir ci-dessous
Pour faire une demande
  • CV commun canadien
  • Demande
Pour créer un CV commun canadien, sélectionnez This link will take you to another Web site CV commun canadien.

Pour créer une demande ou y avoir accès, sélectionnez Portail de recherche.

Pour accéder aux instructions, sélectionnez Instructions.
Pour en savoir plus Voir ci-dessous

Renseignements importants

Consultez la page intitulée Projet d’harmonisation inter-conseils : Harmoniser le Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Objectif

L’objectif du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise (BESC M) est de contribuer au développement des compétences en recherche et à la formation de personnel hautement qualifié en appuyant les étudiants qui ont un rendement élevé dans leurs études de premier cycle et au début de leurs études supérieures.

Description

Le Programme de BESC M fournit un appui financier aux étudiants de fort calibre qui sont inscrits à un programme d’études canadien admissible (voir la section Admissibilité) au niveau de la maîtrise, ou dans certains cas, au niveau du doctorat. Grâce à cet appui, les étudiants peuvent se concentrer entièrement sur leurs études dans le domaine qu’ils ont choisi.

Chaque année, le Programme de BESC M appuie jusqu’à 2 500 étudiants de toutes les disciplines. Il est administré conjointement par les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux du Canada : les IRSC, le CRSNG et le CRSH. Les activités relatives au processus de sélection et à l’administration des fonds après l’octroi sont menées par l’établissement, sous la supervision des trois organismes. Les étudiants présentent leur demande à l’établissement où ils ont l’intention de se prévaloir de leur bourse au moyen du Portail de recherche.

Les établissements canadiens admissibles reçoivent un quota pour les BESC M, qui indique le nombre d’étudiants auxquels ils peuvent attribuer une bourse. Ces quotas sont divisés en trois grands champs de recherche : la santé; les sciences naturelles et le génie; et les sciences humaines.

Admissibilité

Candidat

Pour être admissible à présenter une demande, vous devez :

  • être citoyen canadien ou résident permanent du Canada;
  • être inscrit, avoir présenté ou avoir l’intention de présenter une demande d’admission à temps plein* à un programme d’études supérieures admissible (au niveau de la maîtrise ou du doctorat) dans un établissement canadien qui reçoit un quota de BESC M. Remarque : Les candidats qui ne sont pas inscrits actuellement à leur programme d’études supérieures doivent présenter une demande d’admission avant la date limite établie par le programme auquel ils ont l’intention de s’inscrire ou avant le 15 mars, selon l’éventualité qui survient en premier;  
  • avoir terminé au 31 décembre de l’année dans laquelle la demande est présentée au plus 12 mois d’études à temps plein (ou l’équivalent temps plein) dans l’un des programmes suivants :
    • le programme de maîtrise pour lequel vous demandez des fonds;
    • le programme de passage direct au doctorat pour lequel vous demandez des fonds;
    • le programme conjoint maîtrise-doctorat pour lequel vous demandez des fonds;
    • le programme de maîtrise qui a donné lieu ou donnera lieu à un passage accéléré au programme de doctorat pour lequel vous demandez un appui pour les 12 premiers mois de ce programme;
  • ne pas avoir été titulaire d’une BESC M dans le passé;
  • avoir obtenu une moyenne de première classe, telle qu’établie par l’établissement d’accueil, au cours de chacune des deux dernières années d’études terminées (à temps plein ou l’équivalent);
  • présenter au plus une demande de bourse par année universitaire aux IRSC, au CRSNG ou au CRSH (le Portail de recherche permet de présenter la demande à cinq établissements au plus – voir la section Présentation des demandes).

Les candidats ne peuvent pas recevoir ou accepter une offre de BESC M d’un établissement où ils ne sont pas actuellement inscrits ou d’un établissement auquel ils n’ont pas présenté une demande d’admission à un programme d’études admissible.

* Pour en savoir plus sur les modalités d’admission à temps partiel, consultez le Guide des boursiers pour les titulaires d’une bourse d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise.

Admissibilité du programme d’études

Pour qu’un programme d’études supérieures soit admissible, il doit avoir une importante composante de recherche. On entend par « importante composante de recherche » des travaux de recherche autonomes et originaux qui aboutissent à la réalisation d’une thèse, d’un projet de recherche important, d’un mémoire, d’une publication érudite, d’un spectacle, d’un récital ou d’une exposition dont le mérite est évalué par des experts de l’établissement comme exigence pour l’achèvement du programme. En général, les programmes d’études au niveau de la maîtrise qui sont axés uniquement sur les travaux de cours ne sont pas admissibles étant donné qu’ils ne comprennent pas une importante composante de recherche. Compte tenu des exigences particulières de certaines disciplines, les établissements sont invités à communiquer avec l’organisme concerné pour obtenir de l’information sur l’admissibilité des programmes d’études.

Programmes d’études non traditionnels

Les programmes conjoints menant à un diplôme professionnel (p. ex., un programme M.D.‑PhD., D.M.V-PhD, J.D.-M.A., J.D.-PhD, M.B.A.-PhD ou M.A.-M.B.A.) sont admissibles au Programme de BESC M s’ils ont une composante de recherche importante et manifeste, comme décrite ci-dessus.

Les programmes axés sur des travaux de recherche clinique, y compris les programmes de psychologie clinique, sont également admissibles au Programme de BESC M s’ils ont une composante de recherche importante et manifeste, comme décrite ci-dessus.

Lieu de validité des bourses

Les BESC M, sans exception, sont valides seulement dans les établissements canadiens admissibles.

Champs de recherche et admissibilité du sujet de recherche

Les IRSC, le CRSNG et le CRSH appuient et encouragent la réalisation de travaux de recherche de haute qualité dans une vaste gamme de disciplines et de domaines qui sont répartis en grands champs de recherche (santé, sciences naturelles ou génie, et sciences humaines). Cela comprend notamment des travaux qui font le pont entre deux disciplines ou plus ou qui exigent des compétences dans plusieurs disciplines.

Les candidats doivent veiller à présenter leur demande à un établissement qui reçoit un quota pour le champ de recherche dans lequel ils ont l’intention d’étudier. Les demandes incorrectement catégorisées selon l’établissement d’accueil seront catégorisées à nouveau conformément aux lignes directrices pour les sujets de recherche de chaque organisme (consultez la page This link will take you to another Web site Choisir le bon organisme subventionnaire fédéral). Pour en savoir plus sur l’admissibilité des sujets de recherche, les candidats sont invités à communiquer avec la Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) de l’établissement dans lequel ils ont l’intention de détenir leur bourse.

Présentation des demandes

Les candidats doivent remplir et présenter leur demande au Programme de BESC M au moyen du Portail de recherche. Ils devraient consulter les Instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes au Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise.

Dans le Portail de recherche, les candidats seront invités à choisir au plus cinq établissements où ils ont l’intention de se prévaloir de leur bourse. Dans leur demande, les candidats doivent seulement choisir :

  • l’établissement où ils sont actuellement admis ou inscrits à temps plein dans un programme d’études admissible et ont l’intention de poursuivre leurs études;
  • les établissements où ils présenteront une demande d’admission à temps plein à un programme d’études admissible avant la date limite établie pour ce programme ou avant le 15 mars, selon l’éventualité qui survient en premier.

Quotas

Chaque établissement admissible reçoit de chaque organisme un quota distinct de bourses à attribuer. Les établissements doivent respecter le quota établi par chaque organisme. Consultez la page Quotas de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise par université pour connaître les quotas des établissements et des organismes.

Dates limites

  • Date limite de présentation des demandes (la date à laquelle la demande remplie doit être présentée par le candidat) : 1er décembre avant 20 h (HE). Vous devez présenter votre demande au plus tard à la date limite de présentation des demandes au moyen du Portail de recherche. Si la date limite tombe un jour de fin de semaine, vous devez présenter votre demande au plus tard le prochain jour ouvrable avant 20 h (HE).
  • Date d’affichage des résultats (la date à laquelle les établissements peuvent commencer à afficher dans le Portail de recherche les résultats du concours) : le 1er avril de l’année civile suivante.
  • Acceptation ou refus d’une bourse : les candidats ont 21 jours à partir de la date d’offre de la bourse pour l’accepter ou la refuser. Si une offre est acceptée, le système remplacera automatiquement l’état de toutes les autres offres, et celui de Candidat substitut à Décliné. L’état des offres qui ne seront pas acceptées ou refusées dans le délai de 21 jours sera également modifié à Décliné.

Remarque : Au fur et à mesure que la date limite de présentation des demandes approche, le grand nombre d’utilisateurs du Portail de recherche pourrait occasionner des délais de traitement, ce qui pourrait vous empêcher de présenter votre demande avant la date limite. En aucun cas, les requêtes en vue de présenter une demande de bourse après la date limite seront acceptées.

Processus de sélection

La Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) de chaque établissement canadien est responsable de coordonner le processus de sélection des demandes de BESC M, ainsi que de communiquer les résultats aux candidats et aux organismes. Les comités de sélection de l’établissement évaluent chaque demande de BESC M. Les établissements peuvent avoir plus d’un comité de sélection.

Critères de sélection

L’examen du mérite des demandes de BESC M est réalisé par les établissements qui reçoivent un quota et repose sur les critères d’évaluation suivants.

Critère Description Pondération
Excellence universitaire L’excellence universitaire telle qu’elle est attestée par les résultats scolaires passés, les relevés de notes universitaires ainsi que les prix et distinctions reçus.

Voici les indicateurs de l’excellence universitaire :
  • le dossier universitaire du candidat (moyenne de première classe);
  • les bourses et les octrois détenus par le candidat;
  • la durée des études antérieures du candidat;
  • le type de programme et de cours suivis;
  • la charge de cours;
  • le classement relatif (si disponible).
50 %
Potentiel en recherche Le potentiel en recherche tel qu’il est attesté par les antécédents en recherche du candidat, son intérêt pour la découverte, les travaux de recherche proposés, son éventuelle contribution à l’avancement des connaissances dans le domaine, ainsi que les résultats prévus.

Voici les indicateurs du potentiel en recherche :
  • la qualité et l’originalité des contributions à la recherche et développement;
  • la pertinence de l’expérience de travail et de la formation universitaire du candidat par rapport au domaine de recherche proposé;
  • l’importance, la faisabilité et la valeur de la recherche proposée;
  • le jugement et l’esprit critique;
  • la capacité d’appliquer les compétences et les connaissances;
  • l’esprit d’initiative et l’autonomie du candidat;
  • l’expérience de la recherche et les réalisations par rapport aux attentes pour une personne qui a l’expérience universitaire du candidat.
30 %
Caractéristiques et habiletés en relations interpersonnelles Les caractéristiques et capacités en relations interpersonnelles telles qu’elles sont attestées par les relations et les collaborations professionnelles et parascolaires antérieures pertinentes du candidat.

Voici les indicateurs des caractéristiques et des habiletés en relations interpersonnelles :
  • l’expérience de travail;
  • l’expérience en leadership;
  • la gestion de projet, notamment l’organisation de conférences et de réunions;
  • la capacité ou le potentiel de communiquer clairement et logiquement, par écrit et oralement, des concepts théoriques, techniques ou scientifiques;
  • la participation du candidat à la vie universitaire;
  • le bénévolat et le travail communautaire.
20 %


Annonce des résultats

Les établissements dresseront la liste des candidats auxquels une bourse sera offerte à compter du 1er avril. Les offres de bourses sont faites au moyen du Portail de recherche, et les candidats disposent de 21 jours pour les accepter ou les refuser. Si certaines offres sont refusées, l’établissement peut faire d’autres offres jusqu’à ce qu’il ait attribué toutes ses bourses. Ces offres doivent être faites d’ici le 31 janvier, au plus tard à 23 h 59 (HE), de l'année civile suivante. Si la date limite tombe un jour de fin de semaine, l’offre doit être faite le prochain jour ouvrable, au plus tard à 23 h 59 (HE).

Il incombe aux candidats de consulter régulièrement le Portail de recherche à compter du 1er avril pour voir si les résultats du concours y sont affichés.

Les candidats ayant reçu une offre de bourse d’un établissement d’accueil doivent l’accepter en utilisant le Portail de recherche dans un délai de 21 jours à compter de la date de réception de l’offre. L’état Refusé sera automatiquement attribué dans le Portail de recherche à toute offre non acceptée dans le délai prescrit, et celle-ci sera considérée comme annulée. Ce changement d’état est irréversible.

Les candidats peuvent accepter une seule offre de BESC M. Quand ils en acceptent une, toutes les autres offres actuelles ou éventuelles (le cas échéant) seront rejetées automatiquement par le Portail de recherche, et ils ne seront plus admissibles à en recevoir.

Modalités de la bourse

Les candidats doivent se prévaloir de leur bourse à l’établissement qui a fait l’offre. Les bourses ne sont pas transférables, mais l’établissement d’accueil peut faire des exceptions, à sa discrétion, dans des circonstances atténuantes, selon ses règlements universitaires et administratifs. Les bourses sont transférables au sein de l’établissement d’accueil (p. ex., si le titulaire change de département), à la discrétion de ce dernier, pourvu que les conditions d’admissibilité soient respectées et que le champ de recherche demeure le même.

Les candidats et les titulaires de bourse doivent se conformer aux politiques et aux lignes directrices décrites dans le Guide des boursiers pour les titulaires d’une bourse d’études supérieures du Canada au niveau de la maîtrise et dans tous les autres documents qui traitent des demandes de bourse et d’octrois. De plus, la bourse est soumise à l’approbation finale de l’organisme concerné avant que les fonds ne soient débloqués.

Les organismes subventionnaires se réservent le droit d’interpréter et de mettre en application les politiques et les lignes directrices relatives aux possibilités de financement décrites dans leurs publications.

Utilisation et divulgation de l’information

Tous les renseignements personnels collectés dans le cadre de ce programme sont utilisés par les organismes subventionnaires et les représentants pertinents des établissements de recherche admissibles pour examiner les demandes et administrer et surveiller les bourses. Ils peuvent aussi être utilisés pour déterminer la source de financement la plus appropriée ou surveiller le chevauchement de l’appui fédéral. Des renseignements détaillés sur l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis aux organismes subventionnaires figurent à la page This link will take you to another Web site Info Source (IRSC), à la section Utilisation et divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG (CRSNG) et à la section This link will take you to another Web site Protection et divulgation des renseignements personnels : Bourses (CRSH), ainsi que dans la documentation sur les programmes.

Chaque organisme peut publier dans ses sites Web le nom des titulaires d’une bourse et certains autres renseignements sur eux, conformément aux politiques des organismes sur la divulgation, en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, et à leurs politiques et lignes directrices liées à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui concernent la collecte, l’utilisation, la conservation et l’élimination des renseignements personnels. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Par ailleurs, pour les bourses financées par le CRSH, à des fins administratives et conformément au protocole d’entente entre le CRSH et le Fonds de recherche du Québec-Société et culture (FRQSC), le CRSH communiquera les mêmes renseignements que ceux mentionnés ci-dessus au FRQSC avant l’annonce publique de l’octroi des bourses.

Langues officielles

Le corps de la demande doit être rédigé en anglais ou en français, et non dans un mélange des deux langues officielles. Les établissements doivent avoir mis en place des mécanismes pour être en mesure d’examiner les demandes qui sont présentées en anglais et en français.

Possibilités connexes

Les titulaires d’une BESC M pourraient être admissibles à :

Pour en savoir plus

Votre premier point de contact pour le Programme de BESC M est la Faculté des études supérieures (ou son équivalent) de l’établissement ou des établissements où vous avez l’intention de détenir la bourse.

Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec l’un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux du Canada pour obtenir des renseignements sur ce programme. Nous vous conseillons de communiquer avec l’organisme dont le mandat correspond le mieux à votre domaine de recherche.

Au cours des heures normales de bureau, les organismes répondront dès que possible aux demandes de renseignements. Le délai de réponse peut être plus long pendant les périodes de pointe (de novembre à janvier).

IRSC
Coordonnateur de la prestation du Programme de BESC M
Tél. : 613-952-0763
Courriel : bescbm@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

CRSNG
Liste des points de contact
Courriel : bourses@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

CRSH
Tél. : 613-943-7777
Courriel : bourses@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Les gens. La découverte. L'innovation.