Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

College and Community Innovation Program Applied Research Rapid Response to COVID-19

Canadian colleges and polytechnics are already playing a vital role in addressing some of the challenges of the COVID-19 outbreak. This funding opportunity will further leverage the expertise and infrastructure in these post-secondary institutions to rapidly mobilize support and expertise related to the COVID-19 outbreak.

This is a special call for proposals that will use some of the College and Community Social Innovation Fund (CCSIF) framework and the CCSIF application form but will otherwise be adjudicated as per the parameters on this page. Guidance on this page takes precedence over other CCSIF descriptions and instructions.

Important information

Note to applicants: The application instructions have been updated to indicate the sections that are mandatory, and specifies the requirements for this call for proposals. For additional questions please contact NSERC at ccsif-fiscc@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or 613-943-7615.

If your College COVID-19 application is funded, an NSERC-Mitacs partnership is making available additional resources to augment research collaborations. Qualifying partner organizations can add Mitacs-funded internships to a College COVID-19 project at a reduced cost to the organization. To access this opportunity, please contact Noha Gerges, Director of Business Development, at Mitacs (ngerges@mitacs.ca). NSERC will share a copy of the approved project application with Mitacs, who will then confirm program eligibility and the details surrounding the internship opportunity.

Objective

To accelerate the transfer and application of applied research and of expertise for local community organizations and partners from the public, private, and not-for-profit sectors on COVID-19 related topics. All projects are intended to address topics of immediate relevance to the COVID-19 outbreak. Projects with a longer-term assessment horizon are not eligible for this special call.

Eligibility

Canadian colleges that have been declared eligible to administer grants of at least one of the three federal granting agencies (NSERC, SSHRC, and/or CIHR) within the College and Community Innovation (CCI) program are eligible to apply to this funding opportunity. Colleges must already be eligible at time of application because of the tight timelines for these projects and immediate need for outcomes.

Application requirements

All proposals are required to demonstrate the ability of the college or polytechnic to make immediate use of their existing resources and competencies to provide rapid support for near-term applications directly related to the COVID-19 outbreak. This call requires the utilization of results of research for the benefit of Canada and Canadians.

Applications are required to address at least one of the two competition themes:

  1. Assisting industry with production challenges to address COVID-19 (e.g., prototyping, enhanced production processes, repurposing of existing manufacturing infrastructure for production of new products, data analytics relating to the COVID-19 outbreak, etc.).
  2. Contributing to the solution of community innovation challenges (health, social, policy) of immediate relevance to the COVID 19 outbreak (e.g. impact of social isolation on vulnerable populations, implementation of community social distancing policies, addressing mental health impacts of COVID-19, changing scope of policies and regulations, etc.).

Applicants and the partner organizations must consider the unique present circumstances when planning their work (e.g., access to the institution vs. working remotely, respecting physical distancing, etc.).

Partner eligibility and contributions

Partner organizations are subject to the eligibility requirements specified in the CCSIF program description. There are no cost sharing requirements for partner organizations but all organizations must participate meaningfully in the project and demonstrate their level of involvement.

Award amount

Up to $75,000 per project

Duration

Up to one year

Proposal submission

Proposals will be submitted via the NSERC Online system to the CCSIF funding opportunity. Applications will be in a streamlined format, with a five-page proposal including up to one page of explanation of the project budget.

The proposal must address:

  1. proposed project;
  2. relevance and timeliness in terms of the COVID-19 pandemic; and
  3. team expertise.

In lieu of letters of support, e-mail confirmation of partner participation in the project can be provided as an attachment to the application.

There is a limit of four applications per college/polytechnic.

Assessment criteria

  • Potential for impact
    • The effectiveness of the proposal to address the needs of partner organizations; and
    • The capability of the partner organization(s) to implement and/or use the project results leading to impact within their organization(s).
  • Excellence of the proposal
    • The extent to which the application responds to the objectives of this special COVID-19 call for proposals;
    • The focus and clarity of the objectives of the proposal;
    • The involvement of the partner organization and other relevant stakeholders in the design and conduct of the research and/or related activities; and
    • The appropriateness of the proposed approach to achieve impacts towards mitigation of COVID-19 in a near-term timeframe.
  • Team expertise
    • The experience and expertise of the team to address the proposed objectives and to complete the project successfully; and
    • The college’s ability to mobilize the necessary resources on timelines appropriate to this project and call for proposals.

*All proposals must clearly demonstrate how the proposed work will lead to near-term advancements that mitigate impacts of the COVID-19 outbreak.

Budget, justification and eligible expenses

A detailed budget justification is not required, however an overall description of the proposed use of funds is required. The project budget will be provided in the budget table in Form 103 for the CCSIF program. Eligible expenses will follow guidelines from the CCI Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide. For this competition, there is no limit on materials costs, although equipment purchases are not permitted. As per the CCSIF program description, grant funds can be used to contribute to the participation of key collaborators from community organizations from the not-for-profit sector.

Review process 

Due to the urgent nature of this competition, an expedited review process will be used and results provided to applicants as quickly as possible following the submission of an application.

Expected key dates

Applications will be accepted in the NSERC Online system starting April 9, 2020, and will be accepted until June 1, 2020, 8:00 p.m. (ET), pending availability of funds.

Making Connections: Project Opportunities in Response to the COVID-19 Pandemic

Industry, not-for-profit and public sector organizations

Industry, not-for-profit or public sector organizations (eligible to participate as a partner in this initiative) that are addressing a challenge or question related to the COVID-19 pandemic, and that could benefit from scientific, technical or research expertise in natural science and engineering, can submit the challenge to NSERC by completing This link will take you to another Web site this survey. NSERC will communicate these publicly to Canada’s post-secondary institutions and connect organizations with interested researchers.

Organizations may also use This link will take you to another Web site COGNIT.ca to find expertise, facilities and Intellectual Property (IP) at Canada’s post-secondary institutions that can help them address challenges and questions related to the COVID-19 pandemic. This link will take you to another Web site COGNIT.ca allows users to enter a search term and quickly see the institutions, researchers, facilities and IP most relevant to their interests.

Colleges

Eligible Canadian colleges interested in helping an organization address a challenge or question related to the COVID-19 pandemic are invited to consult the list of project opportunities. Researchers can select the project(s) they are interested in and NSERC will connect them with the organization that submitted the challenge or question.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté – Recherche appliquée en réponse rapide à la COVID-19

Les collèges et les écoles polytechniques du Canada jouent déjà un rôle essentiel en s’attaquant à certains défis liés à la COVID-19. Cette nouvelle possibilité de financement permettra de tirer davantage parti de l’expertise et de l’infrastructure de ces établissements postsecondaires afin de mobiliser rapidement l’appui et le savoir-faire relativement à cette pandémie.

Le présent appel spécial de propositions sera administré dans le cadre du Fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux collèges et aux communautés (le Fonds) et les demandes seront présentées au moyen du formulaire propre au Fonds. Par contre, les propositions seront évaluées en fonction des paramètres énoncés sur la page actuelle et les lignes directrices qui y figurent prévalent sur toute autre description ou instruction relative au Fonds.

Renseignements importants

Note aux candidats : Les instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes ont été mises à jour pour indiquer les articles obligatoires et précisent les exigences de cet appel de propositions. Pour toute autre question, veuillez communiquer avec le CRSNG à ccsif-fiscc@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou au 613-943-7615.

Si votre demande de subvention pour les collèges relative à la COVID-19 est retenue, vous pourriez obtenir des ressources supplémentaires dans le cadre d’un partenariat entre le CRSNG et Mitacs en vue de renforcer les collaborations de recherche. Les organismes partenaires admissibles peuvent, à un cout réduit, intégrer des stages financés par Mitacs à un projet lié à la COVID-19 appuyé par une subvention pour les collèges. Pour profiter de cette occasion, veuillez communiquer avec Noha Gerges, directrice du développement des affaires à Mitacs (ngerges@mitacs.ca). Le CRSNG transmettra une copie de la proposition de projet approuvée à Mitacs, qui confirmera alors son admissibilité au programme et fournira les détails concernant l’occasion de stage.

Objectif

Accélérer le transfert des résultats de la recherche appliquée sur des sujets liés à la COVID-19 et de l’expertise connexe des secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif aux organismes communautaires locaux ainsi que leur application. Tous les projets doivent porter sur des sujets en lien direct avec la pandémie de COVID-19. Les projets dont l’horizon d’évaluation est éloigné ne sont pas admissibles à cette possibilité de financement spéciale.

Admissibilité 

Seuls les collèges canadiens déclarés admissibles à administrer des subventions d’au moins un des trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux (CRSNG, CRSH ou IRSC) du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) peuvent présenter une demande en réponse à l’appel de propositions. Ils doivent déjà être admissibles au moment de la présentation de la demande en raison des délais serrés qui s’appliquent à ces projets et de la nécessité d’obtenir immédiatement des résultats. 

Exigences relatives à la présentation des demandes

Les propositions doivent démontrer la capacité du collège ou de l’école polytechnique à utiliser immédiatement ses ressources et ses compétences actuelles pour apporter un soutien rapide aux applications à court terme en lien direct avec la pandémie de COVID-19. Le présent appel exige l'utilisation des résultats de la recherche au profit du Canada et des Canadiens.

Le projet proposé dans la demande doit s’inscrire dans au moins un des deux thèmes du concours :

  1. Aider l’industrie à résoudre des problèmes de production pour faire face à la COVID-19 (p. ex., prototypage, amélioration de procédés de production, adaptation d’une infrastructure de fabrication en place afin de produire de nouveaux produits et analyse de données se rapportant à la pandémie de COVID-19).
  2. Contribuer à relever des défis d’innovation (sanitaires, sociaux ou stratégiques) dans la communauté en lien direct avec la pandémie de COVID-19 (p. ex., incidence de l’isolement social sur les populations vulnérables, mise en œuvre de politiques de distanciation sociale dans la communauté, atténuation des répercussions de la COVID-19 sur la santé mentale, modification de la portée des politiques et des règlements).

Les candidats et les organismes partenaires doivent tenir compte des circonstances particulières actuelles dans la planification des travaux de recherche (p. ex., accès aux établissements et télétravail, respect de la distanciation sociale).

Admissibilité et contributions des partenaires

Les organismes partenaires doivent satisfaire aux critères d’admissibilité énoncés dans la description du programme du Fonds. Ils ne sont pas tenus de prendre en charge une partie des couts du projet, mais ils doivent tous participer véritablement au projet et démontrer leur niveau de participation.

Montant de la subvention 

Jusqu’à 75 000 $ par projet

Durée 

Jusqu’à un an

Présentation des demandes

Les demandes s’inscrivant dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions doivent être présentées au moyen du Système en ligne du CRSNG à l’occasion de financement du Fonds. Les demandes seront présentées dans un format simplifié comprenant cinq pages, dont une page expliquant le budget du projet. Les demandes doivent renfermer des renseignements sur :

  1. le projet proposé;
  2. la pertinence et la rapidité d’exécution par rapport à la pandémie de COVID-19; et
  3. l’expertise de l’équipe.

Au lieu de présenter des lettres d’appui, les candidats peuvent joindre au formulaire 103 une confirmation par courriel de la participation du partenaire au projet.    

Chaque collège ou école polytechnique peut présenter jusqu’à quatre demandes.

Critères d’évaluation

  • Retombées potentielles
    • L’efficacité avec laquelle la proposition permet de répondre aux besoins des organismes partenaires.
    • La capacité des organismes partenaires de mettre en œuvre ou d’exploiter les résultats du projet pour générer des retombées au sein de leur organisme.
  • Excellence de la proposition
    • La mesure dans laquelle la demande répond aux objectifs de l’appel de propositions spécial relatif à la COVID-19.
    • L’orientation et la clarté des objectifs de la proposition.
    • La participation des organismes partenaires et d’autres intervenants à la conception et à la réalisation de la recherche ou des activités connexes.
    • Le caractère approprié de l’approche proposée pour avoir l’incidence voulue afin de lutter contre la pandémie de COVID-19 dans un délai court.
  • Expertise de l’équipe
    • L’expérience et l’expertise de l’équipe pour atteindre les objectifs proposés et mener à bien le projet.
    • La capacité du collège ou de l’école polytechnique de mobiliser les ressources nécessaires dans des délais adaptés au projet et au présent appel de propositions.

*Toutes les propositions doivent démontrer clairement comment les travaux proposés donneront lieu à des avancées à court terme permettant d’atténuer les répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Budget, justification et dépenses admissibles 

Une justification détaillée du budget n’est pas requise. Toutefois, le candidat doit expliquer de façon générale l’utilisation proposée des fonds. Le budget du projet doit être présenté dans le tableau budgétaire figurant sur le Formulaire 103 du programme du Fonds.

L’admissibilité des dépenses sera déterminée en fonction des lignes directrices du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté. Dans le cadre du concours, aucune limite n’est imposée quant au cout du matériel, mais l’achat d’équipement n’est pas autorisé. Selon la description du programme du Fonds, les candidats peuvent utiliser leur subvention pour contribuer à la participation des collaborateurs clés issus des organismes communautaires du secteur sans but lucratif.

Processus d’évaluation  

En raison du caractère urgent du concours, le CRSNG aura recours à un processus d’évaluation accéléré et communiquera les résultats aux candidats le plus rapidement possible suivant la présentation de la demande.

Dates clés prévues

Le CRSNG acceptera les demandes présentées au moyen de son Système en ligne à partir du 9 avril 2020 et jusqu’au 1er juin 2020, 20 h (HE), sous réserve de la disponibilité des fonds.

Établir des liens : Opportunités de projet en réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19

Organismes des secteurs privé, public et sans but lucratif

Les organismes des secteurs privé, public ou sans but lucratif admissibles à participer à un projet à titre d’organisme partenaire, qui se penche sur une question ou un défi en lien avec la pandémie de COVID-19 et qui pourrait bénéficier d’une expertise scientifique, technique ou en recherche dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie, peuvent soumettre le question ou défi en remplissant le This link will take you to another Web site sondage du CRSNG. Le CRSNG communiquera publiquement les questions et les défis aux établissements postsecondaires du Canada et mettra en rapport les organismes avec des chercheurs qui manifesteront leur intérêt.

Les organismes peuvent aussi utiliser This link will take you to another Web site COGNIT.ca pour trouver l’expertise, les installations et la propriété intellectuelle (PI) des établissements postsecondaires du Canada qui sont susceptibles de les aider à résoudre leur question ou à relever leur défi en lien avec la pandémie de COVID-19. Sur le site This link will take you to another Web site COGNIT.ca, les utilisateurs peuvent faire une recherche par mot-clé et voir rapidement les établissements, les chercheurs, les installations et la PI qui correspondent le mieux à leurs intérêts.

Les collèges et les écoles polytechniques

Les collèges canadiens intéressés à aider une organisation à résoudre une question ou à relever un défi en lien avec la pandémie de COVID-19 sont invités à consulter la liste d’éventuels projets. Les chercheurs peuvent sélectionner le ou les projets qui leur intéressent, et le CRSNG les mettra en rapport avec l’organisme qui a soumis la question ou le défi.