` NSERC Call for joint Canada-Germany projects on hydrogen technologies
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Call for joint Canada-Germany projects on hydrogen technologies

Overview
Duration 1 year
Application deadline April 30, 2021– full application deadline
Application forms
  • Form 100A – personal data form
  • Form 101 – application for a grant
To view the instructions, select Instructions for completing an application – form 101. To create or access an application, select Online System Login.
For more information

Consult the contact list

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) is partnering with the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung, BMBF) to fund collaborative research projects on hydrogen and fuel cell technologies. 

This competition aims to fund ten preliminary (one-year) projects. The proposals to NSERC should not exceed CAN$50,000. All project expenditures are subject to the principles and directives governing the appropriate use of grant funds as outlined in the Tri-agency guide on financial administration. You must follow the Tri-agency open access policy, and you are also encouraged to make any publication data resulting from funded projects open access.

Context

Hydrogen is a versatile fuel that can be produced from many sources and act as an energy carrier. When used with hydrogen from renewable sources, hydrogen fuel cells offer a zero-emissions option that can be scaled for numerous applications including motive power for vehicles; space and water heating in communities; space and process heat for industry; and power for remote, backup, and critical applications. In addition, hydrogen power-to-gas (P2G) applications enable greater use of renewable power from intermittent sources, such as wind and solar.

In December of 2020, Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) released its This link will take you to another Web site Hydrogen Strategy for Canada – Seizing the Opportunities for Hydrogen, which lays out an ambitious framework for actions that will cement hydrogen as a tool to achieve the goal of net-zero emissions by 2050 and position Canada as a global, industrial leader of clean renewable fuels. Canada was an early leader in the hydrogen and fuel cell sector, and is recognized worldwide as a region rich with technical expertise and leading products and services. While some hydrogen and fuel cell technologies are at a level of commercial readiness, support for R&D is still needed to further reduce costs, develop solutions for less mature applications and discover new breakthrough technologies to benefit the sector.

Canada and Germany enjoy longstanding cooperation in science and technology, and the basis for the proposed initiative stems from the German‑Canadian Intergovernmental Agreement on Scientific and Technological Cooperation that was signed in Bonn on April 16, 1971.

Program objectives

The current initiative is designed to fund preliminary (one-year) projects between Canadian academic researchers and their counterparts in German academia and/or federal research institutes. It is expected that these projects will

  • provide training opportunities for Canadian students and postdoctoral fellows
  • provide opportunities for networking and interchanges between Canadian researchers and their counterparts in Germany
  • lay the groundwork for longer term collaborations that will help advance the development and deployment of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies 

Research objectives

The proposed research project between Canadian and German researchers can be in any area that will help advance the development and deployment of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies.  Potential topic areas are listed below.

  • Catalyst materials
  • Electrode and membrane materials
  • Modelling
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Power-to-X (P2X)
  • Hydrogen production, storage and transport
  • Integration of green hydrogen into energy systems
  • Cost reductions
  • Reduction of refuelling times
  • Codes and standards

Applicants

If you are a Canadian university researcher who is eligible to receive NSERC funds, you can apply on your own or as a team with co-applicants who are also eligible academic researchers. Given the limited funding, applicants will be allowed to participate in only one grant application, either as the principal investigator or co-applicant. All grant applicants must hold (as primary grant applicant) an active peer-reviewed grant from NSERC at the time of application.

Application submission and review

All documents should follow NSERC’s online presentation and attachment standards. You must submit your application by the deadline. NSERC will screen all applications to ensure they are complete and adhere to the program requirements and objectives. If your application does not meet all program requirements, it will be rejected.

All applications will be reviewed by NSERC file managers to expedite the decision. This evaluation is supported by existing peer review; all grant applicants must hold (as primary grant applicant) an active peer-reviewed grant from NSERC at the time of application.

A complete application includes:

  • Proposal: application for a grant (form 101)
  • Personal data form with CCV attachment (form 100A), completed by the applicant
  • Personal data form with CCV attachment (form 100A), completed by each co-applicant

Collaboration outside the natural sciences and engineering

You are encouraged to collaborate with experts in fields other than the natural sciences and engineering, where appropriate, since implementing policy or applying the research results can depend on socioeconomic considerations as well as scientific understanding. Academic researchers outside the natural sciences and engineering may participate in proposals as co-applicants if they meet NSERC’s eligibility requirements for the type, duration and nature of the appointment. Research costs for these collaborations may account for up to 30% of the project costs and must be identified in the project budget. All project expenditures are subject to the principles and directives governing the appropriate use of grant funds as outlined in the Tri-agency guide on financial administration.

Equity, diversity and inclusion

NSERC is committed to excellence in research and research training for the benefit of Canadians. Achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is also essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to seize opportunities and respond to global challenges.

You are asked to consider sex, gender and diversity in the project’s research design and to consider how to promote and support a variety of forms of mentoring to ensure trainees’ equitable participation and growth. Furthermore, for large projects, you must strive for equity, diversity and inclusion when developing your group of co-applicants, partners and trainees. See the Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application.

Evaluation criteria

Each agency will evaluate proposals independently using its own review process and evaluation criteria. The Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) and NSERC will then compare their respective evaluations to determine which projects will be funded.

If you submit a proposal under this call, you agree that information contained in your proposal may be shared between the agencies. Applicants in Germany and principal investigators in Canada are responsible for ensuring that all co-applicants and collaborators are aware of the rules concerning the disclosure of information contained in the proposal.

Applications to NSERC will be evaluated based on the following criteria. NSERC will use merit indicators similar to those used in the Alliance program to rate each criterion, which are all given equal weight in the evaluation.

Background and expected outcomes

  • Significance of the intended outcomes and of the economic, social and/or environmental impact for Canada and Germany

Collaboration with Germany

  • Appropriateness of the collaboration to achieve the intended outcomes; leveraging of different types of organizations and the integration of their unique perspectives and knowledge in the project, as appropriate
  • Clarity of each collaborating organization’s role in defining the research challenge, co-designing and implementing the research, and using results to meet Canadian and German priorities
  • Opportunities for networking and the potential for longer term partnerships with the German collaborators

Quality of the proposal

  • Clarity of the objectives and deliverables; appropriateness of the scope and size of planned activities to achieve the expected outcomes; justification for the planned expenditures
  • Appropriateness of academic researchers’ expertise, and that found within the collaborating organizations, both for carrying out the planned research activities and in mentoring trainees

Training

  • Opportunities for enriched training experiences for research trainees (undergraduates, graduates, postdoctoral fellows) to develop relevant research skills as well as professional skills such as leadership, communication, collaboration and entrepreneurship
  • Consideration of equity, diversity and inclusion in the training plan (for guidance, consult the Equity, diversity and inclusion in the training plan document)

Reporting

A brief final report will be required once the project is completed.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Appel de projets conjoints Canada Allemagne sur les technologies de l’hydrogène

Aperçu
Durée Un an
Date limite Le 30 avril 2021 – Date limite de présentation des demandes
Formulaires de demande
  • Formulaire 100A – Formulaire de renseignements personnels avec le CVC en pièce jointe
  • Formulaire 101 – Demande de subvention
Pour consulter les instructions, cliquez sur Instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes – Formulaire 101. Pour créer une demande ou y avoir accès, cliquez sur Ouvrez une session du Système en ligne.
Pour en savoir plus

Consultez la liste des points de contact

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) travaille en partenariat avec le ministère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la Recherche de l’Allemagne (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung) pour le financement de projets de recherche concertés sur les technologies de l’hydrogène et des piles à combustible.

Le présent appel de projets conjoints vise le financement de dix projets préliminaires d’une durée d’un an. Les propositions au CRSNG ne doivent pas dépasser 50 000 $. Les dépenses liées au projet sont assujetties aux principes et aux directives régissant l’utilisation appropriée des fonds de subvention énoncés dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes. Vous devez vous conformer à la politique des trois organismes sur le libre accès, et il est vivement recommandé que vous autorisiez le libre accès aux données publiées qui découlent des projets financés dans le cadre de l’appel de projets conjoints.

Contexte

L’hydrogène est un carburant polyvalent qui peut être produit à partir de nombreuses sources et jouer le rôle de vecteur énergétique. Lorsque l’hydrogène contenu dans les piles à hydrogène provient de sources renouvelables, ces piles constituent une solution énergétique à émissions nulles qui peut être mise à l’échelle et servir à de nombreuses applications : propulsion de véhicules, chauffage de locaux et d’eau dans les collectivités, chauffage d’installations industrielles et production de chaleur industrielle, et alimentation en énergie de sites éloignés, d’applications de secours et d’applications essentielles. De plus, les applications consistant à convertir l’électricité excédentaire en hydrogène permettent une utilisation accrue de l’énergie renouvelable provenant de sources intermittentes, comme l’énergie éolienne et l’énergie solaire.

En décembre 2020, Ressources naturelles Canada a publié la This link will take you to another Web site Stratégie canadienne pour l’hydrogène : Saisir les possibilités pour l’hydrogène, qui établit un cadre d’action ambitieux pour consolider le rôle de l’hydrogène en tant qu’outil permettant d’atteindre la cible de zéro émission nette d’ici 2050 et de positionner le Canada en tant que leader mondial en matière d’utilisation de carburants propres et renouvelables dans le secteur industriel. Le Canada, qui compte parmi les premiers chefs de file dans le secteur de l’hydrogène et des piles à combustible, est reconnu dans le monde entier comme un pays riche en expertise technique et en produits et services de pointe. Certaines technologies de l’hydrogène et des piles à combustible sont à un niveau de maturité commerciale, mais un soutien à la recherche et au développement est toujours nécessaire pour réduire davantage les couts, concevoir des solutions pour les applications qui ne sont pas arrivées à maturité et découvrir de nouvelles technologies révolutionnaires qui profiteront au secteur.

Le Canada et l’Allemagne entretiennent une collaboration de longue date dans le domaine des sciences et de la technologie. L’Accord entre le gouvernement du Canada et le gouvernement de la République fédérale d’Allemagne relatif à la coopération scientifique et technique, signé à Bonn le 16 avril 1971, constitue le fondement du présent appel de projets conjoints.

Objectifs de l’appel de projets conjoints

L’appel de projets conjoints vise le financement de projets préliminaires d’une durée d’un an entre des chercheurs canadiens du milieu universitaire et des chercheurs travaillant dans des universités ou des instituts de recherche fédéraux d’Allemagne. Les résultats escomptés de ces projets sont les suivants :

  • offrir des possibilités de formation aux étudiants et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux canadiens;
  • offrir des possibilités de réseautage et d’échanges entre des chercheurs canadiens du milieu universitaire et leurs homologues d’Allemagne;
  • jeter les bases de collaborations à long terme qui favoriseront le développement et le déploiement des technologies de l’hydrogène et des piles à combustible.

Objectifs de la recherche

Le projet de recherche proposé entre les chercheurs canadiens et leurs homologues d’Allemagne peut toucher n’importe quel domaine qui contribuera au développement et au déploiement de technologies liées au secteur de l’hydrogène et des piles à combustible. Parmi les sujets possibles, mentionnons :

  • les matériaux catalyseurs;
  • les matériaux servant à la fabrication d’électrodes et de membranes;
  • la modélisation;
  • les procédés de fabrication;
  • la conversion de l’électricité excédentaire en X;
  • la production, le stockage et le transport de l’hydrogène;
  • l’intégration de l’hydrogène vert aux systèmes énergétiques;
  • la réduction des couts;
  • la réduction des temps de ravitaillement;
  • les codes et les normes.

Candidats

Si vous êtes un chercheur universitaire canadien qui est admissible à recevoir des fonds du CRSNG, vous pouvez présenter une demande seul ou en équipe avec un ou des cocandidats qui sont eux aussi des chercheurs universitaires admissibles. Étant donné que les fonds sont limités, les candidats peuvent participer à une seule demande de subvention, que ce soit en tant que chercheur principal ou cocandidat. Au moment de présenter la demande, tous les candidats doivent détenir, à titre de candidat principal, une subvention active du CRSNG leur ayant été accordée à la suite d’une évaluation par les pairs.

Présentation et examen de la demande

Tous les documents doivent être conformes aux normes relatives à la présentation de demandes en ligne et aux pièces jointes du CRSNG. Vous devez présenter votre demande au plus tard à la date limite. Le CRSNG vérifie toutes les demandes pour s’assurer qu’elles sont complètes et qu’elles satisfont aux exigences et aux objectifs du présent appel de projets conjoints. Si votre demande ne satisfait pas à toutes les exigences de l’appel, elle sera rejetée.

Les demandes sont évaluées par des gestionnaires de dossiers du CRSNG afin d’accélérer le processus de prise de décision. L’évaluation est basée sur des évaluations par les pairs antérieures. Au moment de présenter la demande, tous les candidats doivent détenir, à titre de candidat principal, une subvention active du CRSNG leur ayant été accordée à la suite d’une évaluation par les pairs.

Une demande complète comprend :

  • la proposition – demande de subvention (formulaire 101);
  • le Formulaire de renseignements personnels avec le CVC en pièce jointe (formulaire 100A) rempli par le candidat;
  • le Formulaire de renseignements personnels avec le CVC en pièce jointe (formulaire 100A) rempli par chaque cocandidat.

Collaboration avec des partenaires dans des domaines autres que les sciences naturelles et le génie

Vous êtes invité à collaborer dans la mesure du possible avec des spécialistes travaillant dans des domaines autres que les sciences naturelles et le génie, car outre les questions d’ordre scientifique, la mise en œuvre de politiques et l’application des résultats de recherche peuvent dépendre de questions d’ordre socioéconomique. Les chercheurs universitaires qui ne travaillent pas dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie peuvent participer au projet de recherche en tant que cocandidats s’ils satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG en ce qui a trait à leur poste (type, durée et nature). Les couts de la recherche associés à ces collaborations peuvent représenter jusqu’à 30 % des couts du projet et doivent être indiqués dans le budget du projet. Les dépenses liées au projet sont assujetties aux principes et aux directives régissant l’utilisation appropriée des fonds de subvention énoncés dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le CRSNG appuie l’excellence en recherche et dans la formation des chercheurs pour qu’en bénéficient tous les Canadiens et toutes les Canadiennes. Il est essentiel de créer un milieu équitable, diversifié et inclusif pour favoriser la recherche novatrice, de qualité supérieure et susceptible de générer des retombées pour être en mesure de saisir les occasions qui se présentent et de s’attaquer aux problèmes mondiaux.

Le CRSNG vous demande de tenir compte des questions de sexe, de genre et de diversité dans la conception du projet de recherche et de réfléchir à la manière de favoriser le mentorat sous diverses formes pour assurer la participation équitable et le développement professionnel des étudiants et des stagiaires postdoctoraux. De plus, dans les projets de grande envergure, vous devez viser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion lorsque vous formez votre groupe de cocandidats, de partenaires, d’étudiants et de stagiaires postdoctoraux.

Voir le Guide du candidat : Tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans votre demande.

Critères d’évaluation

Chaque organisme évaluera les propositions de manière indépendante en les soumettant à son propre processus d’évaluation et à ses propres critères d’évaluation. Le ministère fédéral de l’Éducation et de la Recherche de l’Allemagne (Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung) et le CRSNG compareront ensuite leurs évaluations respectives afin de déterminer les projets qui seront financés.

En présentant une proposition en réponse au présent appel, vous acceptez que les organismes échangent l’information figurant dans votre proposition. Les candidats d’Allemagne et les chercheurs principaux au Canada doivent s’assurer que tous les cocandidats et collaborateurs sont au courant des règles concernant la communication de l’information figurant dans la proposition.

Les demandes présentées au CRSNG seront évaluées en fonction des critères suivants. Le CRSNG utilisera des indicateurs de mérite semblables à ceux des subventions Alliance pour chacun des critères également pondérés.

Contexte et résultats escomptés

  • Importance des résultats escomptés et des retombées sociales, environnementales ou économiques pour le Canada et l’Allemagne.

Collaboration avec l’Allemagne

  • Pertinence de la collaboration pour obtenir les résultats escomptés; mise à contribution, s’il y a lieu, de différents types d’organismes collaborateurs et prise en compte de leurs perspectives et connaissances uniques dans le cadre du projet.
  • Clarté du rôle des collaborateurs dans la définition de l’enjeu de la recherche, la conception et la conduite de la recherche, et l’application des résultats pour cadrer avec les priorités du Canada et de l’Allemagne.
  • Occasions de réseautage et de partenariats à long terme avec les collaborateurs d’Allemagne.

Qualité de la proposition

  • Clarté des objectifs et des livrables; pertinence de l’envergure des activités envisagées par rapport aux résultats escomptés; justification des dépenses prévues.
  • Pertinence de l’expertise des chercheurs universitaires et de l’expertise qui existe au sein des organismes collaborateurs, à la fois pour mener à bien les activités prévues et pour encadrer les étudiants et les stagiaires postdoctoraux.

Formation

  • Richesse des expériences d’apprentissage offertes aux étudiants du 1er, du 2e et du 3e cycle et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux permettant à chacun de développer ses compétences en recherche et ses compétences professionnelles (p. ex. leadership, communication, collaboration, entrepreneuriat).
  • Prise en compte des questions d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans le plan de formation (pour en savoir plus, voir le document intitulé Intégrer les principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion au plan de formation).

Rapports

Un court rapport final devra être présenté une fois le projet terminé.