` NSERC NSERC/FRQNT NOVA program for early career researchers (pilot program)
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC/FRQNT NOVA program for early career researchers (pilot program)

Overview
Value Maximum $75,000 per year for a maximum of three years

Deadline

September 22, 2021
To apply This link will take you to another Web site Portal access – Fonds de recherche – Nature et technologies

Important information

Objective

The NOVA program for early career researchers is offered jointly by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the This link will take you to another Web site Fonds de recherche du Québec Nature et technologies (FRQNT). The primary objective of the NOVA program is to support research projects led by early career researchers from Quebec in collaboration with researchers from other provinces and territories of Canada. 

The funding provided by this program will enable research teams to generate new knowledge in the natural sciences and engineering and to combine complementary expertise to carry out highly competitive research projects that can generate social, environmental, technological or economic benefits or have an impact on policies concerning issues of importance to the community.

Who can apply?

  • The applicant must be a researcher who assumed their first career position at a Quebec university on or after January 1, 2016. 
  • Teams must include at least one co-applicant from a Quebec college or university and at least one co-applicant from a college or university in another Canadian province or territory.
  • All team members must be employed by institutions that are eligible to administer funding from NSERC and the FRQ and must meet NSERC’s eligibility criteria for faculty as well as the FRQ’s eligibility criteria.

Researchers from Quebec can submit only one application as the principal investigator and can participate in no more than two applications as a co-applicant for this program. Researchers may still participate in carrying out other projects, but as collaborators only.

Equity, diversity and inclusion

It is up to the research team to create an equitable, diverse, inclusive research environment in which the climate and culture let everyone feel supported and respected. Describe the specific, concrete practices that you will put in place to ensure that EDI is considered in your training plan, referring to the Alliance grants: Equity, diversity and inclusion in your training plan and the Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application. Integration of EDI considerations in the training plan is a mandatory eligibility criterion; if it is not satisfied, your application will be rejected.

Submitting an application

To apply for a NOVA grant, you must fill out the form available in the This link will take you to another Web site FRQnet Electronic Portfolio for researchers. Principal investigators and co-applicants must register first in the NSERC online system. For more information on how to submit applications and how they are evaluated, please consult the This link will take you to another Web site FRQNT website.

Evaluation process

The eligibility of applications will be determined by NSERC and the FRQNT jointly, based on the information and documents received as of the application deadline. Any project, research team or person not meeting the eligibility conditions set out in the guidelines will be rejected. Eligible applications will then be evaluated by multidisciplinary evaluation committees as well as by outside experts, on the basis of the following criteria:

Research team
  • Extent to which the collaboration brings together the best expertise from Quebec and the rest of Canada to achieve the stated objectives
  • Complementary nature of the expertise required to carry out the research project
  • Appropriateness and quality of the team for achieving the intended outcomes
  • Contribution of collaborators, if any

Relevance and outcomes for Quebec and all of Canada

  • Significance of the intended outcomes and of the social, environmental, cultural, technological, economic or other benefits
  • Potential for generating new scientific knowledge
  • Extent to which the strategy chosen to apply the research results is likely to achieve the intended outcomes

Quality of the proposal

  • Innovativeness in relation to the state of the art
  • Clarity of the objectives and deliverables; appropriateness of the scope of the planned activities for the intended outcomes; justification of the planned expenditures
  •  Appropriateness of the identified indicators and methods for monitoring progress during the project and for assessing outcomes at the end of the project

Training

  • Opportunities for enriched training experiences that let undergraduates, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows develop both their research skills and their interdisciplinary professional skills (such as leadership, communication, collaboration, and entrepreneurship)
  • Experience of project members in mentoring students
  • Capacity to integrate highly qualified personnel into the labour market

Equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI)

  • Implementation of EDI considerations in the training plan (recruitment, mentoring, etc.)
  • Implementation of concrete actions and practices to proactively integrate EDI considerations in the team composition
  • Implementation of EDI considerations in the project design and delivery, where appropriate

Reporting requirements

  • A follow-up report must be submitted to the FRQNT at nova@frq.gouv.qc.ca within 24 months after the start of the project.
  • The principal investigator is required to submit a final report to the FQRNT no later than 15 months after the end date of the grant (not including the additional year, where applicable).

Contact for this program

Catherine Dhont
Program Officer
Nova Program
418-643-8560 Ext. 3460
catherine.dhont@frq.gouv.qc.ca

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme NOVA CRSNG-FRQNT pour chercheurs et chercheuses en début de carrière (programme pilote)

Aperçu
Valeur Maximum de 75 000 $ par année pour une durée maximale de trois ans
Date limite 22 septembre 2021
Pour faire une demande This link will take you to another Web site Accès portails - Fonds Nature et technologies

Information importante

Objectif

Offert conjointement par le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le This link will take you to another Web site Fonds de recherche du Québec - Nature et technologies (FRQNT), le programme NOVA pour chercheurs et chercheuses en début de carrière a pour objectif principal de soutenir des projets de recherche dirigés par des chercheurs ou chercheuses québécois en début de carrière en collaboration avec des chercheurs ou chercheuses des autres provinces et territoires canadiens. 

Le financement proposé permettra aux équipes de recherche de générer de nouvelles connaissances dans le domaine des sciences naturelles et du génie et de réunir des expertises complémentaires pour réaliser des projets de recherche hautement compétitifs et pouvant générer des retombées sociales, environnementales, technologiques, économiques ou avoir une incidence sur les politiques touchant des enjeux importants pour la communauté.

Qui peut présenter une demande?

  • Le candidat ou la candidate doit être un chercheur ou une chercheuse qui occupe un premier poste en carrière dans une université du Québec depuis le 1er janvier 2016. 
  • Une équipe doit inclure au moins un cocandidat ou une cocandidate d’une université ou d’un collège québécois et au moins un cocandidat ou une cocandidate d’une université ou d’un collège d’une autre province ou territoire canadien.
  • Tous les membres doivent être à l’emploi d’un établissement admissible à gérer du financement du CRSNG et des FRQ et doivent satisfaire aux critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG et des FRQ.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, un chercheur ou une chercheuse du Québec ne peut présenter qu’une seule demande de financement en tant que candidat ou candidate, et ne peut participer à plus de deux demandes de financement en tant que cocandidat ou cocandidate. Les chercheurs et les chercheuses peuvent cependant participer à la réalisation d’autres projets, mais à titre de collaborateurs ou collaboratrices seulement.

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Il incombe à l’équipe de recherche de créer un environnement de recherche diversifié, inclusif et équitable, où le climat et la culture permettent à tous et à toutes de se sentir soutenus et respectés. Décrivez les actions et les pratiques concrètes qui seront mises en place pour intégrer les principes d’EDI dans le cadre du plan de formation en vous référant aux guides du CRSNG (Principes et Guide du candidat en matière d’EDI). La mise en œuvre des principes d’EDI dans le plan de formationst une étape éliminatoire à l’étape de l’admissibilité de la demande de financement.

Présentation des demandes

Pour demander une subvention NOVA, il faut remplir le formulaire disponible dans le Portfolio This link will take you to another Web site FRQnet des chercheurs et des chercheuses. Les candidats et candidates ainsi que les cocandidats et cocandidates doivent s’inscrire au préalable dans le Système en ligne du CRSNG. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur la présentation des demandes ainsi que sur le processus d’évaluation, veuillez consulter le This link will take you to another Web site site du FRQNT.

Processus d’évaluation

L’admissibilité des demandes sera déterminée conjointement par le FRQNT et le CRSNG sur la base des informations et des documents reçus à la date et heure limite du concours. Tout projet, toute équipe de recherche ou toute personne qui ne remplit pas les conditions d’admissibilité énoncées dans les lignes directrices seront refusés. Les demandes admissibles seront par la suite évaluées par des comités d’évaluation multidisciplinaires ainsi que par des experts ou des expertes externes en fonction des critères d’évaluation suivants :

Équipe de recherche

  • Mesure dans laquelle la collaboration réunit les meilleures expertises au Québec et de l’ensemble du Canada pour atteindre les objectifs visés;
  • Complémentarité des expertises requises pour la réalisation du projet de recherche;
  • Pertinence et qualité de l’équipe pour obtenir les résultats escomptés;
  • Mise à contribution des collaborateurs ou collaboratrices, s’il y a lieu.

Pertinence et résultats pour le Québec et l’ensemble du Canada

  • Importance des résultats escomptés et des retombées sociales, environnementales, culturelles, technologiques, économiques ou autres;
  • Possibilité de produire de nouvelles connaissances scientifiques;
  • Mesure dans laquelle la stratégie choisie pour appliquer les résultats de la recherche permettra d’obtenir les résultats escomptés.

Qualité de la proposition

  • Caractère novateur par rapport à l’état de l’art;
  • Clarté des objectifs et des livrables; pertinence de l’envergure des activités envisagées par rapport aux résultats escomptés; justification des dépenses prévues;
  • Pertinence des indicateurs et des méthodes prévues pour suivre les progrès tout au long du projet et pour évaluer les résultats à la fin du projet;

Formation

  • Richesse des expériences d’apprentissage offertes aux étudiants et aux étudiantes du 1er, du 2e et du 3e cycle et aux postdoctorants et postdoctorantes permettant de développer leurs compétences au niveau interdisciplinaire et professionnel (p. ex., leadership, communication, collaboration, entrepreneuriat) et en recherche;
  • Expérience des membres du projet dans l’encadrement d’étudiants et d’étudiantes;
  • Capacité d’intégration de la main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée au marché du travail;

Principes d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion (EDI)

  • Prise en compte des questions d’EDI dans le plan de formation (recrutement, encadrement, etc.);
  • Mise en place d’actions et de pratiques concrètes pour intégrer de manière proactive les principes d’EDI dans la composition de l’équipe;
  • Prise en compte des principes d’EDI dans le cadre de la conception et de la réalisation du projet, s’il y a lieu;

Exigences en matière de rapports

  • Un rapport de suivi devra être fourni au FRQNT après 24 mois du début du projet à l’adresse nova@frq.gouv.qc.ca;
  • un rapport final, que le ou la titulaire de l’octroi devra acheminer au FRQNT au plus tard 15 mois après la date de fin de la subvention (sans compter l’année additionnelle, le cas échéant).

Personne à contacter pour ce programme

Catherine Dhont
Responsable du programme
Programme NOVA
418-643-8560 poste 3460
catherine.dhont@frq.gouv.qc.ca