Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC-European Commission Joint call on quantum technologies

Overview
Duration See below
Total NSERC budget for funding opportunity See below
Application deadline October 21, 2021 at 5 p.m. (CEST) [Brussels time] / 11 a.m. (ET) [Ottawa time]
How to apply This link will take you to another Web site EU Funding and Tenders Portal
For more information Contact rp-quantum@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Background

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the European Commission (EC), under the banner of This link will take you to another Web site Horizon Europe This link will take you to another Web site (HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-23: International cooperation with Canada [RIA]), are partnering on a call for research proposals on quantum technologies. As our dependence on an increasingly digital society grows, quantum science presents considerable opportunities for new insights, discoveries, technological developments and applications that cut across disciplines and can have impacts in many sectors of the economy and society, globally.

This call builds on a long tradition of Europe-Canada (EU-Canada) collaboration and complementary interests and research expertise in quantum research. The call will support EU-Canada research collaborations to advance the development of quantum technologies. Eligible Canadian participants will receive funding from NSERC to support their involvement in the joint project. It is expected that these jointly funded projects will contribute to the following outcomes:

  • Advances in quantum technologies in specific areas of mutual EU-Canada interest including quantum computing and simulation, quantum networking and communication, quantum sensing and metrology.
  • Reinforcement of the EU-Canada research excellence in the specific areas of mutual interest described above, including the establishment of strategic partnerships in research, education and training.

Eligibility and team composition

The full requirements for the team composition of eligible EU-Canada consortia are described in the This link will take you to another Web site Horizon Europe Work Programme General Annexes and This link will take you to another Web site HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-23: International cooperation with Canada (RIA). Proposals must include eligible applicants from both Canada and Europe. The requirements are described below.

For Canada:

A team of Canadian researchers with at least one university applicant in Canada who is eligible to receive funding from NSERC. Researchers should refer to NSERC’s Eligibility criteria for faculty to see if they are eligible to apply for and hold funds. College faculty members who meet NSERC’s eligibility criteria can participate as co-applicants.

If selected for funding, the Canadian team will be asked to provide NSERC with the name of the Canadian principal applicant and the names of the co-applicants. Only co-applicants who meet NSERC’s eligibility requirements will receive funding.

Other researchers and organizations (e.g., from the public and/or private sector) can participate in the consortium as collaborators. However, they cannot receive funding from the NSERC grant and are expected to bring their own resources to the collaboration.

For Europe:

To be eligible, European applicants must meet the Horizon Europe Work Programme (HEWP) eligibility conditions detailed in This link will take you to another Web site General Annex B.

Research scope

Proposals are expected to address a mix of quantum technology challenges in the areas of quantum communication, computing, simulation, and sensing, and identify the added value and/or mutual benefit for both EU and Canadian partners. These should include the integration of different aspects like physics, engineering, computer science, theory, algorithms, software, manufacturing, control, infrastructures, etc.

Relevant technological and societal challenges to address include:

  • Quantum computing and simulation co-design of hardware and software to accelerate applications; seamless interoperable software-to-hardware stack that can apply over multiple platforms; and theoretical and computer science foundations of quantum algorithms and architectures.
  • Privacy and security concepts, proofs and applications for quantum communication, including QKD (quantum key distribution) and beyond; device independent protocols, quantum network/repeater protocols, including architectures and network stack; development of satellite and space-based hardware, and certification/verification of states and correlations.
  • Application-specific quantum sensor development covering: device fabrication, characterization, e.g., for magnetometry, prospection, imaging, navigation, biomedical, and theoretical research optimizing simple sensors, control, as well as advanced approaches (use of entanglement and error correction).

Proposals should address one or more of the above technological and societal challenges and clearly define the benefit the EU-Canada collaboration brings.

In order to raise the technology readiness level (TRL), support for holistic—software and hardware—engineering approaches across all areas are encouraged in consortia involving participation of relevant public and/or private partners.

Funds available

Each selected EU-Canada consortium will be jointly funded by NSERC and the EC, to support the activities of eligible researchers in their respective countries. Both NSERC and the EC each expect to contribute ~CAN$2M (EUR 1.33 million) per selected consortia. Nonetheless, this does not preclude submission and selection of a proposal requesting different amounts.

NSERC’s total budget allocation for this call is ~CAN$6M (EUR 4.00 million). NSERC’s contribution will be awarded to the eligible Canadian applicants in the form of one Alliance grant per consortium, to be administered by the Canadian principal applicant’s institution. NSERC’s funding is intended to support the activities of the eligible Canadian researchers in the consortium, and must be used in accordance with the Tri-agency guide on financial administration. Canadian applicants are only eligible to receive funding from NSERC.

EU funding will only be provided to legal entities established in eligible countries in accordance with the HEWP This link will take you to another Web site General Annex B.

Duration of projects

The European Commission and NSERC consider that proposals with duration of 36 months (but not exceeding 60 months) will allow outcomes to be addressed appropriately.

Nonetheless, this does not preclude submission and selection of proposals requesting other durations.

How to apply

Applications must be submitted via the This link will take you to another Web site EU Funding and Tenders Portal. Applications must be submitted in English.

Applicants in Canada must meet NSERC’s Eligibility criteria for faculty and must agree to terms and conditions at the time of application and when accepting the award. Eligible applicants and co-applicants must complete and sign the NSERC Terms and conditions of applying form and attach it to the proposal.

If you submit a proposal under this call, you agree that information contained in your proposal may be shared between NSERC and the EC for purposes consistent with the program objectives. Consortium participants are responsible for ensuring that they are aware of the This link will take you to another Web site EC rules concerning the disclosure of information contained in the proposal.

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks as described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings. You must ensure that others listed in the application have agreed to be included.

Evaluation

The selection and evaluation of proposals will be conducted in accordance with the Horizon Europe procedures. For this call, proposals will be assessed by an evaluation committee with balanced participation of experts appointed by NSERC and the EC. Additional information on the review process and the evaluation criteria is available in HEWP This link will take you to another Web site General Annex F.

Resources

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Appel de propositions CRSNG–Commission européenne dans le domaine des technologies quantiques

Aperçu
Durée Voir ci-dessous
Budget total du CRSNG pour la possibilité de financement Voir ci-dessous
Date limite de présentation des demandes Le 21 octobre 2021 17 h (HNEC) [heure de Bruxelles] / 11 h (HE) [heure d’Ottawa]
Pour faire une demande Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Portail « Financements et appels d’offres » de l’Union européenne (en anglais)
Pour en savoir plus Écrivez à rp-quantum@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Contexte

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et la Commission européenne (CE), sous la bannière d’Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Horizon Europe (en anglais) Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web (HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-23: International cooperation with Canada [RIA]) (en anglais), se sont associés pour lancer un appel de propositions de recherche dans le domaine des technologies quantiques. Alors que la société dépend de plus en plus des technologies numériques, la science quantique ouvre des perspectives importantes dans diverses disciplines ― des possibilités de nouvelles connaissances, découvertes, technologies et applications qui peuvent avoir des retombées dans de nombreux secteurs de l’économie et de la société, partout dans le monde.

Le présent appel de propositions s’appuie sur la collaboration de longue date entre l’Union européenne et le Canada (UE-Canada) ainsi que sur leurs intérêts et expertises complémentaires dans le domaine de la recherche quantique. L’objectif est de soutenir les collaborations en recherche entre l’UE et le Canada afin de faire progresser la mise au point de technologies quantiques. Les participants canadiens admissibles recevront un soutien financier du CRSNG pour participer à des projets communs qui devront contribuer à l’atteinte des résultats suivants :

  • avancement de la technologie quantique dans certains domaines d’intérêt mutuel pour l’UE et le Canada, notamment l’informatique et la simulation quantiques, la mise en réseau et la communication quantiques ainsi que la détection et la métrologie quantiques;
  • renforcement de l’excellence de la recherche UE-Canada dans certains domaines d’intérêt mutuel (voir ci-dessus), y compris l’établissement de partenariats stratégiques pour la recherche, l’éducation et la formation.

Admissibilité et composition de l’équipe

Les documents intitulés Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Horizon Europe Work Programme General Annexes (en anglais) et Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web HORIZON-CL4-2021-DIGITAL-EMERGING-01-23: International cooperation with Canada (RIA) (en anglais) énoncent l’ensemble des exigences relatives à la composition des équipes au sein de consortiums UE-Canada admissibles. Les propositions doivent inclure des candidats admissibles du Canada et de l’Europe. Les exigences à respecter sont énoncées ci-dessous.

Exigences pour le Canada

L’équipe de chercheurs canadiens doit compter au moins un candidat d’une université canadienne qui est admissible à recevoir du financement du CRSNG. Les chercheurs qui souhaitent vérifier s’ils sont en droit de demander et de détenir des fonds doivent se reporter aux Critères d’admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral. Les professeurs de collège qui satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG peuvent participer au consortium à titre de cocandidats.

Si elle est sélectionnée pour recevoir du financement, l’équipe canadienne devra fournir au CRSNG le nom du candidat principal canadien et celui des cocandidats. Seuls les cocandidats qui satisfont aux critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG recevront des fonds.

Les autres chercheurs et organisations (p. ex. du secteur public ou privé) peuvent participer au consortium à titre de collaborateurs. Toutefois, ils ne peuvent pas recevoir des fonds de la subvention du CRSNG et doivent fournir leurs propres ressources pour participer à la collaboration.

Exigences pour l’Europe

Pour être admissibles, les candidats européens doivent remplir les conditions d’admissibilité du programme de travail d’Horizon Europe, qui sont énoncées au Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web point B des annexes générales (en anglais).

Portée de la recherche

Les propositions doivent porter sur divers enjeux relatifs aux technologies quantiques dans les domaines de la communication, de l’informatique, de la simulation et de la détection quantiques. Elles doivent en outre faire état de la valeur ajoutée ou des avantages mutuels pour les partenaires européens et canadiens. Les propositions doivent intégrer différents aspects – physique, ingénierie, informatique, théorie, algorithmes, logiciels, fabrication, contrôle, infrastructures, etc.

Les enjeux technologiques et sociétaux à étudier comprennent les suivants :

  • conception conjointe de matériel et de logiciels d’informatique et de simulation quantiques pour accélérer la mise en œuvre d’applications; pile technologique interopérable sans faille intégrant logiciels et matériel pouvant être utilisée sur plusieurs plateformes; et fondements théoriques et informatiques des algorithmes et architectures quantiques;
  • concepts en matière de confidentialité et de sécurité, preuves et applications pour la communication quantique, y compris la distribution quantique de clé et au-delà; protocoles indépendants du matériel, protocoles de communication réseau ou de répéteurs quantiques, y compris les architectures et la pile de réseau; mise au point de matériel satellitaire et spatial; certification ou vérification d’états et de corrélations;
  • mise au point de capteurs quantiques propres à des applications couvrant : la fabrication de dispositifs, la caractérisation – par exemple pour la magnétométrie –, la prospection, l’imagerie, la navigation, la recherche biomédicale, et la recherche théorique destinée à optimiser des capteurs simples, le contrôle ainsi que les approches avancées (utilisation de l’intrication et de la correction d’erreurs).

Les propositions doivent porter sur un ou plusieurs des enjeux technologiques et sociétaux susmentionnés et définir clairement les avantages d’une collaboration UE-Canada.

Afin d’élever le niveau de maturité technologique, on encourage l’adoption de démarches d’ingénierie holistiques – logiciels et matériel – dans les consortiums auxquels participent des partenaires compétents des secteurs public ou privé.

Fonds disponibles

Le CRSNG et la CE financeront conjointement chaque consortium UE-Canada sélectionné pour soutenir les activités des chercheurs admissibles dans leurs pays respectifs. Le CRSNG et la CE prévoient tous les deux contribuer environ 2 millions de dollars canadiens (1,33 million d’euros) au projet de chaque consortium sélectionné, ce qui ne les empêche pas d’accepter et de sélectionner des propositions dans lesquelles le montant demandé est différent.

L’enveloppe totale du CRSNG pour cet appel de propositions est d’environ 6 millions de dollars canadiens (4 millions d’euros). Pour sa contribution, le CRSNG accordera aux candidats canadiens admissibles une subvention Alliance par consortium sélectionné, laquelle sera administrée par l’établissement d’attache du candidat principal canadien. Le financement du CRSNG vise à soutenir les activités des chercheurs canadiens admissibles participant au consortium et doit être utilisé conformément aux dispositions du Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes. Les candidats canadiens ne sont admissibles qu’au financement du CRSNG.

Le financement de l’UE est réservé aux entités juridiques établies dans des pays admissibles conformément au Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web point B des annexes générales (en anglais) du programme de travail d’Horizon Europe.

Durée des projets

La Commission européenne et le CRSNG considèrent qu’une période de 36 mois (au plus 60 mois) devrait permettre aux consortiums d’atteindre les résultats escomptés, ce qui ne les empêche pas d’accepter et de sélectionner des propositions dans lesquelles le financement est demandé pour une période plus courte ou plus longue.

Pour faire une demande

Les demandes doivent être présentées en anglais par l’intermédiaire du Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web portail « Financements et appels d’offres » de l’UE (en anglais).

Les candidats canadiens doivent satisfaire aux Critères d’admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral du CRSNG et accepter les modalités applicables au moment de la présentation de leur demande et de l’octroi du financement. Les candidats et cocandidats admissibles doivent remplir et signer le Formulaire de modalités de présentation des demandes du CRSNG et le joindre à la proposition.

Si vous présentez une proposition en réponse au présent appel, vous acceptez par le fait même que le CRSNG et la CE s’échangent des renseignements figurant dans votre demande à des fins compatibles avec les objectifs du programme. Il est de la responsabilité des participants au consortium de prendre connaissance des règles de la CE concernant la communication des renseignements fournis dans la proposition.

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans les Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements. Vous devez vous assurer que les autres personnes mentionnées dans la demande ont accepté d’y participer.

Évaluation

Les procédures d’Horizon Europe s’appliqueront à la sélection et à l’évaluation des propositions. Pour les besoins du présent appel, les propositions seront examinées par un comité d’évaluation assurant une représentation équilibrée d’experts nommés par le CRSNG et la CE. On trouvera au Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web point F des annexes générales (en anglais)du programme de travail d’Horizon Europe un complément d’information au sujet du processus d’examen et des critères d’évaluation.

Ressources

(documents disponibles en anglais seulement)