A planned outage affecting this website and several other NSERC and SSHRC (including TIPS) websites and granting portals will take place from Friday, June 28, 2024, at 4 p.m., until Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 8 a.m. (ET). For more details, visit NSERC or SSHRC/TIPS dedicated webpages.

Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants

Who?

Canadian university researchers working in partnership with international collaborators from the academic sector

How much?

$30,000 to $300,000 per year

How long?

1 to 3 years


Overview

Quantum science is the study, manipulation and control of systems at the atomic and subatomic level. Quantum technologies are at the leading edge of science and innovation, both in Canada and worldwide. They will support the growth and transformation of key sectors, enable new economic opportunities and help advance a range of benefits for society. Canada is a leader in quantum research, and Canadian scientists are well positioned to capitalize on these opportunities.

Following up on Budget 2021, the Government of Canada launched the National Quantum Strategy (NQS) to amplify Canada’s significant strengths in quantum research; grow its quantum-ready technologies, companies and talent; and solidify Canada ’s global leadership in this area. The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) supports the implementation of the NQS through funding opportunities that build on NSERC ’s sustained investments in quantum research. The NQS and the results of the associated consultations held by the Government of Canada informed these funding opportunities.

Alliance International Quantum grants provide support for researchers in Canada to establish and grow international research collaborations that will strengthen research excellence in Canada and abroad, and further develop Canadian research strengths and leadership in quantum science and technology.

NSERC is now launching a call for Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants proposals. Collaboration Quantum grants support Canadian academic researchers collaborating on research projects with international researchers from the academic sector and can range from $30,000 to $300,000 per year for up to three years.

Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants are intended to fund joint international projects that have been peer-reviewed and awarded by the national funding agency of the international academic collaborator(s). If the international project has been awarded a four- or five-year grant, it must be made clear in the international proposal, that the Canadian team will only be involved for up to the first three years. Upon receiving an Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants application, NSERC will undertake an administrative assessment to ensure the application is complete and that it complies with all requirements. Once the administrative assessment is satisfactorily completed, NSERC proceeds with the merit assessment of the application. For this international collaborative call, collaborators and organizations from outside academia are not permitted. For collaborative research projects involving organizations in the public, private or not-for-profit sectors, please refer to the Alliance Quantum grants or the Alliance Consortia Quantum grants.

Proposals may address any challenges in quantum science, but their thrust must aim to advance one or more of the  NQS missions  by advancing research in any of the following areas of quantum technologies, or a combination thereof:

  • quantum algorithms/encryption, including post-quantum cryptography
  • quantum communications
  • quantum computing
  • quantum materials
  • quantum sensing

Proposals may also synergistically couple any of these quantum technology thrusts to other research topics in the natural sciences and engineering. Proposals that do not address one or more of the NQS missions  may be removed from consideration; see the Important note below for additional information on what to include in your proposal.


How to apply

Submit your application via NSERC’s online system to the regular Alliance International program but, in the Type of call field, select International - Collaboration - Quantum from the drop-down menu. The complete program information and guidelines governing Alliance International Collaboration grants are provided on the Alliance International grants web pages. Potential Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants applicants should review this material for details pertaining to the eligibility criteria for applicants, the review process and   merit indicators award conditions, and instructions for preparing your application.

You can apply at any time up until January 31, 2024. As this is a continuous intake process, applications will be assessed upon receipt and funding decisions will be communicated within 5 to 9 weeks from the date NSERC receives the complete application. You and any Canadian co-applicants must hold, as a primary applicant, an active NSERC peer-reviewed grant at the time of application. For this call, you are limited to one application as either applicant or co-applicant. This limit applies to Alliance International Collaboration Quantum grants and does not count against application limits for other Alliance International grants or calls.

To start your application:

  • log in to the online system and choose Create a new form 101
  • select Research partnerships programs, then Alliance grants
  • for the Proposal type field, select Full proposal
  • for the Type of call field, select International - Collaboration - Quantum from the drop-down menu

Following the instructions for completing an Alliance International grants application, fill out the  proposal template and complete the other sections of your application. Submit your application and all other documents as required for an Alliance International Collaboration grants application via NSERC’s online system.

Important note

In your proposal, under Relevance and expected outcomes, you should:

  • outline the objectives of the proposed international collaboration, and explain the potential outcomes and impacts
  • explain how the international collaboration will address important research challenges in the natural sciences and engineering disciplines as well as in quantum science and/or technologies, and how its thrust aims to advance one or more of the NQS missions
  • describe the global importance of the topic and how the expected outcomes could benefit Canada

Complete the other sections of your proposal as per the instructions and bullets provided in the proposal template.


Equity, diversity and inclusion

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-agency statement on equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI).

Applicants are encouraged to consider sex, gender and diversity in the project’s research design. Diversity and gender equity should also be considered when developing the research team and considering how to promote and support a variety of forms of mentoring to ensure trainees’ equitable participation and growth. Applicants should refer to the NSERC guide on integrating equity, diversity and inclusion considerations in research for more information.


Reporting

You will be informed of reporting requirements upon reception of your award letter. You must provide a final report within three months of the end of your project. Please refer to the Alliance International Post-award page for additional information.


Terms and conditions

At all times, Canadian researchers are encouraged to exercise appropriate levels of due diligence when managing their research and establishing and/or continuing partnerships with national, international and multinational organizations. Resources to do so are provided by the Government of Canada on the   Safeguarding Your Research portal, including the   National Security Guidelines for Research Partnerships. NSERC reserves the right to request additional information, as needed, before making a final funding decision.


Resources

Apply now Sign up

Sign up to receive email updates with the latest information on NSERC Alliance grants.

Contact
alliance_quantumquantique@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
1-855-275-2861

Application deadline
Applications will be accepted anytime up until January 31, 2024

As this is a continuous intake process, applications will be assessed upon receipt, and funding decisions will be communicated within 5 to 9 weeks from the date NSERC receives the complete application.

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Subventions Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International

Qui?

Chercheuses et chercheurs universitaires canadiens qui travaillent en partenariat avec des collaboratrices et collaborateurs étrangers du milieu universitaire

Combien?

Entre 30 000 $ et 300 000 $ par année

Pendant combien de temps?

De 1 à 3 ans


Aperçu

La science quantique est le domaine qui touche à l’étude, à la manipulation et au contrôle des systèmes à l’échelle atomique et subatomique. Au Canada comme ailleurs dans le monde, les technologies issues de la quantique sont à la fine pointe de la science et de l’innovation. Elles stimulent la croissance et la transformation de secteurs névralgiques, créent de nouvelles possibilités économiques et contribuent à générer de nombreuses retombées pour la société. Le Canada est un chef de file en recherche quantique, et les scientifiques canadiens sont bien placés pour tirer parti de toutes les possibilités qu’elle offre.

Par suite du budget de 2021, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé la Stratégie quantique nationale (SQN) afin d’accroitre les forces déjà grandes du pays en recherche quantique; de favoriser l’essor, à l’échelle nationale, des technologies quantiques ainsi que des entreprises et des talents qui sont prêts à les exploiter; et de renforcer le leadership mondial du Canada en quantique. Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) appuie la mise en œuvre de la stratégie au moyen de possibilités de financement en recherche quantique, lesquelles s’ajouteront aux investissements soutenus de l’organisme dans ce domaine. Le CRSNG s’est appuyé sur la SQN et les résultats des consultations connexes tenues par le gouvernement du Canada pour établir les possibilités de financement.

Les subventions en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International visent à apporter un soutien chercheurs du Canada dans l’établissement et le développement de collaborations de recherche internationales qui renforceront l’excellence en recherche au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde en plus de développer davantage les forces et le leadership du Canada dans le domaine de la science et des technologies quantiques.

Le CRSNG lance maintenant un appel de propositions pour les subventions Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International. Ces subventions, dont le montant peut aller de 30 000 $ à 300 000 $ par année sur une période maximale de trois ans, appuient des chercheuses et chercheurs universitaires canadiens qui collaborent à des projets de recherche avec des pairs du milieu universitaire à l’étranger.

Les subventions Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International visent à financer des projets concertés de dimension internationale qui ont été évalués par les pairs et ont obtenu un financement de l’organisme subventionnaire national de la collaboratrice ou du collaborateur universitaire étranger. Si une subvention d’une durée de quatre ou cinq ans a été accordée à l’appui du projet international, la proposition internationale doit indiquer clairement que l’équipe canadienne participera au projet tout au plus pendant les trois premières années de celui-ci. À la suite de la réception d’une demande de subvention Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International, le CRSNG effectuera un examen administratif pour s’assurer que la demande est complète et qu’elle satisfait aux exigences. Si la demande est jugée recevable à l’issue de cet examen, il en évaluera ensuite le mérite. Pour cet appel de propositions, la participation de collaboratrices et collaborateurs ou d’organismes de l’extérieur du milieu universitaire n’est pas autorisée. Pour ce qui est des projets de recherche concertée faisant appel à des organismes des secteurs public, privé ou sans but lucratif, consultez la page Subventions en quantique du programme Alliance ou la page Subventions Consortiums en quantique du programme Alliance.

Les propositions peuvent porter sur tout défi en science quantique, mais elles doivent avoir pour but principal de faire progresser une ou plusieurs missions de la SQN en appuyant la recherche dans au moins un des domaines suivants liés aux technologies quantiques :

  • le chiffrement ou l’algorithme quantique, y compris la cryptographie postquantique;
  • les communications quantiques;
  • l’informatique quantique;
  • les matériaux quantiques;
  • la détection quantique.

Les propositions peuvent aussi intégrer de manière synergique des questions touchant ces domaines à d’autres sujets de recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie. Les propositions qui ne cadrent pas avec au moins une mission de la SQN pourraient ne pas être prises en considération. L’avis important ci-après renferme de plus amples renseignements sur le contenu de la proposition.


Pour présenter une demande

Présentez votre demande au programme de subventions Alliance, volet International, au moyen du Système en ligne du CRSNG. Dans le champ Type d’appel de propositions, sélectionnez International ─ Collaboration ─ Quantique dans le menu déroulant. Vous trouverez les lignes directrices et tous les détails relatifs aux subventions Collaboration dans les pages Web du programme de subventions Alliance, volet International. Nous vous invitons, en tant que candidate ou candidat éventuel à une subvention Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International, à prendre connaissance des critères d’admissibilité aux subventions, du processus d’évaluation et des  indicateurs de mérite des demandes ainsi que des modalités et des instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes.

Vous pouvez présenter une demande en tout temps jusqu’au 31 janvier 2024. Comme le CRSNG accepte les demandes de façon continue, il les évaluera dès leur réception et communiquera la décision de financement dans un délai de cinq à neuf semaines suivant la date de réception de la demande. Au moment de la présentation de la demande, la candidate ou le candidat et chaque cocandidate et cocandidat canadien, le cas échéant, doivent détenir une subvention active du CRSNG leur ayant été accordée à titre de candidate principale ou candidat principal à la suite d’une évaluation par les pairs. Dans le cadre du présent appel de propositions, vous pouvez présenter une seule demande en tant que personne candidate ou cocandidate. Cette limite s’applique aux subventions Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International. Elle n’est pas prise en compte dans le nombre maximum de demandes établi pour les autres possibilités de financement du programme Alliance, volet International.

Pour commencer :

  • ouvrez une session dans le Système en ligne du CRSNG et cliquez sur Créer un nouveau formulaire 101 – subventions;
  • sélectionnez Programmes de partenariats de recherche, puis Subventions Alliance;
  • dans le champ Type de proposition, sélectionnez Demande;
  • dans le champ Type d’appel de propositions, sélectionnez International – Collaboration – Quantique dans le menu déroulant.

Remplissez le gabarit de la proposition ainsi que les autres sections de votre demande en suivant les instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes de subvention Alliance, volet International. Présentez, au moyen du Système en ligne du CRSNG, votre demande et tous les autres documents requis aux fins de la présentation d’une demande de subvention Collaboration en quantique du programme Alliance, volet International.

Avis important

Dans la section Pertinence et résultats escomptés de la demande, vous devez :

  • présenter les objectifs de la collaboration internationale prévue et décrire les résultats escomptés et les retombées éventuelles;
  • expliquer en quoi la collaboration internationale permettra de trouver des solutions à d’importants défis de recherche dans les disciplines des sciences naturelles et du génie ainsi qu’en science ou en technologies quantiques, et en quoi elle vise principalement à faire progresser une ou plusieurs missions de la SQN;
  • expliquer l’importance que revêt le sujet dans une perspective mondiale et préciser en quoi les résultats escomptés pourraient présenter des avantages pour le Canada.

Remplissez les autres sections du gabarit en suivant les instructions et les indications présentées sous forme de puces dans le gabarit.


Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes afin de créer un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada, lequel est essentiel à la réalisation de travaux inédits et de qualité exceptionnelle qui génèrent des retombées et qui permettent d’approfondir les connaissances et de résoudre des problèmes locaux, nationaux et mondiaux. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Les personnes candidates sont encouragées à tenir compte du sexe, du genre et de la diversité dans leur plan de recherche. Il faut également prendre en compte la diversité et l’équité entre les genres au moment de former l’équipe de recherche et de déterminer comment promouvoir et soutenir diverses formes de mentorat pour assurer la participation et la croissance équitables des stagiaires. Pour en savoir plus, les candidates et candidats devraient consulter le Guide du CRSNG pour la prise en compte des considérations en matière d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans la recherche.


Rapports

Vous serez informé des exigences en matière de rapports quand vous recevrez votre lettre d’octroi. Vous devez produire un rapport final dans les trois mois suivant la fin du projet. Pour en savoir plus, consultez la section Après l’octroi du programme de subventions Alliance, volet International.


Modalités

Les chercheuses et chercheurs canadiens sont invités à exercer en tout temps une diligence raisonnable lorsqu’ils gèrent leurs travaux de recherche et établissent ou maintiennent des partenariats avec des organismes nationaux, internationaux et multinationaux. Le portail  Protégez votre recherche du gouvernement du Canada propose des ressources destinées à ces fins, notamment les  lignes directrices en matière de sécurité nationale pour les partenariats de recherche. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de demander des renseignements additionnels à cet effet avant de prendre une décision de financement finale.


Ressources

Présentez une demande Inscrivez-vous

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir des courriels vous informant des dernières nouvelles concernant les subventions Alliance du CRSNG.

Coordonnées
alliance_quantumquantique@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
1-855-275-2861

Date limite pour présenter une demande
Les demandes seront acceptées en tout temps jusqu’au 31 janvier 2024.

Comme le CRSNG accepte les demandes de façon continue, il les évaluera dès leur réception et communiquera la décision de financement dans un délai de cinq à neuf semaines suivant la date de réception de la demande.

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram