Equity, Diversity and Inclusion


Call for interest in Dimensions review committee

On this page


Call for reviewers

The Tri-agency is now inviting expressions of interest in reviewer roles for the assessment of postsecondary institutional applications for Dimensions recognition.

Who should apply?

Dimensions invites expressions of interest from across the postsecondary research sector, including:

  • Scholars who have lived experience as a member of one or more of the five equity-deserving groups of Dimensions
  • Scholars who have expertise in academic studies related to understanding inequity and exclusion in society, and in the higher education context in particular
  • Administrators and professionals with lived experience as a member of one or more of the five equity-deserving groups of Dimensions
  • Administrators and professionals who have experience or expertise related to efforts to address EDI in the postsecondary research sector

The Dimensions review committee aims to include representation across a wide range of lived experience and a majority who self-identify as a member of one of the five equity-deserving groups, including: women, Indigenous Peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), persons with disabilities, members of visible minorities/racialized groups, and members of LGBTQ2+ communities. The review committee membership will also reflect diversity with respect to: institution size, region, and location; Canada's official languages; teaching and research focused institutions. The process for establishing the committee therefore will include asking those expressing interest to provide some self-identification information. Dimensions may directly recruit members to the committee, should self-nominations not include enough diverse representation.

Goal of the review committee

The goal of the review process is to assist Canadian postsecondary institutions advance the state of EDI in their research communities. The review committee will provide a careful and thoughtful review of applications by assessing institutional progress and by providing constructive feedback to help institutions continue to make change.

The committee will also be assessing an institution's efforts towards reflection, critical self-assessment and engagement with their research communities; their collection and analysis of data; their development and implementation of initiatives through an action plan to address gaps and inequities; and their assessment of the impacts of actions taken.

Time commitment

Each application for Dimensions recognition will be assessed over two sets of meetings.

The first set of meetings is scheduled to be held between December 5 - 16, 2022, and the second between January 23-February 3, 2023.

The purpose of the first meeting will be to discuss individual reviews, calibrate, and generate feedback, questions, and comments for applicant institutions. The purpose of the second meeting will be to hear presentations from representatives of applicant institutions, to hear responses to feedback, to have an open question period and to determine final recommendations about which recognition stage to give.

In addition to meeting time, reviewers will read and provide feedback on 4-5 applications in advance of the first meeting.

Reviewers will also spend time becoming familiar with the Dimensions approach and documentation.

Meeting location

Meetings will be held virtually by videoconference. Accessible format selection will occur in consultation once the committee has been established.

Official languages

All Dimensions materials will be provided in both official languages. All reviewers will be encouraged to participate in the official language of their choice. Institutional applications will be available in one of the official languages and will not be translated.

How to apply

Interested individuals are invited to apply through one of the following options:

  • A short letter of interest (one-to-two-pages), or;
  • A pre-recorded video or audio-recording, or;
  • A live phone or video interview. Interviews must be requested by email to the following address, DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or by phone: call 1-855-275-2861

Please complete the anonymous EDI Tri-agency self-identification questionnaire. In the “Information” section, under “funding opportunity” select “Dimensions (ID: 1617)”; under “role” select “reviewer”; and in the “ID” field please input “1617”.

Submissions must address the following:

  • Indicate whether you can review applications in one of, or both official languages
  • Discuss your understanding of issues related to EDI in the postsecondary research ecosystem and how you are contributing to efforts focused on addressing such issues, whether through personal (lived experience), academic, community, or volunteer contexts
  • Indicate your experience participating in review or advisory panels and committees if applicable

Deadline to apply

Those interested in applying for reviewer roles are invited to submit an expression of interest by Friday August 19, 2022, however the invitation will remain open beyond this date should additional expressions be required. Expressions should be sent to: DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

If not selected for this review committee, please indicate if you might be interested in other related activities.

Confidentiality

The contents of submitted expressions of interest are protected and will only be shared on a need-to-know basis for committee membership selection.

Application accommodations

The Tri-agency can support applicants by creating versions of this call for expressions of interest in the following formats:

  • Audio or video (with closed captioning)
  • A plain language version
  • A version with larger font
  • Word or PDF documents that are edited to the applicant's needs

Other accommodations will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

To request accommodations or application support, please reach out to the following email address: DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca; or by phone, call: 1-855-275-2861.

Conflict of interest

Reviewers will be expected to act with integrity and impartiality and to be open, fair and unbiased when making decisions. Once selected to serve as a review committee member, a digitally signed declaration of conflict-of-interest form will be required.

Code of conduct

Meetings will be conducted in accordance with NSERC's code of ethics and business conduct for members of NSERC standing and Advisory Committees.

Overview of Dimensions

Dimensions: equity, diversity and inclusion Canada is a program designed to help postsecondary institutions increase equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI), and to help drive deeper cultural change within the research ecosystem.

Dimensions is a flagship initiative of the Tri Agency EDI Action Plan administered collaboratively by the organizations that make up the Tri-Agency — the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC).

The program addresses barriers and discrimination faced by equity-deserving groups, including women, Indigenous Peoples (First Nations, Inuit, Métis), persons with disabilities, members of visible minorities/racialized groups, and members of LGBTQ2+ communities, in all disciplines and at Canada's post-secondary institutions — CEGEPs, colleges, polytechnics and universities.

The program was co-developed during a pilot period with a cohort of 17 diverse postsecondary institutions from across Canada. It is intended to be “inclusive-by-design” — each part co-created with those members of the research ecosystem who will use it and are expected to benefit from it.

Dimensions has two components:

  • All Canadian postsecondary institutions are encouraged to endorse the charter as part of their commitment to increasing EDI within their institutions
  • As part of the pilot phase, cohort institutions can apply for a Dimensions recognition, to be assessed using a peer review process on actions taken to lay the foundation for institutional EDI research culture transformation, and how such change has become a reality. Applications must demonstrate the institution's commitment to the charter's principles by including extensive evidence of efforts taken to date, change that has occurred, and of the plans in place for strategic action

The Dimensions recognition program has four stages intended to reflect the journey of carrying out EDI work and achieving success.

  • Stage 1 — Foundation
  • Stage 2 — Construction
  • Stage 3 — Consolidation
  • Stage 4 — Transformation

Further information on the pilot program or this call for expressions of interest is available upon request. Please contact: DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or 1-855-275-2861.

Tri-agency logos

Contact

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
1-855-275-2861

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Équité, diversité et inclusion


Appel à manifestation d'intérêt pour la participation au comité d'évaluation du programme Dimensions

Sur cette page


À la recherche d'évaluatrices et d'évaluateurs

Les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux recherchent actuellement des personnes qui accepteraient de participer à l'évaluation des demandes de reconnaissance d'établissements postsecondaires au titre du programme Dimensions.

Qui devrait postuler?

Les responsables du programme Dimensions invitent des volontaires de tout le secteur de la recherche postsecondaire à présenter leur candidature, notamment :

  • les universitaires ayant une expérience vécue en tant que membres d'au moins un des cinq groupes dignes d'équité visés par le programme Dimensions
  • les universitaires spécialisés dans les études scientifiques visant à comprendre l'iniquité et l'exclusion dans la société, particulièrement dans le contexte de l'enseignement supérieur
  • les administratrices et administrateurs et les professionnelles et professionnels ayant une expérience vécue en tant que membres d'au moins un des cinq groupes dignes d'équité visés par le programme Dimensions
  • les administratrices et administrateurs et les professionnelles et professionnels ayant une expérience ou une expertise en lien avec les efforts visant à accroitre l'équité, la diversité et l'inclusion (EDI) dans le secteur de recherche postsecondaire

Le comité d'évaluation du programme Dimensions devrait être, dans la mesure du possible, représentatif d'un large éventail d'expériences, et être composé d'une majorité de personnes se déclarant comme membres de l'un des cinq groupes dignes d'équité, à savoir : les femmes, les peuples autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits, Métis), les personnes en situation de handicap, les minorités visibles ou les groupes racisés et les divers groupes de la communauté LGBTQ2+. Le comité d'évaluation devrait également être le reflet de la diversité en ce qui concerne : la taille, la région et l'emplacement des établissements; les langues officielles du Canada et la mission principale des établissements (l'enseignement ou la recherche). Par conséquent, lors du processus de création du comité, les personnes manifestant de l'intérêt seront appelées à fournir des renseignements sous forme de déclaration volontaire. Si les candidatures volontaires ne sont pas suffisamment représentatives de la diversité recherchée, les responsables du programme Dimensions pourraient recruter directement des membres pour former le comité.

But du comité d'évaluation

Le but du processus d'évaluation est d'aider les établissements postsecondaires canadiens à accroitre l'EDI au sein de leur communauté de recherche. Le comité d'évaluation procèdera à une évaluation minutieuse et réfléchie des demandes; il examinera les progrès des établissements et formulera une rétroaction constructive afin d'aider ces derniers à poursuivre leur cheminement.

Le comité tiendra aussi compte des efforts déployés par les établissements, c'est-à-dire leur réflexion, leur autoévaluation critique et la consultation des membres de leur communauté de recherche; leur collecte de données et l'analyse de celles-ci; l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre d'initiatives s'inscrivant dans un plan d'action ayant pour but de rectifier les lacunes et les iniquités; et leur analyse des effets des mesures prises.

Temps à consacrer

L'évaluation de toutes les demandes de reconnaissance au titre du programme Dimensions se déroulera au cours de deux séries de réunions.

La première réunion se tiendra entre le 5 et le 16 décembre 2022 et la deuxième, entre le 23 janvier et le 3 février 2023.

La première réunion a pour but de permettre aux membres de discuter des évaluations individuelles, de s'entendre sur les ajustements nécessaires et de formuler des commentaires et des questions à l'intention des établissements ayant présenté une demande. Au cours de la seconde réunion, les membres : assisteront aux présentations des établissements, entendront les réponses aux commentaires qu'ils avaient formulés et tiendront une période d'échanges et de questions; et ils détermineront leurs recommandations finales en ce qui concerne l'étape de reconnaissance.

En plus d'assister aux réunions, les membres du comité d'évaluation devront lire de quatre à cinq demandes avant la première réunion et formuler des commentaires.

Les membres du comité d'évaluation passeront également du temps à se familiariser avec l'approche et la documentation du programme Dimensions.

Lieu des réunions

Les réunions se dérouleront par vidéoconférence. Le choix de la plateforme se fera une fois que le comité aura été établi.

Langues officielles

Toute la documentation relative au programme Dimensions sera fournie dans les deux langues officielles. Les membres du comité pourront participer dans la langue de leur choix. Les demandes présentées par les établissements ne seront toutefois disponibles que dans l'une des deux langues officielles et ne seront pas traduites.

Marche à suivre pour présenter sa candidature

Les personnes qui le souhaitent peuvent poser leur candidature de l'une ou l'autre des façons suivantes :

  • en envoyant une courte lettre de motivation (d'au plus deux pages);
  • en soumettant un enregistrement vidéo ou audio;
  • en participant à un entretien par téléphone ou vidéoconférence (en direct). Si vous souhaitez participer à un entretien, veuillez en faire la demande par courriel, à DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou par téléphone : 1-855-275-2861.

Veuillez remplir la déclaration volontaire anonyme d'EDI des trois organismes. Dans la section « informations », sous « Occasion de financement », sélectionnez « Dimensions (ID : 1617) »; sous « rôle », sélectionnez « Évaluateur »; et dans le champ « ID », veuillez saisir « 1617 ».

Les candidatures doivent mentionner les points ci-dessous.

  • Précisez si vous êtes en mesure d'évaluer les demandes envoyées dans l'une ou l'autre des langues officielles, ou dans les deux
  • Décrivez votre compréhension des enjeux liés à l'EDI dans l'écosystème de recherche postsecondaire et expliquez comment vous y contribuez, que ce soit en contexte personnel (expérience vécue), universitaire, communautaire ou bénévole
  • Précisez votre expérience au sein de groupes et de comités consultatifs ou d'évaluation, s'il y a lieu

Date limite

Les personnes qui souhaitent présenter leur candidature peuvent envoyer leur déclaration d'intérêt d'ici le vendredi 19 août 2022. À noter toutefois que l'invitation pourrait rester ouverte au-delà de cette date si nous avions besoin de déclarations d'intérêts supplémentaires. Les déclarations d'intérêts doivent être envoyées à : DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Veuillez également indiquer si d'autres activités connexes pourraient vous intéresser si votre candidature n'est pas retenue pour la constitution de ce comité.

Confidentialité

Le contenu des déclarations d'intérêt est protégé et ne sera communiqué qu'en cas de nécessité pour la sélection des membres du comité.

Mesures d'adaptation

Les trois organismes peuvent aider les personnes candidates en créant des versions de cet appel à manifestation d'intérêt dans les formats suivants :

  • Audio ou vidéo (avec sous-titrage codé)
  • en langage clair et simple
  • en gros caractères
  • en format Word ou PDF, selon les besoins de la personne candidate

D'autres mesures d'adaptation seront envisagées au cas par cas.

Pour demander une mesure d'adaptation ou de l'aide pour présenter une candidature, écrivez à DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou téléphonez au 1-855-275-2861.

Conflit d'intérêts

Les évaluatrices et évaluateurs devront agir avec intégrité et impartialité et être ouverts, justes et objectifs dans la prise de décisions. Si leur candidature est retenue, les membres devront signer numériquement une déclaration sur les conflits d'intérêts.

Code de conduite

Les réunions se tiendront conformément au Code d'éthique professionnelle régissant la conduite des membres des comités permanents et consultatifs du CRSNG.

Présentation générale du programme Dimensions

Le programme Dimensions : équité, diversité et inclusion Canada est conçu pour aider les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire à accroitre l'équité, la diversité et l'inclusion (EDI) et à susciter un changement de culture profond au sein de l'écosystème de recherche.

Il s'agit de l'initiative phare du Plan d'action des trois organismes pour l'EDI, dirigée en collaboration par les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada (CRSH) — soit les trois organismes subventionnaires fédéraux —, sous la direction du Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada (CCRC).

Le programme vise à contrer les obstacles et la discrimination auxquels sont confrontés les groupes dignes d'équité, comme les femmes, les peuples autochtones (Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis), les personnes en situation de handicap et les minorités visibles ou les groupes racisés et la communauté LGBTQ2+, dans toutes les disciplines, aussi bien dans les cégeps, les collèges, les écoles polytechniques que dans les universités.

Le programme a été mis au point en collaboration avec les 17 établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire diversifiés du pays qui participent à ce projet pilote. Il est élaboré selon le principe de conception inclusive, c'est-à-dire que chaque partie est conçue en collaboration avec les membres de l'écosystème de recherche qui en feront usage et qui en tireront profit.

Le programme Dimensions comprend deux volets :

  • D'une part, tous les établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire du Canada sont encouragés à adopter la charte dans le cadre de leur engagement à améliorer l'EDI
  • Il y a, en outre, la phase pilote au cours de laquelle les établissements ont la possibilité de présenter une demande de reconnaissance au titre du programme Dimensions afin de faire évaluer, dans le cadre d'un processus d'évaluation par des pairs, les mesures qu'ils prennent pour susciter le changement de culture en recherche à l'égard de l'EDI et pour constater la transformation qui s'opère. Dans leur demande, les établissements doivent faire la preuve des efforts déployés jusqu'à maintenant, de leur engagement envers les principes de la charte, des changements qui sont survenus et de leur planification stratégique

Le programme de reconnaissance Dimensions comporte quatre étapes qui décrivent en quelque sorte la progression des efforts vers l'atteinte des objectifs en matière d'EDI.

  • Étape 1 — Fondation
  • Étape 2 — Édification
  • Étape 3 — Consolidation
  • Étape 4 — Transformation

De plus amples renseignements sur le programme pilote et cet appel à manifestation d'intérêt sont offerts sur demande. Veuillez écrire à DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou téléphoner au 1-855-275-2861.

Logos tri-agences

Coordonnées

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca
1-855-275-2861

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram