A planned outage affecting this website and several other NSERC and SSHRC (including TIPS) websites and granting portals will take place from Friday, June 28, 2024, at 4 p.m., until Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 8 a.m. (ET). For more details, visit NSERC or SSHRC/TIPS dedicated webpages.

Equity, diversity and inclusion


Dimensions

Pilot phase

The Dimensions program publicly recognize postsecondary institutions seeking to increase equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in their environments and across the research ecosystem. The program objective is to foster transformational change within the research community at Canadian postsecondary institutions by identifying and eliminating obstacles and inequities. This will support equitable access to funding opportunities, increase equitable and inclusive participation, and embed EDI-related considerations in research design and practices.

First ever pilot cohort

Two rounds of preliminary program development consultations with colleges and universities of various sizes took place in fall 2018 and winter 2019. The first round allowed the Tri-agency to form the foundations of the program. The second round focused on creating Dimensions’ unique charter, which was released on May 9, 2019.

The program was then co-developed during a pilot period with a cohort of 17 diverse postsecondary institutions from across Canada. It is intended to be “inclusive by design”—each part co-created in collaboration with those members of the research ecosystem who will use it and, hopefully, benefit from it. Co-development included pre-pandemic cross-country consultations and collaborations to develop the charter, careful ongoing discussion with academic EDI experts and leaders, and in-depth working groups focused on the program’s various components. These institutions provided extensive comments, feedback and suggestions, and they shared promising practices, expertise and valuable assistance.

Participating institutions have a unique opportunity to be among the first in Canada to be recognized for their efforts and progress made to advance EDI in the research ecosystem.

Participating institutions

  • Camosun College (British Columbia)
  • Holland College (Prince Edward Island)
  • Lethbridge College (Alberta)
  • Mohawk College (Ontario)
  • Mount Saint Vincent University (Nova Scotia)
  • Toronto Metropolitan University (formerly Ryerson University) (Ontario)
  • Sheridan College (Ontario)
  • Simon Fraser University (British Columbia)
  • Université Laval (Québec)
  • University of British Columbia (British Columbia)
  • University of Calgary (Alberta)
  • University of New Brunswick (New Brunswick)
  • University of Ottawa (Ontario)
  • University of Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan)
  • University of Winnipeg (Manitoba)
  • Vancouver Island University (British Columbia)
  • Wilfrid Laurier University (Ontario)

Selection of pilot institutions

A letter of interest process was used to select the participating institutions in the pilot to form the cohort. Consult the Dimensions letter of intent process report for more information.

Program Design Expert Committee

The mandate of the Program Design Expert Committee (PDEC) was to provide expert advice on issues of EDI throughout the development of the Dimensions pilot program. The committee reviewed and provided feedback related to EDI content, language, and approach on sections of the Dimensions handbook and other documents as they were developed in collaboration with tri-agency staff and Dimensions cohort and affiliate institutions. The committee was designed to include representation from across Canada, from various sizes and types of institutions, and from various equity-deserving groups.

Committee members

Tri-agency logos

Contact

Dimensions
dimensionsedi@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

NSERC
Equity, diversity and inclusion

nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

CIHR
Equity, diversity and inclusion

edi@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

SSHRC
Equity, diversity and inclusion

equity-equite@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Un arrêt planifié ayant une incidence sur ce site et plusieurs autres sites Web et portails de financement du CRSNG et du CRSH (y compris SPIIE) aura lieu du vendredi 28 juin 2024, à 16 h, au mardi 2 juillet 2024, à 8 h (HE). Pour plus d’information, consultez les pages Web dédiées du CRSNG ou du CRSH/SPIIE.

Équité, diversité et inclusion


Dimensions

Phase pilote

Le programme pilote Dimensions vise à reconnaitre publiquement les établissements qui tentent d’accroitre l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) dans leur environnement et dans l’ensemble de l’écosystème de recherche. L’objectif du programme est de susciter une transformation en invitant les établissements postsecondaires canadiens à repérer et à éliminer les obstacles et les iniquités dans leur milieu. Ce faisant, ils favoriseront un accès équitable aux possibilités de financement, l’inclusion et l’équité en ce qui touche la participation à l’écosystème de recherche ainsi que l’intégration des principes d’EDI dans la conception des études et dans les pratiques de recherche.

Première cohorte du programme pilote

Deux séries de consultations préliminaires sur l’élaboration du programme ont été menées auprès de collèges, cégeps et universités de tailles diverses à l’automne 2018 et à l’hiver 2019. La première série a permis aux trois organismes subventionnaires d’établir les bases du programme. La deuxième série de consultations a porté plus particulièrement sur la charte du programme, qui a été lancée le 9 mai 2019.

Par la suite, le programme a été élaboré en collaboration avec 17 établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire diversifiés du pays dans le cadre de la phase pilote. Il a été mis au point selon le principe de conception inclusive : chaque élément du programme a été élaboré en collaboration avec les membres de la communauté de la recherche qui seront concernés et qui, idéalement, en tireront profit. Des consultations ont été menées à l’échelle du pays avant la pandémie et des partenariats ont été établis pour élaborer la charte et définir l’esprit du programme. Des discussions approfondies se sont tenues en continu avec des spécialistes et des chefs de file du domaine de l’EDI, et des groupes de travail ont examiné en profondeur les différents éléments du programme. Les établissements ont fourni une foule de commentaires, réactions et suggestions, ont signalé des pratiques prometteuses et ont fourni une expertise et une aide précieuses.

Les établissements participants ont la chance exceptionnelle d’être parmi les premiers au Canada à pouvoir être reconnus pour le travail et les progrès qu’ils font en vue de promouvoir l’EDI.

Établissements participants

  • Camosun College (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Holland College (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
  • Lethbridge College (Alberta)
  • Mohawk College (Ontario)
  • Mount Saint Vincent University (Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Toronto Metropolitan University (anciennement Ryerson University) (Ontario)
  • Sheridan College (Ontario)
  • Simon Fraser University (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Université Laval (Québec)
  • University of British Columbia (Colombie-Britannique)
  • University of Calgary (Alberta)
  • Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (Nouveau-Brunswick)
  • Université d’Ottawa (Ontario)
  • University of Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan)
  • University of Winnipeg (Manitoba)
  • Vancouver Island University (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Wilfrid Laurier University (Ontario)

Sélection des établissements pour le programme pilote

Un processus de sélection fondé sur l’évaluation de lettres d’intention a été utilisé pour déterminer les établissements qui allaient participer au programme pilote. Pour en savoir plus, consultez le Rapport sur le processus d’évaluation des lettres d’intention.

Comité de spécialistes chargé de la conception du programme

Le mandat du Comité de spécialistes chargé de la conception du programme était de fournir une expertise en matière d’EDI tout au long de l’élaboration du programme pilote Dimensions. Le Comité a examiné le contenu, le langage utilisé et l’approche en matière d’EDI dans les diverses sections du guide du programme et dans d’autres documents, tout au long de leur élaboration, et a donné ses commentaires. Le guide du programme et les autres documents ont été élaborés en collaboration par le personnel des trois organismes, les établissements de la cohorte et les établissements affiliés au programme Dimensions. Les membres du Comité ont été choisis selon une approche axée sur la représentativité : ils proviennent de diverses régions du Canada, d’établissements de tailles et de types variés, et de divers groupes privés d’équité.

Membres du Comité

Logos tri-agences

Coordonnées

Dimensions
dimensionsedi@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

CRSNG
Équité, diversité et inclusion

nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

CRSH
Équité, diversité et inclusion

equity-equite@sshrc-crsh.gc.ca

IRSC
Équité, diversité et inclusion

edi@cihr-irsc.gc.ca

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram