Tri-Agency Financial Administration


Frequently asked questions

On this page


What makes the 2019 Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration (TAGFA) different from the 2017 Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide (TAFAG)?

The TAGFA offers distinct roles and responsibilities for the Agencies, the institutions and the grant recipients. The focus is on principles and directives rather than requirements; it allows an enhanced responsiveness to the evolving research environment, reduces the administrative burden for institutions and grant recipients and offers clearer and more consistent guidance from the Agencies.

Why did the Tri-agency decide to move to a principles-based approach for financial administration?

The purpose of the principle-based approach was to streamline and simplify the administration and use of grant funds, and move to a less directive and burdensome approach for institutions and grant recipients. The project was initiated partly in response to feedback from stakeholders regarding the inefficiencies and unnecessary burden imposed by the existing financial administration guide and to support harmonization efforts within the Tri-agency.

When does the TAGFA take effect?

There were twelve institutions involved in piloting the new guide in late 2018. For these institutions, listed below, the Guide took effect on November 1, 2019:

  • Brock University
  • Cape Breton University
  • Dalhousie University
  • McMaster University
  • Sick Kids Hospital
  • Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Université Laval
  • University of Alberta
  • University of British Columbia
  • Waterloo University
  • Western University
  • York University

The Guide will take effect for all other eligible (non-pilot) administering institutions on April 1, 2020. This transition period (until April 2020) will provide the onboarding institutions time to conduct a policy gap analysis, develop their internal communications plan and fully understand and prepare to implement the Guide.

Stakeholders from pilot and non-pilot institutions alike are encouraged to read the full Guide carefully and to participate in information sessions provided by the Tri-agency, as well as training opportunities provided by their administering institution.

What are my responsibilities now as a grant recipient? Or as an administering institution/research administrator?

The general roles and responsibilities of each party are outlined on a separate page. It should be noted, however, that each directive in the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration includes specific roles and responsibilities for grant recipients and for administering institutions. Stakeholders are therefore encouraged to read the full Guide carefully and to participate in information sessions provided by the Tri-agency or training opportunities provided by their administering institution.

How should I determine if an item or service is an eligible expense that may be purchased with grant funds?

It is a shared responsibility between the grant recipient and the administering institution to assess the eligibility of the expenditure. The four key principles on the “appropriate use of grant funds” outlined in the Guide need to be applied to determine the feasibility and viability of the expense.
Grant expenditures must:

  • contribute towards the direct costs of the research/activities for which the funds were awarded, with benefits directly attributable to the grant
  • not be provided by the administering institution to their research personnel
  • be effective and economical
  • not result in personal gain for members of the research team

A guidance tool is currently being developed and will be available by April 1, 2020. In the meantime, grant holders are also encouraged to participate in information sessions provided by the Tri-agency or training opportunities provided by their administering institution.

What makes an expense “effective and economical?”

An expense is deemed “effective and economical” when it achieves the intended outcome with due regard for minimizing cost by avoiding unnecessary expense. This means the expenditure is considered an optimal use of the funds, which may not necessarily mean the “lowest cost.”

For example, an unnecessary expense may occur when an item or service, no matter how cheap or expensive, is ineffective in achieving the intended outcome (i.e., it ends up creating undue burden on the funded activities by causing research delays, additional expenses, lost time and/or effort due to overly burdensome administration, etc.).

How does the Tri-agency define “personal gain?”

The concept of “personal gain” refers to using grant funds to serve an individual’s interests or attain a personal advantage and/or profit that outweighs the benefit to the grant-funded research/activities.

If an item or service was an eligible expense under the 2017 Tri-Agency Financial Administration Guide, is it still an appropriate use of grant funds under the TAGFA?

If the item or service respects the four key principles and the directives as outlined in the TAGFA, the expense would continue to be an appropriate use of grant funds (i.e., eligible).

Where should I go if I have questions?

The grant recipient’s main point of contact for questions is their administering institution. The grant recipient should therefore contact their institution representative instead of getting in touch with the relevant agency directly.

The administering institution’s main point of contact for questions is the relevant agency (i.e., either CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC—whichever agency issued the grant in question). The administering institution can get in touch with the agency via email:

Tri-agency logos

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Administration financière des trois organismes


Foire aux questions

Sur cette page


En quoi le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes (GAFTO) de 2019 diffère-t-il de sa version de 2017.

Le GAFTO prévoit des responsabilités et des rôles distincts pour les organismes, les établissements et les titulaires de subvention. L’accent y est mis sur des principes et des directives plutôt que sur des exigences, ce qui permet de mieux tenir compte du contexte changeant de la recherche, réduit le fardeau administratif des établissements et des titulaires de subvention, et guide les établissements de façon plus claire et uniforme.

Pourquoi les trois organismes ont-ils décidé d’adopter une approche d’administration financière fondée sur des principes?

Le but de l’approche fondée sur des principes était de rationaliser et de simplifier l’administration et l’utilisation des subventions et d’adopter une approche moins normative et moins lourde pour les établissements et les titulaires de subvention. Le projet a été lancé, en partie, en réponse aux commentaires des intervenants au sujet des inefficiences du Guide d’administration financière existant et du fardeau inutile qu’il imposait, et en appui aux efforts d’harmonisation des trois organismes.

Quand le GAFTO entre-t-il en vigueur?

Douze établissements ont participé à la mise à l’essai du nouveau guide à la fin de 2018. Pour les établissements, énumérés ci‑après, le guide est entré en vigueur le 1er novembre 2019 :

  • Université Brock
  • Université du Cap-Breton
  • Université Dalhousie
  • Université McMaster
  • Hôpital pour enfants de Toronto
  • Université du Québec à Montréal
  • Université Laval
  • Université de l’Alberta
  • Université de la Colombie-Britannique
  • Université de Waterloo
  • Université Western
  • Université York

Le guide entrera en vigueur dans tous les autres établissements administrateurs admissibles (n’ayant pas participé à la mise à l’essai) le 1er avril 2020. Cette période de transition (jusqu’à avril 2020) laissera du temps aux établissements pour analyser les lacunes de leurs politiques, élaborer leurs propres plans de communication, pleinement comprendre le contenu, et se préparer à mettre en œuvre le guide.

Les intervenants des établissements qui ont participé ou non à la mise à l’essai sont encouragés à lire attentivement le guide au complet et à participer aux séances d’information organisées par les trois organismes et aux possibilités de formation offertes par leur établissement administrateur.

Quelles sont mes responsabilités maintenant comme titulaire d’une subvention? Ou comme établissement administrateur ou administrateur de la recherche?

Les rôles et responsabilités de chaque partie sont énoncés dans une page distincte. Il importe de noter, toutefois, que chaque directive dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes détaille des responsabilités et des rôles particuliers pour les titulaires de subvention et les établissements administrateurs. Les intervenants sont donc encouragés à lire attentivement le guide au complet et à participer aux séances d’information organisées par les trois organismes ou aux possibilités de formation offertes par leur établissement administrateur.

Comment dois-je déterminer si un article ou un service représente une dépense admissible pouvant être faite à même la subvention?

Il incombe au titulaire de subvention et à l’établissement administrateur de déterminer l’admissibilité de la dépense. Les quatre grands principes énoncés dans le guide qui régissent l’« utilisation appropriée des subventions » doivent être appliqués pour déterminer la faisabilité et la viabilité d’une dépense.

Les dépenses sur la subvention :

  • doivent s’inscrire dans les coûts directs de la recherche ou des activités pour lesquelles les fonds ont été alloués et engendrer des avantages directement attribuables à la subvention;
  • ne doivent pas être prises en charge par l’établissement pour son personnel de recherche;
  • doivent respecter les principes d’efficacité et d’économie;
  • ne doivent procurer aucun gain personnel aux membres de l’équipe de recherche.

Un outil de guidage est en cours d’élaboration et sera disponible d’ici au 1er avril 2020. Entre‑temps, les titulaires de subvention sont aussi encouragés à lire attentivement le guide au complet et à participer aux séances d’information organisées par les trois organismes ou aux possibilités de formation offertes par leur établissement administrateur.

Qu’est-ce qui rend une dépense « efficace et judicieuse »?

Une dépense est considérée comme « efficace et judicieuse » lorsqu’elle permet d’atteindre les résultats désirés en prenant soin de limiter les coûts par l’évitement des dépenses inutiles. Il s’agit d’une utilisation optimale des fonds, ce qui ne signifie pas nécessairement d’acheter au coût « le plus bas ».

Par exemple, une dépense inutile peut survenir quand un article ou un service, peu importe son coût, ne permet pas d’atteindre efficacement le résultat désiré (c’est-à-dire qu’il en découle un fardeau indu sur les activités financées comme des retards,  des dépenses supplémentaires, des pertes de temps ou d’efforts en raison de la lourdeur du fardeau administratif).

Comment les trois organismes définissent‑ils la notion de « profit personnel »?

La notion de « profit personnel » renvoie à l’utilisation d’une subvention pour servir les intérêts d’une personne ou obtenir un avantage personnel ou un profit qui l’emporte sur les avantages pour la recherche ou les activités financées par la subvention.

Si un article ou un service représentait une dépense admissible dans le Guide d’administration financière de 2017, est‑il encore une dépense admissible dans le GAFTO?

Si l’article ou le service répond aux quatre grands principes et aux directives énoncés dans le GAFTO, la dépense continuera de représenter une utilisation appropriée des subventions (soit une dépense admissible).

À qui dois-je adresser mes questions?

Le titulaire de subvention doit adresser ses questions d’abord à son établissement administrateur. Il doit donc contacter son établissement avant de s’adresser directement à l’organisme concerné.

L’établissement administrateur doit adresser ses questions à l’organisme concerné (les IRSC, le CRSNG ou le CRSH, soit l’organisme qui a versé la subvention). L’établissement administrateur peut contacter l’organisme par courriel :

Tri-agency logos

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram