Tri-Agency Financial Administration


Roles and responsibilities

The sound stewardship of agency funds relies on collaboration and common understanding between the Agencies, administering institutions, and grant recipients of their respective roles and responsibilities. The following list provides an overview of these responsibilities, but each directive noted in the Tri-Agency Guide on Financial Administration (“TAGFA” or “the Guide”) includes specific roles and responsibilities for grant recipients and administering institutions that may expand on the information noted below. All stakeholders are therefore encouraged to read the full Guide carefully and to participate in information sessions provided by the Tri-agency or training opportunities provided by their administering institution.

Grant recipients

Generally, grant recipients:

  • are expected to conduct their research in a manner that adheres to the Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research
  • hold the authority to use the grant funds in accordance with the Tri-agency’s principles and directives as outlined in the TAGFA
  • are responsible for authorizing* grant expenditures and any charges or adjustments made to the grant recipient’s grant account

*Only the grant recipient can delegate their authority to use grant funds to others. Similarly, only grant recipients or individuals duly delegated by grant recipients are able to authorize grant expenditures or other charges to the recipient’s grant account.

Administering institutions

The administering institution maintains control of the grant funds, disburses salaries and other expenditures authorized by the grant recipient or their delegate, and provides periodic statements to the grant recipient and to the Agency on the status of grant funds. Specific roles and responsibilities are outlined in the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions, the program and funding opportunity literature and relevant agency agreements.

Generally, research administrators/administering institutions:

  • develop and implement effective policies, administrative systems, procedures and controls to ensure that all activities funded by an agency are conducted in compliance with legislated requirements, agency policies and procedures and other grant funding agreements
  • monitor the eligibility of their recipients throughout the term of the grant and advise the relevant agency immediately of any change in the eligibility status of an applicant or recipient
  • withhold or withdraw approval of expenditures that contravene an agency or institutional policy or the terms and conditions of the grant
  • provide training to staff and grant holders on the institution’s policies and practices with respect to tri-agency grant administration
  • provide adequate physical and organizational infrastructure for the conduct of research research training, and other funded activities
  • oversee and submit grant amendments to the relevant agency
  • keep complete and accurate records to:
    • report on the use of agency funding, including verifiable audit trails with complete supporting documentation for each transaction, for at least seven years
    • report on the use of the grant funds annually

Note: There is no discretion—for grant recipients or research administrators/administering institutions—to depart from the principles and directives outlined in the Guide; however, if the Guide is silent on a specific subject, the administering institution’s pronouncements will apply.

The Tri-agency

Specific roles and responsibilities are outlined in the Agreement on the Administration of Agency Grants and Awards by Research Institutions, the program and funding opportunity literature and relevant agency agreements. Generally, however, the Tri-agency:

  • sets out the terms and conditions governing the administration of grants by the institution
  • communicates and consults with the institution on the introduction of new policies or changes to its existing policies that may have a significant impact on the institution, to the extent reasonably possible
  • makes funds available, in a timely manner, to grant recipients
  • conducts periodic reviews of the use and administration of grant funds
  • oversees approval of changes to grant administration that have financial implications for the Agency
  • has the right to terminate a grant when agency requirements can no longer be met

More information

The grant recipient’s main point of contact for questions is their administering institution. The grant recipient should therefore contact the appropriate representative at their institution instead of getting in touch with the relevant agency directly.

The administering institution’s main point of contact for questions is the relevant agency (i.e., either CIHR, NSERC or SSHRC—whichever agency issued the grant in question). The administering institution can contact the agency via email:

Tri-agency logos

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Administration financière des trois organismes


Rôles et responsabilités

La saine gestion des fonds de l’organisme repose sur la collaboration entre les organismes, les établissements administrateurs et les titulaires de subvention, ainsi que sur une interprétation commune de leurs responsabilités et rôles respectifs. Un aperçu de ces responsabilités est donné ci-après, mais chaque directive dans le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes (« le GAFTO » ou « le guide ») comprend des responsabilités et des rôles particuliers pour les titulaires de subvention et les établissements administrateurs qui peuvent compléter l’information qui suit. Tous les intervenants sont donc encouragés à lire attentivement le guide au complet et à participer aux séances d’information organisées par les trois organismes ou aux possibilités de formation offertes par leur établissement administrateur.

Titulaires de subvention

En général, les titulaires de subvention :

*Seul le titulaire de subvention peut déléguer à d’autres le pouvoir d’utiliser sa subvention. De même, seuls les titulaires de subvention ou les personnes dûment déléguées par eux peuvent autoriser des dépenses à même la subvention ou d’autres frais portés au compte de subvention du titulaire.

Établissements administrateurs

L’établissement administrateur conserve le contrôle des fonds de subvention, verse les salaires et paye les autres dépenses autorisées par le titulaire ou son délégué, en plus de fournir périodiquement des états de compte de subvention au titulaire et à l’organisme subventionnaire. Les rôles et les responsabilités particuliers sont énoncés dans l’Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche, la documentation relative au programme ou à la possibilité de financement et les ententes avec les organismes compétents.

En général, les administrateurs de la recherche ou établissements administrateurs :

  • Élaborent et mettent en œuvre des politiques, des systèmes administratifs, des procédures et des contrôles efficaces, de manière à s’assurer que les activités financées par un organisme sont menées conformément aux exigences établies par la loi, aux politiques et procédures de l’organisme, ainsi qu’aux autres ententes de subvention;
  • Surveillent l’admissibilité de leurs titulaires pendant toute la durée de la subvention et en informent l’organisme compétent sans tarder si l’admissibilité d’un candidat ou titulaire change;
  • Refusent ou retirent l’approbation des dépenses qui contreviennent à une politique de l’organisme ou aux conditions de la subvention;
  • Offrent une formation au personnel et aux titulaires de subvention sur les politiques et les pratiques de l’établissement qui s’appliquent à l’administration des subventions des trois organismes;
  • Fournissent une infrastructure matérielle et organisationnelle adéquate pour les travaux de recherche, la formation en recherche et autres activités financées;
  • Supervisent et soumettent des modifications à la subvention à l’organisme compétent;
  • Tiennent des dossiers exacts et complets pour :
    • Rendre compte de l’utilisation des fonds de l’organisme, ce qui comprend des pistes d’audit vérifiables avec des documents justificatifs complets pour chaque transaction, pendant  au moins sept ans;
    • Rendre compte chaque année de l’utilisation de la subvention.

Remarque : Les titulaires de subvention ou les administrateurs de la recherche ou établissements administrateurs ne peuvent déroger aux principes et aux directives énoncés dans le guide; toutefois, si le guide est muet sur un sujet particulier, les décisions de l’établissement administrateur s’appliqueront.

Les trois organismes

Les responsabilités et les rôles particuliers sont énoncés dans l’Entente sur l’administration des subventions et des bourses des organismes par les établissements de recherche, la documentation relative au programme ou à la possibilité de financement et les ententes pertinentes de l’organisme. De façon générale, toutefois, l’organisme :

  • énonce les conditions générales régissant l’administration des subventions par l’établissement;
  • dans la mesure du possible, communique avec l’établissement et le consulte au sujet de l’adoption de nouvelles politiques ou de modifications à ses politiques existantes qui pourraient avoir des conséquences importantes pour l’établissement;
  • met les fonds à la disposition des titulaires de subvention en temps utile;
  • procède à des examens périodiques de l’utilisation et de l’administration des subventions;
  • supervise l’approbation des changements à l’administration des subventions qui ont des conséquences financières pour l’organisme;
  • a le droit de mettre fin à une subvention lorsque les exigences de l’organisme ne peuvent plus être respectées.

Renseignements supplémentaires

Le titulaire de subvention doit adresser ses questions d’abord à son établissement administrateur. Il doit donc contacter son établissement avant de s’adresser directement à l’organisme concerné.

L’établissement administrateur doit adresser ses questions à l’organisme concerné (les IRSC, le CRSNG ou le CRSH, soit l’organisme qui a versé la subvention). L’établissement administrateur peut contacter l’organisme par courriel :

Tri-agency logos

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram