Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships

Winner

Robert Schober

Electrical and Computer Engineering

The University of British Columbia


Profile

At any given time, on any given day, billions of people around the world are using wireless devices simultaneously, creating relentless pressure to increase the efficiency of wireless communications networks.

Robert Schober, professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of British Columbia, has made world-leading contributions to helping ensure that network capacity keeps up with the demand for services. His theoretical and applied research has helped set new standards for the wireless industry and has earned him a 2012 E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowship from NSERC.

Dr. Schober’s latest research efforts build on the growing trend towards designing co-operative wireless networks. This challenges traditional approaches to network design, which assume communication can take place only between specified points, or “nodes,” in the network. For example, signals travel from a mobile phone to a base station, and then to another mobile phone. Dr. Schober and his team hope to extend capacity by making it possible for all mobile phones in a network to function as transmission relays. If successful, this work would vastly increase the number of possible channels available to transmit information, and once again revolutionize the international wireless communications industry.

This is the latest innovation in a string of recent successes realized by Dr. Schober. For instance, in 2001, he helped develop and commercialize a single-antenna interference cancellation (SAIC) software process. Now found in millions of mobile phones around the world, SAIC significantly reduces the interference caused by signals from other channels on a network that affect voice quality and lead to dropped calls. It spurred a major overhaul of the entire Global System for Mobile Communications, the most widely used mobile communication system in the world.

People Discovery Innovation

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie

Lauréat

Robert Schober

Génie électrique et informatique

The University of British Columbia


Profil

Tous les jours, à n’importe quelle heure, des milliards de personnes des quatre coins du monde utilisent simultanément des appareils sans fil, créant une pression constante sur la nécessité d’accroître l’efficacité des réseaux de communication sans fil.

Grâce en partie aux contributions de calibre mondial de Robert Schober, professeur de génie électrique et informatique à la University of British Columbia, la capacité des réseaux peut suivre la demande de services. Ses travaux de recherche théorique et appliquée ont contribué à l’établissement de nouvelles normes pour l’industrie du sans fil et lui ont valu une Bourse commémorative E.W.R. Steacie de 2012 du CRSNG.

Les plus récents travaux de recherche de M. Schober sont inspirés de la tendance grandissante vers la conception de réseaux de collaboration sans fil. Cela remet en question les méthodes traditionnelles de conception des réseaux, qui supposent que la communication peut avoir lieu uniquement entre des points précis – ou des nœuds – du réseau (p. ex., entre un téléphone mobile et une station de base et entre la station de base et un autre téléphone mobile). Avec son équipe, M. Schober espère accroître la capacité en faisant en sorte que tous les téléphones mobiles d’un réseau puissent fonctionner comme des relais de transmission. Si les travaux donnent les résultats escomptés, ils augmenteront grandement le nombre de canaux offerts pour transmettre l’information et, encore une fois, révolutionneront l’industrie internationale des communications sans fil.

Il s’agit de la dernière innovation parmi la série des réussites récentes de M. Schober. Ainsi, en 2001, celui–ci a contribué à l’élaboration et à la commercialisation d’un processus logiciel pour l’annulation d’interférence d’antenne unique (single-antenna interference cancellation ou SAIC). Ce processus logiciel a été installé dans des millions de téléphones mobiles partout dans le monde et réduit considérablement le brouillage causé par les signaux provenant des autres canaux d’un réseau qui affecte la qualité de la voix et qui interrompt les appels. Il a favorisé le remaniement majeur de tout le système mondial pour communication avec les mobiles – le système de communication mobile le plus utilisé dans le monde.