Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Anne Condon

Anne Condon

Dr. Anne Condon (Ph.D. Computer Science, University of Washington; B.Sc. Mathematics and Computer Science, University College Cork) is a Professor, Department of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia (UBC). She was previously the Head, Department of Computer Science at UBC and worked for several years at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Dr. Condon’s research interests are in computational complexity theory, design of algorithms and their applications in bioinformatics, biomolecular computation, hardware verification, and combinatorial auctions. Her work focuses on prediction of the secondary structure and kinetics of nucleic acids from the base sequence, as well as applications of prediction tools to design of biomolecules. She has collaborated in the development of algorithms and biophysical models that have improved the efficiency and accuracy of state-of-the-art methods for nucleic acid secondary structure and kinetics prediction.

She has worked on several projects to support women in science and received the 2010 Computing Research Association’s Habermann Award for outstanding contributions aimed at increasing the numbers and successes of women in computing research. Over her career, she has presented at numerous national and international conferences, received many awards and distinctions including induction as Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, and has over 120 research publications and one book.

Dr. Condon has served on multiple national and international advisory boards, committees, and editorships. She is currently a member of the International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering; and a Chair of the Steering Committee for the International Conference on DNA Computing and Molecular Programming.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Anne Condon

Anne Condon

Anne Condon (doctorat en informatique, University of Washington; baccalauréat en mathématiques et en informatique, University College Cork) est professeure au Département d’informatique de la University of British Columbia (UBC). Elle a occupé le poste de directrice du Département d’informatique de la UBC et a travaillé pendant plusieurs années à la University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Dans le cadre de ses travaux de recherche, Mme Condon s’intéresse à la théorie de la complexité, à la conception d’algorithmes et à leurs applications en bio-informatique, au calcul biomoléculaire, à la vérification matérielle et aux enchères combinatoires. Ses travaux de recherche portent principalement sur la prédiction de la structure secondaire et de la cinétique des acides nucléiques à partir de la séquence de base, ainsi que sur les applications des outils de prédiction à la conception des biomolécules. Elle a collaboré à l’élaboration d’algorithmes et de modèles biophysiques qui ont amélioré l’efficacité et l’exactitude de méthodes de pointe pour la prédiction de la structure secondaire et de la cinétique des acides nucléiques.

Elle a travaillé à plusieurs projets qui appuient les femmes en sciences et, en 2010, elle a reçu le prix Habermann de la Computing Research Association pour sa contribution exceptionnelle visant à accroitre le nombre de chercheuses en informatique et à favoriser leur réussite. Au cours de sa carrière, elle a présenté des exposés à de nombreuses conférences nationales et internationales et a reçu de nombreux prix et distinctions; elle a notamment été élue membre de la Société royale du Canada. En outre, elle a publié plus de 120 articles de recherche et un livre.

Mme Condon a siégé à de nombreux comités consultatifs nationaux et internationaux et, notamment, à des comités de rédaction. Elle est membre de l’International Society for Nanoscale Science, Computation and Engineering et présidente du Comité de direction de l’International Conference on DNA Computing and Molecular Programming.