Equity, Diversity and Inclusion


Dimensions

Pilot program

The Dimensions program is intended to publicly recognize post-secondary institutions seeking to increase equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in their environments and across the research ecosystem. The program objective is to foster transformational change within the research community at Canadian post-secondary institutions by identifying and eliminating obstacles and inequities. This will support equitable access to funding opportunities, increase equitable and inclusive participation, and embed EDI-related considerations in research design and practices.

To receive recognition through this program, institutions will be inclusive of underrepresented or disadvantaged groups, including but not limited to: women, Indigenous Peoples, persons with disabilities, members of visible minorities/racialized groups, and members of LGBTQ2+ communities, as well as individuals who identify as, or belong to, more than one of these groups. Participation is voluntary and no funding is attached.

Participating institutions have a unique opportunity to be among the first in Canada to be recognized for their efforts and progress made to advance EDI in the research ecosystem. They are also expected to help further develop the program’s design and delivery by providing relevant feedback to the Tri-agency Dimensions team. Staff of the three federal granting agencies will provide support throughout the pilot process over approximately two years as the institutions prepare their full applications to obtain formal recognition.


First ever pilot cohort

Starting in September 2019, 17 Canadian post-secondary institutions will each develop a self-assessment team to coordinate the EDI data collection, analysis and action planning as part of the pilot program. They will benefit from workshops and guidance from EDI experts. During the pilot stage, quantitative and qualitative EDI data must be collected and analyzed, and an in-depth reflective assessment of the institution’s systems, practices and culture will be performed. This will lead to the development of an action plan with goals based on identified gaps, barriers and trends.


Participating institutions

  • Camosun College (British Columbia)
  • Holland College (Prince Edward Island)
  • Lethbridge College (Alberta)
  • Mohawk College (Ontario)
  • Mount Saint Vincent University (Nova Scotia)
  • Ryerson University (Ontario)
  • Sheridan College (Ontario)
  • Simon Fraser University (British Columbia)
  • Université Laval (Québec)
  • University of British Columbia (British Columbia)
  • University of Calgary (Alberta)
  • University of New Brunswick (New Brunswick)
  • University of Ottawa (Ontario)
  • University of Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan)
  • University of Winnipeg (Manitoba)
  • Vancouver Island University (British Columbia)
  • Wilfrid Laurier University (Ontario)

Tri-agency logos

Contact

Equity, diversity and inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Équité, diversité et inclusion


Dimensions

Pilote

Le programme pilote Dimensions vise à reconnaitre publiquement les établissements qui tentent d’accroitre l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) dans leur environnement et dans l’ensemble de l’écosystème de la recherche. L’objectif du programme est de provoquer une transformation en invitant les établissements postsecondaires canadiens à repérer et à éliminer les obstacles et les iniquités. Ce faisant, ils assurent un accès équitable aux possibilités de financement, favorisent l’inclusion et la participation équitable dans le milieu de la recherche et facilitent l’intégration des principes d’EDI dans la conception des programmes de recherche et les pratiques.

Pour être reconnus par le programme Dimensions, les établissements doivent favoriser l’inclusion des groupes sous-représentés, incluant, sans s’y limiter, les femmes, les peuples autochtones, les personnes en situation de handicap ainsi que les membres de minorités visibles, de groupes racisés et de la communauté LGBTQ2+, de même que les personnes qui appartiennent à plusieurs de ces groupes ou s’identifient à plus d’un de ces groupes. La participation au programme est volontaire, et aucun financement ne s’y rattache.

Les établissements participants ont la chance exceptionnelle d’être parmi les premiers au Canada à être reconnus pour le travail et les progrès qu’ils font en vue de promouvoir l’EDI. Ils seront aussi appelés à contribuer au développement du programme Dimensions en faisant part de leurs commentaires à l’équipe des trois organismes chargée de la mise en œuvre de celui-ci. Pendant le programme pilote, qui durera environ deux ans, le personnel des trois organismes fournira un soutien aux établissements qui prépareront leur demande en vue d’obtenir la reconnaissance de leurs efforts.


La première cohorte du programme pilote

À partir de septembre 2019, chacun des 17 établissements postsecondaires canadiens participant au programme pilote mettra sur pied l’équipe qui sera chargée de l’autoévaluation, laquelle coordonnera la collecte et l’analyse des données sur l’EDI ainsi que la planification des mesures à prendre dans le cadre du programme pilote. Les établissements de la cohorte pourront bénéficier des ateliers et des conseils donnés par des spécialistes de l’EDI. Pendant la durée du programme pilote, les établissements doivent recueillir et analyser des données qualitatives et quantitatives et effectuer une évaluation approfondie et rigoureuse de leurs pratiques, de leurs systèmes et de leur culture. Ce travail permettra d’établir un plan d’action en fonction des lacunes, des obstacles et des tendances qui auront été constatés.


Établissements participants

  • Camosun College (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Holland College (Île-du-Prince-Édouard)
  • Lethbridge College (Alberta)
  • Mohawk College (Ontario)
  • Mount Saint Vincent University (Nouvelle-Écosse)
  • Ryerson University (Ontario)
  • Sheridan College (Ontario)
  • Simon Fraser University (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Université Laval (Québec)
  • University of British Columbia (Colombie-Britannique)
  • University of Calgary (Alberta)
  • Université du Nouveau-Brunswick (Nouveau-Brunswick)
  • Université d’Ottawa (Ontario)
  • University of Saskatchewan (Saskatchewan)
  • University of Winnipeg (Manitoba)
  • Vancouver Island University (Colombie-Britannique)
  • Wilfrid Laurier University (Ontario)

Logos tri-agences

Coordonnées

Équité, diversité et inclusion
nseequity-equitesng@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Dimensions
DimensionsEDI@nserc-crsng.gc.ca

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram