Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

A planned outage affecting this website and several other NSERC and SSHRC (including TIPS) websites and granting portals will take place from Friday, June 28, 2024, at 4 p.m., until Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 8 a.m. (ET). For more details, visit NSERC or SSHRC/TIPS dedicated webpages.

List of Eligible Institutions

Canadian Universities

Alberta University of the Arts (AUArts)
Athabasca University
Burman University
Concordia University of Edmonton
Grant MacEwan University
Mount Royal University
St. Mary's University
The King’s University
University of Alberta
University of Calgary
University of Lethbridge
British Columbia
British Columbia Institute of Technology
Royal Roads University
Simon Fraser University
The University of British Columbia
Thompson Rivers University
Trinity Western University
University of Northern British Columbia
University of the Fraser Valley
University of Victoria
Vancouver Island University
Brandon University
Canadian Mennonite University
The University of Winnipeg
University of Manitoba
New Brunswick
Mount Allison University
St. Thomas University
Université de Moncton
University of New Brunswick
Newfoundland and Labrador
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Nova Scotia
Acadia University
Cape Breton University
Dalhousie University
Mount Saint Vincent University
NSCAD University
Saint Mary’s University
St. Francis Xavier University
Université Sainte-Anne
Algoma University
Brock University
Carleton University
Lakehead University
Laurentian University
McMaster University
Nipissing University
Ontario College of Art and Design University
Queen’s University
Redeemer University
Royal Military College of Canada
Toronto Metropolitan University
The University of Western Ontario
Trent University
University of Guelph
University of Ontario Institute of Technology
University of Ottawa
University of Toronto
University of Waterloo
University of Windsor
Wilfrid Laurier University
York University
Prince Edward Island
University of Prince Edward Island
Bishop’s University
Concordia University
École de technologie supérieure
École Polytechnique de Montréal
HEC Montréal
Institut national de la recherche scientifique
McGill University
Université de Montréal
Université de Sherbrooke
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi
Université du Québec à Montréal
Université du Québec à Rimouski
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue
Université du Québec en Outaouais
Université Laval
First Nations University
University of Regina
University of Saskatchewan

Canadian Colleges

Please see the list of funding opportunities open to colleges.

Bow Valley College
Keyano College
Lakeland College
Lethbridge College
Medicine Hat College
NorQuest College
Northern Alberta Institute of Technology
Northwestern Polytechnic
Olds College
Portage College
Red Crow Community College
Red Deer Polytechnic
Southern Alberta Institute of Technology
British Columbia
Camosun College
Capilano University*
Coast Mountain College
College of New Caledonia
College of the Rockies
Douglas College
Emily Carr University of Art and Design*
Justice Institute of British Columbia
Kwantlen Polytechnic University*
Langara College
North Island College
Northern Lights College
Okanagan College
Selkirk College
Vancouver Community College
Assiniboine Community College
Red River College of Applied Arts, Science and Technology
Université de Saint-Boniface*
University College of the North
New Brunswick
Collège communautaire du Nouveau-Brunswick
New Brunswick Community College
Newfoundland and Labrador
College of the North Atlantic
Northwest Territories
Aurora College
Nova Scotia
Nova Scotia Community College
Algonquin College
Cambrian College
Canadore College of Applied Arts and Technology
Centennial College
Collège Boréal
Conestoga College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
Confederation College of Applied Arts and Technology
Durham College of Applied Arts and Technology
Fanshawe College of Applied Arts and Technology
George Brown College
Georgian College of Applied Arts and Technology
Humber College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
La Cité collégiale
Lambton College of Applied Arts and Technology
Loyalist College of Applied Arts and Technology
Mohawk College of Applied Arts and Technology
Niagara College
Northern College of Applied Arts and Technology
Sault College of Applied Arts and Technology
Seneca College
Sheridan College Institute of Technology and Advanced Learning
Sir Sandford Fleming College of Applied Arts and Technology
St. Clair College of Applied Arts and Technology
St. Lawrence College
Prince Edward Island
Holland College
Campus Notre-Dame-de-Foy (CNDF)
Cégep André-Laurendeau
Cégep Beauce-Appalaches
Cégep de Baie-Comeau
Cégep de Chicoutimi
Cégep de Drummondville
Cégep de Granby
Cégep de Jonquière
Cégep de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue
Cégep de la Gaspésie et des Îles
Cégep de La Pocatière
Cégep de Lévis
Cégep de l’Outaouais
Cégep de Matane
Cégep de Rimouski
Cégep de Rivière-du-Loup
Cégep de Sainte-Foy
Cégep de Saint-Félicien
Cégep de Saint-Hyacinthe
Cégep de Saint-Jérôme (Campus de Saint-Jérôme)
Cégep de Saint-Laurent
Cégep de Sept-Îles
Cégep de Sherbrooke
Cégep de Shawinigan
Cégep de Sorel-Tracy
Cégep de Thetford
Cégep de Trois-Rivières
Cégep de Victoriaville
Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Cégep Édouard-Montpetit
Cégep Garneau
Cégep Gérald-Godin
Cégep Limoilou
Cégep Marie-Victorin
Cégep régional de Lanaudière
Cégep Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu
Champlain Regional College
Collège Ahuntsic
Collège d'Alma
Collège de Bois-de-Boulogne
Collège de Maisonneuve
Collège de Rosemont
Collège de Valleyfield
Collège Jean-de-Brébeuf
Collège Laflèche
Collège Lionel-Groulx
Collège Mérici
Collège Montmorency
Dawson College
Institut de technologie agroalimentaire
John Abbott College
L’Institut de tourisme et d’hôtellerie du Québec (ITHQ)
TAV College
Vanier College
Great Plains College
Suncrest College (formerly Parkland Regional College)
Saskatchewan Polytechnic
Southeast College
Yukon University*

Affiliated University Research Centres

These organizations have historically been recognized as NSERC-eligible institutions, with special status, on an exceptional basis.

C-CORE (Centre for Cold Ocean Resources Engineering) at the Memorial University of Newfoundland
CRIM (Centre de recherche informatique de Montréal) at the Université de Montréal
TRIUMF (Canada’s national particle accelerator centre)

* The institution has received eligibility under the College status, on an exceptional basis.

This link will take you to another Web site Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Institutional Eligibility Guidelines and Requirements

This link will take you to another Web site List of Canadian Institutes of Health Research Eligible Institutions