NSERC Leaders

The NSERC Leaders network serves as a key point of contact between NSERC and Canadian universities by sharing information on NSERC’s strategic priorities, and policy and program developments. Through regular communication with the network, NSERC Leaders will also help shape policies, plans and activities at NSERC.

The NSERC Leaders network is comprised of representatives from universities across Canada that are eligible to administer NSERC funds for graduate training and research. NSERC Leaders are nominated by the president or senior delegate of their institution to represent the parent and affiliate institutions.

NSERC Leaders and NSERC management meet formally two times a year. Other meetings and consultations may be scheduled, as necessary, throughout the year.

For more information about NSERC Leaders, please email NSERCLeadersCRSNG@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Executive summaries of NSERC Leaders annual meetings

Current NSERC Leaders

Institution Name Title
Acadia University Suzie Currie Dean, Pure and Applied Science
Alberta University of the Arts Rob Stone Associate Dean, Research, Internationalization and Graduate Studies
Athabasca University Shauna Zenteno  Dean, Faculty of Science and Technology
Bishop's University Kerry Hull Associate Vice-Principal, Research and Dean, Natural Sciences and Mathematics
Brandon University Bernadette Ardelli  Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies 
British Columbia Institute of Technology Kim Dotto  Dean, Applied Research and Director, Centre for Applied Research and Innovation
Brock University Michelle McGinn  Associate Vice-President, Research
Burman University Delano S. Lewis Associate Professor, Biology
Canadian Mennonite University Jonathan Dueck Vice-President, Academic
Cape Breton University Tanya Brann-Barrett Associate Vice-President, Academic and Research
Carleton University Prosenjit Bose Chancellor's Professor & Associate Dean (Research and International)
Concordia University Emad Shihab Associate Dean, Research and Innovation
Concordia University of Edmonton Carla Craveiro Salvado Associate Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Dalhousie University Laurent Kreplak Associate Dean, Research, Faculty of Science
École de technologie supérieure Ghyslain Gagnon Dean, Research
First Nations University of Canada Jacqueline Ottmann President
HEC Montréal Caroline Aubé Director, Research and Knowledge Transfer
Institut national de la recherche scientifique François Légaré Director, Énergie Matériaux Télécommunications Research Centre
Lakehead University Shannon Zurevinski. Associate Professor, Graduate and Undergraduate Coordinator
Laurentian University Thomas Merritt Professor, School of Natural Sciences
MacEwan University Craig Kuziemsky Associate Vice-President, Research
McGill University Benoit Boulet Associate Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation
McMaster University John Preston Associate Dean, Research, Innovation and External Relations, Faculty of Engineering
Memorial University of Newfoundland John Hanchar University Research Professor
Mount Allison University Gregory Sandala Director of Research Partnerships
Mount Royal University Connie Van der Byl Associate Professor, Bissett School of Business
Mount Saint Vincent University Jacqueline Gahagan Associate Vice-President, Research 
Nipissing University April James Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator
NSCAD University Ann-Barbara Graff Vice-President, Academic and Research
Ontario College of Art and Design University Alexis Morris  Assistant Professor, Faculty of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Ontario Technology University Les Jacobs Vice-President, Research and Innovation
Polytechnique Montréal François Bertrand Director, Research and Innovation Directorate
Queen’s University Brian Amsden Associate Vice-Principal Research
Redeemer University Kevin Vander Meulen Director, Research 
Royal Roads University Matt Dodd Professor, School of Environment and Sustainability
Saint Mary’s University Adam Sarty  Associate Vice-President, Research, Dean of Graduate Studies and Research
Simon Fraser University Daniel Leznoff  Professor and Undergraduate Program Chair
St. Francis Xavier University Richard Isnor Associate Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies
St. Mary's University Gary Grothman Assistant Professor, Biology
St. Thomas University Peter Toner  Associate Vice-President, Research
TÉLUQ Martin Toussaint Director, Research Services
The University of British Columbia Purang Abolmaesumi Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
The University of Western Ontario Miriam Capretz Associate Dean, Research
The University of Winnipeg Melanie Martin Professor, Physics
Thompson Rivers University Heather Price  Professor, Psychology
Toronto Metropolitan University David Cramb Dean, Faculty of Science  
Trent University Rayf Shiell Associate Professor, Physics and Astronomy
Trinity Western University Richard Chandra Associate Provost, Research
Université de Moncton Francis LeBlanc Associate Vice-President, Research, and Dean, Graduate Studies and Research
Université de Montréal Luc Stafford Professor, Physics
Université de Sherbrooke Patrice Rivard Professor, Faculty of Engineering
Université du Québec  Etienne Carbonneau Director, Research and Internationalization Support
Université du Québec à Chicoutimi Mohamed Bouazara Vice-President, Research, Creation and Innovation
Université du Québec à Montréal Christian Edem Kokou Agbobli Vice-President, Research, Creation and Dissemination
Université du Québec à Rimouski Pietro-Luciano Buono Dean, Research
Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières Sébastien Charles Vice-President, Research and Development
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue Louis Imbeau  Dean, Research and Creation
Université du Québec en Outaouais Adel El Zaïm Vice-President for Research, Creation, Partnerships and Internationalization
Université Laval Luc Beaulieu Professor, Physics
Université Sainte-Anne Martine Béland Vice-President, Academics and Research
University of Alberta Andre McDonald Associate Vice-President, Strategic Research Initiatives and Performance
University of Calgary Robert Thompson Associate Vice-President, Research
University of Guelph Beverley (Bev) Hale Associate Vice-President, Research (Agri-Food Partnership)
University of Lethbridge Trushar Patel Associate Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
University of Manitoba Gail Davoren Professor, Biological Sciences
University of New Brunswick Kevin Englehart Associate Dean, School of Graduate Studies
University of Northern British Columbia Kathy Lewis Interim Dean, Faculty of Environment
University of Ottawa Guy Levesque Associate Vice-President, Research Support and Infrastructure
University of Prince Edward Island Rabin Bissessur Professor, Chemistry
University of Regina Kathryn Bethune Professor, Geology
University of Saskatchewan Ron Borowsky Professor, Neuroscience
University of the Fraser Valley Garry Fehr Associate Vice-President, Research and Graduate Studies
University of Toronto Mark Lautens Professor, Chemistry
University of Victoria Julia Baum Professor, Biology
University of Waterloo Anita Layton Professor, Applied Mathematics
University of Windsor Trevor Pitcher Professor, Biology
Vancouver Island University Nicole Vaugeois Associate Vice-President, Scholarship, Research and Creative Activity
Wilfrid Laurier University Jonathan Newman Vice-President, Research 
York University Amir Asif Vice-President, Research and Innovation

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram