NSERC 2030: A Strategic Plan


Discussion papers

Supporting equity, diversity and inclusion in the research community

This document is one of a series of discussion papers generated by NSERC staff to foster discussion during the development of the NSERC 2030 strategic plan. Items presented do not represent policy directions; they are meant to elicit discussion among NSERC’s stakeholders. Similarly, all themes discussed in these papers are cost-neutral: they would not require new program funding or cuts to existing programming in order to fund new initiatives.

On this page


Overview

The Canadian population is particularly diverse. Yet underrepresentation of women, Indigenous Peoples, many racialized groups, people with disabilities and members of the LGBTQ2+ communities persists across the natural sciences and engineering.

NSERC is already committed to a “diversified and competitive research base” (NSERC, 2020). Since 2018, many of its activities to promote equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) have been guided by the Tri-Agency EDI Action Plan, which aims to ensure fair access to research support and equitable participation in the research system (Tri-Agency, 2018).

Similarly, the 2021 Council of Canadian Academies (CCA) report Powering Discovery identified various practices that funders can adopt to support EDI, which span from increased outreach, mentoring and guidance in obtaining funding, to double-blind peer review and broadening funding criteria, to setting diversity targets (CCA, 2021). The report also examined the impact of institution-based “charter programs” such as the Tri-Agency (NSERC, the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council [SSHRC] and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research [CIHR]) pilot program Dimensions, noting these programs’ beneficial impact, particularly if they are accompanied by funding to assist institutions in sustaining their efforts.

The report also touched on barriers related to family commitments, which was also emphasized by many respondents to the NSERC 2030 survey. Concerns related to work-life balance were frequently mentioned in response to open-ended questions on the challenges researchers face. Moreover, many respondents underscored the notion of “economic accessibility” to research careers, i.e., the value of stipends or awards through prolonged stages of training.


Opportunities, risks and strategic considerations

Currently, NSERC’s EDI efforts are focused on:

  • Equity as ensuring fairness in processes for allocating resources, eliminating discrimination based on identity and ensuring, to the best degree possible, equal opportunities
  • Diversity, involving concerted efforts to ensure inclusion of diverse populations relative to identities such as gender, sexual orientation, Indigenous status, disability, race, ethnicity, language and other attributes
  • Inclusion, ensuring, in a given environment, that all people are respected equitably and have access to the same opportunities; identifying and removing barriers that inhibit natural science and engineering (NSE) researchers’ participation and contribution
  • Accessibility, through the removal of barriers (e.g., architectural or technological) that hinder participation of persons with disabilities

Accessibility is often being added to EDI, resulting in the acronym IDEA.

These concepts have two broad implications. First, regarding diversity, NSERC aims to attain a proportion of funded researchers that is representative of the Canadian population. Data analyses indicate there are notable variations in representation of the four self-identification groups for which data are now available relative to the Canadian population.

Moreover, there are important variations across career stages (doctorate versus postdoctoral fellow versus faculty) and differences between programs (Discovery grants versus Alliance grants). Disaggregated data reveal important variations within these four groups, particularly as individuals may belong to more than one group, and may face cumulative discriminatory barriers, which an intersectional analysis can help expose.

Attaining representation that mirrors the country depends on a multitude of societal factors beyond NSERC’s control. Accordingly, more modest gains may be worth securing to ensure the NSE research community holds “representative legitimacy” relative to society and its reliance on science (Curry, S., de Rijcke, S., Hatch, A. et al., 2020).

In regard to equity and inclusion, there is growing recognition that, beyond narrow indicators of quality that perpetuate well-established and broadly accepted approaches to research, more comprehensive criteria to determine research excellence help capture perspectives often embraced by scientists from underrepresented groups. This is particularly prevalent when addressing indigenous research and the decolonization of science and engineering. (See discussion paper on Supporting Indigenous Researchers and Research)

Moreover, recognizing that all researchers, particularly those with caring responsibilities, do not follow research career trajectories that progress linearly, assessments should be less tied to time span, and more focused on the quality of contributions.

Given NSERC’s ongoing EDI work, other forms of inequities, underrepresentation or exclusion may be worth further exploration, such as variations across different types and sizes of institutions; inequities related to linguistic identity or immigration status (including barriers related to credentials of international researchers); and inequities in the distribution of societal benefits resulting from advances in science and technology.

Overall, while reducing inequities and fostering diversity and inclusion have been recognized as key to innovation, this work is not without risks. Hurried or simplistic solutions can have detrimental repercussions; underrepresented groups are overly relied upon to advance EDI; financial support is precarious; and personal and public opinion can be unpredictable and can undermine these efforts. Building a broad coalition across identity groups and across stakeholders in the research ecosystem is a necessary prerequisite for EDI success.


Discussion questions

  • NSERC’S ongoing commitment to EDI addresses measures to ensure access to research support (with a focus on funding to researchers) and ensure equitable participation in the research ecosystem (with a focus on support for postsecondary institutions). Over the next decade, how should NSERC divide its efforts across these two spheres, particularly to increase participation of different underrepresented groups in the NSE research ecosystem?
  • Participation rates by women, visible minorities and racialized groups vary significantly across programs (Discovery grants versus Alliance grants) and across disciplines. Should NSERC explore specific measures to address these diversity gaps? Should special programs be targeted exclusively to certain underrepresented groups to provide better opportunities?
  • Determining fair access to research support involves ensuring parity between the proportion of applicants from an identity group and the proportion of awards to applicants from that group. To accelerate this process, should NSERC explore other equity measures, such as dedicated funding to institutions, to career stages, or to identity groups? Should it explore setting targets and /or equalizing outcomes?

References

Council of Canadian Academies. (2021). Powering Discovery: The Expert Panel on International Practices for Funding Natural Sciences and Engineering Research. Ottawa, ON: Council of Canadian Academies. Retrieved from https://cca-reports.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Powering-Discovery-Full-Report-EN_DIGITAL_FINAL.pdf

Curry, S., de Rijcke, S., Hatch, A. et al. (2020). The changing role of funders in responsible research assessment : progress, obstacles and the way ahead. Research on Research Institute (RoRI) working paper. UK: White Rose University Consortium. Retrieved from https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.13227914.v1

NSERC. (2020). NSERC 2020: A Strategic Plan. Retrieved from https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/nserc-crsng/nserc2020-crsng2020/index_eng.asp

Tri-Agency. (2018). Tri-Agency EDI Action Plan for 2018–2025. Retrieved from https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/NSERC-CRSNG/EDI-EDI/Action-Plan_Plan-dAction_eng.asp

Thank you for your interest in NSERC 2030. The comment form is now closed.


Contact

Send us your questions, comments and ideas at:
nserc2030crsng@NSERC-CRSNG.GC.CA

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030


Des documents pour lancer les discussions

Soutenir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le milieu de la recherche

Le présent document fait partie d’une série de documents de travail préparés par le personnel du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) pour stimuler la discussion dans le cadre de l’élaboration du Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. Les idées présentées dans ce document ne constituent pas des orientations stratégiques; elles visent plutôt à alimenter les discussions parmi les parties prenantes du CRSNG. Par ailleurs, la mise en œuvre des idées proposées ne nécessiterait pas de nouveau financement au titre des programmes et n’entrainerait pas de compressions dans les programmes en place.

Sur cette page


Contexte

La population canadienne est particulièrement diversifiée. Pourtant, les femmes, les peuples autochtones, les personnes en situation de handicap, les membres des communautés LGBTQ2+ et un grand nombre de groupes racisés sont encore sous-représentés en sciences naturelles et en génie (SNG).

Le CRSNG s’est déjà engagé à « bâtir une base de recherche diversifiée et concurrentielle » (CRSNG, 2020). Depuis 2018, il a fondé beaucoup de ses activités visant à encourager l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) sur le Plan d’action des trois organismes pour l’EDI, qui a pour objectifs d’assurer un accès équitable aux fonds de recherche et une participation équitable au milieu de la recherche (Les trois organismes, 2018).

En parallèle, le rapport Dynamiser la découverte publié en 2021 par le Conseil des académies canadiennes (CAC) indique diverses pratiques que les bailleurs de fonds peuvent adopter pour favoriser l’EDI : accroissement de la sensibilisation, offre de mentorat et de conseils pour l’obtention de financement, évaluation en double aveugle par les pairs, élargissement des critères de financement, établissement de cibles en matière de diversité, etc. (CAC, 2021). Ce rapport analyse également les retombées des « programmes qui reposent sur une charte » à l’intention des établissements, comme le programme pilote Dimensions des trois organismes (CRSNG, Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines [CRSH] et Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada [IRSC]). Il souligne l’effet positif qu’ont ces programmes, surtout s’ils sont associés à du financement pour aider les établissements à poursuivre leurs efforts.

Le rapport aborde également les obstacles liés aux responsabilités familiales, aussi signalés par bon nombre de répondantes et de répondants au sondage sur le plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. Des préoccupations liées à la conciliation travail-vie personnelle ont été fréquemment mentionnées en réponse aux questions ouvertes sur les difficultés rencontrées par les chercheuses et les chercheurs. De plus, beaucoup ont invoqué la notion de l’accessibilité économique des carrières en recherche, qui se rapporte à la valeur des allocations ou des subventions soutenant une formation prolongée.


Possibilités, risques et questions d’ordre stratégique

À l’heure actuelle, le CRSNG axe ses travaux relatifs à l’EDI sur :

  • l’équité, en veillant à la justice des processus d’allocation des ressources, à l’élimination de la discrimination selon des facteurs identitaires et à l’égalité des chances, autant que possible;
  • la diversité, en déployant des mesures concertées pour assurer l’inclusion de populations diversifiées quant à des facteurs identitaires comme le genre, l’orientation sexuelle, le statut d’Autochtone, une situation de handicap, la race, l’origine ethnique et la langue;
  • l’inclusion, en assurant que dans un milieu donné, toutes les personnes sont respectées de façon équitable et ont accès aux mêmes possibilités, et en cernant et en éliminant les obstacles à la participation et à la contribution de chercheuses et de chercheurs en SNG;
  • l’accessibilité, en supprimant les obstacles (p. ex. architecturaux ou technologiques) qui freinent la participation des personnes en situation de handicap.

Le concept d’accessibilité est souvent joint à ceux d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, pour former le sigle IDEA.

Ces concepts ont deux grandes implications. Premièrement, en ce qui concerne la diversité, le CRSNG vise à ce que les chercheuses et les chercheurs qui reçoivent du financement soient représentatifs, en proportion, de la population canadienne. Les analyses démontrent que les écarts de représentation par rapport à la population canadienne sont importants pour les quatre groupes compris dans le questionnaire de déclaration volontaire sur lesquels nous avons des données.

On observe également d’importants écarts entre les différentes étapes de carrière (doctorat, stage postdoctoral et professorat) et entre les programmes (subventions à la découverte et subventions Alliance). La ventilation des données montre par ailleurs de grandes divergences dans les quatre groupes, d’autant plus que les personnes peuvent appartenir à plus d’un groupe et donc se buter à un amalgame d’obstacles discriminatoires, ce qu’on peut exposer plus aisément à l’aide d’une analyse intersectionnelle.

L’atteinte d’une représentation équivalente à la population nationale dépend d’une multitude de facteurs sociaux qui ne sont pas du ressort du CRSNG. Par conséquent, il vaudrait peut-être la peine de réaliser des gains plus modestes pour assurer au milieu de la recherche en SNG une « légitimité de représentation » par rapport à la société et à sa confiance en la science (Curry, S., S., de Rijcke, A., Hatch et coll., 2020).

En ce qui a trait à l’équité et à l’inclusion, on reconnait de plus en plus qu’outre des indicateurs de qualité restrictifs qui perpétuent les approches de recherche bien établies et largement acceptées, les critères plus exhaustifs de détermination de l’excellence en recherche couvrent des perspectives souvent adoptées par les scientifiques des groupes sous-représentés. Ce constat est particulièrement important pour la recherche autochtone et la décolonisation de la science et du génie. (Voir le document de travail sur le soutien des chercheuses et des chercheurs autochtones et de la recherche autochtone.)

De plus, comme les chercheuses et les chercheurs n’ont pas toutes et tous un parcours qui suit une progression de carrière linéaire, notamment celles et ceux qui doivent prendre soin de proches, il faudrait que les évaluations portent moins sur les activités d’une période donnée et davantage sur la qualité des contributions à la recherche.

À la lumière du travail continu du CRSNG en matière d’EDI, il pourrait être utile d’étudier davantage d’autres formes d’iniquité, de sous-représentation ou d’exclusion, par exemple les variations entre divers types et différentes tailles d’établissements; les inégalités relatives à l’identité linguistique ou au statut d’immigration (y compris les obstacles liés aux diplômes des chercheuses et des chercheurs de l’étranger); et les inégalités dans la répartition des avantages sociaux découlant des progrès scientifiques et technologiques.

Tout bien considéré, si la réduction de l’iniquité et l’amélioration de la diversité et de l’inclusion sont reconnues comme étant essentielles à l’innovation, ce travail n’est pas sans risques : les solutions simplistes ou appliquées à la va-vite peuvent avoir des conséquences négatives; les groupes sous-représentés sont souvent trop sollicités pour la promotion de l’EDI; le soutien financier est précaire; et l’opinion publique et individuelle peut être imprévisible et contrecarrer ces efforts. La formation de liens entre l’ensemble des groupes identitaires et les parties prenantes de l’écosystème de recherche sera indispensable à la concrétisation de l’EDI.


Questions à aborder

  • Le ferme engagement du CRSNG envers l’EDI comprend la prise de mesures pour assurer l’accès aux fonds de recherche (accent sur le financement des chercheuses et des chercheurs) et la participation équitable au sein du milieu de la recherche (accent sur le soutien des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire). Durant la prochaine décennie, comment le CRSNG devrait-il répartir ses efforts dans ces deux sphères, spécialement en ce qui a trait à l’augmentation de la participation des groupes sous-représentés dans le milieu de la recherche en SNG?
  • Les taux de participation des femmes et des membres des minorités visibles et des groupes racisés varient grandement entre les programmes (subventions à la découverte et subventions Alliance) et entre les disciplines. Le CRSNG devrait-il envisager des mesures particulières visant ces écarts? Devrait-il cibler exclusivement certains groupes sous-représentés dans des programmes spéciaux pour améliorer les occasions qui leur sont offertes?
  • L’accès équitable aux fonds de recherche passe par une égalité entre la proportion de candidatures provenant d’un groupe identitaire et la proportion de subventions remises aux candidates et aux candidats appartenant à ce groupe. Pour accélérer l’atteinte de cette égalité, le CRSNG devrait-il explorer d’autres mesures d’équité, comme du financement réservé à des établissements, à des étapes de carrière ou à des groupes identitaires? Devrait-il étudier l’établissement de cibles ou l’égalité dans les résultats?

Références

Conseil des académies canadiennes. Dynamiser la découverte : le comité d’experts sur les pratiques internationales pour financer la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie, Ottawa (Ontario), Conseil des académies canadiennes, 2021. En ligne : https://www.rapports-cac.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Dynamiser-la-decouverte-Rapport_FR_DIGITAL_FINAL.pdf.

Conseil national de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Plan stratégique de 2020 du CRSNG, 2020. En ligne : https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/nserc-crsng/nserc2020-crsng2020/index_fra.asp.

Curry, S., S., de Rijcke, A., Hatch et coll. The changing role of funders in responsible research assessment : progress, obstacles and the way ahead, document de travail du Research on Research Institute (RoRI), Royaume-Uni, White Rose University Consortium, 2020. En ligne : https://doi.org/10.6084/m9.figshare.13227914.v1.

Les trois organismes. Plan d’action des trois organismes pour l’EDI (2018-2025), 2018. En ligne : https://www.nserc-crsng.gc.ca/NSERC-CRSNG/EDI-EDI/Action-Plan_Plan-dAction_fra.asp.

Leeuw, F.L. et R.C. Sonnichsen. « Introduction: Evaluation and Organizational Learning: International Perspectives », dans Leeuw, F.L., R.C. Rist et R.C. Sonnichsen (sous la dir. de), Can Governments Learn? Comparative Perspectives on Evaluation and Organizational Learning, Routledge (2019), p. 1–13.

McNall, M. et P.G. Foster-Fishman. « Methods of Rapid Evaluation, Assessment, and Appraisal », American Journal of Evaluation, vol. 28, no 2 (2007), p. 151–168.

Sonnichsen, R.C. « Effective Internal Evaluation: An Approach to Organizational Learning », dans Leeuw, F.L., R.C. Rist et R.C. Sonnichsen (sous la dir. de), Can Governments Learn? Comparative Perspectives on Evaluation and Organizational Learning, Routledge (2019), p. 125–141.

US Agency for International Development. Implementing a Learning Agenda Approach, (s.d.). En ligne : https://usaidlearninglab.org/sites/default/files/resource/files/defining_a_learning_agenda.pdf.

Nous vous remercions de votre contribution à l’élaboration du Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. La fiche de commentaires est maintenant fermée.


Coordonnées

Faites-nous part de vos questions, commentaires et idées à :
nserc2030crsng@NSERC-CRSNG.GC.CA

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram