NSERC 2030: A Strategic Plan


Discussion papers

Improving funding efficiency and reducing administrative burden

This document is one of a series of discussion papers generated by NSERC staff to foster discussion during the development of the NSERC 2030 strategic plan. Items presented do not represent policy directions; they are meant to elicit discussion among NSERC’s stakeholders. Similarly, all themes discussed in these papers are cost-neutral: they would not require new program funding or cuts to existing programming in order to fund new initiatives.

On this page


Overview

Researchers are spending a significant portion of their time trying to obtain funds to conduct researchFootnote 1 (Schneider, 2020, p.8). As funding instruments multiply, so do the numbers of proposals and administrative requirements for reviewing them. Furthermore, with increased competition and thus declining success rates, the resources allocated to preparing and reviewing unsuccessful proposals increase (CCA, 2021).

The results of a survey that the NSERC conducted this year with the Canadian research community support the need to reduce the administrative burden. Fewer than 10% of respondents responded that our research administrative processes were a “low burden,” and over a third responded that one or more processes are a “high burden.”

According to Canada’s Fundamental Science Review, “the principle of simplicity should govern all programs and competitions to avoid wasting the scarcest non-renewable resources of some of Canada’s brightest people: the waking and working hours of our scientists and scholars” (Advisory Panel on Federal Support for Fundamental Science, 2017, p.13). This paper explores opportunities for improving efficiency, with a focus on reducing administrative burden for the research community, through the two themes: application and review processes, and support for organizations that administer research grants (called “administering organizations”).


Opportunities — Application and review process

Joint grant application and review

Canada’s natural sciences and engineering (NSE) funding landscape has multiple research funding organizations, including federal and provincial/territorial agencies. The number of funding organizations increases the funding opportunities available to researchers. However, the coordination of numerous funding opportunities is both a challenge and an opportunity. NSERC has already implemented several joint funding opportunities (e.g., NSERC Alliance-Mitacs Accelerate Grants, DND/NSERC Discovery Grant Supplements, etc.), but these are typically limited in size (funding) and scope (topics). In addition to looking for more opportunities to launch joint funding calls, including international ones, funding organizations may also reuse peer review results rather than undertaking a completely new review.

Alternative approaches for review

“To fund research more efficiently, effectively, and transparently, agencies are experimenting with alternative approaches” (CCA, 2021). This is in line with one of the recommendations from Canada’s Fundamental Science Review, that there is “support for experimentation and evaluation to study new approaches to peer review, including use of iterative review processes” (Advisory Panel on Federal Support for Fundamental Science, 2017). In this regard, multi-step applications and/or pre-screening to reduce applicant pools have been used in several current and past NSERC programs (e.g., Discovery Horizons, Strategic Partnership Grants for Networks, Technology Access Centres Grants). However, ample opportunity remains to explore other approaches, including the following examples:

  • partial lotteries among applications deemed equally excellent; this would involve randomized selection around cut-offs after merit review had been conducted. These are currently being used for other international competitions (CCA, 2021)
  • restrictions on resubmissions: If a previous application scored poorly, applicants would not be able to submit a new one to the same funding opportunity for a specified period of time (CCA, 2021)
  • distributed peer review, or self-review, involves asking candidates to review other applications in the same funding call, which can be used for small competitions or for programs centred on a specific facility or topic (CCA, 2021)
  • automatic renewal of awards, especially for discovery-based research, while ensuring that new applicants have opportunities to obtain grants
  • use of artificial intelligence (AI) in various areas, such as helping find and match reviewers to applications, verifying research security requirements, providing feedback to applicants, helping reviewers with their evaluations, etc. (Andersen, 2020; Kerzendorf et al.,2020 as cited in CCA, 2021)

Persistent identifiers

Strategy development requires understanding and leveraging digital assets. The research enterprise generates a great deal of information — from descriptiveinformation about researchers to publications and datasets resulting from a research project. To increase the FAIRness (Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability, Reusability) of these outputs, persistent identifiers (PIDs, long-lasting references to digital resources) can facilitate links between the related pieces of information by referring to a specific entity in the information landscape, such as an object, organization, person or dataset. A system for managing PIDs (e.g., software and associated repository) enables the easy discovery of objects related to a PID. PIDs could be used to help facilitate the application and review process by linking an author (through PIDs) to a set of publications, grants, students, etc. (Research Data Canada ID’s Working Group, Standards and Interoperability Committee, 2016).


Opportunities — Support for administering organizations

Currently, integration between NSERC and administering organizations is limited. Although research administrators are expected to help their organization’s researchers with applications, budgets, ongoing reporting requirements, etc., NSERC provides little functionality to assist research administrators through its online systems as well as only limited other resources. Opportunities to help research administrators include:

  • providing greater access to functionality in our online systems
  • integrating their current processes and procedures with NSERC’s
  • granting them direct access to data that is applicable to them (currently planned for the Tri-Agency grants management solution and being piloted in the Convergence platform)
  • improving training and support for research administrators
  • providing more collaborative tools, such as ones that would allow researchers and partner organizations to easily find each other, interact and determine the potential to collaborate or to better support non-traditional research by allowing more community-based interactions

Discussion questions

  • What types of joint funding and Tri-Agency funding opportunities would be of most benefit? Could NSERC’s peer review results for one program be used by other NSERC programs or by other organizations?
  • With respect to different methods of merit review that can be used to reduce the burden on reviewers, are there situations where these methods are or are not suited? What thresholds or criteria should be used? Are there any considerations when implementing them?
  • Where could AI technologies most benefit the Canadian research funding ecosystem, and, conversely, are there areas where AI could be applied but should be avoided? In the context of the government’s Directive on Automated Decision-Making, what other factors should we consider when implementing them?
  • What would be the best use of PIDs for NSERC? Are there risks?
  • What can NSERC do to better support research administrators throughout the entire grants management lifecycle (including the implementation of collaborative tools)? How would administering organizations like to be more integrated in NSERC’s processes and systems (e.g., integrate with research administration software in use at administering organizations)?

References

Advisory Panel on Federal Support for Fundamental Science. (2017). Investing in Canada’s Future: Strengthening the Foundations of Canadian Research. Ottawa, ON: Canada’s Fundamental Science Review. Retrieved from http://www.sciencereview.ca/eic/site/059.nsf/vwapj/ScienceReview_April2017-rv.pdf/$file/ScienceReview_April2017-rv.pdf

Council of Canadian Academies. (2021). Powering Discovery: The Expert Panel on International Practices for Funding Natural Sciences and Engineering Research. Ottawa, ON: Council of Canadian Academies. Retrieved from https://cca-reports.ca/wp-content/uploads/2021/05/Powering-Discovery-Full-Report-EN_DIGITAL_FINAL.pdf

Research Data Canada ID’s Working Group, Standards and Interoperability Committee. (2016). Persistent Identifiers: Current Landscape and Future Trends, version 1,10, 5281. Research Data Canada, Zenodo. Retrieved from: https://zenodo.org/record/557106#.YUnytWBYaUk

Schneider, S.L. (2020). 2018 Faculty Workload Survey, Research Report: Primary Findings. Federal Demonstration Partnership. Retrieved from http://thefdp.org/default/assets/File/Documents/FDP%20FWS%202018%20Primary%20Report.pdf


Thank you for your interest in NSERC 2030. The comment form is now closed.


Contact

Send us your questions, comments and ideas at:
nserc2030crsng@NSERC-CRSNG.GC.CA

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030


Des documents pour lancer les discussions

Améliorer l’efficience dans l’octroi du financement et réduire le fardeau administratif

Le présent document fait partie d’une série de documents de travail préparés par le personnel du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) pour stimuler la discussion dans le cadre de l’élaboration du Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. Les idées présentées dans ce document ne constituent pas des orientations stratégiques; elles visent plutôt à alimenter les discussions parmi les parties prenantes du CRSNG. Par ailleurs, la mise en œuvre des idées proposées ne nécessiterait pas de nouveau financement au titre des programmes et n’entrainerait pas de compressions dans les programmes en place.

Sur cette page


Contexte

Les chercheuses et les chercheurs consacrent une bonne partie de leur temps à tenter d’obtenir les fonds nécessaires pour mener des recherchesFootnote 1 (Schneider, 2020, p. 8). À mesure que les instruments de financement se multiplient, le nombre de propositions et les exigences administratives concernant leur évaluation vont aussi en augmentant. Et comme la concurrence est forte, le taux de réussite diminue; les organismes subventionnaires affectent donc davantage de ressources à l’évaluation de propositions qui ne seront pas retenues (CAC, 2021).

Les résultats d’un sondage mené par le CRSNG cette année auprès de la communauté de la recherche au Canada révèle la nécessité de réduire le fardeau administratif. Seulement un peu moins de 10 % des répondantes et des répondants ont indiqué que, selon eux, la charge administrative liée à la recherche était faible, alors que plus d’un tiers ont répondu qu’un ou plusieurs des processus constituaient un lourd fardeau. Selon le rapport de l’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences, « le principe de simplicité devrait régir tous les programmes et tous les concours afin d’éviter de gaspiller les ressources non renouvelables les plus rares dont disposent les individus parmi les plus brillants du Canada : les heures de veille et de travail de nos scientifiques et de nos savants. » (Comité consultatif sur l’examen du soutien fédéral à la science fondamentale, 2017, p. 15). Le présent document explore les possibilités d’amélioration de l’efficience dans l’octroi du financement notamment en réduisant le fardeau administratif qui pèse sur la communauté de la recherche, que l’on regroupe en deux thèmes : la présentation et l’évaluation des demandes de financement, d’une part, et le soutien aux organismes administrateurs de subventions de recherche (appelés organismes administrateurs), de l’autre.


Possibilités : présentation et évaluation des demandes de financement

Processus communs de présentation et d’évaluation des demandes

Le milieu du financement de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie (SNG) au Canada est composé de nombreux organismes subventionnaires, dont des organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux, et donne aux chercheuses et aux chercheurs un grand choix de possibilités de financement. Toutefois, la coordination de plusieurs sources de financement présente à la fois des difficultés et des possibilités. Le CRSNG a déjà mis en place plusieurs possibilités de financement offertes conjointement avec des partenaires (p. ex., Subventions Alliance du CRSNG-Accélération de Mitacs, Supplément aux subventions à la découverte MDN-CRSNG, etc.), mais ces initiatives sont généralement de petite envergure (financement limité) et porte sur des thèmes bien circonscrits (sujets de recherche). En plus de chercher des occasions de lancer des appels pour le financement conjoint de propositions, y compris avec des partenaires de l’étranger, les organismes subventionnaires peuvent aussi réutiliser les résultats d’évaluations par les pairs antérieures plutôt qu’entreprendre un tout nouveau processus d’évaluation.

Autres approches possibles de l’évaluation

« Pour financer la recherche de façon plus efficiente, efficace et transparente, les organismes expérimentent de nouvelles approches » (CAC, 2021). Cet extrait cadre avec l’une des recommandations du rapport de l’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences, celle qui propose d’offrir : « un soutien à l’expérimentation et à l’évaluation afin d’étudier de nouvelles approches d’évaluation par les pairs incluant le recours à des processus d’évaluation itératifs. » (Comité consultatif sur l’examen du soutien fédéral à la science fondamentale, 2017, p. 103) À cet égard, le CRSNG a eu recours, dans le cadre de plusieurs de ses programmes actuels ou passés, à des processus de présentation des demandes en plusieurs étapes ou de présélection pour réduire le nombre de candidatures (p. ex., dans le cadre des subventions Horizons de la découverte, des subventions de partenariat stratégique pour les réseaux et des subventions d’établissement de centres d’accès à la technologie). Il reste toutefois encore beaucoup d’autres options à explorer, dont les suivantes :

  • Le tirage au sort parmi les demandes du même degré d’excellence : il s’agirait de faire, après l’évaluation, une sélection aléatoire parmi les demandes jugées méritoires en fonction du seuil de financement. Les tirages au sort sont actuellement utilisés dans le cadre d’autres concours internationaux (CAC, 2021).
  • Des restrictions quant à la possibilité de présenter une même demande à un concours ultérieur pour la même possibilité de financement : Si sa demande reçoit un résultat insatisfaisant, la candidate ou le candidat ne pourra pas présenter de nouvelle demande au titre de la même possibilité de financement pendant une période donnée (CAC, 2021).
  • L’évaluation par les pairs distribuée ou l’autoévaluation : Dans le cas des concours de petite envergure ou des programmes axés sur des installations ou des sujets précis, on demande à la candidate ou au candidat d’examiner d’autres demandes présentées en réponse au même appel de proposition (CAC, 2021).
  • Le renouvèlement automatique des subventions : Cette approche est souvent utilisée lorsqu’il s’agit de projets de recherche axés sur la découverte. Il faut toutefois laisser la chance aux nouvelles candidates et aux nouveaux candidats d’obtenir une subvention.
  • Le recours à l’intelligence artificielle pour certaines tâches : Par exemple, pour aider à cibler les bons évaluateurs qui peuvent évaluer les demandes; pour vérifier la conformité aux exigences en matière de sécurité de la recherche; pour fournir de la rétroaction aux candidates et aux candidats ou pour aider les évaluatrices et les évaluateurs dans leur fonctions. (Andersen, 2020; Kerzendorf et al.,2020 tel que cité dans CAC 2021)

Les identifiants pérennes

Pour élaborer des stratégies, il faut d’abord comprendre ses ressources numériques et savoir en tirer parti. Les activités de recherche génèrent beaucoup d’information : de l’information descriptive au sujet des chercheuses et des chercheurs aux publications et ensembles de données découlant d’un projet de recherche. Afin de veiller au respect des principes selon lesquels les données doivent être récupérables, accessibles, compatibles et réutilisables, il serait peut-être bon d’avoir recours à des identifiants pérennes (ou PID, pour Persistent Identifier, c.-à-d. un identifiant qui est assigné à un objet de façon permanente) qui pourraient faciliter l’établissement de liens entre divers éléments d’information connexes en les associant à une entité précise de l’environnement d’information, comme un objet, une organisation, une personne ou un ensemble de données. Un système de gestion des identifiants pérennes (p. ex, un logiciel associé à un référentiel) permet de retracer les objets associés à ceux-ci. On pourrait, par exemple, associer à une candidate ou à un candidat une série de publications, des subventions, des étudiantes et étudiants ou d’autres données grâce à des identifiants pérennes, et ainsi faciliter le processus de présentation et d’évaluation des demandes (Research Data Canada ID’s Working Group, Standards and Interoperability Committee, 2016).

 


Possibilités : Soutien aux organismes administrateurs

À l’heure actuelle, l’intégration des processus des organismes administrateurs à ceux du CRSNG est limitée. Bien qu’on attende des administratrices et des administrateurs de recherche qu’ils aident les chercheuses et les chercheurs avec, entre autres, leurs demandes de financement, leurs budgets et les exigences en matière de rapports, le CRSNG leur fournit peu de fonctionnalités dans ses systèmes en ligne et peu d’autres ressources pour leur faciliter la tâche. Voici quelques exemples de façons d’aider les administratrices et les administrateurs de recherche :

  • Fournir plus de fonctionnalités dans les systèmes en ligne du CRSNG;
  • Intégrer les procédures et les processus actuels des administratrices et des administrateurs de recherche à ceux du CRSNG;
  • Fournir aux administratrices et aux administrateurs de recherche un accès direct aux données qui les concernent (sera intégré dans la Solution de gestion des subventions des trois organismes et est actuellement mis à l’essai dans la plateforme Convergence).
  • Améliorer la formation et le soutien offerts aux administratrices et aux administrateurs de recherche.
  • Fournir plus d’outils pour collaborer, comme des outils qui permettraient aux chercheuses et aux chercheurs ainsi qu’aux organismes partenaires de se trouver plus facilement, d’interagir et de déterminer le potentiel de collaboration ou qui permettrait de mieux soutenir la recherche non conventionnelle en facilitant les interactions au sein de la communauté de la recherche.

Questions à aborder

  • Quelles possibilités de financement conjointes et des trois organismes seraient les plus bénéfiques? Est-ce que les résultats des évaluations par les pairs d’un programme en particulier pourraient être utilisés dans le cadre d’autres programmes du CRSNG ou par d’autres organismes?
  • En ce qui concerne les différentes méthodes d’évaluation du mérite pouvant être utilisées pour réduire le fardeau des évaluatrices et des évaluateurs, y a-t-il des situations où ces méthodes sont appropriées et d’autres où elles ne le sont pas? Quels seuils ou critères devraient être utilisés? Y a-t-il des éléments à prendre en considération lors de la mise en œuvre de ces méthodes?
  • Dans quel contexte les technologies qui utilisent l’intelligence artificielle pourraient-elles être les plus utiles pour l’écosystème du financement de la recherche au Canada? Inversement, dans quels cas devrait-on éviter d’utiliser ces technologies? À la lumière de la Directive sur la prise de décisions automatisée du gouvernement, quels autres facteurs devraient être pris en considération lors de la mise en œuvre de ces technologies?
  • Quel serait le meilleur usage des identifiants pérennes au CRSNG? Quels risques court-on en les utilisant?
  • Qu’est-ce que le CRSNG peut faire pour offrir un meilleur soutien aux administratrices et aux administrateurs de recherche durant tout le cycle de gestion des subventions (y compris en ce qui a trait à la mise en œuvre d’outils de collaboration)? De quelle manière les organismes administrateurs souhaiteraient-ils être intégrés dans les processus et dans les systèmes du CRSNG (p. ex., intégrer le logiciel d’administration des recherches utilisé dans ces organismes)?

Références

Comité consultatif sur l’examen du soutien fédéral à la science fondamentale. Investir dans l’avenir du Canada : Consolider les bases de la recherche au pays, Ottawa (Ontario), L’Examen du soutien fédéral aux sciences, 2017. En ligne : http://www.sciencereview.ca/eic/site/059.nsf/vwapj/ExamenDuSoutienScience_avril2017-rv.pdf/$file/ExamenDuSoutienScience_avril2017-rv.pdf

Conseil des académies canadiennes. Dynamiser la découverte : Le comité d’experts sur les pratiques internationales pour financer la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie. Ottawa (Ontario), 2021. En ligne : https://www.rapports-cac.ca/reports/pratiques-internationales-pour-financer-la-recherche-en-sciences-naturelles-et-en-genie/

Research Data Canada ID’s Working Group, Standards and Interoperability Committee. Persistent Identifiers: Current Landscape and Future Trends, version 1,10, 5281. Research Data Canada, Zenodo, 2016. En ligne : https://zenodo.org/record/557106#.YUnytWBYaUk (en anglais seulement)

Schneider, S.L. 2018 Faculty Workload Survey, Research Report: Primary Findings. Federal Demonstration Partnership. 2020. En ligne : http://thefdp.org/default/assets/File/Documents/FDP%20FWS%202018%20Primary%20Report.pdf (en anglais seulement)


Nous vous remercions de votre contribution à l’élaboration du Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. La fiche de commentaires est maintenant fermée.


Coordonnées

Faites-nous part de vos questions, commentaires et idées à :
nserc2030crsng@NSERC-CRSNG.GC.CA

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram