Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended December 31, 2020

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and programs

NSERC Quarterly Financial Report 3rd Quarter, December 2020

Introduction

This Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act (FAA) and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. It should be read in conjunction with the 2020–21 Estimates. This report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, mandate and programs

The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) was established in 1978 by the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act and is a departmental corporation named in Schedule II of the FAA. NSERC’s purpose is to help make Canada a country of discoverers and innovators for the benefit of all Canadians, by supporting post-secondary students and postdoctoral fellows in their advanced studies, funding the research programs of academic researchers, and stimulating partnerships between academia and industry.

Further information on the NSERC mandate and program activities can be found in Part II of the Estimates.

Basis of presentation

Management prepared this quarterly report using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying statement of authorities includes NSERC’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the agency, consistent with the Main Estimates for the fiscal year 2020–21. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special-purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before the Government of Canada can spend money. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authorities for specific purposes.

NSERC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual financial statements that are part of the departmental results reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year-to-date results

This section highlights the significant items that contributed to the change in resources available for the fiscal year, as well as the actual year-to-date and quarterly expenditures compared with the previous fiscal year.

The following graph provides a comparison of budgetary authorities available for the full fiscal year and budgetary expenditures by quarter for the fiscal year 2020–21 and the fiscal year 2019–20.

Comparison of budgetary authorities and year-to-date expenditures (thousands of dollars)

Significant changes to budgetary authorities

As of December 31, 2020, NSERC’s total available authorities for the fiscal year 2020–21 amounted to $1.53 billion. This represents an overall increase of $146.0 million (10.6%) from the comparative period in the previous year. The major changes in NSERC’s budgetary authorities between the current and previous fiscal years include:

  • an increase of $153.4 million from the Public Health Events of National Concern Payments Act (PHENCPA) to support students and youth affected by COVID-19 as well as research institutes and universities;
  • an increase of $11.8 million from Budget 2018 for fundamental research;
  • a net decrease of $11.0 million from Budget 2018 for the Canada Research Chairs program;
  • a decrease of $8.4 million for the Centres of Excellence for Commercialization and Research due to sunsetting of the program;
  • a net decrease of $6.9 million for the Colleges and Community Innovation program suite (due mainly to a $4.5 million transfer to SSHRC);
  • a decrease of $5.7 million for the Business-led Networks of Centres of Excellence program due to sunsetting of the program;
  • an increase of $5.0 million from the Public Health Agency of Canada for the Emerging Infectious Diseases Modelling (EIDM) initiative;
  • an increase of $4.6 million from Environment and Climate Change Canada for the Zero Plastics initiative;
  • a net increase of $4.0 million for various transfers to and from partnering departments;
  • a decrease of $3.7 million for the Networks of Centres of Excellence due to sunsetting of the program; and
  • an increase of $2.3 million from Budget 2019 for coverage of the expanded duration of paid parental leave.

Significant changes to authorities used

Year-to-date spending
The following table provides a comparison of cumulative spending by vote for the current and previous fiscal years.

Total budgetary expenditures amounted to $1.12 billion at the end of the third quarter of the fiscal year 2020–21, compared to $996.7 million reported in the same period in the previous fiscal year.

Grants and scholarships

At the end of the third quarter of 2020–21, the grant and scholarship expenses increased by $129.6 million, compared to those reported in the same period of the previous fiscal year. The increase is mainly due to spending of $113.7 million received from the PHENCPA to support students and youth affected by COVID-19 as well as research institutes and universities.

Operating expenditures

The personnel expenditures at the end of the third quarter of 2020–21 are in line with those of the previous year.

Total non-personnel expenditures have decreased by $2.0 million, mainly in transportation costs and acquisition of equipment. Transportation costs have significantly decreased as a result of travel restrictions related to COVID-19, which have affected the amount of travel for both public servants and non-public servants. Acquisition of equipment has also decreased as a result of major capital investment undertaken by NSERC last fiscal year to upgrade its computer equipment.

Authorities used based on elapsed time

The total authorities used at the end of the third quarter ($1.12 billion) of the fiscal year 2020–21 represent 74% of total available authorities ($1.53 billion).

Quarterly spending

The total authorities used during the third quarter of 2020–21 amounted to $295.4 million (19% of the total available authorities; 21% of the total authorities for grant and scholarship programs; and 24% of the total authorities for operating expenditures and employee benefits).

Grants and scholarships

Transfer payments represent 96% of NSERC’s available authorities. Variances in transfer payments stem from the nature of program cycles. During the third quarter of 2020–21, NSERC’s transfer payment expenditures increased by $17.3 million compared to the same quarter of the previous fiscal year, as a result of the following:

  • a net increase of $41.0 million due to timing differences on payments;
  • a decrease of $21.6 million due to the sunsetting of most Research Partnerships programs, which is partially offset by spending on the new Alliance program; and
  • a net decrease of $2.4 million due to the sunsetting of the suite of Networks of Centres of Excellence programs.

Operating expenditures

Personnel expenditures for the third quarter of fiscal year 2020–21 have increased by $0.5 million compared to the same period in 2019–20. This increase is mainly due to COVID-19-related circumstances significantly increasing workload for the virtual delivery of grants competitions, the development of new initiatives to fund interdisciplinary research and IT staffing to support new business capabilities.

Non-personnel expenditures have decreased by $0.3 million, mainly due to COVID-19-related circumstances significantly reducing spending on transportation and professional services. This decrease was partially offset by an increase in acquisition costs of office equipment as a result of NSERC’s continuous efforts to upgrade its technology and tools.

Risks and uncertainties

In light of COVID-19, NSERC is reassessing priorities in order to reallocate resources in response to emerging pressures. As the situation evolves, the organization will continue to monitor key commitments and ongoing activities, to ensure that human and financial resources are available to deliver on high-priority activities.

COVID-19 has added new pressures on NSERC operations, including delivery of new programs or management of existing programs, and has affected major corporate initiatives, such as the Tri-agency Grants Management Solution and GC Workplace. Managing the move to a remote work environment for all staff has been a priority for the organization, to ensure the safety and security of employees as well as to maintain core business operations.

NSERC made substantial progress in preparing and equipping employees for the organization’s transition to GC Workplace at our new office location (anticipated for 2021). Specifically, NSERC rolled out mobile work tools (e.g., tablets, iPhones, remote access keys) and processes (e.g., Digital Authorization Directive). NSERC also engaged with Public Services and Procurement Canada to plan our future physical space, providing information gathered through employee consultation.

There is a risk that NSERC may not be able to ensure continuity of all business operations during the COVID-19 pandemic and subsequent recovery period. The work conditions, tools, and processes will be adjusted to ensure the continuity of operations, while considering the health and safety of our staff a top priority. There is also pressure to deliver initiatives for COVID-19 along with core programs. To mitigate this risk, NSERC will review the merit review process in the context of COVID-19 in order to prepare alternative solutions for holding adjudication meetings, should social distancing measures and travel limitations still be in effect for 2021–22 funding opportunities.

Significant changes related to operations, personnel and programs  

NSERC is partnering with Mitacs through the College and Community Innovation (CCI) program to expedite applied, research-based solutions that leverage the highly qualified personnel (HQP)—students and/or postdoctoral fellows—of Canada’s colleges, CEGEPs and polytechnics. For the first time, those applying for an Applied Research and Development (ARD) grant can also apply for additional support through Mitacs Accelerate for colleges, CEGEPs and polytechnics to include internships as a component of the training of HQP. This expedited access to funding enables researchers to more rapidly develop answers to today’s challenges ranging from COVID-19 and global pandemics to global warming.

NSERC launched the Emerging Infectious Diseases Modelling (EIDM) initiative, a collaboration between NSERC and the Public Health Agency of Canada. NSERC is providing $10 million over two years to establish multidisciplinary networks of specialists across Canada for modelling emerging infectious diseases to be applied to public needs associated with pandemics such as COVID-19. This initiative recognizes NSERC’s key role in mobilizing mathematical sciences and public health to tackle pandemic challenges, and it is expected that a permanent, world-class pandemic modelling surveillance network will emerge as an outcome of this seed funding.

NSERC announced the launch of the NSERC Donna Strickland Prize for Societal Impact of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research and the Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships. Valued at $250,000, the NSERC Donna Strickland Prize will be awarded annually to an individual or team whose outstanding research has led to exceptional benefits for Canadian society, the environment and/or the economy. The Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships recognize early-stage academic researchers in the natural sciences and engineering, and support them to enhance their research capacity so that they can become global leaders in their field. Worth $250,000 over two years, these awards were previously known as the E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships.

Work has begun on the strategic planning process, which will lead to NSERC’s next long-term strategic plan, NSERC 2030. The Strategic Planning team, led by the Associate Vice-President, Strategy and Transformation, is in the process of developing an engagement plan for activities in 2021.

NSERC has appointed its first Chief Data Officer. This is another step in ensuring that NSERC becomes increasingly data-driven in all of its processes and operations.

Approved by:

Original signed by

Dr. Alejandro Adem
President

Ottawa, Canada
March 1, 2021

Original signed by

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan
Vice-President and Chief
Financial Officer, NSERC



Statement of authorities (unaudited)

  Fiscal Year 2020-21 (in thousands of dollars)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2021* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2020 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 1—Operating
expenditures
57,141 13,521 37,204
Vote 5—Grants and scholarships 1,313,079 280,473 968,388
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to the employee benefit plan 5,754 1,438 4,105
Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 4(2) of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act 179 - -
Payments related to Public Health Events of National Concern and Income Support 153,400 - 114,858
Total budgetary authorities 1,529,553 295,432 1,124,555
* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

 

  Fiscal Year 2019-20 (in thousands of dollars)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2020* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2019 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 1—Operating
expenditures
55,851 13,162 39,791
Vote 5—Grants and scholarships 1,321,516 263,167 952,438
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to the employee benefit plan 6,005 1,495 4,486
Spending of revenues pursuant to subsection 4(2) of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act 179 - -
Payments related to Public Health Events of National Concern and Income Support - - -
Total budgetary authorities 1,383,551 277,824 996,715
* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by standard object (unaudited)

  Fiscal Year 2020-21 (in thousands of dollars)
  Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2021
Expended during the quarter ended
December 31, 2020
Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Expenditures      
Personnel 46,830 12,121 35,893
Transportation and communications 4,620 112 247
Information 1,490 234 491
Professional and special services 7,859 1,524 4,253
Rentals 1,111 419 948
Repair and maintenance 156 45 68
Utilities, materials and supplies 164 100 110
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 64 - -
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 1,980 404 500
Other subsidies and payments - - -
Transfer payments 1,465,279 280,473 1,082,045
Total budgetary expenditures 1,529,553 295,432 1,124,555

 

  Fiscal Year 2019-20 (in thousands of dollars)
  Planned expenditures for the year ending
March 31, 2020
Expended during the quarter ended
December 31, 2019
Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Expenditures 46,133 11,578 35,690
Personnel 4,795 714 1,680
Transportation and communications 2,121 157 449
Information 5,875 1,827 4,432
Professional and special services 1,384 331 1,021
Rentals 239 19 95
Repair and maintenance 192 (9) 77
Utilities, materials and supplies - 1 1
Acquisition of land, buildings and works 1,296 39 833
Acquisition of machinery and equipment - - (1)
Transfer payments 1,321,516 263,167 952,438
Total budgetary expenditures 1,383,551 277,824 996,715

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport financier trimestriel du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2020

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Rapport financier trimestriel – 3e trimestre, decembre 2020

Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel (RFT) a été préparé par la direction tel que l’exige l’article 65.1 de la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques (LGFP) et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il devrait être lu de concert avec le This link will take you to another Web site Budget des dépenses 2020‑2021. Le rapport n’a fait l’objet d’aucun audit ou examen externe.

Pouvoirs, mandat et programmes

Le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG) a été constitué en 1978 en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie et est un organisme public nommé à l’annexe II de la LGFP. Le CRSNG a pour but d’aider à faire du Canada un pays de découvreurs et d’innovateurs, au bénéfice de tous les Canadiens, en appuyant des étudiants de niveau postsecondaire et des stagiaires postdoctoraux dans leurs études supérieures, en finançant les travaux de recherche menés par des chercheurs au niveau postsecondaire et en favorisant les partenariats de recherche entre les établissements postsecondaires et les entreprises.

La This link will take you to another Web site partie II du Budget des dépenses renferme de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat et les activités de programme du CRSNG.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

La direction a préparé le présent RFT en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser accordées par le Parlement au CRSNG et les dépenses de l’organisme conformément au Budget des dépenses 2020-2021. Le RFT a été préparé en utilisant un cadre de rapports financiers à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière sur l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement du Canada ne peut dépenser des fonds sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées sous forme de limites approuvées annuellement en vertu des lois de crédits ou sous forme d’autorisations législatives de dépenser à des fins déterminées en vertu d’autres lois.  

Le CRSNG utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour préparer et présenter ses états financiers annuels, lesquels font partie du processus de rapport sur les résultats ministériels. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont attribuées en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Points saillants des résultats trimestriels et cumulatifs

La présente section donne un aperçu des éléments importants qui ont contribué à la variation des ressources disponibles pour l’exercice ainsi que des dépenses cumulatives et trimestrielles réelles par rapport à l’exercice précédent.

Le graphique ci-dessous présente une comparaison des autorisations budgétaires disponibles pour l’ensemble de l’exercice et des dépenses budgétaires par trimestre pour l’exercice 2020‑2021 et l’exercice 2019‑2020.

Comparaison des autorisations budgétaires et des dépenses budgétaires cumulatives

Changements importants quant aux autorisations budgétaires

Au 31 décembre 2020, les autorisations budgétaires totales du CRSNG disponibles pour l’exercice 2020‑2021 s’élevaient à 1,53 milliard de dollars. Il s’agit d’une augmentation globale de 146,0 millions de dollars (10,6 %) par rapport à la période correspondante de l’exercice précédent. On trouvera ci-après les principaux changements dans les autorisations budgétaires du CRSNG entre l’exercice en cours et l’exercice précédent :

  • une augmentation de 153,4 millions de dollars accordée en vertu de la Loi sur les paiements relatifs aux événements de santé publique d’intérêt national (LPRESPIN) pour appuyer les étudiants et les jeunes touchés par la pandémie de COVID-19 ainsi que les instituts de recherche et les universités;
  • une augmentation de 11,8 millions de dollars découlant du budget de 2018 au titre de la recherche fondamentale;
  • une diminution nette de 11,0 millions de dollars découlant du budget de 2018 au titre du Programme de chaires de recherche du Canada;
  • une diminution de 8,4 millions de dollars pour le Programme des centres d’excellence en commercialisation et en recherche en raison de l’élimination progressive du programme;
  • une diminution nette de 6,9 millions de dollars au titre de la série de subventions offertes dans le cadre du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (principalement en raison du transfert de 4,5 millions de dollars au Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines du Canada [CRSH]);
  • une diminution de 5,7 millions de dollars au titre du Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence dirigés par l’entreprise en raison de l’élimination progressive du programme;
  • une augmentation de 5,0 millions de dollars accordée par l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada au titre de l’Initiative de modélisation des maladies infectieuses émergentes;
  • une augmentation de 4,6 millions de dollars accordée par Environnement et Changement climatique Canada pour l’initiative Zéro déchet de plastique;
  • une augmentation nette de 4,0 millions de dollars pour divers transferts entre le CRSNG et des ministères partenaires;
  • une diminution de 3,7 millions de dollars au titre du Programme des réseaux de centres d’excellence en raison de l’élimination progressive du programme;
  • une augmentation de 2,3 millions de dollars découlant du budget de 2019 afin de prendre en charge les frais liés à la prolongation de la durée du congé parental payé.

Changements importants quant aux autorisations budgétaires utilisées

Dépenses cumulatives pour l’exercice courant
Le tableau suivant présente une comparaison des dépenses cumulatives par crédit pour l’exercice en cours et l’exercice précédent.

Les dépenses budgétaires totales s’élevaient à 1,12 milliard de dollars à la fin du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2020-2021, par rapport à 996,7 millions pour la même période de l’exercice précédent.

Subventions et bourses

À la fin du troisième trimestre de 2020-2021, les dépenses du CRSNG au titre des subventions et des bourses ont augmenté de 129,6 millions de dollars par rapport au trimestre correspondant de l’exercice précédent. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable aux 113,7 millions de dollars dépensés à même les fonds reçus en vertu de la LPRESPIN pour appuyer les étudiants et les jeunes touchés par la pandémie de COVID‑19 ainsi que les instituts de recherche et les universités.

Dépenses de fonctionnement

Les dépenses liées au personnel à la fin du troisième trimestre de 2020‑2021 sont comparables à celles de la même période de l’exercice précédent.

Les dépenses totales non liées au personnel ont diminué de 2,0 millions de dollars. Cette baisse est principalement attribuable à celle des couts de transport et de l’acquisition de matériel. Les couts de transport ont diminué considérablement en raison des restrictions de déplacement liées à la pandémie de COVID‑19, qui ont réduit le nombre de déplacements des fonctionnaires et des non-fonctionnaires. Par ailleurs, l’acquisition de matériel a diminué en raison des importants investissements en capital effectués par le CRSNG au cours de l’exercice précédent pour mettre à niveau son matériel informatique.    

Autorisations utilisées en fonction du temps écoulé

Les autorisations budgétaires totales utilisées à la fin du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2020-2021 (1,12 milliard de dollars) représentent 74 % des autorisations budgétaires totales (1,53 milliard de dollars).

Dépenses trimestrielles

Les autorisations budgétaires totales utilisées au cours du troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2020-2021 s’élevaient à 295,4 millions de dollars (19 % des autorisations budgétaires totales disponibles; 21 % des autorisations budgétaires totales pour les programmes de bourses et de subventions; et 24 % des autorisations budgétaires totales pour les dépenses de fonctionnement et les avantages sociaux des employés).

Subventions et bourses

Les paiements de transfert représentent 96 % des autorisations budgétaires disponibles du CRSNG. Ils varient d’un trimestre à l’autre en fonction du cycle des programmes. Au cours du troisième trimestre de 2020-2021, les dépenses du CRSNG au titre des paiements de transfert ont augmenté de 17,3 millions de dollars par rapport au trimestre correspondant de l’exercice précédent. Les différences sont attribuables à :

  • une augmentation nette de 41,0 millions de dollars en raison d’un écart dans le versement des paiements;
  • une diminution de 21,6 millions de dollars en raison de l’élimination progressive de la plupart des programmes de partenariats de recherche, qui est partiellement compensée par les dépenses engagées dans le cadre du nouveau programme de subventions Alliance;
  • une diminution nette de 2,4 millions de dollars en raison de l’élimination progressive de la série de programmes des Réseaux de centres d’excellence.   

Dépenses de fonctionnement

Les dépenses liées au personnel pour le troisième trimestre de l’exercice 2020-2021 ont augmenté de 0,5 million de dollars par rapport à la période correspondante en 2019‑2020. Cette augmentation s’explique principalement par les circonstances découlant de la COVID‑19, qui ont accru considérablement la charge de travail liée à la mise en œuvre virtuelle des concours de subventions, à l’élaboration de nouvelles initiatives de financement de la recherche interdisciplinaire et à la dotation en personnel de TI à l’appui des nouvelles capacités opérationnelles.

Les dépenses non liées au personnel ont baissé de 0,3 million de dollars, principalement en raison des circonstances découlant de la COVID‑19, qui ont entrainé une diminution considérable des couts de transport et des services professionnels. Cette baisse a été compensée en partie par une hausse des couts liés à l’achat de matériel de bureau par suite des efforts soutenus déployés par le CRSNG pour améliorer sa technologie et ses outils.     

Risques et incertitudes

Compte tenu de la pandémie de COVID-19, le CRSNG réévalue ses priorités afin de réaffecter des ressources en fonction des nouvelles pressions. À mesure que la situation évolue, l’organisme continuera de surveiller ses engagements clés et les activités courantes afin de s’assurer qu’il dispose des ressources humaines et financières nécessaires pour donner suite aux activités hautement prioritaires. 

La pandémie de COVID-19 exerce de nouvelles pressions sur les activités du CRSNG, notamment en ce qui concerne la prestation de nouveaux programmes ou la gestion de programmes en place. En outre, elle a eu des répercussions sur la mise en œuvre d’importantes initiatives organisationnelles telles que la Solution de gestion des subventions des trois organismes et Milieu de travail GC. Afin d’assurer la sécurité des employés et de maintenir les activités opérationnelles de base, l’organisme s’est attaché en priorité à gérer la transition de tous les employés vers le travail à distance.  

Le CRSNG a fait des progrès considérables lorsqu’il s’agit de préparer et d’outiller les employés en vue de la transition de l’organisme à Milieu de travail GC dans ses nouveaux bureaux (emménagement prévu en 2021). Plus précisément, le CRSNG a déployé des outils de travail mobiles (p. ex. tablettes électroniques, téléphones intelligents, clés d’accès à distance) et des processus (p. ex. directive sur l’autorisation électronique). Il a également communiqué avec Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada afin de planifier nos futurs locaux, en lui communiquant l’information recueillie dans le cadre des consultations auprès des employés.  

Il y a un risque que le CRSNG ne puisse pas assurer la continuité de toutes les activités opérationnelles pendant la pandémie de COVID‑19 et la période de rétablissement subséquente. L’organisme ajustera les conditions, les outils et les processus de travail afin d’assurer la continuité des activités tout en mettant au premier plan la santé et de la sécurité de ses employés. Il y a aussi une pression pour mener les initiatives en lien avec la COVID-19 en même temps que les programmes de base. Pour atténuer ce risque, le CRSNG se penchera sur le processus d’examen du mérite dans le contexte de la COVID‑19 afin de préparer des solutions de rechange pour la tenue de réunions des comités de sélection au cas où les mesures de distanciation physique et les restrictions relatives aux déplacements seraient toujours en vigueur lorsque viendra le temps d’évaluer les demandes présentées aux divers concours de 2021-2022.  

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Le CRSNG travaille en partenariat avec Mitacs dans le cadre du Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (PICC) afin de faciliter les solutions appliquées reposant sur la recherche qui mettent à contribution du personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ)  ̶  étudiants et stagiaires postdoctoraux  ̶  de collèges, cégeps et écoles polytechniques du Canada. Ainsi, pour la première fois, les étudiants de ces établissements qui demandent une subvention de recherche et développement appliquée du PICC peuvent également demander un appui supplémentaire sous la forme d’un stage rémunéré dans le cadre du programme Accélération de Mitacs pour les collèges, les cégeps et les écoles polytechniques afin d’aider à former du PHQ. L’accès plus facile au financement permet aux chercheurs de trouver plus rapidement des réponses aux défis d’aujourd’hui, par exemple la COVID‑19, les pandémies mondiales ou le réchauffement climatique.

Le CRSNG a lancé l’Initiative de modélisation des maladies infectieuses émergentes en collaboration avec l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada. Il versera 10 millions de dollars sur deux ans afin d’établir à l’échelle du pays des réseaux multidisciplinaires de spécialistes chargés de modéliser les maladies infectieuses émergentes en vue de répondre aux besoins en santé publique associés à des pandémies comme celle de la COVID-19. Cette initiative témoigne du rôle clé que joue le CRSNG dans la mobilisation des connaissances en sciences mathématiques et en santé publique pour relever les défis liés aux pandémies. On s’attend à ce que ce financement de démarrage permette d’établir un réseau permanent de calibre mondial pour la surveillance de la modélisation des pandémies.

Le CRSNG a annoncé le lancement du Prix Donna-Strickland du CRSNG soulignant les retombées sociales de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie et des Bourses Arthur-B.-McDonald. Le Prix Donna-Strickland, d’une valeur de 250 000 $, sera décerné annuellement à une personne ou à une équipe dont les travaux de recherche remarquables ont donné lieu à des bienfaits exceptionnels pour la société, l’environnement ou l’économie du pays. Les Bourses Arthur‑B.‑McDonald récompensent les chercheurs universitaires en début de carrière en sciences naturelles et en génie et les aident à accroitre leurs capacités de recherche afin qu’ils puissent devenir des chefs de file mondiaux dans leur domaine. Ces bourses d’une valeur de 250 000 $ sur deux ans étaient auparavant connues sous le nom de Bourses commémoratives E.W.R. Steacie.

Le CRSNG a amorcé le processus de planification stratégique qui débouchera sur son prochain plan stratégique à long terme – le Plan stratégique du CRSNG pour 2030. Sous la direction du vice-président associé, Stratégie et transformation, l’équipe de la planification stratégique élabore actuellement un plan de mobilisation pour les activités en 2021.

Le CRSNG a nommé son premier dirigeant principal des données, franchissant ainsi une autre étape importante pour faire en sorte que tous ses processus et activités reposent de plus en plus sur des données probantes.  

Approuvé par :

Copie originale signée par :

Alejandro Adem
Président
CRSNG



Ottawa, Canada
Le 1er mars 2021

 

Copie originale signée par :

Patricia Sauvé-McCuan
Vice-présidente et dirigeante principale des finances
CRSNG


État des autorisations (non audité)

  Exercice 2020-2021 (en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2021* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2020 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1—dépenses de fonctionnement 57 141 13 521 37 204
Crédit 5—subventions et bourses 1 313 079 280 473

968 388

Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 5 754 1 438 4 105
Dépense des revenus en vertu du paragraphe 4(2) de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie 179 - -
Paiements relatifs aux évènements de santé publique d’intérêt national et l’allocation de soutien du revenu 153 400 - 114 858
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 529 553 295 432 1 124 555
*N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

 

  Exercice 2019-2020 (en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 31 décembre 2019 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1—dépenses de fonctionnement 55 851 13 162 39 791
Crédit 5—subventions et bourses 1 321 516 263 167 952 438
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Régimes d'avantages sociaux des employés 6 005 1 495 4 486
Dépense des revenus en vertu du paragraphe 4(2) de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie 179 - -
Paiements relatifs aux évènements de santé publique d’intérêt national et l’allocation de soutien du revenu - - -
Autorisations budgétaires totales 1 383 551 277 824 996 715
* N’inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l’exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

État des dépenses budgétaires ministérielles par article courant (non audité)

  Exercice 2020-2021 (en milliers de dollars)
  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2021 Total dépense durant le trimestre terminé le
31 décembre 2020
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses      
Personnel 46 830 12 121 35 893
Transport et communications 4 620 112 247
Information 1 490 234 491
Services professionnels et spéciaux 7 859 1 524 4 253
Location 1 111 419 948
Services de réparation et d’entretien 156 45 68
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 164 100 110
Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et d'ouvrages 64 - -
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 1 980 404 500
Autres subventions et paiements - - -
Paiements de transfert 1 465 279 280 473 1 082 045
Dépenses budgétaires totales 1 529 553 295 432 1 124 555

 

   Exercice 2019-2020 (en milliers de dollars)
  Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2020 Total dépense durant le trimestre terminé le
31 décembre 2019
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses      
Personnel 46 133 11 578 35 690
Transport et communications 4 795 714 1 680
Information 2 121 157 449
Services professionnels et spéciaux 5 875 1 827 4 432
Location 1 384 331 1 021
Services de réparation et d’entretien 239 19 95
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 192 (9) 77
Acquisition de terrains, bâtiments et d'ouvrages - 1 1
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 1 296 39 833
Autres subventions et paiements - - (1)
Paiements de transfert 1 321 516 263 167 952 438
Dépenses budgétaires totales 1 383 551 277 824 996 715