College and Community Innovation program partnership guidelines

The College and Community Innovation (CCI) program offers funding opportunities that support partnerships in applied research across the spectrum of natural sciences and engineering, social sciences and humanities and health sciences. Partner organizations may be from the private, public and/or not-for-profit sectors. The specific objectives of a CCI funding opportunity may help determine the most appropriate type of partner(s).

On this page


Role of partner organizations

Partner organizations must play an active role in the project and make contributions through at least one of the following roles*:

  • Active participation in the project’s applied research activities
  • Utilization of the project’s applied research results to help achieve its desired outcomes
  • Active participation in translating or mobilizing knowledge to ensure that the applied research results generate possible economic, social, environmental and/or health benefits for Canada and Canadians

Some funding opportunities require colleges to identify at least one partner organization at the time of the application, and may further require that at least one partner organization be recognized for cost-sharing. Conversely, some funding opportunities do not require colleges to identify partners or partner contributions (cash and in-kind) at the time of the application. During the term of the grant, it is nevertheless expected that the college undertake applied research projects with partner organizations that provide contributions (cash and/or in-kind) commensurate with the requirements of the funding opportunity. Therefore, it is recommended that the current partnership guidelines be considered in the strategic planning of the activities that are supported by any CCI grant.

The contributions provided by the partner organization(s) in collaboration with a college must be documented in order to assess the level and nature of the partner involvement and the importance of its contribution to the success of the project. In reviewing your application for a grant, NSERC will assess the relevance and potential impact of each partner organization and their proposed contributions. Partner contributions (including cash and/or in-kind) will also be tracked through reporting mechanisms, as determined by the funding opportunity.

* Note: Active participation in the project and in-kind contributions are not required from funding organizations (e.g., other provincial or federal funding agencies) providing financial support to the project.


Partner contributions

Cash contributions

Partners recognized for cost-sharing with NSERC must make cash contributions commensurate with the cost-sharing requirements of the CCI funding opportunity. To be recognized for cost-sharing, a partner organization must be listed as a type of organization whose cash contributions can be recognized (see Table 1: Cost-sharing recognition for partners in the CCI program).

Cash contributed by the partner before the proposal is submitted may be used to start the project, but partner funds spent more than three months prior to the application submission date will not be recognized for cost-sharing. In contrast, CCI grant funds cannot be applied to expenses incurred before a project was approved.

Notes:

  • Unless permitted under the specific funding opportunity, grant funds may not flow back to a partner organization.
  • Partner cash contributions that have already been leveraged by another federal public source cannot be used as a partner contribution for cost-sharing.
Table 1: Cost-sharing recognition for partners in the CCI programFootnote 1
Private sector

Can

Cash contributions can be recognized
(if cost-sharing requirements are met)

Cannot

Cash contributions cannot be recognized

  • Canadian private companies (only if business operations are within Canada)
  • Multinationals (only if there are business operations in Canada)
  • Foreign companies (only if they are partnering with a Canadian organization recognized for cost-sharing)
  • Companies with fewer than two full-time employees
  • Holding companies
  • Venture capital/angel investors
Canadian public sector

Can

Cash contributions can be recognized
(if cost-sharing requirements are met)

Cannot

Cash contributions cannot be recognized

  • Crown corporations
  • Federal government departments
  • Indigenous organizations
  • Municipalities and local or regional governments established by or under provincial or territorial statute
  • Provincial/territorial government departments
  • Public utilities
  • Foreign governments
  • Funding organizations (whose primary mission is to fund R&D)
  • Organizations eligible to receive and administer funds from CIHR, NSERC, and/or SSHRC (includes colleges, CCTTs, CEGEPs, polytechnics, universities, etc.)
  • Organizations whose primary mission is to perform R&D (for example, NRC, CRCC, CSA, Polar Knowledge Canada)

 

 

Canadian not-for-profit

Can

Cash contributions can be recognized
(if cost-sharing requirements are met)

Cannot

Cash contributions cannot be recognized

  • Community organizations
  • Hospitals and medical/clinical institutes (only when they are not eligible to receive Tri-Agency funding, and when their cash contributions towards the research activities are not from other government funding)
  • Industrial associations
  • Libraries, museums and archives (only when the primary mission is to maintain collections [e.g., historical, scientific, artistic or cultural] for the public good)
  • Producer groups
  • Registered charities (only if there is a mandate to carry out and apply the research)
  • Zoos and aquariums (only when the primary mission is to maintain collections [e.g., historical, scientific, artistic or cultural] for the public good)
  • Consortia with the majority of their funding originating from government sources
  • Foreign not-for-profit organizations
  • Incubators and accelerators
  • Individuals
  • Philanthropic organizations
  • Organizations eligible to receive and administer funds from CIHR, NSERC, and/or SSHRC (includes colleges, CCTTs, CEGEPS, polytechnics, universities, etc.)
  • Organizations whose primary mission is to fund R&D and are funded or controlled primarily by government (see “Funding organizations” under “Canadian public sector”)

In-kind contributions

In-kind contributions are important to the success of the project even though they are not taken into account in the cost-sharing calculations with NSERC. All partner organizations participating in the project must play an active role and make in-kind contributions through their involvement. In-kind contributions considered essential to the research could take the form of cash-equivalent goods or services that represent an incremental expense the partner organization would not normally incur and that would have to be purchased by project funds if not donated. In-kind contributions may also include the time of the partner organization’s staff with expertise relevant to the project who will be providing direction and participating in the project. In some cases, the partner organization may provide access to special resources or data. For more details, please see Table 2: Categories of in-kind contributions below.

Table 2: Categories of in-kind contributions
Category Description

Salaries of scientific and technical staff

Actual salary cost (including benefits)

Donation of equipment and software

Equipment:

  • Used
    • fair-market value
    • company book value
    • price for internal transfers
  • New
    • selling price to most favoured customer (if stock item)
    • cost of manufacture (if one-of-a-kind)
  • Loaned
    • rental equivalent based on depreciation
    • rental equivalent to highest-volume rate

Software:

  • Cost of training and support (at the university/college site) for software by industrial partner personnel
  • Price to most favoured customer for one licence per software package
  • Cost of equivalent commercial product (if donated software is not commercially available)

Donation of material

Unit cost of production (commercial products)

Selling price to most favoured customer

Price for internal transfers

Cost of production of prototypes and samples

Data

Field work logistics

Internal rates for logistical support, food and lodging for college/university personnel working on field work

Provision of services

Analytical and other services: Internal rates or incremental cost of providing service

Use of organization's facilities

Internal rates for logistical support, food and lodging for research team members working on partner’s premises

Internal rates for use of specialized equipment and/or databanks by research team members, or use of process or production lines

Internal rates for value of lost production resulting from downtime

Salaries of managerial and administrative staff

Actual salary cost (including benefits)

Other

Incremental costs of access to unique databases

Patents and licences (licences acquired from third parties for use by the university/college)

Faculty remuneration (payment to the university/college for release time from teaching duties)

Travel costs to meet with university/college personnel


Partner responsibilities

Application

If applicable, the authorized contact for the partner organization will be invited by the applicant via the Convergence Portal to complete the Partner contact information, Partner organization information, Partner contributions and Supporting documents sections. Private sector organizations with fewer than five full-time employees must complete the Partner organization supplemental information questionnaire and include it in the Supporting documents section. NSERC may require other potential partner organizations to complete this questionnaire to determine whether the partner organization can be recognized for cost-sharing.

Reporting

Subject to the requirements of a CCI grant, partners may be required to submit a final report.

Compliance

All partner organizations, including foreign and multinational companies, are responsible for complying with NSERC policies and procedures, and with other Canadian laws, regulations, standards or policies that apply to the collaborative applied research activities outlined in the proposal. In rare cases, restrictions such as Canadian economic sanctions may apply to partnerships with foreign companies.

Conflict of interest

Partner organizations must be independent from the academic institutions of the applicant, co-applicant(s) and any other members of the research team. A partner organization is not independent if the applicant, co-applicant or other member of the research team

  • has an ownership position in the partner organization
  • is employed by the partner organization in any role, whether salaried or not
  • is a member of a governing board of the partner organization
  • is related (i.e., connected by any personal relationship including marriage, common law partnership or adoption) to a person who controls, or who is a member of a governing board that controls, the partner organization

A researcher’s own company is not normally able to participate as a partner organization in a project in which the researcher is the applicant, co-applicant or other participant with financial authority on the grant. However, such a researcher-owned partner organization may be able to participate if these individuals and the academic institution can be demonstrated to be sufficiently independent from the partner organization’s management and operations, and if they and their relatives (if applicable) do not have a combined controlling interest in the partner organization (i.e., combined or sole ownership must be less than 30%). The specific situation should be discussed with NSERC before applying.


Tri-agency logos

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Lignes directrices sur les partenariats visés par le Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté

Le Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté (ICC) offre des possibilités de financement à l’appui des partenariats en recherche appliquée dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie, des sciences humaines et des sciences de la santé. Les organismes partenaires peuvent être issus des secteurs privé, public ou sans but lucratif. Pour déterminer le type de partenaires le plus approprié, on peut s’inspirer des objectifs particuliers d’une possibilité de financement s’inscrivant dans le cadre du Programme d’ICC.

Sur cette page


Rôle des organismes partenaires

Les organismes partenaires doivent participer activement au projet et apporter ainsi une contribution. La participation* peut prendre l’une ou l’autre des formes suivantes :

  • participation active aux activités de recherche appliquée menées dans le cadre du projet;
  • utilisation des résultats de la recherche appliquée pour contribuer à l’obtention des résultats escomptés;
  • participation active au transfert ou à la mobilisation de connaissances pour donner l’assurance que les résultats de la recherche appliquée pourront générer des avantages économiques, sociaux, environnementaux ou sanitaires pour le Canada et les Canadiens.

Certaines possibilités de financement exigent que les collèges fassent état d’au moins un organisme partenaire au moment de la présentation de la demande; dans certains cas, on exige aussi qu’ils comptent au moins un organisme partenaire dont la contribution en espèces pourra être prise en compte dans le calcul du partage des couts. En revanche, certaines possibilités de financement n’exigent pas que les collèges fassent état d’organismes partenaires ou des contributions en espèces ou en nature des partenaires au moment de la présentation de la demande. Toutefois, pendant la période de validité de la subvention, on s’attend à ce que les collèges mènent des projets de recherche appliquée en collaboration avec des organismes partenaires qui fournissent des contributions en espèces ou en nature proportionnelles aux exigences associées à la possibilité de financement en question. C’est pourquoi on recommande aux collèges de tenir compte des présentes lignes directrices dans la planification stratégique des activités qui seront financées par une subvention du Programme d’ICC.

Les contributions fournies par un organisme partenaire en collaboration avec un collège doivent être documentées afin de permettre d’évaluer le niveau et la nature de la participation du partenaire et l’importance de sa contribution à la réalisation du projet. Lorsqu’il examine votre demande de subvention, le CRSNG évalue la pertinence et les retombées éventuelles de chaque organisme partenaire et de sa contribution en nature proposée. Les mécanismes de présentation de rapports associés à la possibilité de financement concernée permettent de faire un suivi des contributions, en espèces ou en nature, des organismes partenaires.

* Remarque : Les organismes de financement (p. ex. les autres organismes de financement provinciaux ou fédéraux) qui appuient financièrement le projet ne sont pas tenus de participer activement aux activités de recherche ni de fournir une contribution en nature.


Contributions des organismes partenaires

Contributions en espèces

Les partenaires reconnus par le CRSNG aux fins du partage des couts doivent apporter une contribution en espèces proportionnelle au ratio de partage des couts applicable selon la possibilité de financement concernée. Pour que sa contribution soit prise en compte dans le calcul du partage des couts, l’organisme partenaire doit faire partie des types d’organismes dont les contributions en espèces peuvent être prises en compte (voir le Tableau 1 : Reconnaissance des partenaires aux fins du partage des couts dans le cadre du Programme d’ICC).

Les contributions en espèces du partenaire consenties avant la présentation de la demande peuvent servir à faire démarrer le projet, mais les fonds des partenaires dépensés plus de trois mois avant la date de présentation de la demande ne seront pas reconnus aux fins du partage des couts. Les fonds de la subvention du Programme d’ICC ne peuvent pas servir à couvrir des dépenses engagées avant l’approbation du projet.

Remarques :

  • À moins que cette pratique soit autorisée par les modalités de la possibilité de financement concernée, les fonds de la subvention ne peuvent être versés à un organisme partenaire.
  • Les contributions en espèces d’un organisme partenaire qui ont donné lieu à un financement de contrepartie accordé par une autre source du secteur public fédéral ne peuvent être prises en compte dans le calcul du partage des couts.
Tableau 1 : Reconnaissance des partenaires aux fins du partage des couts dans le cadre du Programme d’ICCFootnote 1
Secteur privé

Can

La contribution en espèces peut être prise en compte
(si les exigences sont respectées)

Cannot

La contribution en espèces ne peut pas être prise en compte

  • Entreprises étrangères (seulement si elle collabore avec un organisme canadien reconnu à ces fins)
  • Entreprises privées canadiennes (seulement si elle exerce ses activités au Canada)
  • Multinationales (seulement si elle exerce des activités au Canada)
  • Entreprises comptant moins de deux employés à temps plein
  • Sociétés de capital de risque ou investisseurs providentiels
  • Sociétés de portefeuille
Secteur public canadien

Can

La contribution en espèces peut être prise en compte
(si les exigences sont respectées)

Cannot

La contribution en espèces ne peut pas être prise en compte

  • Entreprises de services publics
  • Gouvernements provinciaux ou territoriaux
  • Ministères fédéraux
  • Municipalités et administrations locales ou régionales établies sous le régime d’une loi provinciale ou territoriale
  • Organismes autochtones
  • Sociétés d’État
  • Gouvernements étrangers
  • Organismes autorisés à recevoir et à administrer des fonds du CRSH, du CRSNG ou des IRSC (entre autres les collèges, les centres collégiaux de transfert de technologie, les cégeps, les écoles polytechniques et les universités)
  • Organismes ayant pour mission première de mener des travaux de R et D (par exemple le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, le Comité de coordination de la recherche au Canada (CCRC), l’Agence spatiale canadienne et Savoir polaire Canada)
  • Organismes de financement (ayant pour mission première de financer la R et D)

 

 

Organismes sans but lucratif au Canada

Can

La contribution en espèces peut être prise en compte
(si les exigences sont respectées)

Cannot

La contribution en espèces ne peut pas être prise en compte

  • Associations industrielles
  • Bibliothèques, musées et archives (seulement si sa mission première est d’assurer la conservation de collections [p. ex. historiques, scientifiques, artistiques ou culturelles] dans l’intérêt du public)
  • Groupes de producteurs
  • Hôpitaux et instituts médicaux ou cliniques (seulement s’il n’est pas admissible à un financement des trois organismes et que ses contributions en espèces aux activités de recherche ne proviennent pas d’un financement accordé par le gouvernement)
  • Organismes communautaires
  • Organismes de bienfaisance enregistrés (seulement s’il a pour mandat de réaliser de la recherche et d’en appliquer les résultats)
  • Zoos et aquariums (seulement si sa mission première est d’assurer la conservation de collections [p. ex. historiques, scientifiques, artistiques ou culturelles] dans l’intérêt du public)
  • Consortiums dont le financement provient principalement de sources gouvernementales
  • Incubateurs ou accélérateurs d’entreprises
  • Individus
  • Organismes autorisés à recevoir et à administrer des fonds du CRSH, du CRSNG ou des IRSC (entre autres les collèges, les centres collégiaux de transfert de technologie, les cégeps, les écoles polytechniques et les universités)
  • Organismes ayant pour mission première de financer des travaux de R et D et qui sont financés ou contrôlés principalement par le gouvernement (voir la rubrique « Organismes de financement » sous « Secteur public canadien »)
  • Organismes philanthropiques
  • Organismes sans but lucratif à l’étranger

Contributions en nature

Les contributions en nature sont également essentielles à la réussite du projet même si elles ne sont pas prises en compte dans le calcul du partage des couts avec le CRSNG. Tous les organismes partenaires doivent participer activement au projet et y apporter ainsi une contribution en nature. Les contributions en nature considérées comme essentielles à la recherche peuvent prendre la forme de biens ou de services qui représentent une dépense supplémentaire que l’organisme partenaire n’engagerait pas normalement et qui devraient être achetés à l’aide des fonds du programme de recherche en l’absence de dons. Les contributions en nature peuvent également inclure le temps du personnel de l’organisme qui a des compétences pertinentes en ce qui concerne le projet, qui donnera une orientation au projet et qui y participera. Dans certains cas, l’organisme partenaire peut offrir l’accès à des données ou à des ressources spéciales. Pour en savoir plus, veuillez consulter le Tableau 2 : Catégories de contributions en nature ci-dessous.

Tableau 2 : Catégories de contributions en nature
Catégorie Description

Rémunération du personnel scientifique et technique

Cout réel des salaires (y compris les avantages sociaux)

Dons d’appareils ou de logiciels

Appareillage

  • Appareillage d’occasion
    • Juste valeur marchande
    • Valeur selon l’inventaire de l’entreprise
    • Prix de transferts internes
  • Appareillage neuf
    • Prix de vente au client le plus privilégié (si l’article est en stock)
    • Cout de fabrication (s’il s’agit d’un article unique en son genre)
  • Prêt
    • Équivalent de location fondé sur la dépréciation
    • Équivalent de location selon le taux du volume le plus élevé

Logiciels

  • Frais de la formation et du soutien (à l’université ou au collège) relatifs au logiciel qui sont assurés par le personnel du partenaire industriel
  • Cout d’une licence par progiciel pour le client le plus privilégié
  • Cout d’un produit commercial équivalent (si un logiciel pouvant être obtenu par don n’est pas disponible sur le marché)

Dons de matériaux

Cout unitaire de fabrication (produits commerciaux)

Prix de vente au client le plus privilégié

Prix de transferts internes

Cout de production de prototypes et d’échantillons

Données

Logistique des travaux sur le terrain

Taux internes pour le soutien logistique, la nourriture et l’hébergement du personnel de l’université ou du collège travaillant sur le terrain

Prestation de services

Services d’analyse et autres services : taux internes ou frais marginaux de prestation de services

Utilisation des installations de l’établissement

Taux internes pour le soutien logistique, la nourriture et l’hébergement des membres de l’équipe de recherche travaillant dans les installations de l’organisme partenaire

Taux internes pour l’utilisation d’appareillage spécialisé ou de bases de données par les membres de l’équipe de recherche ou pour l’utilisation de procédés ou encore d’une chaine de production

Taux internes pour les pertes de production attribuables à un temps d’arrêt

Rémunération du personnel de gestion et d’administration

Cout réel des salaires (y compris les avantages sociaux)

Autres

Frais marginaux d’accès à des bases de données uniques

Brevets et licences obtenues de tiers pour leur utilisation par l’université ou le collège

Rémunération des professeurs (paiement à l’université ou au collège pour le détachement du chercheur de tâches d’enseignement)

Frais de déplacement pour rencontrer le personnel de l’université ou du collège


Responsabilités des organismes partenaires

Demande

S’il y a lieu, le candidat invite le représentant désigné de l’organisme partenaire, via le portail Convergence, à remplir les sections Renseignements du partenaire, Renseignements sur l’organisme partenaire, Contributions des partenaires et Documents à l’appui. Les organismes du secteur privé comptant moins de cinq employés à temps plein doivent remplir le questionnaire Information supplémentaire concernant l’organisme partenaire et le joindre à la section Documents à l’appui. Le CRSNG peut exiger que d’autres organismes partenaires éventuels remplissent ce questionnaire afin de déterminer si leur contribution en espèces pourra être prise en compte dans le calcul du partage des couts.

Production de rapports

Sous réserve des exigences associées à une subvention du Programme d’ICC, il est possible que les organismes partenaires soient tenus de produire un rapport final.

Conformité

Les organismes partenaires, y compris les entreprises étrangères et multinationales, doivent se conformer aux politiques et aux procédures du CRSNG ainsi qu’aux autres lois, normes, politiques ou règlements canadiens qui s’appliquent aux activités de recherche appliquée décrites dans la proposition. Dans de rares cas, des restrictions telles que les sanctions économiques canadiennes peuvent s’appliquer aux partenariats établis avec des entreprises étrangères.

Conflit d’intérêts

Les organismes partenaires doivent être libres de tout lien de dépendance envers l’établissement postsecondaire d’attache du candidat, des cocandidats et de tout autre membre de l’équipe de recherche. On considère qu’un organisme partenaire a un lien de dépendance si le candidat, un cocandidat ou d’autres membres de l’équipe de recherche sont :

  • propriétaires ou copropriétaires de l’organisme partenaire;
  • employés par l’organisme partenaire, peu importe leur rôle, qu’il s’agisse d’un poste rémunéré ou non;
  • membres du conseil d’administration de l’organisme partenaire;
  • des membres de la famille d’une personne qui dirige l’organisme partenaire ou qui siège au conseil d’administration de l’organisme partenaire (c’est-à-dire que le candidat, l’un des cocandidats ou un des membres de l’équipe de recherche est lié à cette personne par une relation personnelle, notamment le mariage, une union de fait ou l’adoption).

En général, l’entreprise appartenant à un chercheur ne peut pas participer à un projet à titre d’organisme partenaire si le chercheur est le candidat, un cocandidat ou tout autre participant qui a les pouvoirs financiers ayant trait à la subvention. Toutefois, l’entreprise peut participer au projet en tant qu’organisme partenaire si ces personnes et l’établissement postsecondaire sont en mesure de démontrer qu’ils sont suffisamment indépendants de la gestion et des activités de l’entreprise et si les membres de leur famille, le cas échéant, et eux n’ont pas, entre eux, une participation majoritaire dans l’entreprise (c’est-à-dire qu’ils ne peuvent pas détenir collectivement plus de 30 % des actions). Vous devriez discuter de la situation particulière avec le CRSNG avant de présenter la demande.


Logos des trois organismes

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram