Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

College and Community Innovation Program Applied Research Rapid Response to Covid-19

Application Instructions

To create or access on-line applications, select On-line System Login.

For help with the On-line System, check the Frequently Asked Questions; or contact the On-line Services Helpdesk (webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or 613-995-4273) and include your email address and telephone number.

Once logged into the On-Line System, create a “Form 103 - CCI”.  Under grant type, select “College and Community Social Innovation Fund Grants”. Continue filling out the application Form 103 by following the instructions below.

Personal information

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC are outlined in the following policy statements:

The information you provide in your application is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act (ATIP). The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings.

Completing the application modules (Form 103)

Application Profile

  • The title will be used for publication purposes. It should describe the subject of the research to be supported. It should not contain a company or trade name. Spell out scientific symbols and acronyms.
  • For this call for proposals, the title of proposal must include “COVID-19”.

Area(s) of research

Research subject and area of application codes

Keywords

  • Provide a maximum of 10 key words that describe the proposal.

Certifications / requirements

Before completing this section, consult the Requirements for Certain Types of Research.

Research involving humans: If you select Yes, you must provide your institution's administration with the appropriate certification indicating that research involving humans has been reviewed and has received the required approval.

Research involving human pluripotent stem cells: If you select Yes, or if through peer review the application is found to fall into this category and is recommended for funding, it will be forwarded, with your consent, to CIHR’s Stem Cell Oversight Committee (SCOC) to ensure compliance with This link will take you to another Web site Chapter 12, Section F of the Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS 2). The SCOC review is in addition to the normal review by local research ethics boards (REBs). Funding will not be released until approval has been obtained from the SCOC.

Research involving the use of animals: If you select Yes, you must provide your institution's administration with the certification from the animal care committee at the institution that the experimental procedures proposed have been approved and that the care and treatment of animals is in accordance with the principles outlined in the Canadian Council on Animal Care (CCAC) guide.

Research involving hazardous substances: If you select Yes, you must provide your institution's administration with the certification from the biosafety committee at the institution that the laboratory procedures being used comply with the safety precautions necessary for the level of containment required by the research.

Environmental impact: The Impact Assessment Form (Appendix A) may be required. For more information, consult NSERC’s Guidelines on Impact Assessment.

Participants

  • List up to 5 participants (faculty and staff from the host institution involved with the proposal).

Supporting Organizations

  • Leave fields blank. Information about supporting organizations should be provided in the proposal.

CV - Applicant and Participants

  • Upload one blank page PDF (8 ½" x 11"). The expertise of the participants should be provided in the proposal.

Collaborators

  • Leave fields blank. Collaborators must be identified in the Team Expertise section of the proposal.

CV – Collaborators

  • Do not upload document. Collaborator CVs are not required.

Summary of Proposal

The summary is intended to explain the proposal in language that the public can understand. Using simple terms, briefly describe the nature of the research and the overall goal and objectives of the proposal. This plain-language summary will be available to the public if your proposal is funded. If you wish, you may also provide a summary in the other official language in the text box identified for that purpose.

Activity Schedule

  • Enter “Milestone” in the Milestone field and save. No other information is required. The planned activities must be described in the proposal.

Proposal

  • Describe your proposal using the headings below within a maximum of five single-sided pages (four pages for the proposal + one page for the budget explanation).

Introduction

Provide a brief introduction to the proposal. Present the overall context of the project and describe the relevance to the COVID-19 outbreak.

Detailed Proposal

Present the overall objectives of your proposal and clearly explain how it will addresses industry production challenges or community innovation challenges of the COVID-19 outbreak. Outline and demonstrate the appropriateness of the proposed approach to addressing these challenges. Applicants and the partner organizations must consider the unique present circumstances when planning their work (e.g., access to the institution vs. working remotely, respecting physical distancing, etc.). Describe the involvement of the partner organization and other relevant stakeholders in the design and conduct of the research and/or related activities.

Potential for impact

Specify how the proposal will rapidly mobilize solutions and expertise related to the COVID-19 outbreak. Explain how the knowledge and expertise will be effectively transferred to the local community and partner organizations. Describe the capability of the partner organization(s) to implement and/or use the project results leading to impact within their organization(s).

Team expertise

Explain how the knowledge and experience of the team provide the expertise needed to address the proposed objectives and to complete the project successfully. Describe the college’s ability to mobilize the necessary resources on timelines appropriate to this project and call for proposals.

Budget explanation (1 page max)

Provide an overall description of the proposed use of funds

References

  • Upload one blank page PDF (8 ½" x 11"). References are not required.

Proposed Expenditures

  • For each expenditure line item, enter the total cash amount for Year 1. In-kind amounts do not need to be entered. This call for proposals is limited to one year of funding. The maximum request from NSERC cannot exceed $75, 000.

Budget Justification

  • Upload one blank page PDF (8 ½" x 11"). The budget description must be included in the proposal and must not be uploaded as a separate document.

Quotations

  • Upload one blank page PDF (8 ½" x 11"). Quotations are not required.

Relationship to other applied research support

  • Do not upload document. This section is not required.

Contributions from supporting organizations

  • Do not enter contributions of partner organizations. The involvement of partner organizations must be described in the proposal.
  • For Type of organization, select “Other”.
  • For Name of supporting organization, select “Not available from the selection list **”
  • Enter “Org” in the Name if not available field.
  • Enter “1” in the Year 1 field next to Salaries for scientific and technical staff and save.

Contributions from supporting organizations (attachment)

  • In lieu of formal letters of support, e-mail confirmation of partner participation in the project can be provided as an attachment to the proposal. Confirmation e-mails or letters must be saved into a single PDF document, and must include:
    • The organization name and complete contact information; and
    • The organization type: Public, Private, Not-for-profit, Other (if other, please specify).

Impact Assessment Form (Appendix A)

An Impact Assessment Form (Appendix A) must be completed and uploaded to the Environmental impact page, as required.

Cover letter (optional)

The cover letter is optional and should be used only if you wish to provide NSERC with additional information that will not be shared with reviewers, such as a request that an individual or group of individuals not be involved in the review of your proposal. NSERC will take such requests into consideration. The cover letter must contain your name, the type of CCI grant for which you are applying and the title of your application.

Note: This letter may be accessible to these individuals under the Privacy Act.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme d’innovation dans les collèges et la communauté – Recherche appliquée en réponse rapide à la COVID-19

Instructions relatives à la présentation des demandes

Pour créer une demande en ligne ou y avoir accès, sélectionnez Ouvrez une session du Système en ligne.

Pour obtenir de l’aide concernant le Système en ligne, consultez la Foire aux questions. Vous pouvez aussi communiquer avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques (webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou 613-995-4273). Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Veuillez créer un « Formulaire 103 - ICC » dans le Système en ligne.  Le type de subvention sélectionné doit être « Subvention de fonds d’innovation sociale destiné aux collèges et aux communautés ». Continuez à remplir le formulaire 103 en suivant les instructions qui suivent dans ce document.

Renseignements personnels

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG sont décrites dans les énoncés de politiques suivants :

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre demande sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans la page This link will take you to another Web site Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements.

Remplir les sections de la demande (formulaire 103)

Profil de la demande

  • Le titre de la proposition, qui devrait décrire le sujet de la recherche proposée sans faire mention de l’appellation commerciale ou de la raison sociale, sera utilisé aux fins de publication. Écrivez au long les symboles et les acronymes scientifiques.
  • Pour le présent appel de propositions, la mention « COVID-19 » doit figurer dans le titre de la proposition.

Domaines de recherche

Codes de sujets de recherche et codes par domaine d’application

Mots-clés

  • Donnez au plus dix mots-clés qui décrivent la proposition.

Exigences en matière d’attestation

Avant de remplir cette section, consultez les Exigences concernant certains types de recherche.

Recherche utilisant des êtres humains : Si vous sélectionnez Oui, vous devez fournir à l’administration de votre établissement un certificat attestant que les projets de recherche comportant des expériences sur l’être humain ont fait l’objet d’un examen et ont reçu l’approbation requise.

Recherche utilisant des cellules souches pluripotentes humaines : Si vous avez répondu Oui, ou qu’à la suite de l’évaluation par les pairs la demande de subvention a été identifiée comme étant dans cette catégorie, et pour laquelle un financement a été recommandé, la demande sera transmise, avec votre consentement, au Comité de supervision des cellules souches (CSCS) des IRSC en vue d’en assurer la conformité avec le This link will take you to another Web site chapitre 12, section F, de l’Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils : Éthique de la recherche avec des êtres humains (EPTC 2). La demande doit aussi faire l’objet de l’évaluation habituelle par les Comités d’éthique de la recherche (CER) locaux. Le financement ne sera accordé qu’une fois que le CSCS aura donné son approbation.

Recherche exigeant l’utilisation d’animaux : Si vous sélectionnez Oui, vous devez fournir à l’administration de votre établissement un certificat du comité de protection des animaux de l’établissement attestant que les procédés expérimentaux ont été approuvés et que les animaux utilisés pour des recherches seront traités conformément aux principes énoncés dans le manuel du Conseil canadien de protection des animaux (CCPA).

Recherche présentant des risques biologiques : Si vous sélectionnez Oui, vous devez fournir à l’administration de votre établissement un certificat du comité de biosécurité de l’établissement attestant que les modalités d’utilisation des laboratoires satisfont aux mesures de sécurité nécessaires au niveau de confinement que requièrent les travaux de recherche.

Incidence environnementale : Le Formulaire d’évaluation d’impact (annexe A) pourrait être exigé. Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, consultez les Lignes directrices du CRSNG sur l’évaluation d’impact.

Participants

  • Indiquez au plus cinq participants (membres du corps professoral et du personnel de l’établissement, qui administrera la subvention, qui participent à la proposition).

Organismes d’appui

  • Laissez les champs en blanc. Les renseignements concernant les organismes d’appui doivent figurer dans la proposition.

CV – candidat et participants

  • Téléversez une page vierge en format PDF (8 ½ po x 11 po). L’expertise des participants devrait être présentée dans la proposition.

Collaborateurs

  • Laissez les champs en blanc. Les collaborateurs devraient être nommés dans la section Expertise de l’équipe de la proposition.

CV – collaborateurs

  • Ne téléversez aucun document. Il n’est pas nécessaire de présenter le curriculum vitæ des collaborateurs.

Résumé de la proposition

Ce résumé se veut une description de votre proposition de recherche dans un langage pouvant être compris par le public. En utilisant des termes simples, décrivez brièvement la nature du projet de recherche et les principaux objectifs de la proposition. Ce résumé en langage clair et simple sera mis à la disposition du public si votre proposition est financée. Si vous le désirez, vous pouvez également présenter votre résumé dans l’autre langue officielle en utilisant la zone de texte indiquée à cette fin.

Calendrier des activités

  • Entrez « Étape-jalon » dans le champ prévu à cette fin, puis sauvegardez le formulaire. Aucune autre information n’est requise. La description des activités prévues doit figurer dans la proposition.

Proposition

  • Élaborez votre proposition en utilisant toutes les rubriques mentionnées ci-après. Votre proposition doit comprendre cinq pages au plus (quatre pages pour la proposition proprement dite et une page pour l’explication du budget).

Introduction

Présentez brièvement la proposition en situant le projet dans son contexte et en justifiant sa pertinence dans la cadre de la pandémie de COVID-19.

Proposition détaillée

Énoncez les objectifs généraux de votre proposition et expliquez clairement comment elle permettra de résoudre des problèmes de production auxquels se heurte l’industrie ou de relever des défis d’innovation communautaire en lien avec la pandémie de COVID-19. Démontrez la pertinence de l’approche proposée pour résoudre ces problèmes et relever ces défis. Faites état de la participation des organismes partenaires et d’autres intervenants à la conception et à la réalisation de la recherche ou des activités connexes.

Incidence possible

Précisez comment la proposition permettra de mobiliser rapidement des solutions et une expertise pour lutter contre la pandémie de COVID-19. Expliquez les mesures prévues pour transférer efficacement les connaissances et l’expertise à la collectivité locale et aux organismes partenaires. Faites état de la capacité des organismes partenaires de mettre en œuvre ou d’exploiter les résultats du projet pour générer des retombées au sein de leur organisme.

Expertise de l’équipe

Expliquez comment les connaissances et l’expérience de l’équipe de recherche apportent l’expertise nécessaire pour atteindre les objectifs proposés et mener le projet à bien. Faites état de la capacité du collège à mobiliser les ressources nécessaires selon un échéancier adapté au projet et au présent appel de propositions.

Explication du budget (une page au plus)

Expliquez globalement l’utilisation proposée des fonds.

Références

  • Téléversez une page vierge en format PDF (8 ½ po x 11 po). Il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir des références.

Dépenses prévues

  • Pour chaque poste de dépenses, indiquez le montant en espèces total pour la première année. Il n’est pas nécessaire d’indiquer les contributions en nature. Le financement découlant de l’appel de propositions est limité à un an et la subvention demandée au CRSNG ne peut pas dépasser 75 000 $.

Justification du budget

  • Téléversez une page vierge en format PDF (8 ½ po x 11 po). L’explication du budget doit figurer dans la proposition. Il ne faut pas téléverser un document distinct.

Propositions de prix

  • Téléversez une page vierge en format PDF (8 ½ po x 11 po). Il n’est pas nécessaire de fournir des propositions de prix.

Rapport avec d’autres sources de financement de la recherche appliquée

  • Ne téléversez aucun document. Cette section n’est pas requise.

Contributions des organismes d’appui

  • N’indiquez pas les contributions des organismes d’appui. La participation de ces organismes doit être présentée dans la proposition.
  • Pour le type d’organisme, sélectionnez Autre.
  • Pour le nom de l’organisme d’appui, sélectionnez Non disponible dans la liste de sélection**.
  • Dans le champ Autre organisme si non disponible, entrez « Org ».
  • Dans le champ Année 1, entrez 1 pour les Salaires du personnel scientifique et technique, puis sauvegardez le formulaire.

Contributions des organismes d’appui (pièce jointe)

  • Au lieu des lettres d’appui officielles, vous pouvez joindre à la proposition un courriel confirmant la participation des organismes partenaires au projet. Les courriels et les lettres de confirmation doivent être enregistrés dans un seul document PDF et comprendre :
    • Le nom de l’organisme et les coordonnées complètes;
    • Le type d’organisme : secteurs public, privé, sans but lucratif ou autre (si autre, veuillez préciser).

Formulaire d’évaluation d’impact (annexe A)

Le Formulaire d’évaluation d’impact (annexe A) doit être rempli et téléchargé à la page Incidence environnementale, s’il y a lieu.

Lettre d’accompagnement (facultative)

La lettre d’accompagnement (facultative) sert uniquement à fournir au CRSNG des renseignements qui ne seront pas communiqués aux évaluateurs. Par exemple, vous pouvez demander qu’une personne ou un groupe de personnes ne participent pas à l’évaluation de votre proposition. Le CRSNG tiendra compte d’une telle demande. Vous devez préciser dans cette lettre votre nom, le type de subvention d’ICC pour laquelle vous présentez une demande et le titre de la demande.

Remarque : Ces personnes peuvent consulter votre lettre en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.