Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships - Instructions for external reviewers

Conflict of interest and confidentiality guidelines

If you are in a conflict of interest or for any other reason unable to act as an external reviewer, please contact us directly or send us an e-mail at mcdonald@nserc-crsng.gc.ca as soon as possible. In order to identify yourself and the application(s) you are unable to review to NSERC, please indicate the application number in the SUBJECT line of the electronic message followed by your message.

A conflict of interest may be deemed to exist or perceived as such when review committee members, external reviewers or observers:

  • are a relative or close friend, or have a personal relationship with the applicants;
  • are in a position to gain or lose financially/materially from the funding of the application;
  • have had long-standing scientific or personal differences with the applicants;
  • are currently affiliated with the applicants’ institutions, organizations or companies—including research hospitals and research institutes;
  • are closely professionally affiliated with the applicants, as a result of having in the last six years:
    • frequent and regular interactions with the applicants in the course of their duties at their department, institution, organization or company;
    • been a supervisor or a trainee of the applicants;
    • collaborated, published or shared funding with the applicants, or have plans to do so in the immediate future; or,
    • been employed by the institution, when an institution is the applicant; and/or
  • Feel for any reason unable to provide an impartial review of the application.

The funding organizations are subject to the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act. These laws and policies govern the collection, use and disclosure of information under the control of the federal government and certain federally funded organizations. Documentation submitted to the funding organizations by the applicant may be provided to the review committee members, external reviewers and observers. The documentation may contain personal information and confidential commercial information. By law, applicants have the right of access to the information provided by review committee members and external reviewers about their applications. The names of external reviewers must be kept confidential to ensure they can provide an impartial review of an application. Review committee members’ names can be released at the discretion of the funding organizations. Written materials used in the review process are generally made available to applicants when they are notified of the funding opportunity results.

Review committee members, external reviewers and observers must ensure that:

  • all documentation and information that the funding organizations entrusts to review committee members, external reviewers and observers is maintained in strict confidence at all times. It must be used only for the purpose for which it was originally collected—namely, to review applications and make funding recommendations as applicable;
  • review documentation is stored in a secure manner to prevent unauthorized access. It must be transmitted using secure techniques and when it is no longer required, it must be destroyed in a secure manner. Any loss or theft of the documentation must be reported to the funding organizations; and
  • all enquiries or representations received by review committee members, external reviewers or observers about an application or its review must be referred to the funding organizations. Review committee members, external reviewers or observers must not contact the applicants for additional information or disclose matters arising from the review process to the applicants.

Responsible conduct of research

Applicants must comply with the This link will take you to another Web site Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research. If reviewers identify during the evaluation process what appears to be a lack of integrity (e.g., possible misrepresentation in an agency application or related document such as providing incomplete, inaccurate or false information in a grant or award application or related document), they should bring their concerns to the attention of program staff immediately. Such allegations should not be a consideration during the review process, nor should they be included in the reports.

The matter will be addressed in accordance with Tri-Agency Framework: Responsible Conduct of Research. Note that reviewers will not be privy to the outcome of the matter, as this information is personal in nature.

Bias in peer review

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-Agency Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

External reviewers must make every effort to review any nomination without bias, whether this bias is based on a school of thought, on fundamental versus applied research, certain sub-disciplines, areas of research or approaches, size or reputation of an institution, age, personal factors or the gender of the nominee(s). NSERC cautions external reviewers against any judgment of a nomination based on such factors, and it asks them to constantly guard against the possibility of hidden bias influencing the review process. External reviewers are encouraged to complete the following training module:

NSERC recommends that reviewers use as neutral language as possible in their report. The report should be free from words or sentences that reflect prejudiced, stereotyped or discriminatory language towards particular people or groups, or their institution. For more information, refer to the This link will take you to another Web site Canada Research Chairs guidelines on Limiting Unconscious Bias.

How to evaluate the nomination

Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships recognize early-stage academic researchers in the natural sciences and engineering and support them to enhance their research capacity, so that they can become leaders in their field and inspire others.

Early-stage academic researchers (meaning that they have held an independent academic position for 10 years or less as of June 1 of the year of the competition) can prepare a self-nomination for this award. The nominee’s institution must certify its support for the nomination and can submit up to six nominations per year.

The nomination package includes:

  1. A nomination letter with two major sections:
    1. Description of nomination

      Addresses why the nominee deserves consideration for the McDonald Fellowship, taking into account these selection criteria: a) Research achievements and impacts, and b) Outreach, mentorship and leadership

    2. Future directions
      1. Research vision:
        Describes how the nominee’s research represents an original or innovative concept or line of inquiry and how it will advance the research area and/or have a policy- and/or technology-related impact.

      2. Proposed research:
        Describes the research proposed for the duration of the award. Explains how equity, diversity and inclusion considerations will be addressed in the research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings (see below)—if these considerations do not apply to the proposed research, provides a rationale.

      3. Training of highly qualified personnel (HQP):
        Describes the nominee’s approach to training and mentoring HQP and ensuring equity, diversity and inclusion in the research and training environment.

        For more information on incorporating equity, diversity and inclusion considerations in this section, see NSERC’s Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application.

  2. The nominee’s NSERC Personal Data Form (Form 100)

The selection committee for this prestigious award is a multidisciplinary group of distinguished scientists and engineers and relies heavily on the opinions of external reviewers in reaching a final decision on each nomination. Therefore, when preparing your review, please bear in mind that you are writing to non-specialists. The selection committee would greatly benefit from specific as well as general comments about the nominee’s specific accomplishments within their field as well as the importance, scope and impact of their contributions.

The nominations should be reviewed on the basis of contributions to the areas of the natural sciences or engineering served by NSERC. In assessing the merits of the nomination, please comment on each of the following selection criteria in the appropriate text boxes in the review form:

Research achievements and impacts

  • Originality, quality and impact of the candidate’s contributions to date
  • Whether these contributions have led to ground-breaking advances in the research area(s) and/or a technology or policy that addresses socioeconomic or environmental needs

Impact does not refer to quantitative indicators such as the impact factor of journals or h-index, but on the influence that results have had on other researchers, on the specific field, on the discipline as a whole or on other disciplines, or beyond the research ecosystem. Impact can be seen as, but is not limited to, advancing knowledge, developing technology, addressing socio-economic or environmental needs, or contributing to increased diversity and equity in research. The relevance of such considerations may differ depending on the discipline and the nature of the research being conducted.

Outreach, mentorship and leadership

  • The following aspects should include both past achievements and potential for the future:

    • Communication of research to non-specialist audiences and/or involvement in public outreach activities
    • Mentorship of the next generation
    • Leadership in activities related to the above and/or to their research area and/or the broader natural sciences and engineering context

Mentorship refers to formal or informal relationship between a mentor and mentee where the mentor provides advice, counsel and support in order to foster the growth and development of the mentee. Mentorship often extends beyond formally supervised HQP to other, non-supervised mentees. Further, while training of HQP often involves mentorship, explicit evidence of mentorship must be provided.

Examples of outreach, mentorship and leadership:

  • Organizing natural sciences and engineering promotional events
  • Conducting media interviews or giving public research talks
  • Participating in social media activities that are related to the research
  • Helping mentees build skills and reach crucial milestones
  • Helping members of under-represented or disadvantaged groups to build and maintain a sense of belonging in their research environment
  • Developing training or mentorship programs, including those related to equity, diversity and inclusion
  • Leadership roles in activities related to outreach and mentoring
  • Leadership roles at the institution or in large-scale research or engineering projects
  • Membership and/or leadership on committees, editorial boards or advisory boards, whether or not these are directly related to the applicant’s research activities

Future directions

  • Whether the nominee’s research vision, proposed research and description of HQP training:
    • represent an original or innovative concept or line of inquiry
    • will significantly advance the research area and/or have a policy- and/or technology-related impact
    • are likely to succeed given the proposed work and the research environment (including resources and HQP)
    • define a highly appropriate approach to training and mentoring HQP
    • consider equity, diversity and inclusion in the research and training environment
  • If applicable, whether the research proposal incorporates equity, diversity and inclusion considerations, including but not limited to sex (biological), gender (socio-cultural) and other identity factors (ethnicity, visible minority, age, disability, sexual orientation, geographic location, among additional possible relevant factors) in the research design, methods, analysis and interpretation, and/or dissemination of findings
  • If not applicable, an explanation of why not and the appropriateness of the rationale provided

Notes:

  1. Comparisons with researchers of similar calibre working in the same discipline would be very valuable to the committee;
  2. Because the Arthur B. McDonald Fellowship is one of NSERC's most prestigious awards for research excellence, the successful candidate should be a truly outstanding and highly promising scientist or engineer; and
  3. Please refer to the following web sites for more information on the fellowship and the nominee review process:

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Instructions aux évaluateurs externes - Bourses Arthur-B.-McDonald

Lignes directrices sur les conflits d'intérêts et la confidentialité

Si vous êtes en conflit d'intérêts ou qu'il vous est impossible d'évaluer la ou les demandes, veuillez nous en informer le plus tôt possible par téléphone ou par courriel à l'adresse mcdonald@nserc-crsng.gc.ca. Dans le courriel, donnez votre identité et indiquez la ou les demandes qu'il vous est impossible d'évaluer. Écrivez également, dans la ligne OBJET de votre courriel le numéro de la ou des demandes.

Un conflit d’intérêts peut être considéré comme réel ou apparent lorsqu’un évaluateur externe :

  • est un parent ou un ami proche d’un candidat ou entretient une relation personnelle avec un candidat;
  • pourrait obtenir ou perdre un avantage financier ou matériel à la suite du financement de la demande;
  • a depuis longtemps des divergences de vues d’ordre scientifique ou personnel avec les candidats;
  • a une affiliation avec l’établissement, l’organisation ou l’entreprise des candidats (y compris avec des hôpitaux de recherche ou des instituts de recherche affiliés);
  • a une affiliation professionnelle étroite avec un candidat si l’une des situations suivantes est survenue au cours des six dernières années :
    • avoir des interactions fréquentes et régulières avec un candidat dans le cadre de fonctions exercées au sein d’un même département, d’un même établissement, d’une même organisation ou d’une même entreprise;
    • avoir été le superviseur ou le stagiaire d’un candidat;
    • avoir collaboré, publié ou partagé des fonds avec un candidat ou prévoir le faire prochainement;
    • travailler pour l’établissement demandeur;
  • estime, pour quelque raison que ce soit, être incapable de réaliser une évaluation impartiale de la demande.

Les organismes de financement sont assujettis à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces lois régissent la collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation de l’information détenue par le gouvernement fédéral et certaines organisations financées par celui-ci. La documentation remise aux organismes de financement par les candidats peut être transmise aux membres de comité d’évaluation, aux évaluateurs externes et aux observateurs. Elle peut contenir des renseignements personnels et des renseignements commerciaux confidentiels. En vertu de la loi, les candidats ont le droit d’accéder à l’information fournie par les membres de comité d’évaluation et les évaluateurs externes au sujet de leur demande. Le nom des évaluateurs externes n’est pas divulgué afin d’assurer une évaluation impartiale de la demande. Le nom des membres de comité d’évaluation peut être divulgué à la discrétion de l’organisme de financement. Les documents écrits utilisés pour mener à bien le processus d’évaluation sont en général mis à la disposition des candidats lorsque ceux-ci sont informés des résultats du concours.

Les membres de comité d’évaluation, les évaluateurs externes et les observateurs doivent veiller à ce que les mesures suivantes soient prises.

  • Assurer en tout temps la confidentialité de tous les documents et de tous les renseignements que leur confient les organismes de financement. Ces documents et renseignements ne doivent être utilisés qu’aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été collectés à l’origine, à savoir l’évaluation des demandes et la formulation de recommandations de financement, le cas échéant.
  • Assurer l’entreposage sécuritaire des documents d’évaluation, afin de prévenir un accès non autorisé. Ces documents doivent être transmis à l’aide de techniques sécuritaires et lorsqu’ils ne sont plus requis, ils doivent être détruits de façon sécuritaire. La perte ou le vol de documents doit être déclaré aux organismes de financement.
  • Transmettre aux organismes de financement toutes les demandes de renseignements ou tout renseignement supplémentaire reçu au sujet d’une demande ou de son évaluation. Les membres de comité d’évaluation, les évaluateurs externes et les observateurs ne doivent pas communiquer avec les candidats pour obtenir des renseignements supplémentaires, ni leur divulguer des renseignements découlant du processus d’évaluation.

Conduite responsable de la recherche

La présentation d’une demande aux organismes engage les candidats à respecter le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche. Si un évaluateur externe remarque, au cours du processus d’évaluation, une apparente situation d’inconduite en matière d’intégrité (p. ex., une fausse représentation dans une demande ou dans un document telle que fournir des renseignements incomplets, inexacts ou faux), il doit en parler immédiatement au personnel du programme concerné. De telles allégations ne devraient pas être prises en compte pendant l’évaluation ni être soulevées dans votre rapport.

La situation sera abordée conformément au Cadre de référence des trois organismes sur la conduite responsable de la recherche. Cependant, l’évaluateur externe ne sera pas informé du résultat. Les conclusions sont confidentielles, les renseignements étant de nature personnelle.

Limiter les préjugés inconscients

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du fait qu’il est essentiel de créer un système de recherche canadien plus équitable, diversifié et inclusif afin de favoriser les travaux de recherche d’excellence et novateurs qui sont susceptibles d’engendrer les retombées nécessaires pour approfondir les connaissances et relever des défis à l’échelle locale, nationale et internationale. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Le CRSNG demande aux évaluateurs externes de faire leur possible pour examiner toutes les candidatures sans préjugés fondés sur une école de pensée, la recherche fondamentale par opposition à la recherche appliquée, certaines sous-disciplines, les domaines de recherche, les approches, la taille ou la réputation d’un établissement ou encore l’âge, les préférences personnelles ou le sexe d’un candidat. Le CRSNG met les évaluateurs externes en garde contre les préjugés relatifs à une candidature fondés sur ce type de facteurs et leur demande de s’assurer qu’aucune partialité n’influe sur le processus d’évaluation. Les évaluateurs externes sont invités à suivre le module de formation suivant :

Le CRSNG recommande aux évaluateurs d’utiliser un langage aussi neutre que possible dans leur rapport. Ils doivent éviter toute formulation ou expression qui véhicule des préjugés, des stéréotypes ou des propos discriminatoires envers des personnes ou des groupes ou leur établissement. Pour en savoir plus, consulter les Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web lignes directrices des Chaires de recherche du Canada pour limiter les préjugés involontaires.

Comment évaluer le dossier de candidature

Les bourses Arthur-B.-McDonald sont accordées à des chercheurs universitaires en début de carrière en sciences naturelles et en génie. Elles les aident à renforcer leur capacité de recherche pour leur permettre de devenir des chefs de file dans leur domaine et d’inspirer d’autres personnes. Le CRSNG accorde jusqu’à six bourses Arthur-B.-McDonald chaque année.

Les chercheurs universitaires en début de carrière (c’est-à-dire ayant occupé un poste universitaire indépendant pendant 10 ans ou moins au 1er juin de l'année du concours) peuvent présenter une candidature à cette bourse eux-mêmes. L’établissement du candidat doit attester qu’il appuie la candidature et peut soumettre jusqu'à six candidatures par an.

Le dossier de candidature comprend :

  1. Une lettre de candidature comprenant deux grandes sections :
    1. Description de la candidature

      Raisons pour lesquelles le CRSNG devrait évaluer la candidature à une bourse Arthur-B.-McDonald, compte tenu des critères de sélection : a) réalisations en recherche et incidence; b) sensibilisation, mentorat et leadership.

    2. Orientations futures
      • Vision de la recherche :
        En quoi les travaux du candidat représentent un axe de recherche ou un concept original ou novateur et feront progresser le domaine de recherche ou auront une incidence sur le plan des politiques ou de la technologie.

      • Recherche proposée :
        Description de la recherche proposée pour la période de validité de la bourse; explication sur la façon dont le sexe, le genre et la diversité seront pris en compte dans le plan de recherche (voir ci-après); justification, si ces questions ne s’appliquent pas à la recherche proposée.

      • Formation de personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ) :

        Explication de l’approche prévue pour former et encadrer le PHQ et assurer l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans le milieu de recherche et de formation.

        Pour en savoir plus sur la prise en compte des questions d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion dans cette section de la lettre, consultez le Le lien suivant vous amène à un autre site Web Guide du candidat : Tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans votre demande publié par le CRSNG.

  2. Le formulaire de renseignements personnels (formulaire 100) du CRSNG du candidat

Le comité de sélection de ce prix prestigieux est un groupe multidisciplinaire d’éminents chercheurs et ingénieurs et il s'en remet grandement à l'opinion d'évaluateurs externes pour prendre sa décision sans appel relative à chaque mise en candidature. Nous vous demandons donc de rédiger vos commentaires de façon à ce qu'ils soient compris par des non-spécialistes. Les commentaires particuliers, ainsi que les commentaires généraux, sur les réalisations du candidat dans son domaine et sur l’importance, la portée et l’incidence de ses contributions seront très utiles au comité de sélection.

Dans votre évaluation du mérite de la candidature, veuillez formuler et inscrire dans les cases appropriées des commentaires en fonction des critères suivants :

Réalisations en recherche et incidence

  • Originalité, qualité et incidence des contributions antérieures du candidat;
  • Mesure dans laquelle ces contributions ont suscité des percées innovatrices dans le ou les domaines de recherche ou bien une technologie ou une politique répondant à des besoins socioéconomiques ou environnementaux.

L’incidence ne se mesure pas au moyen d’indicateurs quantitatifs comme le facteur d’impact des revues ou l’indice h. Il s’agit plutôt de l’influence des résultats sur d’autres chercheurs, le domaine visé, la discipline dans son ensemble ou d’autres disciplines ou encore au-delà de l’écosystème de recherche. L’incidence peut notamment prendre la forme de l’avancement des connaissances, du développement d’une technologie, de la prise en charge de besoins socioéconomiques ou environnementaux, ou de l’accroissement de la diversité et de l’équité en recherche. La pertinence de ces questions peut varier selon la discipline et la nature de la recherche menée.

Sensibilisation, mentorat et leadership

  • Pour les éléments suivants, faites état des réalisations antérieures et prévues :

    • Communication des résultats de la recherche à des non-spécialistes ou participation à des activités de sensibilisation du public;
    • Mentorat de la prochaine génération;
    • Leadership dans le cadre d’activités ayant trait aux éléments susmentionnés, au domaine de recherche ou au contexte des sciences naturelles et du génie en général

Le mentorat désigne une relation officielle ou officieuse entre un mentor et un mentoré, dans le cadre de laquelle le mentor fournit des conseils et du soutien afin de favoriser la croissance et le perfectionnement du mentoré. Le mentorat va souvent au-delà de la supervision officielle de PHQ et s’étend à d’autres personnes qui ne font pas l’objet d’une supervision. Par ailleurs, bien que la formation de PHQ comporte souvent une forme de mentorat, il faut fournir des preuves explicites démontrant qu’il y a bel et bien eu mentorat.

Exemples de sensibilisation, de mentorat et de leadership :

  • Organisation d’activités de promotion des sciences naturelles et du génie;
  • Entrevues dans les médias ou exposés publics sur la recherche;
  • Participation dans les médias sociaux à des activités ayant trait à la recherche;
  • Appui aux mentorés pour les aider à acquérir des compétences et à franchir des jalons décisifs;
  • Appui à des membres de groupes sous-représentés ou défavorisés pour les aider à acquérir et à maintenir un sentiment d’appartenance à leur milieu de recherche;
  • Élaboration de programmes de formation ou de mentorat, notamment dans le domaine de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion;
  • Leadership dans des activités ayant trait à la sensibilisation et au mentorat;
  • Leadership au sein de l’établissement ou dans le cadre de projets en recherche ou en génie de grande envergure;
  • Participation, en tant que membre ou président, à des comités, des comités de rédaction ou des comités consultatifs se rapportant directement ou non aux activités de recherche du candidat.

Orientations futures

  • Mesure dans laquelle la vision de la recherche du candidat, les travaux qu’il propose et la description de sa contribution à la formation du PHQ :
    • représentent un axe de recherche ou un concept original ou novateur;
    • feront considérablement progresser le domaine de recherche ou auront une incidence sur une politique ou une technologie;
    • ont de bonnes chances de réussir compte tenu des travaux proposés et du milieu de recherche (entre autres les ressources et le PHQ);
    • définissent une approche très appropriée en matière de formation et de mentorat du PHQ;
    • tiennent compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans le milieu de recherche et de formation.
  • S’il y a lieu, mesure dans laquelle la proposition de recherche tient compte des questions d’équité, de diversité et d’inclusion, y compris, sans s’y limiter, du sexe (biologique), du genre (socioculturel) et d’autres facteurs identitaires (par exemple l’origine ethnique, l’appartenance à une minorité visible, l’âge, la situation de handicap, l’orientation sexuelle, l’emplacement géographique) dans le plan de recherche, la méthodologie, l’analyse et l’interprétation ou la diffusion des résultats.
  • Dans le cas contraire, justification expliquant les raisons pour lesquelles ces questions ne sont pas prises en compte et pertinence de la justification fournie.

Remarques :

  1. Le fait de comparer le candidat à d’autres chercheurs de même calibre dans sa discipline est très utile au comité de sélection.
  2. Comme la bourse Arthur-B.-McDonald compte parmi les bourses les plus prestigieuses que décerne le CRSNG, le candidat choisi devra réellement être un excellent scientifique ou ingénieur d’avenir.
  3. De plus, vous pouvez consulter :