Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Report on the Applicant

Instructions for completing a report on the applicant – Form 201

General information

Who should complete the report on the applicant?

Complete the report if you have agreed to evaluate an applicant for an NSERC Postgraduate Scholarship – Doctoral (PGS D) or Postdoctoral Fellowship (PDF). The report cannot be completed by a proposed supervisor unless that person is, or has been, the applicant's supervisor.

Refer to the Frequently Asked Questions for References Completing a Report on the Applicant – Form 201 for more information.

Before proceeding

By submitting your report to NSERC, you confirm that you have read and understood these instructions. This is in addition to the acceptance of the Terms and Conditions for References. Refer to the Signatures section.

Have you taken steps to mitigate implicit or unconscious biases?

NSERC is committed to promoting diversity, equity and inclusion to ensure equitable access across its programs.

The following best practices and considerations should be taken into account when drafting the report:

Best practices

  • Be accurate, fair, clear and balanced.
  • Avoid being unduly personal.
  • Support your points by providing specific examples of accomplishments where possible.
  • Use superlative descriptors (for example, excellent, outstanding) judiciously and support them with evidence.
  • Include only information that is relevant to the selection criteria (for example, do not include information related to ethnicity, age, hobbies, marital status, religion, disability status, financial need, etc.).
  • Avoid sharing personal information about the applicant. Such information may be helpful only in explaining academic delays or interruptions and should be addressed with caution.

Limiting unconscious bias

NSERC strongly encourages the use of inclusive language (for example, “the applicant” or “they” instead of “he/she”). The report should be free from words or sentences that reflect prejudiced, stereotyped or discriminatory language of particular people or groups or their institution.

Use of inclusive language has been shown to decrease unconscious bias during the evaluation process. For more information, refer to the Canada Research Chairs guidelines for letter writers on Limiting Unconscious Bias.

You should also refer to the tri-agency Bias in Peer Review training module as a guide for preventing unconscious bias in merit review.

For further information on unconscious bias, please consult the Department of Women and Gender Equality’s (formerly Status of Women Canada) This link will take you to another Web site Unconscious Bias – Additional Resources webpage.

Deadline

Applicants have been advised to provide their references with a deadline that is well before the application deadline, to allow applicants to submit their completed application on time. NSERC will not consider the application as complete without your report.

Personal information

The collection, use and disclosure of personal information provided to NSERC is outlined in the following policy statements:

The information you provide in your report is collected under the authority of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Act. NSERC is subject to the This link will take you to another Web site Access to Information Act and the This link will take you to another Web site Privacy Act. The information you provide is stored in a series of NSERC data banks described in This link will take you to another Web site Information about programs and information holdings.

NSERC routinely gives applicants access to information about themselves that is kept in Council files, but does not provide the applicant with the name of the person who submitted the evaluation or the names of any other applicants mentioned in a comparative context. However, due to the nature of the application process, applicants are usually aware of who has completed their evaluation. As a result, you cannot expect privacy or anonymity.

Help with the NSERC On-line System

  • Consult the Frequently Asked Questions on how to use the On-line System.
  • Review the instructions available in the application.
  • Contact the On-line Services Helpdesk. Send an email to webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca or call 613-995-4273. Include your email address and telephone number.

Completing the report

Applicants will indicate in their application for a PGS D or PDF the name and email address of the two references who will complete the report. An email will be generated by the On-line System inviting you, as a reference, to complete the report. Follow the instructions in the email to provide your contact information and your assessment of the applicant. Complete and submit this information by the date specified by the applicant. You will also have access to the application submitted by the applicant.

Length of report

  • PGS D: You are limited to the space available in the box, which is approximately half a page.
  • PDF: The first box represents approximately half a page. You may use the second box to provide additional comments (approximately three-quarters of a page).

It is imperative that you preview your report before it is submitted to ensure that the text fits within the available space. Text that is not visible on the previewed report will not be seen by NSERC staff or the selection committee members.

Once the report is completed and submitted, the status of the report on the applicant’s portfolio will change to Completed. The report must be typed into the allotted text box(es). Submitted reports that direct the reader to an external source will be considered "incomplete" and the application will be rejected. Once the report is submitted, you will no longer have access to it. If you wish to make changes, you must communicate with the applicant and request that the report be “unlocked” for revisions. Once the report is unlocked, you will be able to make the changes and resubmit the report electronically. Once the applicant has submitted the full application to NSERC, this functionality will no longer be available.

Content of your report

In your report, comment on the selection criteria listed below. Rather than providing general comments, assess the applicant's strengths and limitations for each criterion. Include examples of the applicant's accomplishments and contributions to support your assessment while taking measures to mitigate implicit or unconscious bias, as previously mentioned.

In preparing their report, references should consult the Selection criteria and indicators section and Appendix A of the Selection Committee Guide for Postgraduate Scholarships – Doctoral and Postdoctoral Fellowships Programs, which provides useful information on what committee members should look for in assessing applications.

Selection criteria

Refer to the Canada Graduate Scholarships – Doctoral (CGS D) program description for information on selection criteria.

For PDF applications

Criteria Description Weight
Research ability and potential
  • Significance, feasibility and merit of research proposal;
  • Contributions to research and development (publications, conference presentations and/or proceedings, poster presentations, technical reports or patents);
  • Academic training and relevant work experience;
  • Scholarships and awards;
  • Researcher attributes (critical thinking, application of knowledge, judgment, originality, initiative, autonomy and enthusiasm for research);
  • Justification for location of tenure (PDF only);
  • Ability to complete projects within an appropriate time period (if applicable, the applicant’s explanation of any special circumstances must be taken into consideration).
70%

Communication, interpersonal and leadership abilities

  • Professional, academic and extracurricular interactions and collaborations with supervisors, colleagues, peers, students and members of the community:
  • Teaching, mentoring, supervising and/or coaching;
  • Managing projects;
  • Participating in science promotion, science/community outreach, volunteer work and/or civic engagement;
  • Chairing committees and/or organizing conferences and meetings;
  • Participating in departmental or institutional organizations, associations, societies and/or clubs;
  • Industrial work experience;
  • Awards for papers, reports, posters, oral presentations, teaching and/or volunteer/outreach work;
  • Participation in publication writing.
30%

Signatures

NSERC does not require original signatures on applications or other documents submitted electronically through its On-line System. The electronic submission of applications through this system represents approval and replaces the traditional "physical" or "wet" signatures.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport sur la candidature

Instructions relatives à la présentation d’un rapport sur la candidature – formulaire 201

Renseignements généraux

Veuillez remplir ce rapport si vous avez accepté d’évaluer un candidat à une bourse d’études supérieures du CRSNG – doctorat (ES D) ou à une bourse postdoctorale (BP). Si vous êtes le directeur de recherche proposé, vous ne pouvez remplir ce rapport que si vous supervisez actuellement les travaux de la personne candidate ou si vous l’avez fait dans le passé.

Pour en savoir plus, reportez-vous à la Foire aux questions pour les répondants qui remplissent un rapport sur la candidature – formulaire 201.

Avant de commencer

En présentant votre rapport au CRSNG, vous confirmez que vous avez lu et compris ces instructions. Cela s’ajoute à l’acceptation des modalités qui s’appliquent aux répondants. Pour plus de détails, consultez la section Signatures ci-après.

Pratiques exemplaires pour limiter les préjugés inconscients

Le CRSNG s’est engagé à promouvoir l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion afin d’assurer l’accès équitable à ses programmes.

Le CRSNG encourage l’utilisation d’un langage inclusif (par exemple, employer des termes collectifs et favoriser le recours aux pronoms, termes et adjectifs épicènes). Il a été démontré que l’utilisation d’un langage inclusif permet de réduire les préjugés inconscients dans le processus d’évaluation. Pour plus de renseignements, consultez les This link will take you to another Web site lignes directrices des Chaires de recherche du Canada à l’intention des rédacteurs de lettres de recommandation sur les façons de limiter les préjugés inconscients.

Lorsque vous rédigez le rapport, veuillez tenir compte des pratiques exemplaires et des considérations suivantes :

  • Soyez précis, juste, clair et équilibré dans vos propos.
  • Évitez les énoncés marquant une familiarité.
  • Si possible, appuyez vos points par des exemples particuliers de réalisations du candidat.
  • Employez judicieusement les superlatifs descriptifs (p. ex., excellent, exceptionnel) et appuyez-les par des preuves.
  • N’ajoutez que des renseignements se rapportant aux critères de sélection (p. ex., n’ajoutez pas de renseignements sur l’origine ethnique, l’âge, les loisirs, l’état matrimonial, la religion, l’invalidité ou les besoins financiers du candidat).
  • Éviter de dévoiler des renseignements personnels au sujet du candidat. La seule situation où de tels détails pourraient s’avérer utiles serait pour expliquer des délais ou une interruption dans le cheminement universitaire du candidat; la prudence est de mise.
  • Évitez les termes et les phrases qui reflètent un langage véhiculant des préjugés, des stéréotypes ou des propos discriminatoires envers des personnes, des groupes ou leur établissement.

Vous devriez également consulter le module de formation portant sur les préjugés inconscients et l’évaluation par les pairs pour prévenir les préjugés inconscients dans l’évaluation du mérite.

Pour plus de renseignements sur les préjugés inconscients, consultez la page This link will take you to another Web site Préjugés inconscients – Ressources supplémentaires du Ministère des Femmes et de l’Égalité des genres (anciennement Condition féminine Canada).

Dates limites

Le CRSNG a indiqué aux candidats de donner aux répondants une date limite qui est bien antérieure à la date limite de présentation des demandes afin de permettre aux candidats de présenter leur demande dument remplie à temps. Le CRSNG considèrera la demande comme incomplète si le rapport n’y est pas joint.

Renseignements personnels

La collecte, l’utilisation et la divulgation des renseignements personnels fournis au CRSNG sont décrites dans les énoncés de politiques suivants :

Les renseignements que vous fournissez dans votre rapport sont recueillis en vertu de la Loi sur le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie. Le CRSNG est assujetti à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la This link will take you to another Web site Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Les renseignements que vous fournissez sont conservés dans des banques de données décrites dans les This link will take you to another Web site Renseignements sur les programmes et les fonds de renseignements.

Le CRSNG fournit régulièrement aux candidats des renseignements à leur sujet, qui se trouvent dans ses dossiers, mais ne divulgue pas le nom de la personne qui a présenté l’évaluation ni le nom de tout autre candidat mentionné à des fins de comparaison. Cependant, en raison de la nature du processus de demande, les candidats sont généralement au courant du nom de la personne qui a effectué leur évaluation. Par conséquent, vous ne pouvez pas vous attendre à un respect de la confidentialité ou de l’anonymat.

Pour obtenir de l’aide sur le Système en ligne

  • Consultez la foire aux questions sur la façon d’utiliser le Système en ligne.
  • Consultez les instructions relatives à la demande.
  • Communiquez avec le Service de dépannage des services électroniques. Envoyez un courriel à webapp@nserc-crsng.gc.ca ou téléphonez au 613-995-4273. Indiquez dans votre message votre adresse de courriel et votre numéro de téléphone.

Remplir le rapport

Dans leur demande de bourse ES D ou de BP, les candidats doivent indiquer le nom et l’adresse de courriel des deux répondants qui rempliront le rapport. Un courriel sera généré par le Système en ligne vous invitant, à titre de répondant, à remplir le rapport. Si vous ne recevez pas ce courriel, vous devriez vérifier qu’il ne se trouve pas dans votre dossier de pourriels. Si vous ne trouvez toujours pas le courriel d’invitation, vous devrez fournir une autre adresse à la personne présentant la demande pour qu’elle puisse vous envoyer une nouvelle invitation.

Suivez les instructions données dans le courriel afin de fournir vos coordonnées et votre évaluation du candidat. Veuillez fournir et présenter les renseignements d’ici la date indiquée par le candidat. Vous aurez également accès à la demande qu’il aura présentée.

Longueur du rapport

  • ES D : Vous devez vous limiter à la zone de texte, ce qui représente environ une demi-page.
  • BP : La première zone de texte correspond à environ une demi-page. Vous pouvez utiliser la deuxième zone de texte pour formuler des commentaires supplémentaires (qui représente environ trois quarts d’une page).

Vous devez absolument visualiser votre rapport avant de le présenter afin de vous assurer que le texte ne dépasse pas l’espace prévu. Le personnel du CRSNG et les membres du comité de sélection ne pourront pas lire le texte qui ne s’affiche pas dans l’aperçu du rapport.

Une fois que le rapport est terminé et qu’il est transmis, son état passe à Complété dans le compte du candidat. Le rapport doit être dactylographié dans la ou les zones de texte prévues à cette fin. Les rapports présentés qui renvoient le lecteur vers une source externe seront considérés comme incomplets et la demande sera rejetée. Dès que le rapport est présenté, vous n’y avez plus accès. Si vous souhaitez y apporter des modifications, vous devez communiquer avec le candidat afin de lui demander de le déverrouiller aux fins de modifications. Une fois le rapport déverrouillé, vous pouvez y apporter des modifications et le présenter de nouveau par voie électronique. Lorsque le candidat a présenté sa demande dument remplie au CRSNG, cette fonctionnalité n’est plus disponible.

Contenu du rapport

Le rapport sur la candidature est un élément essentiel du dossier de demande et peut influencer de manière importante l’évaluation de celui-ci. Dans votre rapport, formulez des commentaires en fonction des critères de sélection ci-dessous. Plutôt que de formuler des commentaires généraux, indiquez les points forts et les points faibles du candidat selon chaque critère. Donnez des exemples des réalisations et des contributions du candidat pour appuyer votre évaluation tout en prenant des mesures pour atténuer les préjugés inconscients ou implicites, comme il a été mentionné ci-dessus. Vous êtes également invité à aborder toute qualité, compétence ou contribution qui ne serait pas immédiatement apparente aux yeux des membres du comité de sélection qui évaluent la demande. Il peut s’agir, entre autres, de l’enthousiasme de la personne pour la recherche, de sa motivation, de sa participation à la rédaction de manuscrits, de son leadership dans le groupe de recherche, etc.

Pour plus de conseils, consultez la section Critères de sélection et indicateurs et les annexes A et B du Guide à l’intention des comités de sélection des programmes de bourses d’études supérieures – doctorat et postdoctorales, lesquelles contiennent des renseignements utiles sur ce que les membres des comités de sélection considèreront lorsqu’ils évalueront les demandes.

Critères de sélection

Veuillez consulter la description du Programme de bourses d’études supérieures du Canada – doctorat (BESC D) pour avoir des renseignements sur les critères de sélection.

Pour les demandes de bourses postdoctorales

Critère Description Pondération
Aptitude ou potentiel en recherche
  • l’importance, la faisabilité et la valeur de la proposition de recherche;
  • les contributions à la recherche et développement (publications, présentations à des conférences ou actes de conférence, présentations par affiche, rapports techniques ou brevets);
  • la formation universitaire et l’expérience de travail pertinente;
  • les bourses et autres appuis;
  • les qualités du chercheur (pensée critique, application des connaissances, jugement, originalité, initiative, autonomie et enthousiasme pour la recherche);
  • la justification du lieu de validité;
  • la capacité de terminer des projets dans des délais raisonnables (au besoin, il faut prendre en compte l’explication du candidat concernant des circonstances particulières)
70 %

Aptitudes à la communication et à la direction et entregent

  • l’interaction scolaire, parascolaire et professionnelle et la collaboration avec des superviseurs, des collègues et des pairs, des étudiants et des membres de la communauté, dont voici des exemples :
  • l’enseignement, le mentorat, la supervision ou l’accompagnement;
  • la gestion de projet;
  • la participation à des activités de promotion des sciences, de vulgarisation scientifique et de sensibilisation communautaire, de bénévolat ou d’engagement citoyen;
  • la présidence de comités ou l’organisation de conférences ou de réunions;
  • la participation aux activités d’un club, d’une société, d’une association ou d’une organisation au sein d’un établissement ou d’un département;
  • l’expérience de travail en entreprise;
  • les prix obtenus pour des articles, des rapports, des affiches, des présentations orales, l’enseignement, du bénévolat ou des activités de sensibilisation;
  • la participation à la rédaction de publications.
30 %

 

Signatures

Le CRSNG n’exige pas que les signatures originales figurent sur les demandes ou sur d’autres documents présentés électroniquement à l’aide du Système en ligne. La présentation électronique des demandes à l’aide du Système en ligne représente l’approbation et remplace la signature physique traditionnelle.