Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Archived Prizes
NSERC Prizes recognize the exceptional achievements of students, researchers and collaborative teams. Archived prizes found in this section are provided for reference, research or record-keeping purposes.

Archived Prizes

From 2004 to 2014, the NSERC André Hamer Postgraduate Prizes were awarded to the most outstanding candidates in NSERC's master's and doctoral scholarship competitions.
From 1965 to 2021, E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships were awarded annually to recognize early-stage academic researchers in the natural sciences and engineering. E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships were rebranded as the Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships.
From 2013 to 2018, the NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research was awarded to an outstanding recipient of an NSERC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship who best exemplified interdisciplinary research.
From 2001 to 2013, the NSERC Howard Alper Postdoctoral Prize was awarded to the most outstanding candidate in NSERC's postdoctoral fellowship competition.
Established in 2004, the NSERC Innovation Challenge Awards were awarded as a way to encourage students pursuing graduate studies in the natural sciences or engineering to develop their entrepreneurial spirit.