Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

A planned outage affecting this website and several other NSERC and SSHRC (including TIPS) websites and granting portals will take place from Friday, June 28, 2024, at 4 p.m., until Tuesday, July 2, 2024, at 8 a.m. (ET). For more details, visit NSERC or SSHRC/TIPS dedicated webpages.

NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research
From 2012 to 2018, the NSERC Gilles Brassard Doctoral Prize for Interdisciplinary Research was awarded to an outstanding recipient of an NSERC Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship who best exemplified interdisciplinary research. Preference was given to a recipient who planned on pursuing doctoral studies at a different university from the one that granted their most recent degree. Valued at $10,000, the prize was established in 2012 by Gilles Brassard, winner of the 2009 Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering.

Past Winners

Leanne Grieves
Leanne Grieves

Department of Biology

Western University

Amir Hooshiar
Amir Hooshiar

Department of Mechanical, Industrial and Aerospace Engineering

Concordia University