Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Current Winner - 2020

Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering

Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering


University of Toronto, Dalhousie University, Université Laval, The University of British Columbia, Environment and Climate Change Canada, and Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Warming at twice the rate of the rest of the planet, the Arctic is the proverbial canary in the coal mine when it comes to tracking the effects of climate change. While increased levels of greenhouse gases are the primary driving force for global warming, the roles of tiny aerosol particles—some natural and some made by humans—need to be better established to understand the complete climate system.

NETCARE—the Network on Climate and Aerosols—was established in 2013 with the goal of understanding how these particles are formed and travel through the atmosphere, and the effects they have on climate. The multidisciplinary team brings together more than 40 earth science experts from university departments and federal research labs. The team distills massive amounts of field data and observations to improve climate models that predict environmental changes that are likely to take place in the Arctic over the coming decades. These predictions help policy-makers prepare for and, hopefully, mitigate the worst of the effects of climate change in the Arctic.

In recognition of their outstanding contributions to climate research in Canada’s Arctic, the members of NETCARE were awarded the 2020 Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering.


For additional information or to request photos of NSERC Prize winners, please contact Media Relations.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lauréat actuel - 2020

Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie

Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie


University of Toronto, Dalhousie University, Université Laval, The University of British Columbia, Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et Pêches et Océans Canada

Comme il se réchauffe deux fois plus vite que le reste de la planète, l’Arctique représente le proverbial canari dans une mine de charbon qui nous permet de surveiller les effets du changement climatique. Nous savons que l’augmentation des gaz à effet de serre est le principal facteur du réchauffement planétaire, mais nous devons mieux cerner le rôle de minuscules particules d’aérosols — d’origine naturelle et d’origine humaine — pour comprendre l’ensemble du système climatique.

Le Network on Climate and Aerosols (NETCARE) a été créé en 2013 dans le but de comprendre comment ces particules se forment et se déplacent dans l’atmosphère ainsi que leurs effets sur le climat. L’équipe multidisciplinaire compte plus de 40 experts des sciences de la Terre qui proviennent de départements universitaires et de laboratoires de recherche fédéraux. Elle collecte de grandes quantités de données et d’observations sur le terrain et en fait la synthèse pour améliorer les modèles climatiques qui permettent de prévoir les changements environnementaux susceptibles de se produire dans l’Arctique au cours des prochaines décennies. Ces prévisions aident les décideurs à se préparer aux effets du changement climatique dans l’Arctique et, espérons le, à atténuer les effets les plus néfastes.

Le Prix Brockhouse du Canada pour la recherche interdisciplinaire en sciences et en génie de 2020 est décerné aux membres de NETCARE pour leurs contributions exceptionnelles à la recherche sur le climat dans l’Arctique canadien.


Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou demander des photos des lauréats des prix du CRSNG, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe des relations avec les médias.