Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC Prizes - Herzberg

Call for Nominations

Nomination deadline: March 1, 2020, 8 p.m. (ET)

The Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering will be awarded for both the sustained excellence and overall influence of a body of work conducted in Canada in the natural sciences or engineering.

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-Agency Statement on Equity, Diversity and Inclusion.

Eligibility

Candidates may be nominated by any individual or group; however, the nominators must be Canadian citizens or permanent residents of Canada. Posthumous nominations or self-nominations will not be accepted. Current NSERC council members are not eligible for nomination.

As of the deadline, the nominee must be a scientist or engineer employed at a Canadian university, Canadian federal or provincial government lab or private firm active in Canada whose research is primarily based in the fields of the natural sciences and/or engineering. NSERC reserves the right to rule on the eligibility of nominees.

NSERC strongly encourages nominators and university officials to consider equity, diversity and inclusion in their nomination processes. An individual may win the NSERC Herzberg Medal only once. An individual may be nominated for the NSERC Herzberg Medal and other major NSERC prizes in the same year, but can receive only one such prize in a given year.

Selection criteria and evaluation

The nominee's work must demonstrate a high degree of expertise, creativity, imagination, leadership, perseverance and dedication. The nominations will be reviewed on the basis of contributions to the areas of the natural sciences or engineering served by NSERC.

A selection committee of distinguished academic, government and industry research representatives, from a variety of disciplines, will review the nominations and recommend the successful candidates to NSERC. Members are selected according to NSERC’s Guidelines Governing Membership of Selection Committees. Since the selection committee is multidisciplinary, the nomination material should be written for non-specialists.

The committee may recommend not to award the prize in a given year if there is no outstanding nomination.

Nomination process

Nominations must include:

  1. a brief one-paragraph description of the nominator including confirmation of Canadian citizenship or permanent resident of Canada status and background
  2. a letter or document of up to four pages that clearly describes:
    1. the nominee's achievements and how they relate to one or more of these categories:
      1. contributions to knowledge
      2. use of existing knowledge to develop novel solutions to practical problems
      3. successful promotion or management of research activities
      4. leadership in the transfer of knowledge
      5. training of highly qualified personnel (HQP)—considering equity, diversity and inclusion in HQP training is an asset
      6. other appropriate contributions
    2. the significance, benefit or impact of the nominee's achievements on society and industry
    3. the role of the nominee in bringing about the achievements
    4. the nominee’s most significant scientific and engineering contributions, by referring to the list included with the curriculum vitae (CV) (see item 3)
  3. the nominee's up-to-date NSERC Personal Data Form (Form 100) or This link will take you to another Web site Canadian Common CV or an up-to-date CV in another format including detailed information about the contributions and achievements described in the above categories (e.g., lists of works published and HQP trained); the CV should contain relevant information over the entire career of the nominee
  4. the names and addresses (mail and email) of the six most important Canadian or international researchers in the nominee's field from whom NSERC may request objective assessments of the nominee's suitability for the award; the majority of these proposed referees should be from outside Canada, and none should be in conflict of interest (see This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of Interest and Confidentiality Policy of the Federal Research Funding Organizations).
    1. NSERC strongly recommends that nominees suggest a cross-section of reviewers with expertise in their area of research (i.e., from early career to established researchers, including women and other under-represented groups, researchers at a variety of academic and non-academic institutions)
    2. applicants must not contact suggested external reviewers in advance; please note that NSERC reserves the right to select all or none of the suggested referees
    3. a brief one-paragraph description of each person's background and the rationale for the person's suitability as a referee must be supplied
  5. a Terms and Conditions Form for Nominees signed by the nominee
  6. a Terms and Conditions Form for Nominators signed by each nominator

For nominations in engineering or the applied sciences, nominators should consult NSERC's Guidelines for the Preparation and Review of Applications in Engineering and the Applied Sciences and prepare the nominations accordingly.

The nominators are responsible for assembling the required documentation, which must adhere to the General Presentation Guidelines. Documents that do not meet the presentation standards may be rejected or at a disadvantage in comparison with those that meet the presentation standards. Only the documents requested by NSERC will be made available to the selection committee.

For re-nominations, nominators are asked to submit a complete and updated nomination package. The list of suggested referees should also be updated to include new individuals.

Nominations must be submitted electronically via Secure Submissions for NSERC’s Innovative Collaborations and Science Promotion Programs. Documents must be submitted in portable document format (PDF) as a single document.

The program collects self-identification data from all nominees and nominators . Self-identification data provides information on the diversity of the population applying for and receiving agency funds. This data is important for monitoring the fairness of our programs and informing future measures to increase equity, diversity and inclusion among all those involved in the research enterprise. The questionnaire covers age, gender, Indigenous identity and/or identity as a member of a visible minority group and/or as a person with a disability. Completion of the questionnaire is mandatory, but each question includes the option “prefer not to answer.” Self-identification data will not be seen or used by NSERC peer reviewers.

Signatures

Nominees

Before you, as a nominee, can submit your documents to the nominator, you must read and agree to the Terms and Conditions Form for Nominees. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

Nominators

Before you, as a nominator, can submit your documents to NSERC, you must read and agree to the Terms and Conditions Form for Nominators. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

Conditions and reporting

The NSERC Herzberg Medal winner will be asked to confirm, by email or letter, acceptance of the prize and ability to use the full value of the accompanying research grant.

At the end of the funding period, the winning individual will be asked to report on the impact that the award and the accompanying research grant has had on their research activities.

Announcement

The name of the winner will be officially announced at a public ceremony in 2021.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prix du CRSNG – Médaille Herzberg

Appel de candidatures

Date limite de présentation des mises en candidature : le 1er mars 2020, à 20h (HE)

La Médaille d’or Gerhard-Herzberg en sciences et en génie du Canada sera décernée à une personne dont les travaux de recherche menés au Canada en sciences naturelles ou en génie se sont distingués dans leur ensemble par leur excellence soutenue et leur influence en général.

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du constat selon lequel la création d’un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada est essentielle à la conduite de travaux de recherche inédits, de qualité exceptionnelle et susceptibles de générer des retombées, qui permettent d’approfondir les connaissances et de résoudre des problèmes locaux, nationaux et mondiaux. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Admissibilité

Toute personne ou tout groupe peuvent proposer une candidature; toutefois, les auteurs de la mise en candidature doivent être citoyens canadiens ou résidents permanents du Canada. Les candidatures à titre posthume ne sont pas acceptées et les candidats ne peuvent pas se présenter de leur propre chef. Les membres actuels du Conseil du CRSNG ne sont pas admissibles.

Le candidat doit, à la date limite de présentation des candidatures, être un scientifique ou un ingénieur travaillant dans une université canadienne, un laboratoire du gouvernement fédéral ou d’un gouvernement provincial ou une entreprise privée active au Canada et mener des travaux de recherche principalement dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de rendre une décision sur l’admissibilité des candidatures.

Le CRSNG encourage fortement les auteurs des mises en candidature et les autorités universitaires à prendre en compte l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans leur processus de mise en candidature. Une personne peut remporter seulement une fois la Médaille Herzberg du CRSNG. Une personne peut être mise en candidature à la Médaille Herzberg du CRSNG et à d’autres prix importants du CRSNG la même année, mais ne peut recevoir qu’un seul de ces prix chaque année.

Critères de sélection et d’évaluation

Les travaux du candidat doivent démontrer un degré élevé de compétence, de créativité, d’imagination, de leadership, de persévérance et de dévouement. Les candidatures seront évaluées en fonction des contributions du candidat aux domaines des sciences naturelles ou du génie relevant du CRSNG.

Un comité de sélection composé d’éminents représentants de diverses disciplines des milieux de la recherche universitaire, gouvernementale et industrielle examinera les candidatures et formulera des recommandations au CRSNG concernant l’attribution du prix. Étant donné que le comité de sélection est multidisciplinaire, les documents de candidature doivent être rédigés dans un langage simple.

Le comité de sélection pourrait recommander que la médaille ne soit pas décernée si aucune candidature parmi celles qui ont été présentées au cours d’une année donnée n’est jugée exceptionnelle.

Processus de mise en candidature

Le dossier de candidature doit comprendre :

  1. une description succincte d’un seul paragraphe des antécédents de l’auteur de la mise en candidature, y compris la confirmation de la citoyenneté canadienne ou du statut de résident permanent;
  2. une lettre d’au plus quatre pages décrivant clairement :
    1. les réalisations de l’équipe et leur rapport avec une ou plusieurs des catégories suivantes :
      1. la contribution à l’avancement des connaissances;
      2. l’application des connaissances existantes en vue de résoudre de façon innovatrice un problème concret;
      3. la promotion ou la gestion réussie d’activités de recherche;
      4. le leadership dans le transfert des connaissances;
      5. la formation de personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ) — la prise en compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans la formation du PHQ constitue un atout;
      6. d’autres réalisations pertinentes;
    2. l’importance, les avantages ou les retombées des réalisations du candidat pour la société et le secteur industriel;
    3. le rôle du candidat dans l’accomplissement de ces réalisations;
    4. les contributions les plus importantes du candidat dans les domaines des sciences et du génie en faisant des renvois à la liste comprise dans le curriculum vitæ (voir le point 3).
  3. un exemplaire à jour du formulaire 100, Formulaire de renseignements personnels du CRSNG, le This link will take you to another Web site CV commun canadien à jour ou le curriculum vitæ à jour du candidat dans un autre format, qui comprend des renseignements détaillés sur les contributions et les réalisations décrites dans les catégories susmentionnées (p. ex., listes des travaux publiés et du PHQ formé). Le curriculum vitæ devrait renfermer des renseignements portant sur la carrière du candidat dans son ensemble;
  4. les noms et adresses (postale et électronique) des six chercheurs canadiens ou étrangers les plus importants dans le domaine de recherche du candidat à qui le CRSNG pourrait demander une évaluation impartiale de la pertinence de la candidature. La majorité des examinateurs proposés devraient provenir de l’étranger; en outre, ils ne doivent pas être en conflit d’intérêts (voir la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche).
    1. Le CRSNG recommande fortement que les candidats suggèrent des examinateurs de différents horizons possédant une solide connaissance de leur domaine de recherche (p. ex., des chercheurs en début de carrière ou des chercheurs établis, y compris des femmes et des membres d’autres groupes sous-représentés, des chercheurs du milieu universitaire et d’autres milieux);
    2. Les candidats ne doivent pas communiquer à l’avance avec les examinateurs proposés. Il convient de noter que le CRSNG se réserve le droit de retenir l’ensemble des examinateurs proposés ou aucun de ceux-ci;
    3. On doit fournir une brève description d’un seul paragraphe des domaines d’expertise de chaque examinateur proposé et indiquer les raisons pour lesquelles cette personne serait en mesure de remplir cette fonction.
  5. le Formulaire de modalités pour le candidat signé par le candidat;
  6. le Formulaire de modalités pour l’auteur de la mise en candidature signé par chacun des auteurs de la mise en candidature.

Les auteurs d’une mise en candidature en génie ou en sciences appliquées devraient consulter les Lignes directrices sur l’élaboration et l’évaluation des demandes en génie et en sciences appliquées du CRSNG.

Les auteurs de la mise en candidature sont responsables de réunir les documents requis et doivent respecter les Lignes directrices sur la présentation générale. Les documents qui ne respectent pas les normes de présentation pourraient être refusés ou défavorisés par rapport aux documents qui respectent les normes de présentation. Seuls les documents demandés par le CRSNG seront transmis au comité de sélection.

Pour présenter à nouveau une candidature, les auteurs de la mise en candidature sont priés de fournir un dossier de candidature complet renfermant des renseignements à jour. La liste des examinateurs suggérés devrait également être mise à jour pour comprendre des noms qui n’ont jamais été proposés.

Les candidatures doivent être présentées par voie électronique au moyen du système de présentation sécurisée des demandes aux programmes de collaborations novatrices et de promotion des sciences du CRSNG. Le dossier de candidature doit constituer un seul document en format PDF.

Le programme recueille les données de déclaration volontaire de tous les candidats et les auteurs de mises en candidature. Les données de déclaration volontaire donnent une indication de la diversité des personnes qui présentent des demandes de fonds à l’organisme et qui obtiennent des fonds de ce dernier. Ces données sont importantes, car elles permettent de surveiller l’équité des programmes de l’organisme et d’éclairer le choix des mesures visant à favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion des personnes participant aux activités de recherche. Le questionnaire renferme des questions sur l’âge, le sexe, l’identité autochtone, le statut de membre d’une minorité visible ou celui de personne handicapée. Il est obligatoire d’y répondre, mais chaque question comporte l’option « Je préfère ne pas répondre ». Les données de déclaration volontaire ne seront ni consultées ni utilisées par les évaluateurs du CRSNG.

Signatures

Candidats

Avant de pouvoir présenter vos documents à l’auteur de la mise en candidature, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités pour le candidat. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Auteurs de la mise en candidature

Avant de pouvoir présenter vos documents au CRSNG à titre d’auteur de la mise en candidature, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités pour l’auteur de la mise en candidature. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Modalités et rapports

Le lauréat de la Médaille Herzberg du CRSNG doit confirmer, au moyen d’un courriel ou d’une lettre, qu’il accepte le prix et qu’il est en mesure d’utiliser le plein montant de la subvention s’y rattachant.

À la fin de la période de validité de la subvention, le lauréat doit présenter un rapport qui fait état de l’incidence que le prix et la subvention s’y rattachant ont eue sur ses activités de recherche.

Annonce

Le nom du lauréat sera annoncé dans le cadre d’une cérémonie publique qui aura lieu en 2021.