Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

NSERC prizes - Polanyi

Call for nominations

Nomination deadline: April 1 before 8 p.m. (ET). If the deadline falls on a weekend or federal holiday, your nomination must reach NSERC before 8:00 p.m. (ET) the following working day.

The NSERC John C. Polanyi Award was created to recognize and support a university researcher or team of researchers whose work has led to a recent outstanding Canadian advance in a field of the natural sciences or engineering.

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-agency statement on equity, diversity and inclusion.

Eligibility

Candidates may be nominated by any individual or group. Self-nominations will not be accepted. In the case of individual candidates, posthumous nominations will also not be accepted. Current NSERC Council members are not eligible for nomination.

Candidates can be at any stage in their career, but at least one of the candidates must hold an NSERC research grant. Also, the research that led to the advance described in the nomination must have been supported by NSERC. NSERC reserves the right to rule on the eligibility of nominations and nominees.

NSERC strongly encourages nominators and university officials to consider equity, diversity and inclusion in their nomination processes.

In the case of a team nomination, members may be from academia, government or industry, and may be research associates, postdoctoral fellows or students. The team can be part of an international effort, but the majority of the nominated team members must be employed at a Canadian university or public or private organization. NSERC recognizes that teams may change between the time of the specific research achievements and the time of nomination. Nominations will be accepted when changes have occurred, but only where the core of the team remains intact.

An individual or team may be nominated for the NSERC John C. Polanyi Award and other NSERC prizes (Herzberg, Brockhouse, McDonald, Synergy or Strickland) in the same year, but can only receive one prize in a given year.

Selection criteria and evaluation

Nominations will be judged on the significance and impact of the advance. Note that the stature of the candidates is not an evaluation criterion for this prize. While the interpretation of a “recent” advance is different among disciplines, NSERC has ruled that a period of less than ten years would be appropriate for most disciplines.

A diverse selection committee of academic, government and industry research representatives from a variety of disciplines will review the nominations and recommend the successful candidates to NSERC. Members are selected according to NSERC’s Guidelines governing membership of selection committees. Since the selection committee is multidisciplinary, the nomination material should be written for non-specialists.

The selection committee may recommend not to award the prize in a given year if there is no outstanding nomination.

Nomination process

The nomination package must include

  1. a letter of nomination (signed by the nominator[s]; three pages maximum; use the following points as headings) that clearly describes the recent outstanding advance, outlining the nature of the advance, its significance and impact; the letter must also include a summary of the advance for public release

  2. up to four documents relating to the recent, outstanding advance that provide evidence of its significance and impact on the scientific and engineering community

    • At least one of these must be a peer-reviewed article

    • The other documents may include testimonials and publications like journal articles, workshop papers/posters, communications, pre-prints, monographs, memoirs or special papers, review articles, conference/symposia proceedings and abstracts, government publications, and reports documenting contributions to engineering practice, among others

  3. the names and email addresses of six researchers who, in the opinion of the nominators, could be approached by NSERC to conduct an impartial review of the nomination

    • The proposed referees should not be in conflict of interest (see This link will take you to another Web site Conflict of interest and confidentiality policy of the federal research funding organizations)

    • NSERC strongly recommends that nominators suggest a cross-section of reviewers with expertise in the nominee’s area of research (i.e., Canadian and/or international researchers; from a range of career stages; members of under-represented and marginalized groups, including women; researchers at a variety of academic and non-academic institutions)

    • Nominees must not contact suggested external reviewers in advance; please note that NSERC reserves the right to select all or none of the suggested reviewers

  4. for team nominations only, a brief letter from the team identifying one of the members as the spokesperson of the group; this spokesperson must be eligible to hold an NSERC grant and will be the contact person for NSERC on any matter related to the outcome of the competition (refer to NSERC's Eligibility criteria for faculty)

  5. a one-page demonstration of the nominee’s or team’s eligibility for this prize, addressing the items included under Eligibility

  6. a terms and conditions form for nominees signed by each nominee

  7. a terms and conditions form for nominators signed by each nominator

Contributions to research and their impact

As a signatory of the San Francisco Declaration on Research Assessment (DORA), NSERC recognizes that scholarly contributions are not limited to published journal articles but can also include, amongst other contributions, article preprints, datasets, software, protocols, well-trained researchers, societal outcomes and policy changes resulting from research. Some contributions that are often overlooked, such as communication and knowledge translation with the public, community service such as membership on committees, journal editorships and/or advisory boards, and work done by nominees to advance equity, diversity, inclusion and accessibility in the research ecosystem, are also important scholarly contributions.

Surrogate measures of quality and impact, such as the prestige of a publication venue or citation-based metrics (e.g., journal impact factor, or h-index), must not be used as they introduce bias in the merit review process. Indicators of the impact of research contributions include influence on the direction of thought and/or activity of other researchers, in the specific field, in the discipline as a whole or in other disciplines, or beyond academia. Impact can be seen as advancing knowledge, developing technology, addressing socio-economic or environmental needs, or increases to equitable and inclusive participation in the research ecosystem, among other things. The relevance of such considerations may differ depending on the discipline and the nature of the research being conducted.

The nominator should clearly describe the quality and impact of contributions within this larger context for the multidisciplinary selection committee members.

For nominations in engineering or the applied sciences, nominators should consult the NSERC's Guidelines for the preparation and review of applications in engineering and the applied sciences and prepare the nomination accordingly.

Nominators are responsible for preparing the required documentation, which must adhere to NSERC’s General presentation guidelines. Documents that do not meet the presentation standards may be rejected or at a disadvantage in comparison with those that meet the standards. Only the documents requested by NSERC will be made available to the selection committee.

For re-nominations, nominators are asked to submit a complete and updated nomination package. The list of suggested referees should also be updated to include new individuals.

Compile your documents into a single portable document format (PDF) and submit your nomination electronically via the ICSP Secure Submission Site.

The program collects self-identification data from all nominees. This data provides information on the diversity of the population applying for and receiving agency funds. This information increases NSERC’s capacity to monitor its progress on increasing equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI) in its programs, to recognize and remove barriers, and to design new measures to achieve greater EDI in the research enterprise. If you do not want to self-identify, you have the option to choose “I prefer not to answer” for each question, but you are required to select a response for the questionnaire to be marked as complete. Self-identification information is not part of the nomination and will be neither accessible to, nor shared with, external reviewers and/or selection committee members.

Signatures

Nominees
Before you, as a nominee, can submit your documents to the nominator, you must read and agree to the terms and conditions form for nominees. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

Nominators
Before you, as a nominator, can submit your documents to NSERC, you must read and agree to the terms and conditions form for nominators. It is your responsibility to retain a copy of the agreed terms and conditions for your records.

Conditions and reporting

The grant is tenable only at, and with the consent of, the Canadian university named in the nomination material.

The recipient(s) will be asked to confirm, by email or letter, their acceptance of the award and their ability to use the full value of the accompanying research grant. Because the grant may be distributed in either one or several instalments, the recipient(s) will be asked to submit a payment schedule.

The recipient(s) will be asked to report on the impact that the award has had on their research activities.

Announcement

The name(s) of the recipient(s) will be announced at a public ceremony.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Prix du CRSNG - Prix John-C.-Polanyi

Appel de candidatures

Date limite de mise en candidature : le 1er avril avant 20 h (heure de l’Est [HE]). Si la date limite tombe un jour de fin de semaine ou un jour férié national, votre mise en candidature doit parvenir au CRSNG avant 20 h (HE) le prochain jour ouvrable.

Le Prix John-C.-Polanyi du CRSNG a été créé afin de rendre hommage à un chercheur ou à une équipe de chercheurs en soulignant une percée remarquable réalisée récemment au Canada en sciences naturelles ou en génie.

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du constat selon lequel la création d’un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada est essentielle à la conduite de travaux de recherche inédits, de qualité exceptionnelle et susceptibles de générer des retombées, qui permettent d’approfondir les connaissances et de résoudre des problèmes locaux, nationaux et mondiaux. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion.

Admissibilité

Toute personne ou tout groupe peuvent proposer une candidature. Les candidatures à titre posthume de candidats individuels ne sont pas acceptées et les candidats ne peuvent pas se présenter de leur propre chef. Les membres actuels du Conseil du CRSNG ne sont pas admissibles.

Les candidats peuvent en être à n’importe quel stade de leur carrière, mais au moins un des candidats doit être titulaire d’une subvention de recherche du CRSNG. De plus, la recherche qui est à l’origine de la percée et pour laquelle la personne ou l’équipe est mise en candidature doit avoir été appuyée par le CRSNG. Le CRSNG se réserve le droit de rendre une décision sur l’admissibilité des candidats.

Le CRSNG encourage fortement les auteurs des mises en candidature et les autorités universitaires à prendre en compte l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion dans leur processus de mise en candidature.

S’il s’agit de la candidature d’une équipe, les membres peuvent être issus des milieux universitaire, gouvernemental ou industriel et peuvent être adjoints de recherche, stagiaires postdoctoraux ou étudiants. L’équipe peut faire partie d’un réseau de recherche international, mais la majorité de ses membres doivent travailler au sein d’une université canadienne ou d’un organisme canadien du secteur public ou privé. Le CRSNG reconnait que la composition de l’équipe de recherche peut changer entre la période où les réalisations pour lesquelles l’équipe est mise en candidature ont eu lieu et celle de la mise en candidature. La candidature d’une équipe dont la composition a changé sera acceptée à condition que le noyau de l’équipe reste inchangé.

Une personne ou une équipe peuvent être mises en candidature au Prix John-C.-Polanyi du CRSNG et à d’autres prix du CRSNG la même année (Médaille Gerhard-Herzberg, Prix Brockhouse, bourses Arthur-B.-McDonald, Prix Synergie ou Prix Donna-Strickland), mais ne peuvent recevoir qu’un seul de ces prix chaque année.

Critères de sélection et d’évaluation

Les candidatures seront examinées en fonction de l’importance et de l’incidence de la percée. Veuillez noter que la renommée des candidats n’est pas un critère de sélection pour ce prix. L’interprétation d’une percée « récente » diffère selon la discipline. Toutefois, le CRSNG a établi qu’une période de moins de dix ans serait adéquate pour la plupart des disciplines.

Un comité de sélection diversifié composé de représentants de diverses disciplines des milieux de la recherche universitaire, gouvernementale et industrielle examinera les candidatures et formulera des recommandations au CRSNG concernant l’attribution du prix . Les membres du comité de sélection sont choisis conformément aux Lignes directrices sur la composition des comités de sélection. Étant donné que le comité de sélection est multidisciplinaire, les documents de candidature doivent être rédigés dans un langage simple.

Le comité de sélection pourrait recommander que le prix ne soit pas décerné si aucune candidature parmi celles qui ont été présentées au cours d’une année donnée n’est jugée exceptionnelle.

Processus de mise en candidature

Le dossier de candidature doit comprendre :

  1. une lettre de mise en candidature (d’au plus trois pages signée par les auteurs de la candidature; utilisez les points suivants comme rubriques) qui décrit clairement la percée exceptionnelle récente en mettant en évidence sa nature, son importance et son incidence; la lettre doit également comprendre un résumé de la percée aux fins de diffusion publique;

  2. au plus quatre documents portant sur la percée remarquable récente qui en attestent l’importance et les retombées pour le milieu des sciences et du génie;

    • Au moins un de ces documents doit être un article revu par les pairs.

    • Les autres documents peuvent notamment inclure des témoignages et des publications comme des articles de revue, des documents et des affiches pour des ateliers, des communications, des prépublications, des monographies, des mémoires ou des articles spéciaux, des articles de synthèse, des actes de conférences ou de colloques et des résumés, des publications gouvernementales et des rapports faisant état de contributions à la pratique du génie.

  3. les nom et adresse électronique de six chercheurs à qui, selon les auteurs de la mise en candidature, le CRSNG pourrait demander d’effectuer une évaluation impartiale de la candidature;

    • Les évaluateurs proposés  ne doivent pas être en conflit d’intérêts (voir la This link will take you to another Web site Politique sur les conflits d’intérêts et la confidentialité des organismes fédéraux de financement de la recherche).

    • Le CRSNG recommande fortement que les auteurs de la mise en candidature suggèrent des évaluateurs de différents horizons possédant une solide connaissance du domaine de recherche du candidat (p. ex., des chercheurs canadiens ou étrangers; des chercheurs qui en sont à différentes étapes de leur carrière; des membres de groupes sous-représentés et marginalisés, notamment les femmes; et des chercheurs du milieu universitaire et d’autres milieux).

    • Les candidats ne doivent pas communiquer à l’avance avec les évaluateurs proposés. Il convient de noter que le CRSNG se réserve le droit de retenir l’ensemble des évaluateurs proposés ou aucun de ceux-c.;

  4. dans le cas de la mise en candidature d’une équipe, une courte lettre de la part de l’équipe indiquant le nom du membre qui en sera le porte-parole et qui, en cette qualité, agira comme personne-ressource auprès du CRSNG pour toute question liée aux résultats du concours; cette personne doit être admissible aux subventions du CRSNG (se reporter aux Critères d’admissibilité du CRSNG pour les membres du corps professoral);

  5. la preuve (une page) de l’admissibilité de l’équipe à ce prix; à cet effet, traiter les éléments mentionnés sous Admissibilité;

  6. le Formulaire de modalités pour le candidat signé par chacun des candidats;

  7. le Formulaire de modalités pour l’auteur de la mise en candidature signé par chacun des auteurs de la mise en candidature.

Contributions à la recherche et incidence

En tant que signataire de la Déclaration de San Francisco sur l’évaluation de la recherche (DORA), le CRSNG reconnait que les résultats de recherche ne se limitent pas à la publication d’articles dans les revues spécialisées; ils comprennent également, entre autres, les versions prépublication d’articles, les ensembles de données, les logiciels, les protocoles, la formation de chercheurs, les retombées sociales et les changements aux politiques qui découlent de la recherche. D’autres formes de contribution (comme la communication avec le public et l’application des connaissances, les services offerts au milieu, comme la participation à des comités consultatifs, à des comités de rédaction ou autres; et les efforts déployés par les candidats en vue de favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion ainsi que l’accessibilité dans l’écosystème de recherche) sont souvent négligées alors qu’elles constituent d’importantes contributions à la recherche.

Il ne faut pas mesurer la qualité ou l’incidence des contributions en fonction, par exemple, du prestige des tribunes utilisées pour diffuser les résultats de la recherche ou du nombre de citations (p. ex. le facteur d’impact des revues ou l’indice h) étant donné que ces mesures introduisent un biais dans le processus d’examen du mérite. Les indicateurs de l’incidence des contributions à la recherche sont entre autres l’influence sur l’orientation du courant de pensée et l’activité d’autres chercheurs dans le domaine en question, dans la discipline dans son ensemble ou dans d’autres disciplines, ou encore en dehors du milieu universitaire. L’incidence peut notamment prendre la forme de l’avancement des connaissances, du développement d’une technologie, de la prise en charge de besoins socioéconomiques ou environnementaux ou encore d’une plus grande participation équitable et inclusive à l’écosystème de recherche. La pertinence de ces considérations peut différer selon la discipline et la nature de la recherche menée.

Les auteurs de la mise en candidature doivent décrire clairement la qualité et l’incidence des contributions dans ce contexte plus vaste pour les membres du comité de sélection multidisciplinaire. 

Les auteurs d’une mise en candidature en génie ou en sciences appliquées devraient consulter les Lignes directrices sur l’élaboration et l’évaluation des demandes en génie et en sciences appliquées du CRSNG.

Les auteurs de la mise en candidature sont responsables de préparer les documents requis et doivent respecter les Lignes directrices sur la présentation générale du CRSNG. Les documents qui ne respectent pas les normes de présentation pourraient être refusés ou défavorisés par rapport aux documents qui respectent ces normes. Seuls les documents demandés par le CRSNG seront transmis au comité de sélection.

Pour présenter à nouveau une candidature, les auteurs de la mise en candidature sont priés de fournir un dossier de candidature complet renfermant des renseignements à jour. La liste des évaluateurs suggérés devrait également être mise à jour.

Regroupez les documents de votre dossier de candidature en un seul document en format PDF. Présentez votre dossier par voie électronique à partir du site de présentation sécurisée des demandes aux programmes de collaborations novatrices et de promotion des sciences.

Le programme recueille les données de déclaration volontaire de tous les candidats. Ces données donnent une indication de la diversité des personnes qui présentent des demandes de fonds à l’organisme et qui obtiennent des fonds de ce dernier. Grâce aux renseignements ainsi recueillis, le CRSNG peut mieux suivre les progrès réalisés en vue de favoriser l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI) dans ses programmes, de relever et d’éliminer les obstacles à l’EDI ainsi que de mettre en place de nouvelles mesures qui permettront de créer un milieu de la recherche plus équitable, diversifié et inclusif. Vous devez répondre à chaque question pour que votre formulaire soit valide. Vous pouvez toutefois choisir de ne pas fournir de renseignements en réponse à une question en sélectionnant l’option « Je préfère ne pas répondre » pour n’importe laquelle des questions. Les renseignements de déclaration volontaire ne font pas partie de la mise en candidature. Ils ne seront pas communiqués aux membres de comités d’évaluation externes ni aux membres de comités de sélection, et ces personnes n’y auront pas accès.

Signatures

Candidats

Avant de pouvoir présenter vos documents à l’auteur de la mise en candidature, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités pour le candidat. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Auteurs de la mise en candidature

Avant de pouvoir présenter vos documents au CRSNG à titre d’auteur de la mise en candidature, vous devez lire et accepter les modalités énoncées dans le Formulaire de modalités pour l’auteur de la mise en candidature. Il vous incombe de conserver une copie des modalités acceptées pour vos dossiers.

Modalités et rapports

La subvention est valide seulement à l’université canadienne dont le nom figure dans les documents de mise en candidature, avec l’accord de cet établissement.

La personne ou l’équipe lauréate devra confirmer, au moyen d’un courriel ou d’une lettre, qu’elle accepte le prix et qu’elle est en mesure d’utiliser le plein montant de la subvention s’y rattachant. Comme cette subvention peut être payée en un seul ou plusieurs versements, la personne ou l’équipe lauréate sera appelée à présenter un calendrier de paiement.

La personne ou l’équipe lauréate doit présenter un rapport qui fait état de l’incidence que le prix a eue sur ses activités de recherche.

Annonce

Le nom de la personne ou de l’équipe lauréate sera annoncé dans le cadre d’une cérémonie publique.