Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Current Winner - 2019

Synergy Award for Innovation

Synergy Award for Innovation

Category: Two or More Companies

McMaster University
FCA Canada Inc.

Automotive companies must constantly innovate to meet consumer expectations for vehicles that are more environmentally friendly. A partnership between a McMaster University research group and Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) is putting electric and hybrid vehicles on the innovation fast track.

Ali Emadi and his research group collaborate with more than 40 engineers at FCA, drawing on the automotive giantís expertise and testing facilities to shift their research from the lab to the road swiftly and smoothly. Emadiís students are active contributors to projects, bringing ideas, gaining critical hands-on experience and taking part in technical trials, making his lab one of the most prominent training environments for new talent in automotive engineering.

The Emadi lab and FCA partnership has overcome complex challenges to develop new automotive components that increase energy efficiency in electrified vehicles, including a boost converter and hybrid energy storage system. In true confirmation of the leading-edge nature of their technology, they helped deliver a new breakthrough for the automotive industry: the first hybrid minivan in North America, the Chrysler Pacifica. Their partnership is driving eco-friendly vehicles to new peaks, and providing a road map for the next generation of environmentally conscious researchers to lead the charge for Canadian automotive innovation.


For additional information or to request photos of NSERC Prize winners, please contact Media Relations.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Lauréat actuel - 2019

Prix Synergie pour l’innovation

Prix Synergie pour l’innovation

Catégorie : Grandes entreprises

McMaster University
FCA Canada Inc.

Les entreprises automobiles doivent constamment innover pour répondre aux attentes des consommateurs, qui veulent des véhicules plus respectueux de l’environnement. La mise sur pied d’un partenariat entre un groupe de recherche de la McMaster University et Fiat Chrysler Automobiles (FCA) permettra d’accélérer l’innovation dans le domaine des véhicules électriques et des véhicules hybrides.

Ali Emadi et son groupe de recherche collaborent avec plus de 40 ingénieurs de FCA. Ils tirent parti des compétences spécialisées et des installations d’essai de ce géant de l’industrie automobile pour faire passer leurs résultats de recherche du laboratoire à la route rapidement et sans heurts. Les étudiants de M. Emadi contribuent activement aux projets; ils apportent des idées, acquièrent une expérience pratique essentielle et prennent part aux essais techniques, ce qui fait du laboratoire de M. Emadi l’un des milieux de formation les plus importants pour les nouveaux talents de l’ingénierie automobile.

Le partenariat entre le laboratoire de M. Emadi et FCA a permis de surmonter des défis complexes et de mettre au point de nouvelles composantes automobiles qui augmentent l’efficacité énergétique des véhicules électrifiés, notamment un convertisseur élévateur et un système hybride de stockage d’énergie. Confirmation concrète de la nature avant-gardiste de leurs travaux, le laboratoire de M. Emadi et FCA ont contribué à réaliser une percée dans le secteur automobile, soit la mise au point de la première fourgonnette hybride en Amérique du Nord : la Chrysler Pacifica. Leur partenariat permettra aux véhicules écologiques d’atteindre de nouveaux sommets et servira de feuille de route à la prochaine génération de chercheurs soucieux de l’environnement, qui seront le moteur de l’innovation au sein de l’industrie automobile canadienne.


Pour obtenir plus de renseignements ou demander des photos des lauréats des prix du CRSNG, veuillez communiquer avec l'équipe des relations avec les médias.