Current Chairs for Inclusion in Science and Engineering

The goal of the Chairs for Inclusion in Science and Engineering (CISE) program is to support a team of researchers who contribute to a culture of inclusion in the natural sciences and engineering fields by catalyzing networks of supporters of this work, promoting equity, diversity and inclusion in the research ecosystem, and undertaking activities to enhance awareness and understanding of barriers and inequities faced by members of underrepresented groups in these fields. This program is an evolution of the Chairs for Women in Science and Engineering (CWSE) program, which has active chairholders in various regions of the country. The CISE and CWSE chairholders are linked through a national network grant to amplify the impact of activities at a national level.

Learn about the current CISE chairholders and their chair program.


Dr. Svetlana Barkanova

Dr. Svetlana Barkanova
Memorial University of Newfoundland

Dr. Kevin Hewitt

Dr. Kevin Hewitt
Dalhousie University

Dr. Stephanie MacQuarrie

Dr. Stephanie MacQuarrie
Cape Breton University

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram