Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Discovery Institutes Support grants
Bridge funding opportunity

Overview
Duration One year
Important dates July 2, 2020 – Letter of intent (LOI) deadline
July 15, 2020 – Invitation to submit full application
November 1, 2020 – Full application deadline
How to apply See below Note: For the 2021 funding opportunity, applications will be accepted only from onboarding institutes. This is limited to existing NSERC-funded co-applicant institutes currently awarded funding through the Collaborative and Thematic Resources Support in Mathematics and Statistics (CTRMS) program.
Contact View contact list

Discovery Institutes Support grants

Overview
Duration Up to five years
Value Up to $1,500,000 per year
Important dates June 1, 2021 – Letter of intent (LOI) deadline
June 15, 2021 – Invitation to submit full application
November 1, 2021 – Full application deadline
How to apply See below Note: For the 2022 competition, applications will be accepted only from renewing institutes. This includes existing NSERC-funded applicant and co-applicant institutes currently awarded funding through the Collaborative and Thematic Resources Support in Mathematics and Statistics (CTRMS) and Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics Support (CITA) programs.
Contact View contact list

Objective

The objectives of Discovery Institutes Support (DIS) grants are to enable the development of research activities and foster training and collaboration, within and among Canadian theoretical research institutes.

Description

DIS grants assist Canadian-based theoretical research institutes to cover their operating and maintenance costs. Theoretical research institutes provide intellectual infrastructure and support, are used by researchers from different institutions across Canada, are discipline based and promote research and training of highly qualified personnel (HQP). These institutes can provide an environment that serves to accelerate research, develop partnerships and interactions with different disciplines and foster interdisciplinary research. Theoretical research institutes spark and promote regional, national and/or international interactions and can provide mechanisms for researchers to meet, collaborate and exchange ideas.

Equity, diversity and inclusion

NSERC is acting on the evidence that achieving a more equitable, diverse and inclusive Canadian research enterprise is essential to creating the excellent, innovative and impactful research necessary to advance knowledge and understanding, and to respond to local, national and global challenges. This principle informs the commitments described in the Tri-agency statement on equity, diversity and inclusion (EDI).

Applicants are encouraged to increase the inclusion and advancement of under-represented and disadvantaged groups in the natural sciences and engineering as one way to enhance excellence in research and training. Where applicable, consideration of sex, gender and diversity in the research design should be addressed in the proposal. EDI considerations should be developed into the rationale of the composition of research teams and trainees.

For more information, applicants should refer to the Guide for applicants: Considering equity, diversity and inclusion in your application.

Specific rules for the use of grants funds

Eligible costs

DIS grants provide funding to assist coverage of the following costs:

  • salaries of research support staff employed to operate and maintain the institute and provide assistance to users
  • operation and maintenance of the institute
  • materials, supplies and minor equipment essential to the operation and maintenance of the institute
  • travel expenses for directors and key personnel related to the institute’s research priorities and program delivery
  • dissemination costs, as part of the institute’s outreach activities toward relevant communities
  • operation of scientific review panels and governing bodies
  • remuneration of graduate students and postdoctoral fellows involved in a context of institute-related activities
  • visitor expenses, including travel and local support
  • honoraria for invited speakers

Ineligible costs

DIS grants cannot be used to pay for any indirect costs of research or expenses that are central or departmental institutional costs. Examples of such indirect costs include, but are not limited to, those for the maintenance and renovation of research spaces and buildings, leasing costs of spaces and equipment, utilities, security and occupational safety, financial and administrative support, and insurance. Furthermore, DIS grants cannot be used to pay for the establishment, construction or infrastructure expansion of an institute.

For further information on use of grant funds consult the Tri-agency guide on financial administration.

Selection criteria

Applications will be assessed on the basis of the six selection criteria listed below. Each criterion lists the factors that will be considered. The onus is on the applicants to thoroughly address each criterion in their application.

  1. Scope and added value of the institute
    • national and international nature of the institute; regional importance highlighted, if appropriate
    • reach of the institute, within and beyond the research community regionally, throughout Canada and internationally, where applicable
    • extent to which activities and programs offered are unique and provide added value compared to other Canadian institutes and funding programs
    • details on the complementarity, and additional context, in instances where there is a high degree of collaboration between or among several institutes
  2. Opportunities for use of, and access to, the institute by researcher communities and students
    • past, current and projected level of use of the institute by researchers within the field and within related multidisciplinary fields nationally and internationally; can discuss trends as compared to past levels of use, if applicable
    • impact of the institute on the advancement of research programs of current and projected users and, when applicable, on the dissemination and use of the knowledge generated in the supported area(s) of research
    • allocation of access to the institute by different users (that is, process for selection of themes and organizers, students, postdoctoral fellows, participants, etc.)
    • existing or proposed initiatives that specifically encourage participation by under-represented and disadvantaged groups
  3. Merit and impact of the research activities enabled by the institute
    • scientific or engineering excellence and impact of past, current and planned research activities
    • scientific or engineering excellence of the institute leadership, review committees and activity organizers and their level of commitment to the activities within the institute
    • significance of the research activities to the research communities and related multidisciplinary fields
  4. Fostering partnerships, interactions and outreach
    • potential for partnerships with complementary Canadian or international institutes in the field; effectiveness of activities and plans for encouraging and supporting interdisciplinary collaborations
    • outreach, engagement and/or collaboration activities with under-represented and disadvantaged groups in natural sciences and engineering research
    • demonstrated outreach to potential Canadian or international academic and non-academic sectors
    • demonstration of, or plan for, leadership and mentorship training events that strengthen EDI awareness of organizers and participants
  5. Contribution of the institute to the training and development of HQP
    • importance of the institute for training, including unique and inclusive mentorship and training opportunities that are complementary with, and add value to, training carried out in other sectors (for example, universities)
    • extent and excellence of proposed strategies and plans to train and develop HQP in research areas critical to the advancement of new knowledge in the field and in related multidisciplinary fields
    • demonstration of EDI considerations in past and planned training activities
  6. Management and budget
    • effective management structure to direct, manage and integrate the activities of the institute
    • consideration of EDI in the composition of governance bodies
    • activities or initiatives aimed at supporting the establishment of and ensuring an equitable and inclusive research and work environment
    • operational efficiencies achieved through partnerships with similar institutes (if applicable)
    • effective research planning, within and among institutes, to sustain well-coordinated and innovative research activities
    • detailed budget for the proposed costs
    • demonstrated need for, and effectiveness of, support through a DIS grant as opposed to other NSERC grants (held or applied for) and contributions from other sources
    • nature and extent of the commitment and support from universities, other organizations and users

Eligibility of applicants and co-applicants

The applicant and all co-applicants must be eligible for NSERC funding. One person must be designated to administer the grant. This person is the “applicant” and is responsible for completing and submitting the letter of intent (LOI) and the full application (if invited) on behalf of the institute. You are invited to consult NSERC’s eligibility criteria for faculty for more information on the role of applicants and co-applicants.  

Application procedures

DIS applications will be evaluated through a two-stage process. Initially, applicants must submit an LOI to NSERC with all required material by the deadline date. The LOI should be saved as a single portable document format (PDF) document and uploaded to NSERC’s secure portal before the deadline. NSERC will communicate with all applicants to inform them of the status of their LOI. Successful applicants will be invited to submit a full application and will be given further instructions regarding submission details.

For the LOI, applicants must submit a five-page document, using 8.5" x 11" paper with margins set at a minimum of ¾" (1.87 cm) and in free-form text format (12-point Times New Roman font), that addresses the following:

  • overview of the institute, including the national and international nature of the institute; regional importance highlighted, if appropriate
  • brief explanation of budget requested (up to five years) and other potential Canadian and international funding agency support
  • proposed list of co-applicants (maximum of 10)
  • list of up to 10 external reviewers* who
    • are not in a conflict of interest
    • are from different institutions
    • can provide an independent assessment of your application
    • are capable of reviewing your application in the language in which it is written
  • list of reviewer exclusions**

* Applicants are encouraged to suggest a diverse cross-section of potential reviewers with appropriate expertise (Canadian, international, established and early–career, women and other under-represented groups, from academic and non-academic institutions). Applicants must not contact suggested external reviewers in advance.

** You may request that some researchers, organizations or large collaborations not be involved in the review of your application. Note that this request may be accessible under the Privacy Act.

Review procedures

Letters of intent

LOIs will be reviewed by NSERC for eligibility and conformity with the objectives of the program.

Full applications

Full proposals will be reviewed by a multidisciplinary, international committee through a rigorous, independent peer review process based on the DIS selection criteria. Applicants will be invited to present their application to the review committee and provide clarification on any issues raised. Once the review of applications is concluded, the committee will complete a report and provide recommendations on funding to NSERC. Internationally constituted institutes will be reviewed in conjunction with partner funding agencies, with NSERC as the lead.

Conflicts of interest

NSERC’s guidelines on conflict of interest for peer reviewers will be strictly applied throughout the review process.

Conditions

For these grants, the payment of the second and any subsequent yearly instalment is conditional on the submission of an annual report to NSERC. The submission deadline for this report is March 15.

Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Subventions Appui à la découverte dans les instituts de recherche : financement provisoire

Aperçu
Durée 1 an
Dates importantes 2 juillet 2020 : Date limite de présentation d’une lettre d’intention
15 juillet 2020 : Invitation à présenter une demande
1er novembre 2020 : Date limite de présentation d’une demande
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous Remarque : Le concours de 2021 s’adresse uniquement aux instituts qui font la transition aux nouvelles subventions, c’est-à-dire que seuls les instituts bénéficiant actuellement du financement du Programme d’appui aux ressources thématiques et collaboratives en mathématiques et en statistiques (ARTCMS) à titre de cocandidats peuvent présenter une demande de financement provisoire.
Pour en savoir plus Consulter la liste des points de contact

Subventions Appui à la découverte dans les instituts de recherche

Aperçu
Durée Jusqu’à cinq ans
Valeur Jusqu’à 1 500 000 $ par année
Dates importantes 1er juin 2021 : Date limite de présentation d’une lettre d’intention
15 juin 2021 : Invitation à présenter une demande
1er novembre 2021 : Date limite de présentation d’une demande 
Pour faire une demande Voir ci-dessous Remarque : Dans le cadre du concours de 2022, seules les demandes d’instituts qui souhaitent renouveler leur subvention seront acceptées. Ceci comprend les instituts qui reçoivent actuellement, à titre de candidats ou de cocandidats, un appui du CRSNG par l’intermédiaire du Programme d’appui aux ressources thématiques et collaboratives en mathématiques et en statistiques (ARTCMS) ou du Programme d’appui à l’Institut canadien d’astrophysique théorique (ICAT).
Pour en savoir plus Consulter la liste des points de contact.

Objectif

Les subventions Appui à la découverte dans les instituts de recherche (ADIR) visent à permettre le développement des activités de recherche et à favoriser la formation et la collaboration au sein d’instituts canadiens de recherche théorique et entre eux.

Description

Les subventions ADIR aident les instituts de recherche théorique situés au Canada à couvrir leurs couts de fonctionnement et d’entretien. Les instituts de recherche théorique fournissent un soutien et une infrastructure intellectuelle, sont utilisés par des chercheurs de divers établissements des quatre coins du pays, sont axés sur une ou des disciplines en particulier et favorisent la recherche et la formation de personnel hautement qualifié (PHQ). Ces instituts peuvent offrir un environnement qui accélère la recherche, permet d’établir des partenariats et des échanges entre personnes de différentes disciplines et favorise la recherche interdisciplinaire. Les instituts de recherche théorique stimulent et favorisent les interactions régionales, nationales ou internationales et peuvent fournir des mécanismes qui permettent aux chercheurs de se réunir, de collaborer et d’échanger des idées.

Équité, diversité et inclusion

Le CRSNG prend des mesures concrètes en regard du constat selon lequel la création d’un milieu de la recherche équitable, diversifié et inclusif au Canada est essentielle à la conduite de travaux de recherche inédits, de qualité exceptionnelle et susceptibles de générer des retombées, qui permettent d’approfondir les connaissances et de résoudre des problèmes locaux, nationaux et mondiaux. C’est sur ce principe que reposent les engagements formulés dans l’Énoncé des trois organismes sur l’équité, la diversité et l’inclusion (EDI).

Les candidats sont invités à accroitre la participation et l’avancement des groupes sous-représentés ou défavorisés dans les domaines des sciences naturelles et du génie en vue de rehausser l’excellence dans la recherche et la formation. S’il y a lieu, il faudrait décrire dans la demande la prise en compte des questions liées au sexe, au genre et à la diversité lors de la conception du plan de recherche. Il faudrait traiter des questions d’EDI dans la justification de la composition des équipes de recherche et du choix des stagiaires.

Pour en savoir plus, se reporter au Guide du candidat : Tenir compte de l’équité, de la diversité et de l’inclusion dans votre demande.

Règles particulières concernant l’utilisation des subventions

Couts admissibles

Les subventions ADIR offrent un appui financier pour aider à couvrir les couts suivants :

  • le salaire du personnel de soutien à la recherche embauché pour veiller à l’entretien et au fonctionnement de l’institut et pour fournir du soutien aux utilisateurs;
  • les couts de fonctionnement et d’entretien de l’institut;
  • les couts des matériaux, des fournitures et des petits appareils essentiels à l’entretien et au fonctionnement de l’institut;
  • les frais de déplacement des directeurs et du personnel clé associés à l’exécution des programmes et des priorités de recherche de l’institut;
  • les couts de diffusion dans le cadre d’activités de sensibilisation que mène l’institut auprès de groupes ciblés;
  • les couts liés aux activités de comités d’examen scientifique et d’organes de direction;
  • la rémunération d’étudiants des cycles supérieurs et de stagiaires postdoctoraux qui participent à des activités en lien avec l’institut;
  • les dépenses liées aux visiteurs, notamment les dépenses de déplacement et de séjour;
  • les honoraires de conférenciers éminents.

Couts non admissibles

Les subventions ADIR ne doivent pas servir à couvrir les couts indirects associés à la recherche et les dépenses qui relèvent du budget d’un établissement ou de celui de l’un de ses départements. Les couts indirects comprennent, entre autres, les couts liés à l’entretien et à la rénovation de locaux et de bâtiments utilisés à des fins de recherche, à la location de locaux et d’appareillage, aux services publics, à la sécurité et à la santé au travail, au soutien financier et administratif ou aux assurances. De plus, les fonds des subventions ADIR ne peuvent pas servir à l’établissement, à la construction ou à l’agrandissement des installations d’un institut.

Pour en savoir plus sur l’utilisation des fonds de la subvention, consulter le Guide d’administration financière des trois organismes.

Critères de sélection

Les demandes sont évaluées en fonction des six critères présentés ci-dessous. Sous chaque critère figurent les éléments qui seront pris en considération. Il incombe aux candidats de traiter en profondeur de chaque critère dans leur demande.

  1. Portée et valeur ajoutée de l’institut
    • le caractère national et international de l’institut (en souligner l’importance dans la région, s’il y a lieu);
    • la portée de l’institut au sein et à l’extérieur du milieu de la recherche à l’échelle régionale, dans l’ensemble du Canada et dans le monde, le cas échéant;
    • la mesure dans laquelle les activités et les programmes sont uniques et apportent une valeur ajoutée par rapport à ceux d’autres instituts et programmes de financement canadiens;
    • la complémentarité, et de l’information supplémentaire sur le contexte, dans les cas où il y a un degré de collaboration élevé entre plusieurs instituts.
  2. Possibilités d’accès à l’institut et de son utilisation par les chercheurs et les étudiants
    • le niveau d’utilisation passé, actuel et prévu de l’institut par les chercheurs dans le domaine concerné et dans des domaines interdisciplinaires connexes, à l’échelle nationale et internationale (les candidats peuvent traiter des tendances par rapport au niveau d’utilisation passé, le cas échéant);
    • l’incidence de l’institut sur l’état d’avancement des programmes de recherche des utilisateurs actuels et potentiels et, le cas échéant, sur la diffusion et l’utilisation des connaissances produites dans le ou les domaines de recherche appuyés;
    • la répartition de l’accès à l’institut entre les différents utilisateurs (c.‑à‑d. le processus de sélection des thèmes et des organisateurs, des étudiants, des stagiaires postdoctoraux et des participants, entre autres);
    • les initiatives existantes ou proposées qui favorisent expressément la participation de groupes sous-représentés ou désavantagés.
  3. Mérite et retombées des activités de recherche rendues possibles par l’institut
    • l’excellence et les retombées des activités de recherche passées, actuelles et prévues dans le domaine des sciences ou du génie;
    • l’excellence de la direction de l’institut, de ses comités d’évaluation et des organisateurs des activités dans le domaine des sciences ou du génie et le degré d’engagement de ceux-ci à l’égard des activités menées en son sein;
    • l’importance des activités de recherche pour le milieu de la recherche et dans les domaines interdisciplinaires connexes.
  4. Création de partenariats, interactions et sensibilisation
    • les occasions de partenariats dans le domaine avec des instituts complémentaires canadiens ou étrangers; l’efficacité des activités et des plans visant à favoriser et à appuyer les collaborations interdisciplinaires;
    • les activités de sensibilisation, de mobilisation et de collaboration destinées aux groupes sous-représentés ou désavantagés dans le milieu de la recherche en sciences naturelles et en génie;
    • la capacité manifeste de sensibiliser d’autres secteurs, postsecondaires ou non, au Canada ou à l’étranger;
    • la preuve que des activités de formation en leadership ou de mentorat ont été tenues ou sont prévues pour sensibiliser davantage les organisateurs et les participants aux questions liées à l’EDI.
  5. Contribution de l’institut à la formation et au perfectionnement de PHQ
    • l’importance de l’institut au regard de la formation, y compris les occasions de mentorat et de formation uniques et inclusives qu’il offre, et qui sont complémentaires et apportent une valeur ajoutée à la formation offerte dans d’autres secteurs (par exemple, les universités);
    • l’envergure et l’excellence des stratégies et des plans proposés pour favoriser la formation et le perfectionnement de personnel hautement qualifié dans des domaines de recherche cruciaux pour l’avancement des connaissances dans le domaine concerné et dans des domaines interdisciplinaires connexes;
    • la preuve de la prise en compte des questions liées à l’EDI dans les activités de formation passées et prévues.
  6. Gestion et budget
    • une structure de gestion efficace pour diriger, gérer et intégrer les activités de l’institut;
    • la prise en compte des questions liées à l’EDI dans la composition des organes de direction;
    • les activités ou les initiatives visant à appuyer l’établissement et le maintien d’un milieu de recherche et de travail équitable;
    • les gains d’efficience sur le plan opérationnel obtenus grâce à des partenariats avec des instituts semblables (le cas échéant);
    • la planification efficace de la recherche (au sein de l’institut ou avec d’autres instituts) pour s’assurer que les activités de recherche sont bien coordonnées et novatrices;
    • un budget détaillé des couts prévus;
    • le besoin manifeste et utilité d’une subvention ADIR par rapport aux autres subventions du CRSNG (détenues ou pour lesquelles une demande a été présentée) et aux contributions provenant d’autres sources;
    • la nature et l’étendue de l’engagement et de l’appui des utilisateurs, des universités et d’autres organismes.

Admissibilité des candidats et des cocandidats

Le candidat et les cocandidats doivent tous être admissibles à l’appui financier du CRSNG. Une personne doit être désignée responsable de l’administration de la subvention. Cette personne est le « candidat » et doit remplir et soumettre la lettre d’intention et la demande (sur invitation seulement) au nom de l’institut. Pour en savoir plus sur le rôle des candidats et des cocandidats, consulter les Critères d'admissibilité pour les membres du corps professoral du CRSNG.

Présentation des demandes

Les demandes de subventions ADIR feront l’objet d’une évaluation en deux étapes. Les candidats doivent présenter une lettre d’intention au CRSNG avec tous les documents requis au plus tard à la date limite. La lettre d’intention doit être enregistrée en un seul document PDF et téléchargée dans le portail sécurisé du CRSNG avant la date limite. Le CRSNG communiquera avec tous les candidats afin de les informer du résultat de l’examen de leur lettre d’intention. Les candidats retenus seront invités à présenter une demande en bonne et due forme. On leur fournira alors des instructions détaillées sur la façon de présenter la demande.

Pour les lettres d’intention, les candidats doivent présenter un document de cinq pages en formule libre de 21,5 cm sur 28 cm (8,5 x 11 po) – les marges doivent être réglées à au moins 1,87 cm (¾ po); le texte doit être présenté en utilisant la police Times New Roman et la taille des caractères doit être de 12 points. La lettre d’intention doit traiter des points suivants :

  • un aperçu de l’institut, notamment le caractère national et international de celui-ci (en souligner l’importance dans la région, s’il y a lieu);
  • une brève explication du budget demandé (pour au plus cinq ans) et de l’appui éventuel d’autres organismes de financement canadiens ou étrangers;
  • la liste des cocandidats proposés (au plus dix);
  • une liste d’au plus dix évaluateurs externes* qui
    • ne sont pas en conflit d’intérêts;
    • proviennent d’établissements différents;
    • sont en mesure d’effectuer une évaluation objective de la demande;
    • sont en mesure d’évaluer la demande dans la langue dans laquelle elle a été présentée;
  • la liste des évaluateurs exclus**.

* Le CRSNG recommande aux candidats de proposer le nom de personnes possédant les compétences requises qui constitueraient un groupe hétérogène (c’est-à-dire des Canadiens, des étrangers, des chercheurs établis et des chercheurs en début de carrière, des femmes et d’autres membres de groupes sous-représentés, des personnes du milieu universitaire et des personnes d’autres milieux). Les candidats ne doivent pas communiquer à l’avance avec les évaluateurs externes qu’ils ont suggérés.

** Les candidats peuvent demander que certains chercheurs, organisations ou grandes collaborations ne participent pas à l’examen de la demande. À noter que cette information peut être accessible en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Modalités d’examen des demandes

Lettres d’intention

Le CRSNG examinera les lettres d’intention afin de s’assurer de l’admissibilité du contenu et de la conformité de celle-ci aux objectifs du programme.

Demandes

Les demandes seront évaluées par un comité multidisciplinaire international selon un processus rigoureux indépendant d’évaluation par les pairs en fonction des critères de sélection des subventions ADIR. Les candidats seront invités à présenter leur demande au comité d’évaluation et à fournir des éclaircissements sur toute question que soulèvera ce dernier. Lorsque l’évaluation des demandes sera terminée, les membres du comité rédigeront un rapport et formuleront à l’intention du CRSNG des recommandations relatives au financement. Les demandes d’instituts internationaux seront évaluées conjointement avec les organismes de financement partenaires sous la direction du CRSNG.

Conflits d’intérêts

Les Lignes directrices sur les conflits d’intérêts pour les membres de comités ou de groupes chargés de l’évaluation par les pairs du CRSNG seront appliquées rigoureusement tout au long du processus d’évaluation.

Conditions

Dans le cas des subventions ADIR, le versement de la subvention la deuxième année et les années subséquentes est conditionnel à la présentation au CRSNG d’un rapport annuel. Ce rapport doit lui être présenté au plus tard le 15 mars.