Connecting traditional knowledge with the periodic table of elements


Many organizations and education programs are working together to build better connections for First Nations, Métis and Inuit students to recognize themselves in science. This initiative aims to create a model for how organizations, schools and STEM industries can connect with local community members to create a world where Indigenous students can see themselves and be themselves within science. The objective of this initiative is to bring together Indigenous Traditional Knowledge Keepers along with Indigenous scientists from all areas of science to have consciousness-raising discussions about Indigenous relationships to the elements within the periodic table.

About the initiative

Many science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) programs are seeking to broaden inclusion and participation of First Nations, Métis, and Inuit students. However, a major hurdle to success has been that common approaches to STEM education rarely incorporate the cultural views of Indigenous communities, and do not reflect the perspectives of traditional ways of understanding of the world.

In the summer of 2021, members of the science promotion team at The Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) and the education team at the Canadian Light Source (CLS) saw an opportunity to collaborate on the development of a new educational tool that presents traditional knowledge alongside standardized scientific information. After a series of discussions, the concept of an interactive Indigenous Periodic Table of the Elements presented the strongest potential as a new educational resource.

To explore interest in their concept, NSERC and CLS partnered to host a workshop during Science Literacy Week with a panel of eleven Indigenous scientists, educators, and Traditional Knowledge Keepers.

Over the course of two days, panel members heard presentations delving into the stories behind some elements on the Periodic Table, and a scientist from CLS led a live demonstration of a sample analysis of berries using Canada’s only synchrotron and revealed the elements they are made of. Members also presented guidance on adapting science education to Indigenous cultures and languages and led discussions on content that should be included in a potential Indigenous Table of Elements along with examples of traditional stories related to periodic elements.

Element 26 Iron
Element 20 Calcium
Element 11 Sodium

Images and translations provided by Anne Mack & Brittany Morgan

At the end of the workshop, the proposal was warmly endorsed by those in attendance. Members supported not only further development of an interactive Indigenous Table of the Elements but encouraged NSERC and CLS to expand the scope of the project so it could be adapted by Indigenous communities around the world.

NSERC and CLS are now seeking to add collaborators from other regions to this panel to help guide the development of a useable template for an interactive Indigenous Table of the Elements, with plans to connect the project to existing Indigenous science and language conferences to create language translation partnerships that will increase its usefulness.

Panel members

*Traditional Knowledge Keepers

If you are from an Indigenous science promotion group, or are an educator working with Indigenous communities, and are interested in knowing more or getting involved in this initiative, please contact comm@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Contact Newsletter

Get highlights of things happening at NSERC delivered to your email inbox. View all Newsletters

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram

Établir des liens entre les connaissances traditionnelles et le tableau périodique des éléments


Plusieurs organisations et responsables de programmes d’éducation travaillent ensemble pour établir des liens qui aident les étudiantes et les étudiants issus des Premières Nations, métis et inuits à se reconnaitre dans le monde scientifique. Cette initiative vise à créer un modèle permettant aux organisations, aux établissements d’enseignement et à l’industrie des STIM de s’associer avec les membres des communautés autochtones locales afin de créer un monde dans lequel les étudiantes et étudiants autochtones se reconnaissent et où ils peuvent être ce qu’ils sont par rapport aux sciences. L’initiative a également pour objectif de réunir les gardiennes et gardiens du savoir traditionnel autochtone et les scientifiques autochtones de tous les domaines scientifiques autour de discussions qui permettront de les conscientiser aux relations des autochtones avec les éléments du tableau périodique.

À propos de l’initiative

Les responsables de nombreux programmes de science, de technologie, d’ingénierie et de mathématique (STIM) cherchent à accroitre l’inclusion et la participation des étudiantes et étudiants issus des Premières Nations, métis et inuits. Toutefois, les méthodes éducatives couramment utilisées dans ces domaines intègrent rarement le point de vue culturel des communautés autochtones et ne reflètent pas leur compréhension traditionnelle du monde. Il s’agit là d’un obstacle important au succès dans le domaine.

Au cours de l’été 2021, des membres de l’équipe de promotion des sciences au Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRNSG) et de l’équipe de l’éducation au Centre canadien de rayonnement synchrotron (CCRS) ont vu une occasion de collaborer pour élaborer un outil pédagogique qui présente des connaissances traditionnelles en parallèle avec une information scientifique normalisée. Après une série de discussions, ils ont conclu que le concept d’un tableau périodique des éléments autochtone interactif était le plus prometteur pour servir de ressource pédagogique.

Pour explorer l’intérêt suscité par leur concept, le CRSNG et le CCRS ont tenu conjointement, durant la Semaine de la culture scientifique, un atelier réunissant onze personnes gardiennes des connaissances traditionnelles, scientifiques et spécialistes de l’enseignement autochtones.

Pendant deux jours, le groupe a assisté à des présentations qui ont fait plonger ses membres dans les récits qui se cachent derrière certains éléments du tableau périodique. Un scientifique du CCRS a animé la démonstration en direct d’une analyse d’échantillons de petits fruits faisant appel au seul synchrotron canadien et révélé les éléments qui entrent dans leur composition. Des membres ont aussi donné des conseils sur les façons d’adapter l’éducation scientifique aux cultures et aux langues autochtones et animé des discussions portant sur le contenu qui devrait figurer dans un éventuel tableau des éléments autochtone en citant des exemples de récits traditionnels associés à certains des éléments périodiques.

Element 26 Fer
Element 20 Calcium
Element 11 Sodium

Images fournies par Anne Mack et Brittany Morgan

À la fin de l’atelier, les personnes participantes ont chaudement appuyé la proposition. En plus d’être favorables à la poursuite de l’élaboration d’un tableau des éléments autochtone, elles ont encouragé le CRSNG et le CCRS à élargir la portée du projet pour permettre aux communautés autochtones du monde entier de l’adapter.

Le CRSNG et le CCRS souhaitent maintenant recruter des collaborateurs et collaboratrices d’autres régions qui se joindront au groupe pour contribuer à guider l’élaboration d’un modèle de tableau des éléments autochtone interactif. Ils envisagent d’intégrer le projet à des conférences sur les sciences et les langues autochtones afin d’établir des partenariats pour la traduction et de rendre ainsi le tableau encore plus utile.

Membres du groupe

*personnes gardiennes des connaissances traditionnelles

Si vous faites partie d’un groupe autochtone de promotion des sciences ou que vous êtes une éducatrice ou un éducateur qui travaille avec les communautés autochtones et que vous souhaitez participer à cette initiative ou en apprendre davantage sur cette dernière, écrivez à comm@nserc-crsng.gc.ca.

Bulletin Contact

Recevez par courriel des mises à jour sur les activités du CRSNG. Consultez tous les numéros.

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • Youtube
  • Instagram