Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering;
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector;
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems;
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives;
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region.


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
David Burns
Vice-President, Research
University of New Brunswick
Mary Butler
Vice-President, Research
College and Community Development
New Brunswick Community College
Fred Cotaras
Chief Technology Director
Ultra Electronics Maritime Systems Inc.
Robert Gilmour
(Committee Chair)
Vice-President, Research and Development
University of Prince Edward Island
Bradley Goodyear
Executive Director, Atlantic and Nunavut
National Research Council of Canada
Industrial Research Assistance Program
Patricia Hearn
Executive Director, Atlantic Regional Office
Industry Canada
Lyne Lirette-LeBlanc
Director, Innovation and Entrepreneurship
Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Ted Lomond
Executive Director
Newfoundland and Labrador Environmental Industry Association
Chris Mathis
President & CEO
Springboard Atlantic
Stan Matwin
Professor and Canada Research Chair
Dalhousie University
Debbie Plouffe
Vice-President of Research
Center for Aquaculture Technologies Canada (CATC)
Kristin Poduska
Associate Professor
Department of Physics & Physical Oceanography
Memorial University of Newfoundland
Dave Small
Director, Advanced Research and Innovation
SPIELO International
Kevin Vessey
Dean of Research and Graduate Studies
Saint Mary’s University
David Whitehouse
Manager, Research and Product Development
Martec Limited
Ex-Officio Members
Name Organization
Raymond Ivany
NSERC Council Member
President and Vice-Chancellor
Acadia University
Robert Niven
NSERC Council Member
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Carboncure Technologies