Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering;
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector;
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems;
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives;
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region.


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
Catherine Burns

University of Waterloo

Bob Civak
Senior Vice-President, Business Development Operations
Ontario Centres of Excellence (OCE)
James Cotton
McMaster University
Boyd Davis

Kingston Process Metallurgy Inc.

Aime Dimatteo
Director General
Industry Canada
FedNor (Federal Economic Development Initiative in Northern Ontario)
Justin Gammage
Industry Liaison Manager
‎University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Ariel Garten
Chief Executive Officer
InteraXon Inc.
Jonathan Hack
Manager, Strategic Technology Engineering, University and Government Relations
Bombardier Aerospace
Taras Hollyer
Director, Business Development Programs
Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario Program Policy and Innovation
David Lisk
Executive Director
National Research Council Canada– Industrial Research Assistance Program (NRC-IRAP)
Vanessa Williamson
Dean, Applied Research and Innovation
Seneca College
Ex-Officio Members
Name Organization
Julia Biedermann
NSERC Council Member
Executive Dean, School of Engineering and Information Technology, Trades and Apprenticeship, and the Institute of Food Processing Technology
Conestoga College
Christian Leuprecht
NSERC Council Member
Professor of Political Science at the Royal Military College of Canada (RMCC) and Senior Fellow at the Macdonald Laurier Institute
Royal Military College of Canada (RMCC)

Macdonald Laurier Institute
Daniel Muzyka
NSERC Council Member
President and Chief Executive Officer

The Conference Board of Canada

Sarah Shortreed
NSERC Council Member
Chief Information Officer
Bruce Power
Kimberly A. Woodhouse
NSERC Council Member
Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Queen’s University