Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Advisory Committee


The mandate for the five NSERC Regional Offices' Advisory Committees is to:

  • provide advice on how NSERC can enhance academic-industry partnerships in research, innovation and advanced training in the natural sciences and engineering;
  • provide input on the offices' activities and priorities, particularly efforts to strengthen collaboration between post-secondary institutions and the private sector;
  • provide opportunities to exchange information, build consensus and enhance collaboration between post-secondary institutions, the private sector, federal and provincial departments, and other organizations active in regional innovation systems;
  • contribute to the development of new regional collaborations and joint initiatives;
  • provide a forum for each office to reach out to, and maintain, productive links with key stakeholders in the region.


Members are initially asked to serve a one-year term, following which re-appointments will be made for either one-, two- or three-year terms to ensure an orderly transition.

Members include representation from the following groups involved in research, innovation and advanced training:

  • Senior officials from Canadian universities and colleges
  • Researchers
  • Government and non-government organizations
  • Industry, both from SMEs and large corporations

List of Advisory Committee Members

Name Organization
Olga Kargina
Pacific Region
Industrial Research Assistance Program
National Research Council
Kevin Butterworth
Executive Director
Research and Innovation Branch, BC Ministry of Jobs, Tourism and Innovation
Shirley Vickers
President & CEO
British Columbia Innovation Council
Ken Armour
Executive Director, Policy and Research
Research Universities’ Council of BC
Elizabeth Sun
Manager, Membership & Sponsorship
LifeSciences BC
Derek Gratz
Associate Director
University Industry Liaison Office
University of British Columbia at Okanagan
Clint Sawicki
Vice-President, Research
Yukon College
Laurence Meadows
Team Lead & Director, Business Development
Laurel Schafer
The University of British Columbia
Kraig Short
Program Manager
Trade Science and Technology
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Rose Sirois
Regional Manager
Policy, Analysis and Intelligence - Pacific
Industry Canada
Lincoln Smith
Director, Research Partnerships and Enterprise Creation
Research and Graduate Studies
Thompson Rivers University
Brent Sternig
Research Partnerships and Knowledge Mobilization
University of Victoria
Bill Tam
President & CEO
British Columbia Technology Industry Association
Pauline Finn
Vice-President, Community Engagement & Customer Service
TELUS World of Science
Science World
Tim Walzak
British Columbia Regional Innovation Chair in Sport Technology
Camosun College
Ed H. Kustan
Kustan Kove Enterprises Ltd.
Ex-Officio Member
Name Organization
Ian Hand
NSERC Council Member
Executive Director
Simon Fraser University